Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather

Real Questions. Straight Answers. Stronger Faith. The Apologetics Study Bible will help today's Christians better understand, defend, and proclaim their beliefs in this age of increasing moral and spiritual relativism. More than one-hundred key questions and articles placed throughout the volume about faith and science prompt a rewarding study experience at every reading.

The Apologetics Study Bible features valuable contributions from a who’s-who of modern apologists such as Chuck Colson, Norm Geisler, Hank Hanegraaff, Josh McDowell, Albert Mohler, Ravi Zacharias, J. P. Moreland, and Phil Johnson.

Other features include:

  • The full text of the popular Holman Christian Standard Bible translation
  • Two-color page layout
  • Introduction to each Bible book focusing on its inherent elements of apologetics
  • Double-column format
  • Book Outlines
  • Translation Footnotes
  • Articles on ethics, science, archaeology, philosophy, and non-Christian belief systems
  • Study notes that explain "problem" passages
  • Sidebars on Scriptures misused by cults
  • Profiles of historic Christian apologists from Justin Martyr to C. S. Lewis
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Lined pages for recording personal notes
  • Silver page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 10-point text
  • 9.50" x 7.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
23 out of 2592%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great features for the price

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
ValiantSon
Location:West Chester, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HCSB translation is good, the footnotes are good, and the articles are very good. My main issues with the quality are minor complaints about the eBook formatting. Since the articles and notes sometimes span pages, it would be nice if it linked back to location in the text I started from.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the Best Resources I Own

Date:July 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robert
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible two years ago, and it sat virtually unused for a long time. Once I got to university age, and my friends (as well as myself) began to have doubts about various Christian doctrine, this study got a lot of use. There aren't many places where you can find such a fantastic collection of input and articles from the best defenders of the faith of our time. It's worth it for the articles alone.
The notes are excellent, and adress many concerns people have with "contradictions" and "inconsistencies" in the Gospels, and elsewhere. This greatly helped me get through some doubts I had held on to for years.
If you are considering getting this study Bible, it would be best for the following types of people: Grade 12-University age individual, who is having their faith challenged for the first time, anybody who likes to ask questions about the truth of the Bible, anybody struggling with doubts in their faith, or somebody who regularly encounters these types of people.
If that's you, don't hesitate; Get this Bible. You won't regret it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm still reviewing this book, so far I like it

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Taltonb
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this one will take a while to evaluate but so far so good!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great Idea...Poorly Executed

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
johndlong
Location:Cypress, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It seems borderline blasphemous to leave a negative review on a Bible, but I have to say of the 30+ Bibles I own this one is the cheapest looking and most poorly made. The contents are good, but I can't get past how bad it looks on the outside. The "leather" is more like a plastic, leather-looking material. If i hadn't had it embossed I definitely would have returned it.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome value and was a blessing to a friend.

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Byron
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to bless a brother in Christ thanks to this affordable apologetics bible and help prepare a brother for his calling into the ministry. It was such a blessing to bless him with this bible. It has some amazing features that really help clear things up and it is a translation that is easy to understand. It is really helpful for eliminating doubt and strengthening ones faith against the world that will try to tear it apart and cause doubt and confusion. I definitely recommend it to anyone. I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent resource for an e-book

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jim S
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you check out the cost of most all ebooks available at CBD you'll find that their prices beat those of most other sellers. And you can used the ebook format as Epub on most any reader on the market including PCs, Macs, Nooks, Kindle, etc.
With that said, the value of this resource is excellent and it's not too difficult to use once you get the hang of navigation, which can be tricky on an almost 8,000 page document. I am still learning all the ins and outs but I definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in Bible study from an apologetical perspective.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You've never owned a better Bible

Date:June 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
suesue70
Location:Lake Sinclair, Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only have nine Bibles. There is no other that is as intriguing as the Apologetics but the Holman Christian Standard has been the most informative, cannot-put-it-down Bible I've ever owned.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Plus Faith
Location:Sidney, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There are a ton of things I like about this Bible. There were a few things I found a little different. Such as one part talked about some type of elemental forces or something and that was a little different than the NKJV I am accustomed to. Still really good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this Bible

Date:June 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Location:Maine
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this particular version of the bible. It is very understandable while remaining accurate. It has much to offer.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good apologetics tool

Date:June 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glenn Chatfield
Location:North Liberty, IA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since purchasing my own copy of the Apologetics Study Bible four years ago, I have purchased six more as gifts for high school graduates. For those such as myself who do street evangelism in various way, the articles and commentaries are excellent for refuting atheists and skeptics, and for correcting cultists and other false teachings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful articles included by theologians.

Date:May 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
jsam
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helpful articles included by theologians to help answer objections to Christianity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Over a hundred additional feature articles

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gokart
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The additional features and articles are very helpful and thought-provoking. Many times I am encouraged to delve deeper into the scriptures to investigate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Louise
Location:Norfolk, Va
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great study bible. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible, needs more study notes

Date:November 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matress44
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an easy to read and understand Bible, similar to the 1984 NIV. The notes and articles are great but it sould be nice if it was a bit more scholarly. 2 ribbons! Great for bible study groups who want to learn more about apologetics! I do wish the graphics were not so light as they are a distraction at times.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This has been very helpful as we prepare lessons.

Date:October 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Juju
Location:Madisonl, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used the Holman from the first day we received it in personal Bible study and have encouraged others to get one as well. It's a great study resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great information for advance Bible study

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
George Hurley
Location:Copperas Cove, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my pastor. I already had one and he became interested in this Bible. We both like the added information and how new archaeological findings have helped in explaining fact in the Bible and the truth about the Word of God. Really a great Bible for small study groups. Footnotes and articles are outstanding. I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone who loves to read the Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features.

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie Gray
Location:Globe, AZ.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no complaints about this Study Bible, from what I
have read so far. It is very nice. Very informative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Article on literal Hell misleading

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
JennS
Location:Leduc, AB
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I like everything about this study bible EXCEPT an article written by Paul Copan. He talks about Hell not being a literal lake of fire, rather it is just a seperation from God. I think Paul needs to read the Bible more and not dismiss all of Jesus's teachings on a literal burning. Because of this I would be wary to give this to a new christian or a child.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Investment for Bible believers!

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chris Quah
Location:Singapore
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I teach Apologetics in our youth church and this bible is a great one-stop resource indeed. Of course a proper in-depth study requires more than just this volume but it is an excellent "snapshot" for the starter and a good refresher resource for the seasoned apologists.
Physical quality is very good, sturdy (but not stiff!) leather covers and the pages are strong enough for constant flipping about without that fear of accidental ripping! Binding is top notch and the bible sits flat when opened.
The bible is portable, so bring it to your mission trips!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather
This review is fromHCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
WAS3
Location:Western MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product which provides easy to understand text. It is a great way of providing you with valuable information to defend your faith.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.