Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed

Real Questions. Straight Answers. Stronger Faith. The Apologetics Study Bible will help today's Christians better understand, defend, and proclaim their beliefs in this age of increasing moral and spiritual relativism. More than one-hundred key questions and articles placed throughout the volume about faith and science prompt a rewarding study experience at every reading.

The Apologetics Study Bible features valuable contributions from a who’s-who of modern apologists such as Chuck Colson, Norm Geisler, Hank Hanegraaff, Josh McDowell, Albert Mohler, Ravi Zacharias, J. P. Moreland, and Phil Johnson.

Other features include:
  • The full text of the popular Holman Christian Standard Bible translation
  • Two-color page layout
  • Introduction to each Bible book focusing on its inherent elements of apologetics
  • Double-column format
  • Book Outlines
  • Translation Footnotes
  • Articles on ethics, science, archaeology, philosophy, and non-Christian belief systems
  • Study notes that explain "problem" passages
  • Sidebars on Scriptures misused by cults
  • Profiles of historic Christian apologists from Justin Martyr to C. S. Lewis
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Lined pages for recording personal notes
  • Silver page edges
  • Thumb indexed
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 10-point text size
  • 9.50" x 7.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

HCSB Apologetics.

Date:July 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
big kev
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is quite a good bible. On the practical side the text is a good size and easy to read. There are good foot notes and references. There are many commentaries on a vast range of subjects hence the description of an Apologetics study Bible.
These articles provide a good starting point for a further investigation into the various fields of study concerned. The quality of the commentaries as I said provides a stating point as some of them are good and some commentaries quite trite and light weight; but having said that they give a place to begin one's own investigations which can only be a good thing. After all this is a study bible and that is what it encourages one to do. This is a good reference tool indeed. The text of the HCSB I find an excellent alternative to the too literal versions and the too paraphraised versions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Primo Quality Bible

Date:April 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
IvanDavidLippens
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This comes with numerous apologetics essays and verse notes, as well as neat little additions called "Twisted Scriptures" which go into how various verses of the Bible have been perverted to create cults and denominational sects.
There are also great maps and charts in the back of the bible.
The downside to this splendid bible is that the words of Christ are NOT in red. If they had been then this, along with the HCSB Study Bible, would probably be the most fantastic bibles I've yet to own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michael Snoha
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HCSB Apologetics Bible is a great resource for believers and non believers to garner a greater understanding and appreciation of the Bible. This Bible provides execellent commentary on the interpretation of passages of scripture. This Bible also provides great study notes, and articles througout the text that has enriched my understanding of the Judeo-Christian worldview. I recommend it for anyone who is serious about understanding the Christian faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
sublime stylee
Location:Orland Park, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent treatment of the original languages undergirded by sound exegesis and wonderful asides of apologetic information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great apologetic information!

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Big B
Location:Parkland, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The apologetic topics covered by renowned experts represent an excellent means to defend the faith.
The apologetic insights into individual Bible passages are extremely useful and insightful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bible contains many one page articles that are interesting tid bits concerning different religions whether Moses wrote the P. I enjoy reading the articles and like that it is a different translation. I have about 20 some bibles and this one stands out. B&H customer service needs to improve though. I recently purchased a defective bible and tried to have it exchanged: Almost impossible. The quality of their bonded leather is not good. The quality of the "genuine" leather on this bible is average. It's about the same as a good bonded leather on for example the Nelson NKJV study bible. The glue was coming off the bonded leather on my other B&H which was made in China. This one is made in the USA and it's very well made. The cover retains it's shape when closed, it does not stay open.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bible I've ever had.

Date:April 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thomas
Location:Georgetown, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has lots of features. Lots of good information and is filled with knowledge which most bibles don't have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Bible to treasure!

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mrs. Sandra Norton
Location:Port Matilda, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
This Bible is a blessing beyond measure. I love study Bibles, and this one is a beautiful addition. It is a powerful tool for defending your faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peter Edwards
I simply love this Bible, it is everything I wanted; it is easy to read, the notes are superb. I am glad I invested in this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elijah West
This is a cool bible but it is not what I expected. I expected some in depth apologetics, but I just got a few elementry articals on topics such as what's wrong with Jehovas witness or something. But what I did like was this feature where they occasionaly take a scripture that somebody might use to teach a twisted doctrine an elaborate on it. But even this feature I wasn't completely pleased with, because I thought it was even wrong in at least one of the cases. I would recomend it to a new christian or a young christian or even a lukewarn christian. But not to someone who is looking for in depth apologetics.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Nichols
This is a beautiful, well thought-out, lots of good information and footnotes Bible. I like the articles and the historical info for each book. I believe that besides the KJV and the NASB, this God inspired for today's Christians.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gisele Parsons
Beautiful Bible. Many very interesting articles that I have not seen in other study Bibles. I would highly recommend this Bible for anyone who liked to "dig deeper" in the Word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marvin Glasper
I think this is one awesome bible that gives you the scriptures that is often taken out of context and it names the group and how to defend orthodox doctrine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ronald Jenks
I own a number of Bibles for study purposes. This one is an outstanding study Bible. I love EVERYTHING about it and would recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Black Genuine Leather, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Derrick Taylor
Great study help. Only complaint is the lack of references. Other than that I would recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.