Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown

B&H Books HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown

"So what?" That's the response many people have to the Bible. Read a passage, interpret it, and still they ask, "So, what difference does that make in my life?"

In the Life Essentials Study Bible, renowned Bible teacher Gene Getz complements the full text of the popular HCSB translation by elaborating on 1,500 principles in Scripture that are as relevant today as when the 66 books of the Bible were written. Distilling these truths into principles, Getz helps the reader more easily remember and effectively apply the Bible's wisdom to everyday life. He explains how each of these principles represents a supracultural truth—one that can and should be applied at any moment in history and in every cultural situation.

In addition, the Life Essentials Study Bible was created with an integrated digital study system—more than 250 hours of free online coaching content led by Getz—that fosters a greater understanding of the Bible's grand story.

Features
  • Getz's pertinent questions inspire personal reflection or group discussion of each principle
  • Book introduction to each book of the Bible and its list of corresponding principles
  • A topical index
  • Cross references for all 1,500 principles
  • A two-piece gift box
  • Presentation page
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon marker
  • 9.50" x 7.00" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Review 1 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamey
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think the principles are good; it is the format that I do not like. They are in the middle of the chapter rather than the end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Toni
Location:Norfolk, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many bibles, but this is the BEST one yet! I no longer need to grab other books to look things up. This bible is easy to read and thoroughly explains and breaks down everything that I've read. The video sermons that you access with the QC reader are so helpful. I will be recommending this bible. Especially good for those that have found it difficult to read the bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Scripture Application & Devotions

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
jar of clay
Location:Reedsburg, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this is a great buy in terms of quality and quantity of helpful information. This is not a "standard" study Bible, which contains notes on difficult passages. Instead, the Life Principles concentrate on the application of Scripture to our daily lives. The Life Essentials Study Bible is based on the easy to read and accurate Holman Christian Standard Bible translation. It contains a large concordance, a very helpful topical index for the Life Principles and maps. Although the Life Principles contain a QR code that can be accessed by a smart phone for additional information, the info can also be accessed on any computer with internet access. Nevertheless, the Bible is fully functional as a stand-alone text. The Life Principles are exceptionally helpful to those who want to learn practical application of the Scriptures they are reading. Also, Dr. Goetz's well balanced notes are very helpful for teachers or church leaders to use in lessons or as devotionals. This is a unique and helpful study Bible.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A first in study bibles and easy to use

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tim C
Location:Allen Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible is by far my favorite! Dr. Getz is a great teacher and easy to understand. The 1500 principles from the Life Essentials Study Bible are a great resource for everyone, regardless of background or culture! For smart phone users you will absolutely love the QR Codes that are found with each of the 1500 principles. I have also used the website connected to this Bible which includes Dr. Getz's video teachings and provides an area where you can record personal notes. The amount of research, video and time that it took to put this Bible together is astounding but not surprising given the man who is behind it ...Dr. Getz! I have enjoyed this Bible so much that I bought several copies for some good friends for Christmas. Buy it ...you'll be glad you did!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Price

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rush
Location:Shreveport, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was for a preacher friend, and he has commented to me how much he is enjoying it, several times. I now have to order one for me. I tried twice to get him a free one by an adviterisement,, but no luck. Therefore I purcased him one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Vanallen
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bible for my son's girlfriend for Christmas. I think she will be very happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very well written for today.

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Jaco
Location:Wood River, Il.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After just completing Biblical Counseling classes I was very pleased that there was a section on counseling included in this version. I would recommend this study bible to anyone. I also am a fan of Gene Getz.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buyer be aware!
I start off this review by saying, IF I owned an i-pad, an i-phone and a personal home computer; this Bible would be a wonderful addition to my library. I do NOT own these items, without them, this is a high-tech Bible owned by a low-tech user. So many of its features require these items, in order to access the features it has. I ordered this Bible, based on the reviews, which are highly praiseworthy. Unfortunately, I didnt realize how much I would need an I-Phone, I-Pad, or my own computer, in order to fully utilize it, until I opened the box. I cannot use this Bible; so I (feeling very disappointed), returned it.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Drew T
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for my wife's birthday. She absolutely loves it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Life Essentials Study Bible, Simulated Leather Brown
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT! Free VIDEO teachings for iphones or the web

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Life Essentials Study Bible has QR codes that allow iphones or ipads to VIEW VIDEO clips of Gene Getz teaching all 1,500 principles! Each biblical truth includes 1 to 5 paragraphs explaining the Scripture and is followed by a discussion question. The explanations are right with the biblical text, in the same size font so it's easy to read. This Bible makes it possible for the average person to facilitate Bible studies, individually or in a group, without having to be a Bible scholar! Just open the Bible and start reading. This Bible is like having 50 years of experience from Gene Getz right in front of you! Having this Bible will help people learn the overall biblical story correctly. Readers can be confident that they have a correct explanation, interpretation, and application of the Scriptures. No more being swayed by others misinterpreting Scriptures or even twisting them to fit their own needs, intentional or not. Check out the PRINCIPLE FINDER in the front of the Bible. All 1,500 principles are arranged by topic! Plus, the principles are listed in the front of each book of the Bible.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.