Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy

B&H Books Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy

Packed full of special features and priced for bulk buying, the HCSB® Gift and Award Bible brings the excitement of a new translation into Bible giving. As a milestone and achievement award for young people in church or school programs, this fresh alternative makes the Bible an even more anticipated present.

More than fifteen years in the making, crafted by the shared expertise of nearly a hundred conservative scholars and English stylists, the HCSB® is the new standard in painstaking biblical accuracy and pure literary form. As students use it in Sunday School and worship services, in personal devotions and school classes, they won't be left afloat either by watered-down verse wordings or by sentence structures beyond their years. Instead they'll be encouraged to dig into the Scriptures, but with the right kind of tool in hand.

Features:
  • Presentation page
  • Favorite Bible Stories
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Full-color maps
  • Textual Footnotes
  • Double-column format
  • 7.5 point text
  • History of the Bible
  • Topical Concordance
  • Bible Dictionary
  • Burgundy imitation leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Review 1 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Quality and Great Price

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol
Location:Harrisburg, Il
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These were purchased for a 5th Grade SS Class that studies out of Holman quarterly and using a King James. Very difficult to fill in the blanks on the question sheet, so these have filled a purpose well. Like all churches we are experiencing a cash crunch and the bibles are such a good quality and a great price. So glad I stumbled across you on my search. Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gift Bibles

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor T
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased these Bibles to give to our Baptism Candidates after the special service! It would be really neat to have a gift Bible with a Baptism theme cover for these special occasions. Thank you ChristianBook.com!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great Bible!

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sherry
Location:Houston, TX
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value! We put them in our church sanctuary and they're free to anyone who needs a Bible. The features are great for the price. We'll continue to buy these as our supply gets low. I have recommended them to several people I know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

give away

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Silas Ward
Location:kentucky
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
our church gives bibles to boys at a local boys home and these are easy to read and understand for the boys also they are a high value for the money spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Reading and true to the original languages

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor King
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We give this Bible to those who come to Christ. Also this is my preferred preaching translation. Easier for congregation to follow than some other translations or versions. Would strongly recommend HCSB to any person who wants a Bible that is true to the original languages. Affordable for most churches and evangelical ministries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
John Puckett
I ordered 10 Holman Bibles for my 5th and 6th graders. I received them quickly and am pleased with them. Now we can all have the same translation while in Sunday school. Mary Puckett
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Caufield
I liked this Bible for "new" readers..more easy to understand and great for a gifting Bible and handouts !!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michelle Novotny
Thanks CBD for faster than promised delivery. Also grateful for the lower price when I purchased in bulk as these bibles are going to precious pastors I know in Zimbabwe to help further God's kingdom. I really love the ease in reading the HCSB written in 7th grade level. I also like that whenever anyone in the N.T. is quoting O.T. it is written in bold black or bold red. When comparing this version to KJV or NASB the words are very literate like these versions yet the HCSB as a whole is much easier to read. Thank you CBD for carrying this version and sending the other products I ordered very promptly. Happy customer in Kansas
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Samber
The bible did the thing that i wanted it to do as it has the full text of the bible, but didn't have most of the explanatory notes that my prior copy HCBC which was half handbook, all biblical version. For the money, it was more than adequate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holman Christian Standard Gift & Award Bible, Imitation leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Juan Ortiz
This Bible is great. 40 times better than King James. More understandable. I recommend this version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.