Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black

B&H Books HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black

Now for the first time, the Holman Christian Standard Bible is available in Holman's elegant Ultra Thin Classics line. This perennially popular Ultra Thin large print edition comes in beautiful genuine leather.

The complete edition of the Holman CSB translation is so accurate, yet so inspiring to read, it literally sets the standard for generations to come. More than fifteen years in the making, this Bible is the work of 100 scholars from around the world collaborating on-line, in real time with the benefits of the best technology that has ever been used in the service of Bible translation.

Features:
  • Antique Stamping
  • Presentation page
  • Family record pages
  • Two-column format
  • Center-column references
  • 10.5 Point text
  • Footnotes
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Topical headings
  • Full-color maps
  • Concordance
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gift-boxed
  • 6.96" X 10.06" X 1.38"
  • Black genuine leather
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
21 out of 2681%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Review 1 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wesc223
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The e-book is terrible. Very slow response. None of the reference links work. I feel like I wasted my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love Translation, Don't Love Features

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
DedeTF
Location:Brentwood, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cumbersome navigation makes it difficult to move from a reference back to passage you were reading. Poor font sizing of references makes reading a challenge. Page and line breaks are awkward rather than intuitive. Adding notes? Forget it.
I love this translation for its clarity and incisiveness, so I'm very disappointed with the app.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what my wife wanted

Date:March 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
CentralTXPreacher
Location:Central TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife loves this Bible. It was the size she wanted with the font size she wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reference bible

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
jataylor196051
Location:San Diego,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this bible because it is easy to navigate on the computer to find what I need. It is a good study bible especially for someone who wants a good ereference bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is exactly what I wanted

Date:January 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Derb54
Location:Spring City, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a Bible like this for several months. I finally purchased it and couldn't be happier. It is easy to read and the leather feels great in my hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product and value

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Biker Preacher
Location:Walla Walla, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Still learning how to use it on my phone. Good product at a great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brian
Location:MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very nice product well put together. the leather cover is attractive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
gracefulphoenix
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
though i love the version (HCSB), having the index tabs to find my way through a new Bible, and the low price, i am less than satisfied with the Bible based on the cover, which seems more like a cheap imitation to me. and the poor quality of that cover lowers the value in my eyes; it puts it at the "fair" level on value at best. the price just doesn't compensate for the cover. i am seriously considering replacing this brand-new Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melissa Ann
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too bulky, easy to understand, quick to find scriptures. Great for sermons and bible study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good Bible ebook

Date:January 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
law13v10
Location:Junction, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gives me a a time when not busy to read at my convenice
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
This review is fromHCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Burgundy.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light print

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rodger
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the size, the binding, etc. However, the print is too light, almost like the press was running out of ink. This kept this product from getting a perfect rating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Catherine Bintliff
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the feel of this Bible. The size is just right for carrying and at a great price. Good deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent

Date:December 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roxie
Location:FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible is exactly what I wanted. Very pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Version, cosmetic problems

Date:November 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
tenafhum
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The HCSV is very understandable and the layout of the pages on this reference Bible is very easy to read. Cosmetically it has problems as the writing on the spine is off center and there is an ink mark on the gold edging. Still I love it. It is my main Bible now.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Digital Bible Not Worth It

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
awca
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the HCSB in print edition is phenomenal, I just purchased the digital version and am very less than satisfied. After downloading the Android version of the eBook reader (for a Samsung Fascinate) and downloading the HCSB digital Bible, navigation was the first look at a bad experience.
None of the links work. Period. Clicking on them, it just sits there. Trying to scroll through page-to-page frequently takes you back to the beginning or jumps ahead a few pages.
Accessing the table of contents does nothing. Doing a search shows various topics but clicking one does nothing. Again.
While I cannot state whether it is the reader or the publication itself, it doesn't really matter. It doesn't work, at least for a Samsung Fascinate. I have many other eBooks and have no problem at all, even when others had horrible experiences. For $9.99, I am disappointed that this doesn't work.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cryinglion
Location:Warren, RI
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bible for personal "everyday use". It's easy to carry and durable. Recommend getting the thumb-indexed version (nice feature). You can't go wrong with adding this one to your library.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Read

Date:August 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Charleston, SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent Bible and translation. Have several others. This is my preferred. Easy to read and unsderstand God's Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The CSB translation is excellent.

Date:July 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
bonecrusher
Location:Glendale, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The UltraThin Reference Bible, was everything the description promised. The CSB translation is terrific and was an easy transition from my previous Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

it is a worthwhile study bible

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
rocky
Location:whitewater,wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i own a number of study bibles and this is on of the better ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HCSB UltraThin Reference Bible, Large Print Genuine Leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent value

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
K1DX
Location:Shrewsbury, MA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For what I've read, it is an excellent translation. It is easy reading like the original NIV. As for book quality, it is excellent. The paper is quite thin, but with reasonable care, this Bible should last a long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.