Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Answers In Genesis Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Answers In Genesis Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set

Engaging, hands-on lessons will introduce children to the Bible, social studies, language arts, math, phonics, and science. Included are not only lots of fun activities, coloring pages, easy teacher-friendly ideas, and full-color illustrations galore, but also an affirmation of the truth of the Bible. Genesis is the foundation for helping children to know God's love while exploring health & safety, music, arts & crafts, and physical education activities. KJV and NIV references used.

This kit includes:

  • Student Books 1 & 2
  • Teacher's Guides 1 & 2
  • Resource Packet
  • Sing Along Music CD

    Please Note: This Answers for Pre schoolers curriculum Kit by Answers in Genesis is identical to Alpha Omega's Horizons Preschool curriculum kit.

  • Average Customer Rating:
    4.889 out of 5
    4.9
     out of 
    5
    (9 Reviews) 9
    Open Ratings Snapshot
    Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
    5 stars
    8
    4 stars
    1
    3 stars
    0
    2 stars
    0
    1 star
    0
    8 out of 989%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
    Customer Reviews for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Review 1 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Easy & fun to follow : )

    Date:January 14, 2013
    Customer Avatar
    bessiedarlin
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    My child and I just love having "school" everyday. We are both enjoying this learning process together and all of the activities that come along with this curriculum. I also love, as a Mom, how the Bible/Scripture is incorporated into my child's learning. I would recommend this to any parent looking to teach their child(ren) at home.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 2 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:December 13, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Sarahm
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    We love the curriculum from this set. I originally was going to purchase the "Horizons" preschool curriculum, but found out this had the same content and was cheaper. It is colourful and fun, and well thought out. My oldest daughter is 3, and we are slowly easing her into it.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 3 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Good Books

    Date:September 6, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    E Will
    Location:Pittsburgh, PA
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Me: I purchased this to HS my 3yr old for the first time.
    I purchased my set here on CBD; just know that the Student books I got were NOT perforated (pg. 11 of the Teacher Book says that they're supposed to be)...I called AIG, and they're sending me out perforated Student Books at no charge.
    The curriculum is meant for 5-day schooling (homeschooling or in a preschool setting); if you don't want to do 5-day schooling, the books says just do days 1,3,5 of each week (days 2 & 4 are more review). The Teacher's plans are very thorough and give you hours of stuff to do; you can do as little or as much as you want. The beginning of the Teacher's book has a weekly list of materials that you'll need for crafts, activities, etc...but you don't have to do all the activities if you don't want to. It is nice to see all the needed weekly materials at a quick glance in one section!!
    I'm someone who wants it all written out for me to make sure I'm teaching my child a variety of topics and lessons. The book has subjects from Bible; Math, Phonics, Shapes (in workbooks); Science (through activities); Social Studies; cooking, etc.
    The Resource Packet for us is a lot of review in the first 70-80 pages (my 3yr old already knows his shapes, colors, and some letters...plus we already have flashcards with letters and animals on them). Some of the resource pages are Color and some B&W. There are also verse flashcards in the packet of over 300+ pages.
    Overall, I think this will guide us through our 1st year of PreK homeschooling and seems very well put together. From what I hear, it is fairly identical to the Horizon's PreK curriculum; I opted for this b/c I know more about AIG.
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 4 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Date:May 6, 2012
    Customer Avatar
    Celina
    Location:Albuquerque, NM
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    I love how easy these preschool books are read not only for the preschooler but for myself. So far my preschooler loves them and getting her to do her work has been a breeze. The delievery was sooner than expected. Love Christianbook.com!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 5 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5

    Good For Traditional Preschool

    Date:December 23, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Sharrie
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Value: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    4 out of 5
    4 out of 5
    I was so excited when I saw Answers in Genesis had a preschool curriculum out - they are my favorite science resource. When I purchased it I didn't realize this was basically Horizon's preschool course dressed up a little bit. I should have done more research because I would not have bought it if I had known that.
    Long story short, I think this would be a good curriculum for a traditional preschool, but I found it a bit too rigid for our homeschooling family. Yes, it says you can adjust to your needs. After a week of following the teacher guide I slowly started to leave a few things out here and there to suit our family better - and then I started adding other things in. We're four months into preschool and my son is doing great, but we haven't opened the teacher guide for months.
    I would also like to note my son's lack of enthusiasm about the graphics used. The cover art is beautiful and captivating - the actual clipart is not. Also, the student workbooks do not have perforated pages. This might not seem like a big deal, but it is very irritating when you are instructed to remove the pages to encourage good handwriting.
    0points
    2of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 6 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    I went with Answers for Preschoolers with enthusia

    Date:October 25, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Creative Madness Mama
    Location:ATOKA, TN
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    As AppleBlossom gets older I’m thinking more and more about what we’ll do in her education. I do not want to force early education on her, but she loves structured learning and so I think the sooner I work at something preschool related the better. When I started searching for preschool programs that I could implement at home it was startiling with just how much is out there. But I did not want to just use any program. I wanted something that would be multi-subject with various types of activities. I wanted something that would be started and center on the message of the Bible. I also wanted something that was flexible. Something that I could get ideas from and go from there, but also to be fairly structured on it’s own.
    The two programs I found were Alpha Omega’s Horizon’s Preschool and Answers for Preschoolers, which according to ChristianBook.com and Rainbow Resources, these are the same basic guts of a program. I went with Answers for Preschoolers with enthusiasm.
    As soon as the kit arrived I was very excited. There are two Teacher’s Guides with a yellow tab on one and a blue tab on the other, then there are two Student Workbooks with matching tabs. This is great to have things divided up in a part one and part section so that I do not have to get out one big resource each time, but can use the one we’re in at the time. The cover image is so bright and enchanting that it brings the idea of the Garden of Eden to life. And what better place is there to start when you’re using a Biblical based approach to education?
    At first while I was reading the Teacher’s Guide I was a little overwhelmed because there is a section in there in “Determining Your Type of Program” where it says “It has been necessary to assume in designing this teacher’s guide that the preschool teachers who will be using it have experience, training, or knowledge of how to run a preschool program.” I have to admit that I had a moment of panic. This program is created in a way that many different environments may use it. Whether it is an organized school with many students or a homeschool situation with a few or even just the one – you just change this or that to fit you. But it goes on to say, “There is enough here in the guide to give you direction but not enough to dictate what is done every minute of the preschool day. The guide suggests the concept to teach.” As I went on, the panic dissipated and I realized that this is what I was expecting and I read it wrong at first thinking it was less than it is, but no. This is wealth of information with just enough of inspiration and direction to get you going, but it’s not a planner with the hours laid out in the day. It had just what it needs to and even a little more. (There is however a schedule suggestion depending on half-days or all-day schedules.)
    Shortly on the components. Teacher’s Guide – Detailed daily lessons with activities. 180 lessons total separated into two books 1-90 and 91-180. Black and white print. Student Workbook – Consumable materials for the student for all topics. Also separated into two books, lessons 1-90 and 91-180. These are 4-color book pages with perforated edges for ease to tear out. Many are front and back, while a few are 1-sided for crafts. Resource Packet – Now this is an exciting feature! This packet includes full-color teaching aid and black line masters for reproducibles. This includes Memory Verse cards in KJV and NIV, Alphabet Puzzle and Flashcards. Lasting in my kit there is also a Sing-Along CD with the songs that reinforce main subject areas. (Child singers) There are also other options of multimedia items that one could add to their kit including videos, CDs and software also available from Alpha Omega for complementing the Preschool Curriculum.
    Answers for Preschoolers is very well laid out and very teacher friendly. My background does not include teaching preschool, but I have taught 2nd Grade and older and I am confident that I can do this with the aide of the Teacher’s Guide. The format is easy to follow and there are plenty of activities. There are enough activities to fill a day, but there is also levity to move things and add something else if need be. I am impressed and very confident that this is the right program for us. Having subdivision of Bible Lesson, Social Studies, Science, Language Arts, Phonics, Reading, Writing, Memory Verses, Math, Shapes, Colors and Story Time as well as Music, Arts & Crafts, Physical Education, Outdoor Actvities, Creative Cooking, Health & Safety, Field Trips and more I’m delighted. Not having to figure everything out on my own for each subject is a relief and Answers in Genesis is a company that I trust and know that we can rely upon.
    +4points
    4of 4voted this as helpful.
    Review 7 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Awesome

    Date:September 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    BizEMom
    Location:Houston TX
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    The curriculum is great and my 3 yr old son enjoys it. As of today, we are on Lesson 13. He looks forward to his lessons and its easy for him to understand. He loves learning and Answers is a great tool. We use the 1/2 day schedule. I would recommend this over and over again!!!
    +2points
    2of 2voted this as helpful.
    Review 8 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Loving it so far

    Date:August 31, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    reteze
    Location:Nc
    Age:25-34
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    we are only on day 3 - but my 4 yr old is enjoying doing the "work"-- I like that it gives you a supply list for each week -- it also gives you a sample schedules(1/2 day and full day) to follow -
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.
    Review 9 for Answers for Preschoolers--Curriculum Set
    Overall Rating: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5

    Everything in one affordable package

    Date:June 7, 2011
    Customer Avatar
    Tronsgal
    Location:Fort McMurray, AB
    Age:35-44
    Gender:female
    Quality: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Value: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    Meets Expectations: 
    5 out of 5
    5 out of 5
    This curriculum has everything needed for the preschool year. Nicely packaged and easy to use.
    0points
    0of 0voted this as helpful.