Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook

Multnomah Books The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
0
92 out of 9498%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Review 1 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:March 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
CharityUAusten
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good read. It really did remind me of Downton Abbey, as it focuses (obviously) on a governess. Some of the scenes with the maids and other servants were very much like in Downton Abbey. The governess side of things had some definite similarities to Jane Eyre as well. All in all, good for a one time read, but not a book I’d buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worlds lie between the marketplaces of India and the halls of a magnificent country estate like Highland Hall. Will Julia be able to find her place when a governess is neither upstairs family nor downstairs help?
Missionary Julia Foster loves working alongside her parents, ministering and caring for young girls in India. But when the family must return to England due to illness, she readily accepts the burden for her parents’ financial support. Taking on a job at Highland Hall as governess, she quickly finds that teaching her four privileged, ill-mannered charges at a grand estate is more challenging than expected, and she isn't sure what to make of the estate’s preoccupied master, Sir William Ramsey.
Widowed and left to care for his two young children and his deceased cousin Randolph’s two teenage girls, William is consumed with saving the estate from the financial ruin. The last thing he needs is any distraction coming from the kindhearted-yet-determined governess who seems to be quietly transforming his household with her persuasive personality, vibrant prayer life, and strong faith.
While both are tending past wounds and guarding fragile secrets, Julia and William are determined to do what it takes to save their families—common ground that proves fertile for unexpected feelings. But will William choose Julia’s steadfast heart and faith over the wealth and power he needs to secure Highland Hall’s future?
My Review:
I know I keep saying books are absolutely wonderful - and they really are!! This one was no exception. As a fan of Downtown Abbey, I was an instant fan of the upstairs/downstairs drama and hierarchy. Julia goes from being a missionary to a prim and proper governess for the English nobility, and being neither family nor servant puts her in a very unique position. Add to the mix a widower (of course!) that is over his head raising not only his two children, but his cousin's as well, when Julia comes to his aid.
The Edwardian time period is a favorite of mine, and I loved the imaginary of a beautiful country estate that is approaching ruin. The story is exquisitely woven by Turansky, and everything about this novel will appeal to fans of a clean romance and historical fiction. The themes of following and submitting to God's will were, of course, the best part; and it all comes together for a spectacular story.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read with a wonderful ending

Date:January 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrie Turansky penned a beautiful love story when she wrote the first novel in the Edwardian Bride series. In this novel, Julia Foster is looking for a supplemental income to help her family make ends meet while her father is ill. Her parents and her were missionaries in India, and due to her father’s health, they had to return to England. As he struggles to become more healthy, Julia’s heart is still in India. However, she is willing to take on a governess position while she waits to return to the missionary field. As she works her way into the hearts of the children at Highland Hall – Andrew and Millie, as well as their older cousins Kathrine and Penelope – Julia finds that her heart is always being filled with love for Andrew and Millie’s widowed father.
William lost his wife a few years ago, and has slowly withdrawn himself from his children. He has left their care to the house manager and the nursery maid. He is unable to keep a governess employed for more than a fleeting moment. When Julia applies for the position of governess, he sees the potential she might bring and offers her a 1 month trial. However, there are many people who are unhappy with her upbeat spirit and independent thinking. As the financial state of Highland Hall teeters on the brink of bankruptcy, as the staff employed at the Hall engage in secret romances -including William’s own sister, Sarah – and as Julia’s father’s health fails, a second chance at love and remarriage remains a dream away for William.
This is a great read for anyone interested in turn of the century British romance. The reader will fall in love with Julia and her patient ways, as well as be silently cheering for William to just open his up and see what a precious gift he has in front of him in his children and their governess. As the story weaves in and through the characters, Turansky’s love story catches the heart of the reader, and they are unable to put the book down.
I received this book from Water Brook Multnomah and am not being compensated for my review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Downton-ish

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jennie Nelson
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This book was a fun read that timed perfectly with the season premiere of Downton Abbey for us here in America. The Governess of Highland Hall is a book very reminiscent in style, period and tone as Upstairs, Downstairs or Downton Abbey. One important difference is the biblical world view both in the behavior of the characters and in their thoughts.
The main character, Julia, is a new governess for a wealthy family that lives in a beautiful mansion. She brings her experience as a missionary in India as well as a strong family foundation of truth and grace. Her employer, Sir William, has a jaded and sceptical view of the world and relationships due to being cruelly betrayed by his late wife, despite his outward dedication to scripture. As Julia settles into her role, her strong views of God's grace and redemption confront William.
I enjoyed the setting and description in The Governess of Highland Hall along with the Julia's strong character and her reluctance to do anything that would compromise her. One thing that bothered me was the actual similarity to Downton Abbey. I found myself picturing the television characters and wondering if this author wrote this book while watching Downton. It might just be influence but that did take away from the enjoyment a bit. Too predictable, too common. That said, it was a quick, fun read and I will likely read the next one in the series. Being a bit obsessed with all things England, it fit into that niche perfectly.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Story with Great Characters

Date:January 13, 2014
I'm loving all of these English Regency / Edwardian period novels that are coming out right now! There's just something about this time period that intrigues me, and I can't get enough of it! The Governess of Highland Hall was another wonderful book set during this time. The tension between the classes is always interesting to me, and this book does a wonderful job of showing characters who struggle with their "place" in society and crossing between the classes.
The best part of this book was the character development. Turansky writes each character brilliantly. There are quite a few characters—Julia, William, William's two children, his teenage nieces, and a host of other family members and servants—and they I felt like I got to know all of them by the end of the novel. I felt that knowing the characters well made this story even more endearing and helped draw me into a plot that was at times a bit predictable.
Carrie Turansky is a new-to-me author, but after reading The Governess of Highland Hall, I'll be looking for more books from her in the future! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Engaging Characters

Date:December 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I felt like I emotionally connected with the characters in Carrie Turansky's The Governess of Highland Hall, which made me really enjoy the book. I thought that Julia was the perfect person to pull William out of his lonely life and to transform his children/nieces into the family that they were meant to be. Both Julia and William are very determined to save their families. In Julia's case, she needs to save up money in order to help pay for her father's health issues. In William's case, he needs to save his estate from financial ruin while holding those who are in his care together. Since Julia is stuck in an awkward position as governess, not being upstairs family or downstairs help, I liked that Turansky included Sarah, William's handicapped sister, as someone who also had trouble fitting in. The story includes moments of ups and downs in multiple relationships, but they all work out in the end, creating a happily ever after ending for everyone. Overall, I enjoyed the book.
*I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Favorite!

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andrea Cox
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When Julia Foster returns with her mother and ailing father from a missionary’s life in India, she must find employment to support her parents during their time of need. Thus, she becomes the Governess of Highland Hall. Although her younger two charges, Sir William Ramsey’s children, are eager to please their new governess, the baronet’s cousins resist the necessity of having a governess as they approach the time for the social season in London. When Julia realizes her position as governess leaves her somewhere between the family and the downstairs help, will she be able to find a place to belong?
Many things about The Governess of Highland Hall appealed to me, making it difficult to know where to begin. The heart of the author shines through each subplot and character, strumming the chords of the reader’s heartstrings. The storyline appealed to me because it’s sometimes difficult to know exactly my place in life. Am I to make a huge impact on the world around me, or just try to survive the trials that come my way? Better yet, is it possible that both situations help improve the other? And do Julia’s words from chapter five, “Love is more than a fleeting emotion. It’s a choice you make based on many things,” have anything to do with it?
Every day I listen for God’s call on my life, so that I may be able to discern where He wants me to be and who He wants me to connect with while I’m there. In that way, I felt like Governess’ Julia Foster. She listened for God’s guidance about whether or not she should take on the role of governess at Highland Hall or if she should return to her mission work in India. If we follow God’s call, we can’t go wrong.
Carrie Turansky is a new-to-me author, and I’ve got to admit that she’s swiftly become a favorite. Having only read this one novel of hers, I can only say I highly recommend Governess of Highland Hall and am looking forward with a smile to the next Turansky book I can get my hands on. I’ll be keeping my eyes out for her name when I next go book shopping. She told this tale with a sweetness that fit the time period and made me feel as if I were there in Highland Hall along with the characters. Her writing style reminds me of Jane Austen and Julie Klassen, so if you’re a fan of those ladies, you’re certain to love Carrie Turansky.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for my copy of The Governess of Highland Hall to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Governess of Highland Hall

Date:December 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Synopsis:
“Missionary Julia Foster loves working alongside her parents, ministering and caring for young girls in India. But when the family must return to England due to illness, she readily accepts the burden for her parents’ financial support. Taking on a job at Highland Hall as governess, sh quickly finds that teaching her four privileged, ill-mannered charges at a grand estate is more challenging than expected, and she isn’t sure what to make of the estate’s preoccupied master, Sir William Ramsey.
Widowed and left to care for his two young children and his deceased cousin’s two teenage girls, William is consumed with saving the estate from financial ruin. The last thing he needs is the distraction of a kindhearted-yet-determined governess who seems to be quietly transforming his household with her persuasive personality, vibrant prayer life, and strong faith.
While both are tending past wounds and guarding fragile secrets, Julia and William are determined to do what it takes to save their families–common ground that proves fertile for unexpected feelings. But will William choose Julia’s steadfast heart over the wealth and power he needs to secure Highland Hall’s future?”
My Review:
Again, due to mailing problems, this review is extremely late, I really hope this is the last one, I hate being late. Anyways, I have read some of The Governess of Highland Hall and will review what I have read.
The Governess of Highland Hall is beautifully written and full of excellent description. So far, the storyline has held my attention and I really do like the characters, all are realistic and believable. I am not going to put an age rating on this book like I normally do, just because I haven’t read enough of the book to feel confident with my answer.
I will definitely be finishing the book, and will probably try to get book 2 when it comes out next year. I do recommend this book to all of my friends as a really good read.
“I received this book from Blogging for Books for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So good! Not to be missed!

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lala
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not watched any full episodes of Downtown Abbey, but have seen a few clips from the show and The Governess of Highland Hall is like Downtown Abbey in a novel just better!
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel despite the views that society had of marrying outside their social class! It totally frustrated me, but Carrie writes with grace in upholding that love conquers all! The theme for this novel is definitely 1 Corinthians 13! I have read quite a few other novels that have had this theme and it's something I don't think I'll ever get tired of reading, especially with characters who have personalities like Julia's in Carrie's latest novel! I really loved Julia's personality and can say she is most definitely in my top five of favorite women protagonist I have ever read about! The way she included her relationship with God in everything and how it came out in her teachings with the children was so inspiring! I also enjoyed Sir William's character. My heart grieved for all the heartache he had experienced at such a young age and now the burdens he carries.
I was also pleasantly surprised to read a very big Christmas scene since its Christmas time! Carrie did such a fabulous job of not only bringing Christmas to life, but the overall life of a governess and Lord/Baronet! There was such great descriptive details that it gave me no trouble in feeling like I was actually there alongside the Highland family!
Overall this is a wonderful fiction read that is in the Edwardian period and is definitely some of the best I have read! I'm giving The Governess of Highland Hall a 4.5 stars because there were just a few places that lagged for me, but this is definitely a novel that's not to be missed!
*I received an ARC of this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review! All thoughts expressed are my own and I was not required to write a positive review!*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worlds lie between the marketplaces of India and the halls of a magnificent country estate like Highland Hall. Will Julia be able to find her place when a governess is neither upstairs family nor downstairs help?
Missionary Julia Foster loves working alongside her parents, ministering and caring for young girls in India. But when the family must return to England due to illness, she readily accepts the burden for her parents’ financial support. Taking on a job at Highland Hall as governess, she quickly finds that teaching her four privileged, ill-mannered charges at a grand estate is more challenging than expected, and she isn't sure what to make of the estate’s preoccupied master, Sir William Ramsey.
Widowed and left to care for his two young children and his deceased cousin Randolph’s two teenage girls, William is consumed with saving the estate from the financial ruin. The last thing he needs is any distraction coming from the kindhearted-yet-determined governess who seems to be quietly transforming his household with her persuasive personality, vibrant prayer life, and strong faith.
While both are tending past wounds and guarding fragile secrets, Julia and William are determined to do what it takes to save their families—common ground that proves fertile for unexpected feelings. But will William choose Julia’s steadfast heart and faith over the wealth and power he needs to secure Highland Hall’s future?
My Review:
I know I keep saying books are absolutely wonderful - and they really are!! This one was no exception. As a fan of Downtown Abbey, I was an instant fan of the upstairs/downstairs drama and hierarchy. Julia goes from being a missionary to a prim and proper governess for the English nobility, and being neither family nor servant puts her in a very unique position. Add to the mix a widower (of course!) that is over his head raising not only his two children, but his cousin's as well, when Julia comes to his aid.
The Edwardian time period is a favorite of mine, and I loved the imaginary of a beautiful country estate that is approaching ruin. The story is exquisitely woven by Turansky, and everything about this novel will appeal to fans of a clean romance and historical fiction. The themes of following and submitting to God's will were, of course, the best part; and it all comes together for a spectacular story.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

well..but still good

Date:December 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:Norway
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not my cup of tea I'm sorry to say BECAUSE of the way the servants speak to their master is way ridiculos. And how many chanses did reall servants get at the time being? Other than that fine. I liked Sarah and the two "wicked" sisters. Julias faith is strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome read! Can't wait for the next one!

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Governess of Highland Hall, while about the elite and those who serve them, was probably the most relatable book I've read in quite a while. It wasn't full of twist and turns and spine-tingling, back-stabbing drama. But that's fine by me. This book wasn't a formula romance. It didn't fit into a nice little package wrapped up with a perfect little bow. And I'm glad! It was a story that I lingered over, like a hot slice of flaky, bubbly peach pie.
The heroine is a former missionary turned governess. Julia's faith and her character stood out most to me in this story. She responded to situations in a Godly manner and gave others grace when they didn't behave that way. She saw the difference between having head knowledge about God and having a heart relationship with him. She guided those around her in a "Titus 2" kind of way and helped them see for themselves the goodness of God. I think this is much the way the author, Carrie Turansky, lives her life as a pastor's wife.
The hero in this story, William, who is a wealthy young widower who inherited a struggling estate, believes in God. He's been lied to and cheated on in the past though and that keeps him bitter and prevents him from opening his heart to his children, his wards, his employees, and to Julia. While this book had romance in it, it didn't solely focus on the romance. It proved that there is more to life and to people than who they might be attracted to. Julia was not a selfish woman. Her desire was to help her parents financially while on break from their missionary work in India. Through that desire, she continued to do missionary work as a governess and to cause life change in those around her. Turansky has a unique way of weaving character's lives together. She took Julia and sprinkled a little of her into each and every one of the characters in this book. By the end, it was clear that Julia had influenced them all. It's a lesson in how we should live our lives. With intention. With purpose. Always looking for ways to help and to bless others. A great lesson for us all!
I received this book from BloggingForBooks and the publisher. All thoughts expressed in my review are my own, honest and unbiased. I was not paid to write this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Appealing British Setting with Plenty of Drama

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In a story reminiscent of "Upstairs, Downstairs," "Downton Abbey," and even "Jane Eyre," Carrie Turansky introduces readers to Highland Hall and its residents. "The Governess of Highland Hall" has an appealing British air with plenty of drama on the vast and beautiful estate. Julia Foster arrives from serving as a missionary in India to work as a governess on William Ramsey's newly inherited estate. A world away from India, Julia confronts new challenges from her pupils, the household staff, and the stirrings of her heart. Despite finding herself in a brand new environment, Julia seems overly confident of her opinions. Sir William even consults with Julia over estate problems and they work together to find a solution for economizing the estate's expenditures. Although their partnership is good for developing their relationship, it seems a bit unrealistic that Julia would be so knowledgeable and self-assured. I could relate to the head housekeeper's annoyance with Julia at times, but not her vindictiveness.
There are two romances that cross societal boundaries in "The Governess of Highland Hall." The main focus is the relationship between Julia and Sir William. Sir William transitions from a distant father and broken-hearted man to a more open and accessible family and estate leader. Much of the change is driven by Julia's presence, but both characters keep their feelings suppressed, constrained by their class differences. There is a touch of "Jane Eyre" in the situation, without the heaviness and mystery. Casting convention aside in favor of true love is an appealing recipe for romance, and adds romantic drama. Sir William's sister, Sarah, also embarks on an upstairs, downstairs relationship with the estate's gardener. I most enjoyed Sarah's story, and her gentle demeanor and quiet strength pulled on my heartstrings. I would have loved to read more about her background and disability, especially since I found myself anticipating her scenes.
Carrie Turansky delivers drama and romance in "The Governess of Highland Hall." Highland Hall is a grand estate with intriguing residents that will take readers on a trip to the English countryside.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good-quality writing!

Date:November 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. Yes, the plot was predictable in that you knew somehow Julia and William were going to fall in love, but it was really well-written, not cheesy (one of my pet peeves is cheesy romance) and it was written in a realistic way. It was believable, unlike some books where the author's attempts at a romance ruin the book. The characters in this book were really well-done too and were really enjoyable to read about. I loved them. Julia was my favorite, of course, and I really liked reading about the growing friendship between her and Sarah. Julia is such a sweet, kind character. The plot of this book kind of reminded me of The Sound of Music but a little bit different- and if you loved that movie, you will love this book. I liked this book a lot and I recommend it. I think that anyone who likes historical fiction, especially from this particular era, would enjoy reading The Governess of Highland Hall.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah for sending me a free copy of The Governess of Highland Hall in exchange for my honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kara
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Governess of Highland Hall, by Carrie Turansky, is a charming novel. It is the first book in the Edwardian Brides series. Set in Berkshire, England, in 1911, this novel addresses the issues revolving around crossing the class system in place at the time. It also causes one to pause and think about whether or not he is pursuing God’s will or his own.
Julia Foster has returned to England after several years of missionary work in India with her parents. In order to help support her parents due to her father’s illness, she accepts a position as a governess at Highland Hall. Her presence there soon turns the entire household upside down. She encourages true love. She shares her faith and her prayers. She is kindhearted toward everyone. But her dream of returning to India may not be God’s will for her life as she had planned. He may have other plans for her.
I enjoyed this book. I thought the characters were very personable and could relate to many of them. I especially liked the fact that all of the characters showed some very human flaws and vulnerabilities. This is truly a wonderful tale of choosing God’s will over our own, whatever our social standing. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.
Kara
I received this book free from the publisher and was not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Karen D.
Location:Rutland VT
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this book about young missionary who had to return home from the field and work as a governess to help out her ailing parent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
debbiedeefisher
Location:comstock, NE
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Governess of Highland Hall" by Carrie Turansky is set in the early 1900's. Julia Foster and her parents were missionaries to India and had to go home to England when her father became ill. Unable to support his family, Julia takes a job at Highland Hall as a governess to 2 young children as well as the master's (William) 2 teenage cousins whose parents have died.
The children are ill mannered, the master has trusting issues due to his late wife's life, and some of the help at the manor make Julia's life a challenge.
Both Julia and William are doing what they can to support their own families and come head to head more than once.
Carrie Turansky is a new author to me, but I loved this book and can't wait to read the next one in the series. However, it doesn't come out until fall of next year!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance At Its Finest!

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In The Governess of Highland Hall, author Carrie Turansky has crafted a wonderful Edwardian era novel set in England; replete with dashing lords and ladies, and opulent mansions with magnificent decor...nonetheless behind those ornate doors also lurk secrets, pain, and hidden passions.
A missionary in India, Julia Foster has returned to England because of her father's illness and procures a position as governess of Highland Hall, a wealthy estate owned by the handsome, brooding widower Sir William Ramsey. Julia's job is to care for William's children and his deceased cousin's two teenage girls. Doing so is quite a challenge as the baronet seems to be cold and withdrawn towards his own children and distrusts all women.
As Julia befriends William's lovely but crippled sister, Sarah, who is keeping a deep secret from her brother, she also begins to endear herself to the children. But what dark secret is William carrying inside and how can he save Highland Hall from financial ruin? Although his fondness towards Julia begins to turn to love...will he marry another with wealth to save not only Highland Hall but his reputation as well?...for to marry a governess is quite unacceptable for a man of his social standing.
This heartwarming novel, reminiscent of a cross between Jane Eyre and Jane Austen, will grab the reader from page one and not let go until the satisfying conclusion. This is one of those books where one falls so in love with the characters that it is SO hard to let them go! And this not only has one romantic plot, but two more romantic subplots which will break and also delight the reader's heart and cause several sighs (and tears!) to escape while reading. William is perfect as the brooding hero, but I couldn't stand this stuffed shirt at first until I got a chance to really see his heart. Beautifully written and researched, I highly recommend this wonderful novel!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For fans of Downton Abbey (isn’t that everyone?)

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Illness has forced the Foster family to return to England from their missionary school and orphanage in India. Julia gains employment at Highland House, the home of Sir William Ramsay, as governess to his children, Andrew and Millicent, and to his teenage cousins and wards, Katharine and Penelope.
Sir William is looking for a governess who won’t mind staying in the country, because he has only recently inherited Highland Hall, and the death duties are placing a lot of financial pressure on him. Julia hasn’t told him she plans on returning to India with her family as soon as her father is well again, and as she spends more time at Highland Hall, getting to know Sir William and his family, she has to rethink her future plans.
The story and characters captured my attention from the start. I like an intelligent heroine who isn’t afraid to have her own opinions, so I liked Julia. William was a man with many troubles, but made a fitting hero. I liked the romantic subplot featuring Sarah, William’s sister, and I liked the Christian aspect of the story—Julia, especially, has a strong Christian faith (she’s partly modelled on Amy Carmichael, a real-life missionary to India).
The novel combines elements of classic British fiction like Jane Eyre with the Edwardian era, currently made fashionable by the TV series Downton Abbey. I'm a huge fan of Downton Abbey and fiction set in England, and it always bugs me when I’m pulled out of the story by silly factual errors, or by English characters using American vocabulary (like fall or pavement). Carrie Turansky contacted me to ask if I’d read her draft to find any such errors. I was pleased to help, and can only hope I found them all!
The Governess of Highland Hall is the first of a trilogy, and I look forward to reading the next in the series. Recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Governess of Highland Hall, Edwardian Brides Series #1 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2013
I really enjoy literature that is set in the Edwardian time frame and The Governess of Highland Hall was a great example of well written fiction in this period. Ms. Turansky did a wonderful job of remaining accurate to the time while keeping the story line interesting.
The main character is Julia who has been a missionary with her parents in India. She loved her work with the young girls there but because of her father's medical condition she and her family are forced to return to England. Once they are back on the continent Julia seeks a position as governess to help alleviate some of the financial strain on her family.
Julia finds a position at Highland Hall that is ran by Sir William Ramsey. Sir Ramsey has recently acquired the estate because of the death for his cousin. William is faced with many struggles over whether to go with his heart or to stick with what is acceptable among the nobility. Julia proves to be the source of his greatest predicament. Falling in love with the governess is beyond acceptable in his social circles. He also has the added responsibility of securing the future of Highland Hall for the family name. In order to do that he either needs to remarry someone of means or find a way to raise more capital.
Along with the story line of Julia and William is the charming tale of the budding romance between William's younger sister Sarah and the head gardener. That is a definite no no to the social norms of the time. The cast of characters is filled out with people that appear to be loyal, but aren't and those that are just out to benefit themselves.
This book is light enough for a great afternoon read but it is complex enough to hold you interest on into the evening. I recommend it to anyone that enjoys historical fiction and more specifically that from the Edwardian period.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.