Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black

B&H Books HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black

As Baby Boomers (the generation born from 1946 to 1964) reaches their mid fifties and beyond (more than 80 million over the next forty years), large print resources will be increasingly important to them. Not only the normal aging effects come into play but the fact that this generation has experienced greater eye fatigue, due to large number of hours working in front of computer screens. This is a full reference Bible with a very clear and comfortable 14-point typeface, presented in a two-column format with end-of-paragraph cross references.

Features include:

  • Presentation Page
  • Family records section
  • 14 Point text
  • Two-Column format
  • End-of-paragraph references
  • Words of Christ in red
  • HCSB Bullet Notes
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Where to Turn seciton
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Topical Concordance
  • 8 full-color maps
  • Imitation Black

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Review 1 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Bible with great readability.

Date:November 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ivie
Location:Wilmington, DE
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The translation and the print combine to make this a great purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very user-friendly Bible

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marvin
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite pleased with this Bible. I had not owned this version (HCSB) before. The large text is very easy to read; the margins near the spine could be a tad larger for my comfort in handling.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true 'Giant' print Bible

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Wichita, Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a physically well made Bible, as well as being a competant and interesting translation. The cover material and binding is excellent, and it has a good stiffness that is not found in leather covered Bibles. The type is 14 point, and the font is actually more readable than the font used in the NASB Giant print Bible which I am committed to for a study Bible. I shall use this when I read the scripture reading in our assemblies, as I believe we could all profit from more exposure to this translation. The 'how to become a Christian' page, the 'quick and easy' plan of salvation, reflects the usual lack of respect for the role of baptism found in most Bible 'help pages', however.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bible, but the text runs too close to spine.

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane Hughes
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice Bible for the price. The words are clear and easy to read. The only problem I have with this Bible is that the margin next to the spine is almost non-existent. It would have been nice if they had left at least 1/4" more space on the inside margin.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Bible

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jude
Location:Mt. Vernon, OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Say what you will, I have believed the American Standard Bible to be the most accurate - a little "choppy," but accurate. I find the HCSB the Bible that takes the "choppiness" out. I love this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Harry Blackmore
An excellent 'optimal translation' of Scripture text, adhering closely to the Hebrew and Greek. It is rendered in modern English and, therefore, easy to read for Deaf people unfamiliar with stilted olderlanguage of some other translations. I wish there was a black letter edition (red letters are not so easily recognised by visually-impaired readers, and I happen to believe that the rest of Scripture is also inspired by the Spirit of Christ - so why demarcate what Jesus said while on earth from what He said from heaven?)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2010
I love how the Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) uses a capital letter when referring to God/Jesus/The Holy Spirit as "He" or "Him". So does the NKJV and the Amplified. I wish the NIV did, but it does not. Of all the Bible translations I use for comparing verses, this large print HCSB is the one I keep coming back to as my main Bible. The print is not only large and comfortable to read, but the ink is thick, too. And this version is very easy to follow. 5 stars all the way!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gloria Sanchez
Not for me as I pictured; I returned it yesterday 5/13/10. It did have a lot of good features, but, my Thompson's Bible NKJV will suffice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Reed
I am very pleased this Bible is a good size to carry to church and very easy to read.Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Bradley
This translation is very easy to read. The giant print makes it great for those of us over 45. Christianbook.com shipped it quickly and I had it in time for the next Sunday.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mountain Meadows Ministries
A very good translation for a new generation of bible readers. excellent layout and resources for its cost.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Giant Print Bible, Imitation leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sharlet Moore
I bought my mom one and love the way it reads and decided to get her another one with larger print. Very good points.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.