Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook

David C. Cook Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook

Hospitality consultant Andrea Sullivan has one last chance to snag a high-profile client or she'll have to kiss her dreams of promotion good-bye. When she's sent to meet Scottish celebrity chef James MacDonald on the Isle of Skye, she just wants to finish her work as efficiently as possible. Yet her client is not the opportunistic womanizer he portrays himself to be, and her attraction to him soon dredges up memories she'd rather leave buried. For James, renovating the family hotel is a fulfillment of his late father's dreams. When his hired consultant turns out to be beautiful, intelligent, and completely unimpressed by his public persona, he makes it his mission to win her over. He just never expects to fall under her spell.

Soon, both Andrea and James must face the reality that God may have a far different purpose for their lives-and that five days in Skye will forever change their outlook on life and love.

Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Refreshing story

Date:March 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Five Days in Skye" is a Christian romance novel. The beautiful cover and an interest to "see" Skye tempted me into giving the book a chance. We do get a tour of the isle along with Andrea, but the characters and their struggles also pulled me deeply into the story. Both Andrea and James have made poor decisions in love in the past and have deep wounds from betrayal. They haven't really dealt with these wounds and don't intend to...until they meet each other. The story is more about healing broken relationships and past hurts than "romance," though they are physically attracted and enjoy kissing.
I liked that they both realized that physical attraction to one another is nice but not the same as love. So many romance novels promote the idea that if "sparks fly" when the characters kiss then it must be true love. I also liked that they realized they needed to deal with past hurts if this relationship had any chance rather than acting like a new relationship would somehow "patch over" the past so they wouldn't have to face it. Basically, the characters came across as real people.
The Christian element felt realistic and was part of the natural flow of the story. There was no sex or bad language. Overall, I'd highly recommend this refreshing story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Contemporary romance

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Katy
Location:Tennessee
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five Days in Skye is an intense, contemporary romance that will keep you turning pages as you become immersed in this exciting story of love, forgiveness, and redemption. I love this novel.
The main characters, Andrea and James, are so well developed, I feel as if they are people I know. The setting of the story is vividly described, and I feel like I’ve missed something by not visiting there.
The spiritual thread is naturally woven into the story and adds to its depth. I always enjoy a novel that makes me think, and this one does that well.
Although the story has a very satisfying ending, I did hate to see it end. I will remember Andrea and James’ story for quite some time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Days in Skye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved Visiting Scotland

Date:March 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Susan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book captivated me not only with the scenery, but the dialogue and chemistry between the two main characters. Carla truly made each page come alive. If you enjoy witty characters, a great romance, or have ever visited--or wanted to visit Scotland--you'll love this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Days in Skye.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good chemistry and tension

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I felt like I was on vacation in Scotland while reading this book! The setting was very much a main character. I didn't have a great first impression of Andrea or James, but as their true natures and emotions were revealed and they opened up to each other they became easy to connect with. I don't know if I could trust such a whirlwind start to a relationship, but it was sure fun to read about :) The romantic chemistry was wonderful, especially with the tension of holding themselves back. Sweet ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Days in Skye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tension filled romance

Date:November 19, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oh my....this is a book I could read more than once, it was that good.
If you enjoy contemporary romance set in a faraway place you will adore this book.
The funny thing is I skipped over this book many times because I thought it didn't sound very interesting but I kept hearing about it and decided to give it go. I am so glad I did.
The tension between Andrea and James is so intense you will have to keep flipping pages to see you can find some relief.
This book has Genesis 5020 all over it. Things have happened in both James and Andrea's lives that have led them to the place they are now. Without those events they would have never crossed paths. God used what was meant to harm them for His good.
My heart was aching through most of the book but by the last third of the book tears pooled in my eyes until the end where I just let loose and the tears flowed.
I so badly wanted them to find away to be together, but the constant question is how can they find away? Who will give up what they have? And would Andrea ever surrender her life to God?
You'll just have to read the book to get the answers and trust me, this book is well worth your time and money. I give this book five stars and can't wait to read more from Carla.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through NetGalley.com in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Yummy Story

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gringa93
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano
Andrea Sullivan: rising executive on the verge of Vice President of sales for her company. Suddenly she finds herself in the doghouse in Scotland. Scotland where it's "cold, it's miserable, and the food is horrible."
James MacDonald: world famous celebrity chef from Scotland. He owns six restaurants, written four cookbooks and has his own cooking show. He loves a challenge. When he meets Andrea Sullivan in one of his pubs, he doesn't disclose who he is. Andrea reveals her aversion to Scotland, and James takes it as a challenge to change her opinion of his beloved homeland. He only has five days to change her mind. Can he accomplish his task? How long will Andrea have to put up with the selfish celebrity or is that just the image that has been woven for the public? Read Five Days in Skye and get lost in the beauty of the story.
A mythically beautiful setting with authentic characters. This was a delightful read. I loved getting lost in the Scottish highlands. First time author, Carla Laureano, does a brilliant job. I am eager to read more of her work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an inspiring story! Truly a great read!

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mariette
Location:Johannesburg, South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five days in Skye took me on a journey that heals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Went beyond even my wildest expectation.

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How do you even find the words to describe such an experience? What do you say when a book just comes out of nowhere and abundantly, completely satisfies you in every way?
I was swirled away in to this pool of happiness. I laughed out loud more times than I can count. My smile seemed to permanently stay in place as I excitedly flipped pages in this book. I can't even begin to say how great my surprise was to find out I not only liked, but thoroughly enjoyed this debut. Even days after reading it, I'm still in a happy daze, still trying to figure out what just happened here.
What a breathtaking writer... an artist.. that's what Carla Laureano is. What a very-well written book. What a gorgeous, and I mean gorgeous romance. Oh my word. Andrea and James are so excellently crafted, they're giving every couple I've met so far in Christian Fiction this year a good run for their money. Andrea is a woman with a rare heart, buried beneath her good looks by a past that tore and shred a good part of her. It would take a lot to dig her out. Then a rescuer comes, a phenomena called James Macdonald. James is a flawed man, but with a heart even more rare than Andrea's. He's a dream! The couple's connection and attraction felt so true, I never doubted it. Even though the romance sparks during a short time frame, I never felt like things were rushed, which surprised me. Laureano has a way of scrumptiously pulling a reader into the story, as the couple's adventure takes them places that are fascinating ―both figuratively and literally. Five Days in Skye flows seamlessly, with vivid and delicious descriptions of Scotland. From the sceneries, to the refined cuisine, every details of the land is sketched with precision and care, embarking readers on a unforgettable journey that will leave them breathless for more. Laureano not only seems to have a knack for breathing life into a place few of us truly know, but also for breathing life into characters that will take you by the hand and run away with you. It is impossible not to be endeared, in my opinion.
Unfortunately for me, the adventure ended in just three days, as I just could not stop reading. If I were to point out just two things that I thought could have been better, I'd say that, in my opinion, the cover and the title don't do justice to what's inside the book. This story, these characters, these emotions and lessons in Five Days in Skye, they'll be staying me for a while. I am elated to see what's in store for this author. Not a lot of writers are able to write like her. Seldom does an author captivate my attention as much with just a debut. How is it that it's a debut for that matter? I am already a fan!
I cannot recommend it more.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromFive Days in Skye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely. I’m still smiling.

Date:August 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Andrea Sullivan may have sabotaged her career with that last potential client. Now, as punishment, she has to convince TV chef James MacDonald, owner of three Michelin-starred London restaurants, that her company is perfect to help him renovate and market the family hotel he has inherited on the Isle of Skye. She has just a few days, and her job is on the line.
There is an immediate attraction when Andrea and James meet, but Andrea wants nothing to do with men, and especially wants nothing to do with a client. James has his own problematic romantic history, not to mention an even more problematic relationship with his brother, who owns one-third of the hotel.
I found all the characters to be intelligent and likeable, and I was especially impressed by the research. I’ve not been to Skye but I’ve lived in London and visited Scotland, and Five Days in Skye made me feel I was there. I had to laugh Andrea’s reaction to James calling her ‘love’. It’s a common term, particularly in the hospitality industry. Right, love?
This is a Christian novel, but the Christian element is somewhat understated. Both Andrea and James come from rural backgrounds where the Christian faith was an integral part of the family. But both have abandoned that faith, yet realise on Skye that perhaps they need to pursue God once more.
Five Days in Syke has it all: an excellent opening, a funny first meeting between Andrea and James, intelligent lead characters who are both successes in their chosen careers, excellent attention to detail, and the Isle of Skye, a beautiful and unique setting. And the last line is a beautiful illustration of the eternal romance between us and God. Recommended for romance lovers.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Swept Away to Scotland!

Date:July 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Becky Wade
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five Days in Skye swept me away to Scotland! Against the craggy beauty of the Isle of Skye author Carla Laureano weaves a story of love between an American businesswoman and a Scottish celebrity chef. Fans of the movie The Holiday are sure to enjoy this contemporary romance. Laureano's voice is deft, seamless, and wonderfully accomplished. An exciting newcomer to the world of Christian fiction! Congratulations, Carla, on your debut novel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a fun travel romance

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Andrea is a hot shot hospitality consultant for a major firm in New York City, helping entrepreneurs provide a welcoming environment for their customers. She is in England on her way to Scotland when she stops at a pub to rethink her circumstances. She just lost an account because she refused the advances of a businessman who expected more from her than facility planning. And now she was supposed to go to some island and land a contract with a celebrity chef and some old hotel he was restoring.
A handsome fellow sits next to her and before long, Andrea is saying more than she meant about her next assignment and her irritation at the probable personality of the man she will have to work with. To her horror, she finds out that the fellow sitting next to her is in fact James, the celebrity chef and owner of this pub and several restaurants in England.
That is the beginning of this fun romance set on the Isle of Skye. I like it when I learn something from reading a romance, and in this case, I was introduced to a beautiful part of Scotland. Who wouldn't want to go there after reading the beautiful descriptions found in this novel?
I would have liked to find out more about the restaurant business in England and the hospitality consulting aspect of it. But this novel centers more on the characters of Andrea and James and the past hurts they must overcome before they can let their love grow.
The novel's ending is super quick and leaves us wondering if it is really possible, after such a short and whirlwind romance, for the two to make a reasonable future work. And there is a change in Jame's brother near the end that seemed out of character.
Other than that, this is a pretty good romance. Characters must work through past hurts and mistaken ideas about family actions. Andrea must finally come back to the God she abandoned when her world had crashed into her years ago.
If you like reading about a place you may only explore in a book, you'll like this one taking place on the Isle of Skye.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Five Days in Skye: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Controversial!

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Larik
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
5 Days in Skye.
By Carla Laureano
I don't even know how to rate this book. The writing structure is perfect. Nice blend between conversations, descriptions, and setting changes makes the book very easy in smooth read. I know very few authors who can accomplish it. And I have read the unedited script so it is Author's talent shining.
There are three things that really bothered me though. First--alcohol as a must, ( I expected prayer as a must at the table - not wine or ale or scotch for that matter).
Second-- inappropriate comments and clothing. ( it suggested too much comfort with the world, which would have been ok to just be on Andy's side, considering her abandonment of christianity but from James- who led her back to God, despite his flirtatious reputation, I expected a much better vocabulary).
And Third-- there is no real reflection of God's presence in this book or any suggestion it is a christian read, except very few pleading words sent toward Heaven.
The book is an awesome read for non-christian audience who isn't into all sexual scenes but likes a more neutral reading material. I have enjoyed all the sight-seeing of Skye historical places, they made me want to take a vacation and enjoy it for myself. The family ties and the value put on them was great and touching. The secondary characters, especially Ian kept me very interested. The relationship between the two (Andy and Jamie) and his complete sacrifice for love touched me. But like I said it should not have been branded christian.
Disclaimer: I got a copy of this book from David C Cook Publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for my honest opinion.
P.S.
I had the pleasure to discuss this book with its Author. And I have to tell you that I am rating it high because there is an explanation to each part of it. Alcohol is custom in Skye and you cant have a prominent chef without him appreciating and good drink. Tradition related!
And everything else relates to the fact that in reality christians let themselves be more liberal then they admit and some that are honest about it refuse to read books that portray saints instead of real people. God's salvation is for everyone and how we receive Him in our heart is personal and unique for everyone. So when you read this book don't be judgmental like me, better ask yourself what compromises you let slip in your walk with God.
Its a great book, even greater after you have a nice chat with its maker and know the purpose in writing it. I personally believe that each book has to have an introduction page that tells you what to expect and why.
I have read many books that I first thought were a waste of time and print or totally unfit for printing but after I discussed it with author or other readers I looked at it from a different perspective and it was quite an eye opener.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.