Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook

Revell Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook

When two Jane Does are killed on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia, detective and behavioral specialist Avery North discovers they share something in common-a tattoo of a magnolia on their shoulders. Suspecting a serial killer, Avery joins forces with medical examiner Jackson Bryant to solve the crimes and prevent another murder. But it doesn't take long for them to realize that there is much more to the case than meets the eye. As they venture deep into a sinister world of human trafficking, Avery and Jackson are taken to the very edge of their abilities-and their hearts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Review 1 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Complex Characters with story that will keep you g

Date:February 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unlike a simple romance, the characters in Dangerous Passage are not young and flighty. Widowed, with a teenage daughter, Detective North deals with her grief, teen angst, and a new relationship. These relationships make the story more complex and interesting, then the murder mystery becomes more than a simple murder mystery. The suspense level is low, but the mystery complexity is high enough to make up for it. The focus of the book is on a crime that is growing across the world, human trafficking. This book has a strong Christian aspect.
I recommend this book to lovers of good clean police mysteries, with a nice romance along side.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exciting Romantic Suspense

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Atlanta Detective Avery North has just been called in from her day off to investigate a murder. The victim was a young Asian female with a magnolia tattoo, similar to a recent unsolved crime, and Avery is motivated to solve this murder before another girl suffers the same fate.
She is assisted by her partner, Mitch, and by Jackson Bryant, the associate medical examiner for the force. Avery and Jackson have recently started dating— he’s the first man she’s had more than one date with since her husband died three years ago, leaving her with a daughter. Avery also has family issues. Her father has recently retired from the police force, her brother was murdered on the job four months earlier, and his killer is still at large. She struggles to balance the competing demands of God, family, a full-time job and now dating, and this felt very real.
This is the first book in the new Southern Crimes series, and I’ll certainly be keen to read more in the series. It’s got everything I look for in Christian romantic suspense: intelligent and likeable yet imperfect characters, a strong plot with plenty of suspense and a developing romantic subplot, good writing, and an underlying Christian theme. It’s dealing with some big issues—modern slavery—but manages to do it without getting too graphic. Recommended.
Thanks to Revell and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great romantic suspense

Date:October 2, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you like suspense novels? Clean romance? Then this is the book for you. This is my first time reading anything by Lisa Harris and I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to read, and enjoy. From the very beginning of the book, I was hooked, and until the suspect was revealed, I was clueless.
Kudos to Ms. Harris. I look forward to more titles from her in the future.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for purposes of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wonderwheel
Location:Mentor, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Harris makes you want to cheer for the good guys, and weep with them during the tough times. This book is one that makes me excited for the next book. Wonderful writing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Human Trafficking, Serial Killer Mystery Thriller

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lisa Harris in her new book "Dangerous Passage" Book One in the Southern Crimes series published by Revell Books takes us into the lives of Avery North and Jackson Bryant.
From the back cover: She's dedicated her life to ending violence. But has she moved too deep into a treacherous world?
When two Jane Does are killed on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia, detective and behavioral specialist Avery North discovers they share something in common-a magnolia tattoo on their shoulders. Suspecting a serial killer, Avery joins forces with medical examiner Jackson Bryant to solve the crimes and prevent another murder. As they venture deep into a sinister criminal world, Avery and Jackson are taken to the very edge of their abilities-and their hearts.
Dangerous Passage exposes a fully realized and frightening world where every layer peeled back reveals more challenges ahead. You'll be hooked from the start.
As soon as you say human trafficking to me the story takes on a new level of danger. Teenage girls are dying which is very close to home for Avery as she has a teenage daughter so she is even more determined to find this serial killer. It is this Magnolia tattoo that is their only clue. With "Dangerous Passage" Ms. Harris has given us a thriller that becomes more and more exciting until the last hundred pages which is an extremely wild ride. All I can say is imagine going on a roller coaster; the beginning of the ride is calm until you get to the top and experience that first drop then it is nothing but twists, turns, upside down loops until the ride ends. This is what Ms. Harris does to us as readers with this book. All of the characters are so well written you begin to think that you have known them all your life and you certainly want them to succeed. This is a fun read, it is a fast read, however I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Harris is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as she tightens the suspense.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available September 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
Known for her contemporary suspense novels set in Africa, Lisa Harris relocates to the United States for the beginning of her Southern Crimes series, and introduces Avery North, a young widow who has chosen to pursue her career as a detective despite the loss of her husband and the challenge of raising her pre-teen daughter. Avery’s love interest, Jackson Bryant, aids her in the search for the killer of young women as they sort through their feelings for each other and look for clues to stop more girls becoming prey for a murderer. Lisa includes all the necessary ingredients readers will love ~ conflict, romantic tension, red herrings, danger, heroics, and mystery. Jackson and Avery come with their own baggage and are very likeable characters trying to negotiate life and love. Dangerous Passage is bodes well for the success of this new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dangerous Passage by Lisa Harris

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
DANGEROUS PASSAGE by Lisa Harris Christian Romantic Suspense. #1 in the "Southern Crimes" series set in Atlantic, Georgia. What an emotionally charged story! Join Avery North and Jackson Bryant as they work together to try and solve a murder, find a serial killer,fight their attraction, and find a bit of happiness and peace. Filled with intense emotions, faith,healing,forgiveness, and love. An intriguing tale of murder, mystery, suspense, and romance. Ms. Harris has penned a thrilling story which captures the traits of humans, their misery, some people desires to harm others, and the power of faith and love. "Dangerous Passage" will have you on the edge of your seat, with the many twists and turns,and the deep secrets of a treacherous world. A great read! Received for an honest review from the publisher.
“Available September 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
RATING:4
HEAT RATING:Sweet
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a great novel

Date:September 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the first page, where Detective Avery North heads to the spa to relax after a busy working weekend to the last page I was pulled into a fast paced novel of intrigue, suspense and romance. Adrenaline racing type of fast paced, and I loved every minute. Avery (besides sharing the name of a favorite girl of mine) is dedicated, compassionate and very fervent in trying to find a balance between her family and her work to find justice. Jackson is equally determined to help. As we become more away of the horrible human trafficking going on, will we become complacent or more willing to at least consider the truth of it being there.
In this crazy world where we are constantly bombarded with demands how do we find a balance between what needs to be done and our sanity? Is there a balance and can I find it? Yes, I find it by carving out a few minutes here and there to be transported to someone else's hectic life. And Lisa does a great job of lifting me out of my humdrum daily chores to a place where I can become aware of the things others face on a regular basis.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group". 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the pages of the novel were turning, I remembered some television shows I watched growing up. Shows like Hill Street Blues or Barney Miller, or the one where a writer also helped solved cases the main character was played by Angela Lansbury do you remember the title of this particular show? In any case, novels that center on crime, legal areas as well as lawyers have always drawn my attention. While novels, movies and television portray crime and other themes like those mentioned above, none of us is ignorant to the reality being worse. One aspect of this type of fiction is playing the detective part in trying to put together the pieces of a puzzle in a way that brings about the correct conclusion.
Here Lisa Harris’ Dangerous Passages reveals just enough in each chapter to add one layer of information, questions, action and suspense to draw the reader in and unable to put it down until the final closing of the book. What I like about the story is that several threads are running throughout the tale simultaneously though not in a way that distracts or discourages the audience. There is a quality of realism brought to the characters, plot and story line that helps brings a person to the pages with keen interest. One theme is justice not just for one person or crime, but a multitude. Another is forgiveness as well as relying on God to make it a reality as the players walk it out in the story. Some other threads can be identified as love, romance, family and teamwork. Let’s see what you discover when you read it.
Lisa Harris is a new author to me personally, and this novel is a grand slam home run! I couldn’t put the novel down. The more pieces or clues that were revealed, the more I wanted to know the ending! Upon coming to the ending, it left some things open which I hope come to fruition in a sequel. Maybe the author wanted to show that unlike movies, books or television not everything is tied up neatly at the conclusion, not in real life anyway. Don’t miss this novel! Make time to read, experience the journey with the characters and then pass it on to someone you know who enjoys reading too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A new kind of hero

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Detective Avery North is a woman consumed by her job with the Atlanta Police Department, by her responsibilities as a single parent and by her grief from the death of her husband and her brother in separate incidents in the line of duty. When two Asian girls with magnolia tattoos are murdered, Avery discovers a sinister crime ring that may shed some light on her brother's murder.
Avery is good at her job, but she struggles with her personal life. Thought it has been several years since the death of her husband, she is still doubting herself in her role as a single parent and protecting her 12-year-old daughter. She is trying to date again and is falling for a handsome associate medical examiner. After hours, she is trying to solve her brother's murder thinking that doing so will bring some normalcy back to her life.
"Dangerous Passages" by Lisa Harris is full of action, suspense and romance. Avery North is a new kind of hero and you won't put this book down until you read the last word. I am so hoping there's a sequel with her character in it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnolia murders. It appears that there is a serial killer on the loose. Avery and Jackson have teamed up to try to figure out who is killing these young women before another one bites the dust.
That’s enough to deal with, but there’s a lot more than what initially meets the eye. It’s like peeling layers from an onion only to find how rotten it is at the heart of it all.
This book is an adrenalin pumper with romance on the side. I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the Southern Crimes series.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A little slow, but an ok story

Date:September 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well, I was really looking forward to reading this book, but it fell a bit flat for me. The characters and storyline were interesting and promising, but that just wasn't quite enough. There were a couple times when things were just too implausible, and it seemed like every time the action really got pumping - all of a sudden things came to a screeching halt so there could be a lengthy discussion about something. Then things would get going again ... and it would happen all over again. Aaargh! I found it frustrating and wordy. I really wanted to like this book!
This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Full of twists!

Date:September 17, 2013
Oh wow! I read another of Lisa's books several years ago and was so excited when I found out she had a new book coming out this year. And let me tell you ... it was amazing!
Dangerous Passages features Atlanta dective, Avery North. She's a widowed mother raising a pre-teen daughter, in a new dating relationship with medical examiner Jackson Bryant, an anchor for her extended family, investigating her brother's death. And on top of all of that, she's trying to solve the murder cases of two Jane Does. This story becomes more and more complex. However, I never felt lost or confused. Instead, the author crafted an intricate story, adding layer upon layer to keep me guessing as to what would happen next. I realized early on that there was much more to these two murders than met the eye, but it wasn't until the very end that I fully understood everything. Definitely the mark of a great story-teller!
I also enjoyed that while this book is definitely a romantic suspense, the two are balanced well. I never felt that one outweighed the other or stole the show, so to speak. Of course, Jackson is definitely worthy of his status as the hero of this story and I loved how he "forced" Avery to let him take care of her sometimes. I also liked the unique fact that they were already somewhat involved prior to the book. It just made for an interesting twist, and it seemed that we got to see more of the development of their relationship—rather than just the beginning.
I'm anxiously awaiting the next book in this series! Highly recommend! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It may have potential.

Date:September 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
When I was invited to review Dangerous Passage I thought I'd give it a shot because it's the first in a new series. And it may have potential, but for me it falls a little flat. I absolutely LOVE the way Lisa entwines Christian faith and prayer throughout, but sometimes the personal life scenes lulled and the mystery/investigation dragged I felt. I love the fact that this is set in the deep south, and I enjoy the characters overall. So while I think this series can get much better as it goes on Dangerous Passage leaves me conflicted. There are things I loved and really enjoyed, but there where things that seemed a little slow and made the pace of the story drag. I sound like a broken record here. But that's how Dangerous Passage left me, "Oh I loved that part...oh but that one was just okay.". The overall mystery was interesting and I loved the fact that there is one small detail that if missed the whole thing would have gone unsolved. Really I think my favorite parts are the Faith and prayer scenes and the personal mystery woven in that Avery investigates on her own time. I love the length of the chapters and the quirkiness of some of the characters. The way it ended I must see where it goes next, but I hope the next mystery picks up a little with the intrigue and pace. There's also something I felt was lacking in the relationship department also. I'm not sure if it was too comfortable or if I just wanted a little more from it. I kinda felt like I walked into it in the middle and they where already in love, but I missed all the good stuff. Sadly I was hoping throughout the whole thing that someone else would spark her interest and then there would be the conflict of a "which one do I choose" kinda thing. I don't really know how I feel after finishing. I am VERY conflicted. I will recommend this book for the Faith scenes and personal mystery alone. Maybe you will get a different feel for it than I did. I'm wondering if I just WANTED to like too much...
Songs for Dangerous Passage: "Theme From Columbo" from TV Sounds Unlimited, "Bonanza" from The TV Theme Players, "Never Gone" by Colton Dixon, "You're Still The One" by Shania Twain, "Unforgettable (Duet with Nat "King" Cole) (2000 Digital Remaster)" by Nat King Cole
Psalm 23:4 and Psalm 18
~ASC
*I received this book for the purpose of reviewing it. This in no way affected my opinion and the above is my honest opinion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dangerous Passage, Southern Crimes Series -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping, ripped-from-the headlines suspense

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dangerous Passage is a romantic suspense that could be ripped from some of the saddest headlines. Human trafficking serves as the story hook -- a story that I would love to ignore but know is all too real. 27 million people around the world are trapped in some form of slavery...a tragedy we can't ignore and the author brings into a fresh spotlight.
Avery North is a homicide detective raising a daughter on her own. When one of the victims is a young Vietnamese girl not much older than her daughter, the case becomes even more personal. She is also a woman torn between a demanding career, mothering, family, and wondering whether she should pursue a relationship with Jackson Bryant. The plot is fully layered as Avery wrestles with challenges in each area of her life. She's confronted with whether she's willing to release her control and move forward or remain trapped where she is -- not necessarily a bad place, but is she willing to risk more and accept more people tugging at her?
The story has a lot happening...almost too much...but that's how life goes these days. Avery's faith questions are real, her imperfections welcome, and her committed search for the killer admirable. I really enjoyed this novel and look forward to the author's next!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.