Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook

Revell Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook

Honore Bainbridge has been courted by two men, one of whom turned out to be a traitor, the other a murderer. Banished to her family's country estate, where she will hopefully stay out of trouble, she finally meets the man she is sure is exactly right for her: Lord Ashmoor. Tall, dark, and handsome-what more could a girl ask for? But he too is under suspicion because of his American upbringing and accusations that he has helped French and American prisoners escape from Dartmoor Prison. For his part, Lord Ashmoor needs a wife beyond reproach, which Honore certainly is not. Amid a political climate that is far from friendly, Honore determines to help Ashmoor prove his innocence-if she can do so and stay alive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Review 1 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Clover, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The final book in The Daughters of Bainbridge House gives you the Ahhhhh factor! Laurie Alice Eakes continues to make you laugh, smile, and your heart to ache for her characters. You really get to know her hero and heroine, Ashmoor and Honore so they feel like they are real people who you miss when you finish the book. The mystery is wonderful, the romance beautiful, all around a great book. If you love falling in love with your characters and feeling like they are your personal friends, this is the book for you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A handsome lord and a spunky lady collide

Date:October 30, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love spunky heroines and Laurie Alice Eakes has given us just such a character in Reluctant Courtship. Honore Bainbridge trusted too much and made some bad choices. She did it with a clean heart, but now she is being punished by society and her family. We see her angst, and her attempts to do her best despite other's opinions.
This book also touched something deeper in me. The difference between right and wrong is not determined by our past experience, though we tend to view circumstances through those experiences. Both Honore and Lord Ashmoor have to look past their past and see the future with new eyes.
***I received this book from the author/publisher for the purpose of review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reputations, Scandal and Romance

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laurie Alice Eakes in her new book, “A Reluctant Courtship” Book Three in The Daughters Of Bainbridge House series published by Revell brings us into the life of Honore Bainbridge in 1813.
From the back cover: A woman without a prospect. A man without a homeland. Can love give them a future?
Honore Bainbridge has been courted by two men, one of whom turned out to be a traitor, the other a murderer. Banished to her family’s country estate, where she will hopefully stay out of trouble, she finally meets the man she is sure is exactly right for her: Lord Ashmoor. Tall, dark, and handsome–what more could a girl ask for?
But he too is under suspicion because of his American upbringing and accusations that he has helped French prisoners escape from Dartmoor Prison. If he’s to keep out of a British prison himself and secure his place in British society, Lord Ashmoor needs a wife beyond reproach–something the vexingly beautiful Honore certainly is not. Though they find themselves drawn to each other, family obligations may conspire to keep them apart forever.
For the sake of her heart, Honore determines to prove Ashmoor’s innocence–even if doing so risks her own life.
From the first sentence, award-winning author Laurie Alice Eakes thrusts you into high drama amid the rocky cliffs of Devonshire, England, and keeps you suspended there until the final page.
“A Reluctant Courtship” is a wonderful romance filled with mystery, intrigue, and scandal. It begins with Honore falling off a cliff and a very exciting rescue and the story builds from there. This is a page-turner that will keep you guessing right until the end. These pages are filled with wonderful characters that live and breathe. ”A Reluctant Courtship” is full of reputation, finding yourself, finding your place in the world and romance. This is an interesting story filled with lots of excitement and romance as well as history. I liked it a lot and am sorry to see this series end.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
“Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honore’s judgment of men is dismal. Her reputation is so bad that her brother banished her to the country.
Meric is a gentleman fighting to better his reputation. His father, branded a murderer, escaped to America. On Meric’s arrival to claim his family’s land and title he’s tossed into prison for three months.
Honore’s father helped him obtain his release and claim his title. He also attempted to arrange a marriage between him and Honore, but after her father’s death, Meric chose not to marry her. He needs someone who will help elevate him rather than drag him down even further with her reputation.
These two. although unsuited, seem to be constantly drawn to each other. What a mess this causes. Can they even stay alive through countless “accidents” long enough to let love triumph?
Once again Ms Eakes brings us a story about The Daughters of Bainbridge House. They have all been good reads. I regret that there are no more daughters.
***A special thank you to Lanette Haskins for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I thought of Downton Abbey as I read it

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faith and Family Reviews
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Faith and Family Reviews received the following product in exchange for writing a review. While we consider it a privilege to receive products to review, our reviews are our honest opinion and thoughts of the product.
A Reluctant Courtship by Laurie Alice Eakes is a historical romance with a mystery twist.
I actually thought of Downton Abbey a lot (which I thoroughly enjoy, by the way!) as I read this book. English propriety. Social Standing. Prim and proper decorum…well…to a point because we all know scandals rock the English just as much as the next.
I loved Honore’s (the main female character) faithful companion who showed her love and devotion amidst Honore’s ostracized state. I felt bad for Honore and the judgement placed on her because of some poor choices in past suitors and the scandal they brought into her life. I had a love-hate relationship with the reluctant suitor, Ashmoor. I love the honor and devotion he displayed for his family but hated the reasons for his reluctance to court Honore. Whatever happened to believing the best in people first?
The mystery case really did not surprise me as I had guessed which character at one point in my reading.
As love would have it’s way, love did triumph at last, which is no surprise in this type of book. However, I enjoyed the humor, the scandal and journey of Honore Bainbridge and her suitor Lord Ashmoor and I’d probably even read this book again.
“Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in September 1813, A Reluctant Courtship offers another Regency romance story, which is one of my favorite time periods to read about. This is the third book in the series, and I would recommend reading the other two books, A Necessary Deception and A Flight of Fancy before reading this one. While the stories can stand alone, there are references to prior events that happen in the other two books that might be spoilers for those books or leave a reader confused, wondering what is going on.
Honore Bainbridge is the youngest of three sisters. She is young, beautiful and somewhat naive. She is looking for romance and a husband, but her past choices of who to give her heart to be abysmal. The first two men she sets her sights on lead her astray as one is a murderer and one a traitor. She has been exiled to the family country home to keep her out of trouble and away from despicable men. She says she has given up on men, but her heart longs for love and then she meets Lord Ashmoor. He rescues her in more ways than one. She thinks maybe he might be the one, and then finds out he is also thought by some to be a criminal for allegedly helping French prisoners escape an English prison and smuggling. Now what is Honore to do? Is the third time a charm or are three strikes and an out indicated? Can she repair her damaged reputation?
Will Lord Ashmoor ever claim his inheritance and his place in British society? In order to do so, a wife of high repute could certainly help him out. From all outward appearances, Honore Bainbridge and her tarnished reputation is not that woman. Yet, he is drawn to her. Who is out to cause him all this trouble of being accused of spying and smuggling for the Americans? Meric Poole, Lord Ashmoor, has been raised in America by a father who died while under suspicion of being a murderer. Can he clear his father’s name after 30 years? If he clears his father’s name and his own, is Honore the woman God wants him to marry?
This is a Regency story with romance, danger, intrigue and even some humor. I liked the storyline of Honore’s companion also finding romance. I just admired Meric’s willingness to stand up for Honore at a cost to himself and his reputation by defending her. He felt it was worth the cost. I also liked that Honore tries to do the right thing and has a tender heart towards others and their plights. It was refreshing to see the characters look to the Lord for guidance instead of the world. I enjoyed all three books in this series and can recommend them without exception. I am anxiously looking forward to the next entertaining series from Laurie Alice Eakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Reluctant Courtship a Story of Mercy and Romance

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Blooming with Books
Location:Bloomer, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Reluctant Courtship
The Daughters of Bainbridge House #3
By Laurie Alice Eakes
Honore Bainbridge has been banished to the family estate after her two disastrous romances. Hidden away from London society and shunned by Devonshire's social elite Honore is expected to stay out of trouble, but is this too much to ask?
A Reluctant Courtship continues the Bainbridge saga as Honore Bainbridge struggles with her doubts about her own judgment, especially where men are concerned. After all her two romances were disasters - a murderer and a traitor. Though she finds herself intrigued by Lord Ashmoor, an American under suspicion of traitorous acts will not improve her standing or her reputation. But with smugglers and escaping prisoners roaming the countryside Honore has little choice but to trust Lord Ashmoor.
Meric Poole, the new Lord Ashmoor is in search of a wife whose family ties and social standing will elevate him above the suspicions circulating about him because of murder charges brought against his father and his American ties. What's a lord to do when the lady who captures his eye is not above approach?
A Reluctant Courtship is a lovely story set in 1813 England and it follows the youngest Bainbridge daughter as she struggles to do what is right and to re-establish her relationship with God. Honore and Meric both learn to place value in what is truly important and not in what society places high regard on. This is story of forgiveness and mercy.
I was provided a copy of this book by Revell in exchange for my honest review.
Available October 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

quiet solitude of the Devonshire countryside...

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
A Reluctant Courtship by Laurie Alice Eakes, ©2013
The Daughters of Bainbridge House; Book 3
The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me; because the LORD hath
anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me
to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to them that are bound.
--Isaiah 61:1
September 1813
Devonshire, England
Being rescued from precariously hanging from the cliff edging, the scariest part would be letting go of that slowly releasing bush! Shuffled from sister to sister, and sent to Bainbridge House to keep her from further defaming their family name by further escapades, Miss Honore Bainbridge's adventures continue on.
"You--you are Lord Ashmoor?" The ground beneath her feet took on the consistency of the quaking edge of the cliff. She swayed. She pressed her fingers to her lips to cover her gaping mouth. She could not call a peer of the realm a liar. Then again, if he was a liar, he was not a peer of the realm.
"Speechless, Miss Bainbridge?" Gold sparkled in his multicolored eyes. He crossed his arms over his chest and propped one foot on the low stone wall. "Let me see if I can help. Local gossip says I'm too ashamed of my father's past to show my face in Devonshire, so I'm hiding out on one of the lesser estates. Or maybe you heard that I was locked up in Newgate or Dartmoor or a hulk in the Nore the instant I set foot on these hallowed shores. Is one of those stories close to the gossip you've heard about why the new owner of the title hasn't yet shown his face in Devonshire?"
--A Reluctant Courtship, 18
Innocently going to a country dance, she becomes entangled in arms. Lord Ashmoor's, again! The one who rescued her from falling into the sea and rocks below. In the quiet solitude of the Devonshire countryside, Honore manages to have more mysterious outings than most. She is writing a novel and is not sitting idle while at her country exile. She enjoys walking in the moonlight along well-worn paths.
Missing French prisoners subject Lord Ashmoor to suspicion by local authorities as a traitor to the Crown. Honore has been dupped twice in matters of the heart, and endures whispers as her name is filtered throughout the countryside. She agrees to help Lord Ashmoor clear his name and former actions of his father as she can more readily roam about than he, but also for her own interest. May their quest free them from their prisons without walls.
One of my favorite parts was when Honore takes her future sister-in-law, Deborah, to visit the tenants of the estate. I liked the interaction between the women. Though world's apart in daily activity, their hearts receive each other.
I was so interested in the communications and happenings between the protagonists and those near them, that the adventure took me by surprise. Very well written, and unsuspecting, to be taken into the realm of espionage with being unaware until it is upon them! This regency novel is very well spent! Come join the third and youngest daughter in the Daughters of Bainbridge series by Laurie Alice Eakes ~ releases today, October 15, 2013.
***Thank you to Revell Blog Tour Network for sending me a review copy of Book 3 in The Daughters of Bainbridge House series, A Reluctant Courtship, by Laurie Alice Eakes. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Snubbed By The Ton

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Honore Bainbridge has loved and really lost in the past. She is part of English Society, and because of her choices is now snubbed. She is being banished to the families country estate, and ends up almost losing her life. She is rescued by Lord "Meric" Ashmore.
Lord Ashmore has come back to England from the States, and wants to clear his father's name. He was getting some help from Honore's father, before he passed away. He was also making a deal to marry Honore, and shows her the paper, which is not signed, and not applicable. He has to much at steak to marry a snubbed member of society....or does he?
Something is going on a this Country Estate, and things are not as they appear. When Honore's brother decides to bring his Fiancé to the estate, he banishes his sister to the Dowagers cottage. Things go from bad to worse there.
Will Lord Ashmore ever clear is name? Will Honore ever be accepted by Society? The answers and more in this sweet story. Travel back to Revolutionary time with the enemy.
I received this book through the Revell Book Bloggers Tour and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Reluctant Courtship

Date:October 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Laura Hilton
Location:Horseshoe Bend, AR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A woman without a prospect. A man without a homeland. Can love give them a future?
Honore Bainbridge has been courted by two men, one of whom turned out to be a traitor, the other a murderer. Banished to her family's country estate, where she will hopefully stay out of trouble, she finally meets the man she is sure is exactly right for her: Lord Ashmoor. Tall, dark, and handsome--what more could a girl ask for?
But he too is under suspicion because of his American upbringing and accusations that he has helped French prisoners escape from Dartmoor Prison. If he's to keep out of a British prison himself and secure his place in British society, Lord Ashmoor needs a wife beyond reproach--something the vexingly beautiful Honore certainly is not. Though they find themselves drawn to each other, family obligations may conspire to keep them apart forever.
For the sake of her heart, Honore determines to prove Ashmoor's innocence--even if doing so risks her own life.
A RELUCTANT COURTSHIP is the third book in Ms. Eakes’ The Daughters of
Branbridge House series. The first two books are A Necessary Deception and A Flight of Fancy. Ms. Eakes’ books keep getting better and better. I loved A Flight of Fancy and A RELUCTANT COURTSHIP ranked right up there with it.
From the first moment of this book I was drawn in. Ms. Eakes’ is a master at description, and I could almost see the foamy sea, hear the waves crashing below, and smell the fear as Honore dangled off a cliff in the opening chapter.
Two unlikely characters come to life on the pages of A RELUCTANT COURTSHIP, and with all the reasons why they cannot marry I wondered how they would overcome the odds and find a common ground. If you like regency romances, then A RELUCTANT COURTSHIP is one you need to read. 4.5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reluctant Courtship, Daughters of Bainbridge House Series #3 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Cliff Hanger from the first sentence

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cassandra Wessel
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Reluctant Courtship
The Daughters of Bainbridge House
by Laurie Alice Eakes
Revell, Grand Rapids, Michigan
© 2013 by Laurie Alice Eakes
Miss Honore Bainbridge falls into romantic entanglements as easily as falling off a cliff. An innocent at heart, if somewhat headstrong, she finds her name tarnished by two unsavory gentlemen whose own reputations turn out to be less than stellar. Would God ever forgive her when her own family banished to her father’s country estate? She must find a way to establish the truth about herself, but how—especially when contraband is discovered in the cellar and a stray button incriminates involvement with recent Dartmoor jailbreaks. It would appear someone with access to Bainbridge Estates is a connected, but who?
Lord Ashmoor needs to clear his father’s name so that his own will no longer be tarnished. Raised in New York State in the Americas, Americus Poole, aka, “Meric” to his friends and Lord Ashmoor to his peers is still trying to throw off the accusations of spying made on his arrival in England. Although cleared, he still finds himself harassed with every Dartmoor jail break. None will believe in his innocence as long as his father, although dead, is still charged with murder. How will he clear his father’s name after 30 years? Even more troubling is the question of which lady he will wed, the enticing and tarnished Miss Bainbridge, or the quiet Miss Devenish whose reputation is pristine. Which one is God's choice for him?
It would seem Honore Bainbridge, and Americas “Meric” Poole ought to be a match made in heaven, but events unfold that will challenge that notion. How will this classic Regency Romance, “A Reluctant Courtship” end?
Only Miss Eakes could begin a novel with a literal cliff hanger and get away with it! As the back cover copy states, “From the first sentence, award-winning author Laurie Alice Eakes thrusts you into high drama amid the rocky cliffs of Devonshire, England, and keeps you suspended there until the final page.” That sentence accurately conveys how well this book is written. This writer reads and reviews quite a few books, but this one shines above the others as if they were mere wax candles dwarfed by blazing sun. This is a must read book for Regency fans. Due to be published on October 15, 2013, the reader will find it available on pre order here at CBD. I highly recommend “A Reluctant Courtship” by Laurie Alice Eakes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.