Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy

B&H Books HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy

According to The National Eye Institute, millions of Americans are visually impaired, and the numbers are expected to greatly increase over the next thirty years as Baby Boomers age and eyestrain from computer use continues among all generations. In this context, the Holman CSB Super Giant Print Bible could become one of the fastest growing Bible editions available. This full reference Bible includes comfortable 18 point type print, and the featured translation is already a bestseller recognized for its exceptional accuracy and clarity.

  • Presentation Page
  • Two-column format
  • End-of-paragraph references
  • 18 point text
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • Topical Concordance
  • Holman CSB Bullet Notes
  • "Where to Turn When"
  • Holman Christian Standard Bible
  • Two full-color maps
  • Burgundy imitation leather
  • 7 1/2" x 10 1/2" x 1 1/2"

Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
29 out of 3291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Review 1 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
pcrowe mv
Location:Moreno Valley, California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and we couldn't be happier. The giant print is perfect for us older folks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift for my parents!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
TomInJax
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get a gift for my parents that would be an accurate, easy to read translation. Since their eyesight isn't as good as it used to be, I chose a larger type size bible for them. The good news is that they love it (I actually got one for each of them) and they read it every day.
I recommend the Holman Christian Standard Bible and ChristianBook.com!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible!

Date:July 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pprin
Location:Cane Hill, Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
It was an accident that I ordered this particular Bible. Not that I didn't mean to get the Holman Christian Standard Version, I really wanted to try it, but I didn't realize what size the "Super Giant Print" actually meant! At first,
I was almost embarrassed to be seen with what looked like a coffee-table version of the Bible, but now I absolutely love it. At the end of the day, when my eyes are tired, I can lay it on my lap and very easily read with no strain to my eyes at all. I really enjoy this version as well, it reads much like we talk today and gives a whole new perspective of God's word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Print size is good, but that's about it.

Date:June 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Age:45-54
Gender:male
The print size of this bible was good for the purposes it was purchased, but the translation itself was not well received by the recipient. It would be great if this size print could be found in NIV, NKJV, even NLT or ESV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Location:Picayune, MS
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The print size is perfect for my wife (she has greatly limited sight). I myself use an ESV but would recommend HCSB to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this product has great features

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
DavidBeckham
Location:Beverly Hills, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift to new Bible Study members. Easy to read and print is great for all members.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dusty Rusty
Location:Muskogee OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for wife, but Giant Print too heavy for her. Would like lighter Large Print with same other features. Good translation. Easy to read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for older readers

Date:March 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marcia Thornton
Location:Magdlena NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for our worship assistants. All of us are 60+ with many 70+. Our eyes aren't the greatest anymore. Everyone loves the huge print. Several people commented on how nice it is to be able to read without glasses. Thank you for this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe T
Location:Gloucester, ON Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just perfect, the large print is large enough that I can read without my glasses
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mail Lady
Location:Branson, MO
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found it very difficult to find print large enough for the inividual for whom this Bible was purchased. If we did find large enough print, the quality of the Bible was not what we wanted. This Bible has it all, quality cover, giant print and helps for Bible study. I was thrilled with every aspect of this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
sunny
Location:Kentucky
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extra large print is very easy to read and HCSB version is easy to understand in today's language. I still carry KJV to Church since that's what's used, but this is enjoyable to read for your own benefit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I can read it

Date:August 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
William Eynon
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
finally I found a bible I can read, I purchased a giant print bible, it looked like a regular print bible, hard to read, then I found the super giant print and I can see the words and can read it..............this is what the elderly need
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deaf4Jesus
Location:Evansville, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible with EASY English to understand. Great super large print.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
PHOTOGDOG
Location:San Marcos, California
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Folks,
This is my second purchase of this Bible edition, this month, in this format. The first was for my 89 year young mother who loves to read the Bible. The print in her last Bible was much to small and so to keep with Gods Word, she would open her Bible, turn the pages and run her fingers over the pages, just to stay close to our Lords Word daily. She is very happy now, "SHE CAN READ OUR LORD'S WORD" :-) !! After receiving her Bible, I looked it over, page by page, cover to cover. It is well made, quality leather, paper and ink with a nice contrast making it even easier for her (and me) to read. I was so impressed with this edition, I purchased one for myself, knowing what the future holds for my dimming eyesight. This may well be my last Bible purchase for some time so I wanted it to be one that I could read, long into my later years. Blessings on you all and may His Word feed your spirit always... R/KMW
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
smile
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the super giant print. It makes it easy to read. Also, I like the bible because the references are at the bottom of the of the page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mixed review

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
NEW11
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned this Bible for several years. I initially bought it for the translation and print size. As mentioned by other reviewers, the print size is very good. However, I have found some drawbacks. First, the Bible has seemed to "age" faster than it should. The pages have gotten "yellow" over time. There is a lot of bleed-through of pages. Second, the binding is not very good. In fact, a section of the "presentation pages" at the front of the Bible fell out after only a few days. (The company, when contacted about it, did not reply).
I still have the Bible. For the cost, this may be a good value. However, with the many new "giant print" Bibles out there, it may be worth it a look around.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice BIG print in an excellent translation!

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
wuzadoo
Location:Burlington, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did much homework before I settled on the HCSB translation. It has not been politically cleansed via gender neutral wording. It translates pronouns as they were originally rendered. It has wording that other translations may have deleted in brackets if those words were not in the manuscripts used in this translation. I like the option of reading them, because in many cases, that's the way we learned them. I was delighted with the print size. The capital letters measure 3/16" actual size. Many "giant print" sizes are not nearly this big. I bought the genuine leather with thumb index. Really very nice quality. This is a big Bible (8" x 11 1/2"), but not really thick (1 1/2"), which I like. It has a concordance, and what they call HCSB Bullet notes (an explanation of freq used terms), and more in the back. I am very happy with this Bible. I can read it without my glasses, so WITH them I should be able to read very comfortably. I am looking forward to starting to read in earnest without discomfort and reader fatigue! Gotta say-CBD had the best deal around.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice BIG clear print in an exc translation

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
wuzadoo
Location:Burlington, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did much homework before I settled on the HCSB translation. It has not been politically cleansed via gender neutral wording. It translates pronouns as they were originally rendered. It has wording that other translations may have deleted in brackets if those words were not in the manuscripts used in this translation. I like the option of reading them, because in many cases, that's the way we learned them.
I was delighted with the print size. The capital letters measure 3/16" actual size. Many "giant print" sizes are not nearly this big. I bought the genuine leather with thumb index. Really very nice quality. This is a big Bible (8" x 11 1/2"), but not really thick (1 1/2"), which I like. It has a concordance, and what they call HCSB Bullet notes (an explanation of freq used terms), and more in the back.
I am very happy with this Bible. I can read it without my glasses, so WITH them I should be able to read very comfortably. I am looking forward to starting to read in earnest without discomfort and reader fatigue!
Gotta say-CBD had the best deal around.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
cootiebug
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loved big print and the weight of bible is not heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HCSB Super Giant Print Reference Bible, Imitation Leather, burgundy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Chandler
Location:Tamworth Australia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very readable translation - meets all my expectations. For a 70yo the print size is great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.