Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook

Bethany House Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook

When Chantel Panetta's younger sister claims to be in love with Orlando Vittorio, Chantel knows there is no hope. The Panettas and Vittorios have been sworn enemies for decades, and young love cannot heal the deep wounds between the two iron-mining families. Yet, unable to resist Isabella's pleas, Chantel agrees to help her sister spend time with Orlando...only to have a run-in with Dante, Orlando's brother. The older, more handsome one.

Chantel can't deny the attraction that flares when she's with Dante. But when a tragedy occurs at the mine, is there any hope that the hatred that has simmered between these two families might be resolved? Or will Chantel's hope for love be buried amidst decades of misunderstanding?

Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 3697%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Review 1 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Terrific read

Date:February 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The miner’s lady is the third book in Traci Peterson’s Land of Shinning Water series. It has no connection to the first two book other than it takes place in Minnesota. It is a love story of two family from Italy who come to America and bring with them their traditions, love of family and also a 100 year old feud.
Orlando Caraco and Isabella Panetta have fallen in love and Isabella older sister Chantel will do whatever she can to help the young couple elope. Unfortunately that mean’s running interference with Orlando’s devastating handsome older brother Dante. Things go from bad to worse when Chantel realizes that she has fallen in love with him.
Nonna Barbota really stole the show for me. I found this character to be most engaging. She really brought to life the qualities that I think most Christians strive to have. The way she forged ahead with what she knew was the right thing God wanted her to do regardless of what anyone else thought was truly impressive.
I have to admit I was taken by surprise by this book. Being the subject of mining, I wasn’t too excited about reading this, but after the first two chapters I couldn’t really put it down. There were several places that I laughed out loud and several places that I found myself tearing up. I love a book that can bring out different emotions in me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"The Miner's Lady" by Tracie Peterson tells the tale of two families, the Panettas and the Calarcos. Residing in the mining community of Ely, Minnesota, the families carry on a decades-old feud bought over from their native Italy. When Isabella Panetta and Orlando Calarco announce their love for one another and their intention to marry, it leads to a story of how forgiveness can overcome any obstacle. In their individual quests to save their siblings from falling into harm as a result of their love for one another, Chantel Panetta and Dante Calarco embark on their own journey of love and forgiveness overcoming all.
The characters are engaging and believable, although I did find some of the dialogue to be a bit over-the-top for the time period the story is set in. Being originally from Minnesota, I've really enjoyed this entire series since it's based in my home state. Peterson is one of my favorite authors who rarely fails to disappoint. This whole series has been great fun to read, and this conclusion to the trilogy truly fits the bill.
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Capulets and Montagues

Date:January 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
JMac
Location:Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Ely, Minnesota 1890 - The Panetta and Calarco families have been feuding for generations. What will happen when Chantal Panetta's sister Isabella falls in love with Orlando Calarco, who reciprocates the feeling? What lengths will Dante Calarco go to keep his younger brother marrying a Panetta?
This book is rather like the classic Romeo and Juliet story, except the ending is much better. I enjoyed it but it was quite predictable. There were a few twists that kept me guessing for a few pages. My favourite character was Mrs Barbato (Nonna Barbato), Dante and Orlando's grandmother.
I would recommend this book to someone who was looking for a nice, light read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Captivating

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
PennyMindingMom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The “Miner’s Lady” is the third book in the series of “The Land of Shining Water” but it can be read independently. It’s a story about the Panetta and Calacro familes who have been feuding for years. As the story unfolds your heart breaks for the two young people who are in love and have to meet secretly. When they are found out Isabella pleads with her older sister, Chantel, to help her spend time with Orlando. Unable to resist her sisters pleas, Chantel agrees to help, only to find herself falling in love with Orlando’s brother, Dante.
Can the misunderstanding between these two families be resolved before it tears these young couples apart?
The author, Tracie Peterson writes a captivating story that demonstrates that through God amazing grace, mercy and power unbelievable things can happen, but first you must place your trust in him.
Ms. Peterson transports you back in time to a small mining town where age old grudges can divide families and neighbours. As her characters grow spiritually and emotionally you come to love them like friends. All to often the story of God’s love gets lost when hurt and anger reigns in our lives. Ms. Peterson keeps the importance of sharing our faith in the forefront through various characters in her story who despite everything that has happened, keep God central in their lives.
I would highly recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys drama and suspense, as you will find all this and more in “The Miner’s Lady”.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group. Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elle
Location:Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I’ve come to look forward to every new book that release by Tracie Peterson because her stories are not only filled with romance, but suspense and intrigue as well.
In this novel, there was not only one love story but two! Both had their own unique identities – with Isabella and Orlando’s, it was primarily adventure and passion that fueled their love. Even resorting to meet in risky (iron mine) and uncanny (back of conveniencestore) locations. Tracie stayed true to this plot line, as both Isabella and Orlando were 19, so their passion and adventurous nature was not unlike any couple who would be experiencing those same feelings. The urgency of the two having to get married added to the suspense of the plot line, which was a benefit to the story. But realistically speaking, I don’t think it was necessary for the two to run away and create all this drama however I do have to remind myself of the historical time period this was set in.
Where Isabella and Orlando’s romance developed from adventure and passion, Chantelle and Dante stemmed from intensity because of their sameness in personality. This makes their encounters heated with passionate debates and sharp banter but love blooms out of their obvious attraction for each other.
The plot line is further developed with the introduction of Alfredo and Marco, brothers of Isabella and Chantelle. In particular, Marco and his mishaps with alcohol and gambling. It was very interesting to see his internal struggle on whether doing the right thing is always the best thing. This little side plot provided a good break from the romance aspect and gave the story depth from being a one dimensional, traditional romance story.
Tracie also tackles the issue of alcoholism by introducing Reverend Black who gave a long drawn tirade that drinking alcohol leads to more sins, physical and spiritual death and destruction. I agree that are times when rebuke is warranted and even necessary, however Rev Black’s speech came out of condemnation and judgement. It surprised me that Tracie was willing to talk about this prevalent issue, albeit in a historical context- how it was dealt with then, and that it still exists today! I appreciated that Tracie was willing to invoke her own personal opinion in a subtle way but still get the message across of Jesus’ love, grace and mercy.
To conclude, I thoroughly enjoyed the faith of Nonna Barbota especially since it helped bring clarity, and perspective to this whole matter while unifying the overall plot of this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance Italian Style!

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Author Tracie Peterson sweeps the reader away to Ely, Minnesota, in the 1800s…a growing iron mining town with a mixture of ethnicities and a variety of businesses comprised of unfortunately far more saloons than churches. It is here we meet two Italian families, the Panettas and the Calarcos, who have been feuding for over 50 years over a matter they are vaguely aware of. Although the male members of each family all work at the iron mines together, they resentfully and cautiously keep their distance from one another.
The fireworks begin when the youngest Panetta sister, Isabella, falls in love with Orlando Calarco, in spite of the many warnings by her eldest sister, Chantel. Chantel finds Orlando's brother, Dante, totally insufferable albeit disturbingly handsome; as he fights tooth and nail to keep Orlando from marrying a hated Panetta. When a life threatening accident occurs to Mr. Panetta, his heart is forever changed and he resolves to put an end to this bitter feud. Will it take a near disaster as well to change Mr. Calarco's hatred and way of thinking?…and will even the enticing Chantel Panetta be enough to dampen Dante's resolve to prolong the feud?
I simply love all of Tracie Peterson's books, and this one was certainly no exception. I enjoyed the plot and the way the characters evolved spiritually and emotionally throughout the book. The Calarcos' "Nonna" is a delight, as is Mrs. Panetta, and they are the backbone of their families—filled with wisdom and the love of Christ. I enjoyed learning about some of the customs and traditions of the Italians, and the cuisine was very mouthwatering indeed! This is a book about love, loss, forgiveness, and redemption, guaranteed to touch the reader's heart and leave it full. And your tummy if you satisfied your craving for lasagna and rigatoni while reading this delectable book! ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Unforgiviness carried down through generations.

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lady Di
Location:Conway, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story shows how one family extended kindness and unforgiveness even though the father from the other side of the fude held on for a long time and hurt his children. I did not like the deceit that was caused by the unforgiviness. Story did have a good ending of unforgiviness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A heartwarming look at what trusting God can do.

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I received a free copy of this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
Isabella Panetta has fallen in love with Orlando Calarco. She is asking her older sister Chantel to help her sneak away to spend a few minutes with him. The only problem is that the Panettas and the Calarcos have been sworn enemies for decades. As Chantel tries to help Isabella and Orlando have time together she keeps crossing paths with Orlando’s older brother, Dante. As the families deal with the aftermath of finding out about the young couples’ love for each other they find that they also have to deal with a tragedy at the mine that the men all work at in Ely, Minnesota. Is there any hope that the hatred that has simmered between these two families might be resolved?
Tracie Peterson is an award winning author and therefore it is no surprise that she has written incredible characters that quickly wormed their way into my heart. The story she developed for this book takes a very long and deep look at what unforgiveness can do to people. I was quickly drawn in and found that I needed to see how God was going to work in their lives to bring about changes. It was a very satisfying book and I was taken on quite an emotional journey along with the characters.
There were a number of the characters that had a strong faith in God from the very beginning. There are others that didn’t see a need for Him. Throughout the book those who trusted God were encouraging the others to either trust Him more or to begin to trust Him. I found this to be very encouraging and uplifting to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of Tracie Peterson's BEST!

Date:November 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard somewhere that The Miner's Lady was very loosely based on, or at least reminded readers of, Romeo & Juliet. They were right, the basic story is the same. But I liked this version so much better than any of the others I have run across so far. In my opinion this is the best book by Tracie Peterson since her Alaskan series's and The Brides Of Gallatin County series! The author has been so prolific that in recent years some of the stories have seemed almost a little rote, The Miner's Lady was fresh and different.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book There is romance, drama, humor, danger.
The historical details are believable and the story is richly interspersed with them. The turn-of-the-century mining practices are fascinating, Dante, his father and brother are blasting (explosives) experts at the mine. Full of history and details that are not overwhelming but remain interesting from the first page to the last.
The romance was fun and snappy. Neither the heroine, Chantel, nor the hero, Dante, like each other at first and the two spend some time sparring before finally falling in love. Kind and loving, Chantel is also no pushover. Dante is a dutiful and responsible son but he is a determined man as well. The sparks between them come from more than one source.
One of the things I found interesting, and well done, was the depiction of the two different families. Both are Italian and proud of it and both are still bound by a feud that neither family can really remember the origins. But there are big differences, the Calarcos have seen the pain of loss and God is distant to all but Nonna Barbato, the Panettas are a complete family and the women devout. How will both families handle the love and likely marriage of not one set of children but two? And what will happen when tragedy strikes, will the Pannettas cling to God and will the Calarcos find Him?
This is the third book in the Land Of Shining Water series but each one stands alone and can be read in any order. Even if you haven't read the other two yet, definitely read this one! The Miner's Lady is perfect for lovers of historical fiction and especially fans of Tracie Peterson.
This book even has one of the best cover designs of 2013! The Bethany House team has done a great job on each of the covers for the trilogy.
(I received a copy of this book from the Publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of family

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
msandy
Location:Petal, MS
The Miner's Lady
BY: Tracie Peterson
I love Tracie Peterson. Her books are always filled with adventure and focus on God. The Miner's Lady is no exception. A heartwarming story of two families who have been feuding for generations. Now the daughters of the Panetta family and the sons of the Calarcos family have fallen in love. Will love be enough to heal the wounds of the two families. When tragedy strikes the families put their differences aside for the better good. They find forgiveness, overcome pride, and learn the power of prayer. This is a great story, quick read, and hard to put down. I received a free copy from Bethany House for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a strong story of family.

Date:November 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friday, November 8, 2013
The Miner's Lady by Tracie Peterson, ©2013
When Chantel's sister falls in love with a sworn enemy in their 1890s iron-mining community, will Chantel's attempts to aid the couple result in a romance of her own?
Land of Shining Water, Book 3
Ely, Minnesota, 1890
The feuding of the Panettas and the Calarcos families is about to come to a close ~ that is, as far as younger sister Isabella Panetta believes. She is certain of marriage to Orlando Calarco and subsequent children being the power to break this torrent of bad blood between them. Her older sister, Chantel, is home from Nonna and Nonno's in Italy. Isabella has waited to tell her sister before revealing her plans and desires to their Mama and Papa.
Their parents had a tradition of sending each of their children to stay with their grandparents in Italy. Upon turning twenty-one, the siblings, if unmarried, would leave home for a year to learn about the old country and their ancestors. Marco and Alfredo had each had their turn, and now Chantel had experienced the same.
--The Miner's Lady, 10
How could it be? Long ago, had there been a love like this? So endearing that every storm of life could be reconciled; by a smile, by a tear? Isabella is seventeen and eager to forgo her trip until a later time. Especially, since the feud happened in the old country before even coming to America. How could it affect her and Orlando?
This was a strong story of family. How will they choose; from the heart or from tradition? They live in the present with expectations from yesteryear. "We always have done it this way." Families feeling they disrespect and betray their ancestors by changing actions today. How much are "perceived" truths from the past that are leaned upon? I liked the three generations and their input. It wasn't always the oldest that resisted change.
The writing was excellent and so was the pace. Many opportunities for reconciliation. My favorite character was Nonna Barbato. She made the story come alive in that she spoke her mind and shared hidden things that could have made a difference if listened to correctly. She gave up her individual life to come from Italy to the Americas to care for her family when her daughter died. How humbling and resourceful, with a clear heart. She drew them all together by her consistency and love. Respect.
Tracie Peterson is the award-winning author of more than ninety novels, both historical and contemporary. Her avid research resonates in her stories, as seen in her bestselling Land of the Lone Star and Heirs of Montana series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana. To learn more, visit Tracie's website at traciepeterson.com.
***Thank you to Tracie Peterson and Bethany House Publishers for providing me with this review copy of The Miner's Lady. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This story is set in Minnesota in 1890. The other two books in this series, The Icecutter’s Daughter and The Quarryman’s Bride are also set in this same time period. The two main families are the Calarcos and the Panettas, who are feuding for years. Two love stories happen in this novel, between Isabella Panetta and Orlando Calarco as well as between their older siblings, Chantel Panetta and Dante Calarco.
The Panetta family and the Calarco family have been in the iron mining business for years. They are both Italian families with a long history of feuding brought with them when the left Italy for America. There are definite shades of Romeo and Juliet among this romance, which can be entertaining, is not original. Chantel has just returned from a trip to Italy and realizes she no longer wants to stay in Ely, Minnesota, but return to Italy. Upon her return, her sister Isabella informs her that she is in love with Orlando Calarco and wants Chantel to help her spend time with Orlando. Dante, on the other hand, works in the mines with his brother and as the oldest has been given the task of convincing Orlando that he can’t love Isabella and to keep the two apart. Can Chantel continue to encourage her sister in a love she knows is forbidden? Can Dante convince Orlando of his folly? When Chantel and Dante inevitably meet, will they continue their families’ feud or will they take a different path?
This book was just average in my opinion. In fact, I felt this entire series was average. The main male character in this story appeared only strong in the physical sense. I have read many of Tracie Peterson’s books, and this one just didn’t seem to have the depth to it that some of her older works have. The two main characters hardly interacted enough to develop a romance. There was too much focus on the sister, Isabella as well since the story was supposed to be about Chantel. The strong grandmother in the Calarco family was also a great source of wisdom, advice and mentoring. I so enjoy seeing the older generation involved in the lives of the younger generation; they have so much to teach. I also enjoyed the description of the delicious Italian food. Yummy!! I liked, as with all Tracie’s books, that there was a Christian message and in this story it was about forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miner’s Lady
By: Tracie Peterson
This is the third book in the series Land of Shinning Water. I have not read the other two yet. I did enjoy this one. The Panetta’s and the Calarco’s have been enemies forever. We can see where there needs to be a healing and forgiveness. God can heal all. Falling in love with the enemy was not a good choice for Issy. Her parents will never be happy with this. Chantel falls for Dante. Can these relationships make it among so much hate between two families? The there is a mining accident who will live how will this change hearts between the two families? This is a very good book. I would recommend it. Well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed the Book

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two families have nothing to do with each other. The Panetta's and the Calarco's have been feuding for years upon years. Problems arise when Chantel Panetta's sister falls in love with Orlando Calarco. Two sisters, two brothers, and two sets of parents have their differences. Could love possibly survive in this situation without causing more hatred and even violence?
Mining is always considered a dangerous job. Will there be a tragedy? If so, would it anger people or bring them together?
How about the love and forgiveness between the two families and is it possible? Does anyone change?
Gambling and other issues arise when someone is killed. Wonder who that could be? Was it one of the two families?
Will the lovers make it? Lot of unanswered questions, but you need to read the book to find out.
Although the book moved rather slowly, I enjoyed it. The author is a favorite of mine and is an outstanding writer. I did not buy it from CBD because it was given to me by bookfun.org to review for my honest opinion.
Bookaholic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sweet, Charming Read

Date:October 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Liz R
Location:Tuscaloosa, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:female
I’ve come to expect only the best from Tracie Peterson and The Miner’s Lady was no exception. A Romeo and Juliet style family feud between two Italian immigrant families is the backdrop for Peterson’s newest novel. What’s not to love?
Chantel Panetta returns from a trip Italy to find that her sister Isabella is in love and plans to marry Orlando Calarco. This would be a joyous occasion if it weren’t for one small detail. The Panettas and Calarcos are in the middle of an intense, hateful family feud. Isabella and Orlando believe their love is exactly what is needed to heal the rift between their families but Chantel is less than certain. Matters only get worse Orlando’s maddening older brother Dante demands the pair stop seeing each other. After Mr. Panetta survives a mining accident he believes God is calling him to end the feud but Mr. Calarco refuses and things quickly spiral out of control.
This story had me hooked form the very first chapter and after that I couldn’t be stopped. Chantel is a charming heroine who is willing to make great sacrifices to secure her sister’s happiness and to do what she feels is right in the eyes of God. The interactions and romance between her and Dante are enjoyable and sweet without suffering from insta-love. Dante spends much of the book torn between loyalty to his father and the ridiculousness of the quarrel between these two families. However, as he starts to let go of his dislike for the Panettas and spends time in their company his true personality shines. I loved his sense of humor and how sweet he was with his grandmother. Speaking of Nonna Barbato, she has got to be, hands down, my favorite character. She has spunk, sass and a no nonsense attitude that really made me love her more every time she was on the page.
The only thing I didn’t care for was secondary storyline involving Marco Panetta and the owner of a local saloon that never panned out and ended up seeming rather pointless to me. I enjoyed Marco story but it just never seemed to fit in with the rest of the book.
The lessons of forgiveness and love were very well done without seeming pushy and the characters were fleshed out excellently. I thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend this read.
***I received a copy of this book from Bethany House in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Romeo and Juliet Saga

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Once again, Tracie has given us a beautiful novel from a rugged time in history. What I always find fascinating and attractive about her work is the historical research she imparts into each novel. Her imagery places the reader into the pages as a spectator as the story unfolds. She did not disappoint. This series is has been my favorite of this author's work and I believe you will enjoy it, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Powerful message about forgiveness

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When Chantel Panetta arrives home after being in Italy for a year she finds her younger sister, Isabella, in love with Orlando Calarco, the "enemy." The Panetta's and Calarco's have been feuding for decades, but will love between Isabella and Orlando heal the wounds or only make them bigger? When Chantel agree's to help her sister and Orlando meet in secret she finds herself in the path of Dante, Orlando's older brother. She cannot deny the attraction that flairs between them, but will the hatred and hurt feelings between the family keep them apart? Dante has a sense of duty towards his father and has a hard time grasping at the idea of forgiveness towards the Panetta family, but when his grandmother becomes very ill and the Panetta family cares for her he begins to see that maybe the feud between the two families is pointless after all these years. But Dante's father refuses to see any good and becomes enraged with his sons involvement with the Panetta family. Can any good come from Oralndo and Dante's love for the Panetta girls or will only anger, hurt feelings, and dangerous threats be the end result?
The Miner's Lady is an enjoyable read with a beautiful Christian testimony and message of Jesus Christ. The fact that Tracie Peterson always applies the Word of God to her books is one of the reasons I love her writing. I appreciate Tracie keeping her writing pure, clean, and honoring to the Lord. The feud between the Panetta's and Calarco's kept me on my toes wondering if forgiveness will ever come to the hearts of those involved. The message of forgiveness played a very important and convicting role in the book and I was reminded of how important forgiveness is in our lives. After all, Christ forgave us when He chose to hang on the cross for our sins.
The attraction that sparked between Chantel and Dante was good, but it wasn't great. I thought the love could have grown more between the two of them; I was slightly convinced, but not completely convinced about their relationship. Towards the end of the book is when things picked up between the families and I found myself drawn in until the very last page.
** I was given a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tracie Peterson at her best!

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Militine the librarian
Location:Columbus, Indiana
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is truly Tracie Peterson at her very best! Her writing is always well researched, historically accurate, and her characters believable. I have read every book she has written, and this is no exception! I recommend you buy this book, and if you haven't read the first two in the series, do get them!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Miner's Lady

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book in one day, not so much because of suspense, but, more because of the enjoyment of the plot of two feuding families. The story provided enough twists and turns to keep me interested, from the dangers present in the mining industry and the accidents that claimed people's lives, to the drama of the hatred of two family patriarchs affecting the forbidden love relationships that ensued by the younger generation, who had nothing to do with the original feud. This was such a feel good book, which had you rooting for the love of two sisters and whether "hating" has the power to separate families. I would recommend this book as an enjoyable light read.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Miner's Lady, The (Land of Shining Water) - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Nebraska
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put it down. Quick, interesting read. I had read the previous two books and looked forward to the third coming out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>