Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook

Bethany House Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook

With her love for all things old-fashioned, Jennifer Burns has often been told she's an "old soul," but no one is prepared for the twenty-four-year-old's decision to set aside her modern life in favor of the Old Order world of the Lancaster County Amish. Yet Jenny does exactly that, adopting Plain dress and settling in with Samuel and Rebecca Lapp while she works as a mother's helper for the bishop's wife-a far cry from her former job.

The people of Hickory Hollow are curious about the beautiful young seeker among them, one handsome Amishman in particular. But he is not the only man vying for Jenny's affections, and Jenny faces many challenges in the Proving time the brethren have set for her . . . challenges of the heart, as well as the spirit.

Will Jenny's secrets keep her from the peace she longs for? Or will they lead the way home?

Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
46 out of 4798%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Review 1 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her love for all things old-fashioned, Jennifer Burns has often been told she's an "old soul," but no one is prepared for the young woman's decision to set aside her modern life in favor of the Old Order Amish world. Yet Jenny does exactly that, adopting Plain dress and settling in with Samuel and Rebecca Lapp while she works as a mother's helper for the bishop's wife--a far cry from her former job as an x-ray technician.
The people of Hickory Hollow are curious about the beautiful young seeker among them, one handsome Amishman in particular. But he is not the only man vying for Jenny's affections, and Jenny faces many challenges in the Proving time the brethren have set for her...challenges of the heart, as well as the spirit.
Will Jenny's secrets keep her from the peace she longs for? Or will they lead the way home?
My Review:
As a fan of Beverly Lewis's Amish fiction since it's inception (I was an impressionable eight year old) I was very excited when Samuel and Rebecca Lapp showed up in this novel. I really related to Jenny's yearning for a quiet, simple life; one that is free from the trappings of our fast paced modern world. Her family has no idea where she is, and when it becomes difficult for her during her Proving time, she has no home to go back to.
I came into this book fully expecting a stellar read and fantastic insight into the transition into Amish life through the eyes of an Englisher. I was not disappointed. Lewis brings to life (as only she can!) what it means to live an uncomplicated life, and what it truly costs to come from the outside world and try to become one of them. While I felt that the romance between Jenny and Andrew could have gotten more attention, that was secondary to Jenny's experiences as she tries to bridge the gap between her world and theirs. A recommended book for any fan of Amish fiction!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
nomer15
Gender:female
"The Secret Keeper" by Beverly Lewis features the story of Jenny Burns, a young woman from a wealthy family in Connecticut who has always felt a bit out of place. Ever since she was a child, she always had a deep respect for Amish culture and heritage. Now that she is an adult, a friendship with Amishwoman Marnie Lapp along with her desire to live a Plain life leads to Jenny giving up everything, including her family, to settle in Hickory Hollow. She finds a mentor in Rebecca Lapp as she enters her time of Proving, the time for Jenny to decide to commit to living the Amish life. But when Jenny finds out a secret of Rebecca's, it puts her whole Proving in jeopardy.
The entire story was engaging and enjoyable. I thought Lewis did a fine job with illustrating the difficulties that an outsider would have with adapting to a Plain lifestyle, even one who longed for it with every fiber of her being. It was nice to see character tie-ins from previous novels. I enjoyed this fourth book in the "Home to Hickory Hollow" series, and will definitely keep my eyes out for the upcoming fifth book in the series!
(I’ve received this complimentary book from Bethany House Publishers through the Book Blogger program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic storytelling!

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
homesteading
Location:rural NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wunderbar gut book! Beverly Lewis writes with amazing detail and clarity, drawing the reader into the lives of her characters as if they are real people; our friends, family, loved ones.
When I requested this book for review, I didn't realize it was the fourth book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series, so going back there was a treat for me. I enjoyed the glimpse into what’s been happening the last few years since Katie’s shunning.
I think this book brings a good comparison to those who think they want to become Amish and those who want to leave the community. Jenny wants to convert to the Amish lifestyle, something she has dreamed of for years. Staying with the Lapp’s is an experience beyond what she imagined. Secrets abound and she is drawn into a big one. I believe she put the Amish on a pedestal, thinking they could do no wrong, or live such morally upright lives that they don’t have faults, but she is sadly disillusioned. It will be interesting to see what happens next.
Then there are those who attend the Bible study at Katie and Daniel’s, seeking to claim publicly their faith in Christ and risk being censured or shunned. One of the best parts of these books is the faith element. Many would say Old Order Amish are Christians but adhering to rules and regulations in a church doesn't make one so, no matter what denomination you belong to. It’s the heart that matters and only the Lord knows one’s heart. Although, I can’t imagine how difficult it would be to live in a community that doesn't allow you to express your assurance in salvation through faith in Christ alone, when the Bible so clearly teaches it.
As always, this was a page turner for me. Any fan of Amish fiction will enjoy this story. It’s a keeper :)
I appreciate Bethany House providing me a copy for review purposes. No monetary compensation has been received, only my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her love for all things old-fashioned, Jennifer Burns has often been told she's an "old soul," but no one is prepared for the young woman's decision to set aside her modern life in favor of the Old Order Amish world. Yet Jenny does exactly that, adopting Plain dress and settling in with Samuel and Rebecca Lapp while she works as a mother's helper for the bishop's wife--a far cry from her former job as an x-ray technician.
The people of Hickory Hollow are curious about the beautiful young seeker among them, one handsome Amishman in particular. But he is not the only man vying for Jenny's affections, and Jenny faces many challenges in the Proving time the brethren have set for her...challenges of the heart, as well as the spirit.
Will Jenny's secrets keep her from the peace she longs for? Or will they lead the way home?
My Review:
As a fan of Beverly Lewis's Amish fiction since it's inception (I was an impressionable eight year old) I was very excited when Samuel and Rebecca Lapp showed up in this novel. I really related to Jenny's yearning for a quiet, simple life; one that is free from the trappings of our fast paced modern world. Her family has no idea where she is, and when it becomes difficult for her during her Proving time, she has no home to go back to.
I came into this book fully expecting a stellar read and fantastic insight into the transition into Amish life through the eyes of an Englisher. I was not disappointed. Lewis brings to life (as only she can!) what it means to live an uncomplicated life, and what it truly costs to come from the outside world and try to become one of them. While I felt that the romance between Jenny and Andrew could have gotten more attention, that was secondary to Jenny's experiences as she tries to bridge the gap between her world and theirs. A recommended book for any fan of Amish fiction!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her love for all things old-fashioned, Jennifer Burns has often been told she's an "old soul," but no one is prepared for the young woman's decision to set aside her modern life in favor of the Old Order Amish world. Yet Jenny does exactly that, adopting Plain dress and settling in with Samuel and Rebecca Lapp while she works as a mother's helper for the bishop's wife--a far cry from her former job as an x-ray technician.
The people of Hickory Hollow are curious about the beautiful young seeker among them, one handsome Amishman in particular. But he is not the only man vying for Jenny's affections, and Jenny faces many challenges in the Proving time the brethren have set for her...challenges of the heart, as well as the spirit.
Will Jenny's secrets keep her from the peace she longs for? Or will they lead the way home?
My Review:
As a fan of Beverly Lewis's Amish fiction since it's inception (I was an impressionable eight year old) I was very excited when Samuel and Rebecca Lapp showed up in this novel. I really related to Jenny's yearning for a quiet, simple life; one that is free from the trappings of our fast paced modern world. Her family has no idea where she is, and when it becomes difficult for her during her Proving time, she has no home to go back to.
I came into this book fully expecting a stellar read and fantastic insight into the transition into Amish life through the eyes of an Englisher. I was not disappointed. Lewis brings to life (as only she can!) what it means to live an uncomplicated life, and what it truly costs to come from the outside world and try to become one of them. While I felt that the romance between Jenny and Andrew could have gotten more attention, that was secondary to Jenny's experiences as she tries to bridge the gap between her world and theirs. A recommended book for any fan of Amish fiction!
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wunderbar

Date:November 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Safe Haven
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this series and had a hard time putting the books down, I wanted to stop what I was doing and continue to read. Beverly Lewis has never failed me in her writing, I always feel I'm a part of her characters and can vision where the story is unfolding. I give her a two-thumbs up. I have met Beverly twice in 4 yrs, she has always been curtious and always has a smile. A warm hearted lady!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Secrets in Hickory Hollow

Date:November 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Over the past few years, there has been a flood of books in the Amish fiction genre -- many of them well-written by some very good authors. It is always enjoyable to me, though, to go back to the beginning, to the author some have called the queen of Amish fiction -- Beverly Lewis.
The Secret Keeper is the fourth book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. The characters and background story go all the way back to one of Beverly's very first books -- The Shunning -- and the story of Katie Lapp and her family.
As always, this Beverly Lewis book is a great read. The characters are interesting people, many of them carrying secrets that can change the lives of entire families. Although some of the elements of the story are predictable, there is enough uncertainty to keep you guessing as to what choices will ultimately be made.
Fans of great Amish fiction should thoroughly enjoy The Secret Keeper. Although the books in the series have some common characters and locale, the stories are not dependent on each other. So you can read the Home to Hickory Hollow books in any order.
Thanks to Bethany House for providing a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read, as always, with Beverly Lewis!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
charlabb
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy reading a couple chapters from her books before I go to bed, but, as usual, I have trouble stopping at 2. So entertaining and well written, intriguing and inspiring, even if I know from the beginning who will end up with whom, I am completely engrosed with how the story unfolds.
Can't wait for the next issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent fourth book in the series

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Avid Reader
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Secret Keeper is the fourth book in Beverly Lewis's "Home to Hickory Hollow" series. However, these books are only somewhat tied together and in my opinion can each be read without reading any of the others. I have only read the third and fourth books in the series.
Jenny Burns has always felt out of place in the modern American world. From a well-to-do family, she has always found it hard to be happy living the lifestyle that most of us take for granted. Instead, she longs for a simpler way of living and closer communion with God. So in a move that shocks her family, and the Amish community, she decides to leave her life behind and join the Amish.
Thus begins her time of testing to see if she is truly sincere and should be allowed to join the Amish and receive baptism into their church. Things quickly become far more complicated that she expected. Her Amish penpal and many other young Amish men and women are considering leaving the Amish. Her heart begins to grow fonder toward a handsome young Amishman. The attitude, language, and daily life of the Amish is challenging. And worst of all, she learns a secret that threatens either to tear apart the lives of some people she holds very dear or force her to give up her quest to become Amish. And suddenly Jenny is faced with some of the most difficult decisions she has ever had to make.
This is another fabulous book for all lovers of Amish fiction, and an excellent introduction to the genre for those eager to try it out.
I received this book free from Bethany House publishers as part of their blogger book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story of Healing and Reconciliation!

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daisies
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
** {I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for writing a review}
Okay, on to the review:
Beverly Lewis is my all time favorite author, so I expected to like this book. But there’s never a guarantee, and I actually didn’t love one of her books (out of many), not sure why. But, let me tell you, this story was like magic for me! We get to revisit Hickory Hollow and Katie Lapp and her family, which we haven’t done since October Song a while ago. And it was so wonderful and heartwarming, especially the healing that this community (as well as outside it) needs and receives.
I love the relationship between Rebecca and Jenny, Mary and Jenny and of course Andrew and Jenny. Andrew has become one of my favorite male leading men in Lewis’ books! I just adore him and his sweet patience with Jenny! He is such a strong, loving and patient guy any girl would be blessed to have in her life. And Ella Mae is always the best! There’s a reason they call her “The Wise Woman!” Her sweet relationship with Jenny is just as heartwarming as her relationship with Katie was.
The best part of this book? Coming full circle with Katie, Dan, Mary and Bishop John’s characters. I think I’ve waited 14 years for this book and resolutions that come for them. And the ABSOLUTE best part? The gospel is crystal clear! It’s one of the reasons Beverly is my favorite author, she makes the gospel message clear in each one of her books, that it isn’t about how good we can be, our works, but what Christ did for us to save us from our sin
Ella Mae – “Because sometimes when you tell the truth, you can start a fire.”
“Jenny remained in a contrite position, asking for forgiveness, knowing she must trust in divine wisdom and not ‘unto her own understanding’.”
I also loved hearing about Wycliff Bible Translators Deitch Bible. I didn’t even know they were working on it, and the entire Bible is now finished! I appreciate the need to get every people a Bible in their own language, that they may better be able to see their need for God and to receive His wisdom!
I could go on and on, but I may have already given away too much, so I’ll leave it here. I HIGHLY recommend this book to you as a great read, but more importantly, a God honoring read! Jenny Burns is a loveable, relatable, genuine character we can all see a bit of ourselves in. And this story of reconciliation and reconnection is a message for us all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A DIFFERENT KIND OF AMISH STORY!

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first book in this series I have read, but the story didn’t leave me missing anything from the previous books. Beverly Lewis is on my favorite authors list. I have never read one of her books I didn’t enjoy.
The story line was very different. While so many stories involve Amish who want to leave the life and become “Englishers”, this one is about an “Englisher” that to wanted to leave the world and become Amish!
From the time she was young, Jenny Burns had been drawn to the Amish faith. Everything about them and their way of life deeply touched her. The wealthy, materialistic, fast paced life of Jenny’s family always left her at odds with them and not fitting in. This made her long for the simple life even more.
After corresponding for many years with an Amish friend, Marnie, she met on vacation; she feels she is ready to make the move. She saves her money, sells her earthly possessions, and quits her job. Marnie arranges for her aunt and uncle, the Lapps, to welcome her into their home and help her during her year of “Proving”.
Being a “seeker”, someone from outside desiring to become a church member, the community meets her with distrust or open arms, there doesn’t seem to be a happy medium. Jenny struggles to adapt, learning the language and all the skills she must have to be a true Amish woman. While she is very happy, she finds the way of life more difficult than she thought, but most of all her image of the Amish people being “perfect” is shattered. She finds they are just as human as she is.
Accidentally she stumbles on a secret of another’s that she would have to reveal when she joined the church or she would not be holding true to the Ordnung. That combined with her homesickness for her family, whom she never thought she’d miss nor would miss her, makes her begin to question if she can stay. She had grown to love the people and one young man in particular. What should she do? The ending has an unexpected twist!
I always enjoy the details about daily Amish life but this book gave me something extra. It looked not only into the hearts and minds of the Amish characters but also through the eyes someone outside of the faith seeing it from the inside for the first time. I look forward to reading the other books in this series.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Secret Keeper

Date:November 4, 2013
This review gives more insight than just "it was/wasn't a good book" or "this is/isn't a must read". While I try not to give too much away, sometimes it's difficult to write about the story and have it not be revealing.
The Secret Keeper is the fourth book in Beverly Lewis’ Home to Hickory Hollow Series. I am a big fan of Amish Fiction but I surprisingly had never read a single book by Beverly Lewis until I read the first book in this series called The Fiddler. I couldn’t believe how much I disliked that book. I decided to give Beverly Lewis another try and read other books in the series and I’m glad I did. I read the third book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series, The Guardian, which I liked. The Secret Keeper was also enjoyable to read.
The Secret Keeper is the story of twenty five year old Englisher Jenny Burns who decided she wanted to become Amish. She made a friend, Marnie Lapp, in the Hickory Hollow Amish community that helped her realize her dream of being a seeker, an outsider that wants to join the Amish church. A seeker has a time of Proving where they learn to Amish ways and show they really want to make the life changing decision and become Amish. Jenny was very enthusiastic and couldn’t wait to start her Proving time and live in the Amish community. Amish life couldn’t seem more perfect to Jenny – that is until she actually started living it.
Jenny was very disconnected from her family. They all were living a life of that was materialistic and fast paced. Jenny had always felt she was living in the wrong era. She longed for a simpler life. I can relate to Jenny because I am a lot like her. I have always wanted to live a simple life – having the latest whatever, shopping and eating at fancy restaurants are not appealing to me. As a child Jenny learned about the Amish and knew that was the life for her.
When Jenny first arrived in Hickory Hollow to live with Marnie’s relatives, Samuel and Rebecca Lapp, she had no doubt she would make it through the Proving time. But as the weeks passed, her outlook didn’t remain as positive. She found out that the life of an Amish woman is harder than she imagined. Jenny couldn’t even do the easiest task like darning a sock. Then she discovered a secret that could ruin more than one person’s life, including hers. My heart broke for Jenny when she decided what she needed to do with her secret. It was a decision she didn’t take lightly. I was a little annoyed at the way Rebecca Lapp handled Jenny’s choice.
Jenny had someone looking out for her shortly after she arrived in Hickory Hollow, single Amish man Andrew Lapp, Rebecca’s nephew. He explained how to live Amish in a way that didn’t make her feel stupid. They quickly developed a friendship that was growing into a sweet romance. I liked that their relationship was based on the love of God and following his ways.
This is not a fast moving story and the secret isn’t a mystery that needed to be figured out as the story continued. But it was enjoyable to read The Secret Keeper. It even made me want to read Beverly Lewis’ previously written books that took place in Hickory Hollow to find out more about the characters and their lives.
I received as free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers and The Christian Manifesto in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lovely Story of Finding Oneself

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
katiespen
Location:Greer, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beverly Lewis brings a new twist to her usual stories of Hickory Hollow in this fourth book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series.
Jenny Burns has never liked the "modern" world and has always yearned for the Amish ways. But she shocks everyone, even herself, when she abruptly leaves her own world behind and finds herself emerging into the lives of the Amish people of Hickory Hollow.
But while this "modern girl" is looking for the Old Ways, she finds that even in Hickory Hollow, no one is ever completely content and that everyone is always searching for something else.
Will Jenny be able to leave her own familiar world behind and complete her "Proving" as a true Amish woman? Will the Amish community ever be able to accept "an outsider"?
I really enjoyed this book as I think Lewis took a step away from her usual storyline to bring in the idea of what it would be like to try to join the Amish community from the outside. I really enjoyed her twist on "the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence."
It did feel, though, at the end that some of the parts were rushed. I didn't really see any leading up to Jenny's choice near the end, and I didn't really even see much turmoil on her about her decision. There could have been a little more of a climax there.
Overall, I really enjoyed this book as I always enjoy Beverly Lewis' stories. I would definitely recommend this to someone.
*This book was provided to me by Bethany House Publishers for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another best seller!

Date:October 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Readingramble
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Reflections:
From the author, Beverly Lewis who has made the Amish culture popular! This book, number four in the Home to Hickory Hollow series, and is sure to delight.
This book was so much more than just a good contemporary fiction. It included a history lesson, Amish customs and a glimpse into a day in the life of an Amish-woman. To this Amish reading junkie, I was a kid in a candy store!
Because the story revolves around a seeker (Jennifer Burns) who's life's desire is to become all things Amish, the reader is given a wonderful spy glass into what it truly means to be Amish and the struggles and joys that come along with the "Simple life". The take was so vastly different from the books I have read so far, I found my self to be quite intrigued. The main character is trying to become Amish not trying to leave the Old Order, what a nice change in story line!
Through Lewis's talented writing, Jennifer learns that being Amish is not a perfect solution to the worlds troubles, that facing your past, dealing with your problems and giving them to God is the only true way to experience peace and joy.
I think my favorite part of this book was about halfway in, when Jennifer falls for the Amishman, That's when the story really blossomed for me, who doesn't love a complicated romance? Can their love ever become a reality?
I was also highly curious about the aspects of her "proving time" Not having read a book that mentions this time of proving ones self as set apart, devoted and submissive to their faith and community of believers. I found this extremely interesting.
I always imagined it would be so nice to be Amish, and live "simple"... but I absolutely love my modern conveniences waaay too much! I guess giving up TV, gardening and canning will have to be as Amish as this county girl's going to get.
In closing, this book was entertaining and educational all at once, and I think if you are a Amish fan like myself you will certainly enjoy reading this novel. Well done Beverly Lewis!
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Secret Keeper by Beverly Lewis is the story of a young English girl who seeks to become Amish. Jenny Burns was born “fancy” and longs for a simpler life. When she meets another young Amish girl, Marnie, at a roadside vegetable stand, and begins they begin to exchange letters, Jenny realizes her dream of becoming Amish is close to a reality. Without a word to her family or friends, Jenny sells her “fancy” things and packs up to head to Lancaster County PA.
Little does she know the overwhelming pressures of becoming simple, and the strictness of their simple faith. As Jenny finds her host mother, Rebecca Lapp, involved in secret actions to visit her shunned daughter, Jenny is torn between telling the truth so she can pass her Proving and protecting the woman she has come to love. As Jenny tries to make it Amish she realizes she is slowly falling in love with her host family’s nephew, Andrew. Love is no stranger to Jenny who had a fiance walk out on her a few years ago.
As Jenny realizes what she must do to fully become, the plot of this story begins to twist and turn. Beverly Lewis does an excellent job again at drawing the reader in. Although this book starts out slow and seems to wallow in the mundane, the pace soon picks up and it quickly becomes a book you cannot put down!
I received this book from Bethany House Publishers, a division of Baker Publishing group, and am not being compensated for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Simple Life

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
PennyMindingMom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I look around my house, I see an abundance of electronics, toys and so many modern conveniences that I’m sure I couldn’t live without! Sometimes I sit back and wonder if I would be able to live without these things and although I’m sure I COULD live without them, I positive that I wouldn’t like it very much!
This is so unlike Jenny Burns, a young English lady whose sole desire is to become Amish. She longs to live a “simple life”, and makes the difficult decision to sell all of her worldly possessions and move to Hickory Hollow where she hopes to be able to fulfill her dream and become Amish.
Before Jenny can be baptized into the Amish faith, she first must go through a time of Proving. While learning the ways of the Amish she becomes friends with some of the younger folk who are interested in the world she left behind. They entrust her with a secret that threatens her dream of becoming Amish. Will Jenny find the strength to succeed in the Amish ways?
The Secret Keeper is the fourth book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series, but it can be read independently. The author, Beverly Lewis,uses descriptive language to weave a tale that draws you into the Amish culture. She teaches us that you can turn your anxieties over to God and he will carry you through your troubles in the time that he sees right for us. She tries to instil in the reader the idea that you don’t need all the fancy things in life to be happy, you can be happy with what you have.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beverly Lewis definitely did an excellent writing.

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katie
Location:Riva Maryland
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed the latest of Beverly Lewis' Hickory Hollow series. I recommended it to my friends and they
also enjoyed it as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved this Story!!!

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanne Hopkins
Location:Nova Scotia Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't read this type of book, but once i started it I could not put it down. I received this book from Bethany House Publishing as a review book and I am glad I did. It was such an engaging story and I loved the detail that Beverly Lewis put in the character development. I was engaged from the beginning as I said and with each chapter i had to find out what was going to Happen so much so that I actually read the entire book in about 8 hours I didn't do any housework, just read all day and into the evening.
I loved the story of the Jenny and how she tackled learning the ways of the Amish, it is not an easy life and it was facinating to learn more about that culture. I can see the simplicity of the life that would draw one in but as Jenny soon found out it is not for the faint of heart.
I was drawn into the pain of the Lapp family that Jenny stayed with as they worked through the shunning of their daughter and all the implications that had on not only the family but the community at large and how everyone dealt with this in their own way, some even risking being shunned themselves because their bond was so strong.
If you want an engaging story this is the one, I highly recommend this book.
This book was given to me by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review. The opinions are entirely my own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this stand alone book.

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
marcell
Location:Missouri
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad to be able to enjoy an Amish book that is NOT part of a series. This has been something that has bothered me for a while, and honestly I have stopped even buying alot of Christian fiction because of all the series.
So I was delighted to be able to settle in and read a novel that is going to be wrapped up neatly at the end of the book . This book is well written. I liked each of the characters. Ms Lewis didn't jump around to so many different characters like some authors do. but, instead settled down with one or two women that we could really come to know and relate to. It was a welcome weekend read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Secret Keeper, Home to Hickory Hollow Series #4 -eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great great story

Date:October 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Janus Tuttle
Location:Ft. Wayne, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not quite half way through The Secret Keeper and I can hardly stop readiing it!!! I keep trying to put myself in Jenny Burns place and wonder if, and what it would be like to become one of the Amish. I think of that often. This is a wonderful book and if I could give it a TEN I would. This is certtainly one you don't want to miss. I don't want to read too quickly because I don't want it to be over and the next one doesn't come out until April of 2014. Wish it came out sooner. Just a wonderful, most enjoyable. book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.