Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Home for My Heart, A - eBook

Bethany House Home for My Heart, A - eBook

The intriguing backdrop of an early-1900s orphanage makes this a unique, engaging read.

Sadie Sillsby works as the assistant to the matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children and dreams of the day she'll marry her beau, Blaine. But when the matron surprises everyone by announcing her own engagement, Sadie is suddenly next in line for the job. For a young woman who was once an orphan herself, a shot at such an esteemed position is a wish come true.

But the matron of the Home cannot be married. Is Sadie willing to give up her dreams of a life with Blaine and a family of her own? Is she prepared to forgo daily involvement with the children as she instead manages the financial, legal, and logistical aspects of the orphanage? And when it's revealed that the Home is spending a lot more money than it's taking in, can Sadie turn things around before the place is forced to close forever?

Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 2997%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
Review 1 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable read

Date:June 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
PJsDolls
Location:Fresno, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is set in 1910 and is a beautiful story of love and commitment. Sadie is the assistant to the matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children. She is extremely dedicated to her job and loves the children very much. When she is offered a promotion, she must decide which is more important, her “children” or her impending marriage. I enjoyed this book immensely and would recommend it to my friends because of its engaging characters and well-written dialogue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet Story

Date:May 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for My Heart is a sweet story of a woman who loves children and wants to make sure that they are cared for, even when their parents may be unable to provide that care anymore. Sadie grew up in the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children. Now she has accepted the title of matron, and all of the responsibilities that come with the position. One of the hardest tasks to attend to is the mending of her broken heart. As long as Sadie is matron, she can not marry her long-time sweetheart. Will Blaine be able to forgive Sadie for choosing the Home over him?
This book was easy to read and the love that Sadie had for the children really shined through. She made a hard choice and many times I felt that she was trying to solve things on her own strength rather than relying on God to carry her through. It was a lesson she had to learn. I also found it interesting to read this book completely through her point of view. Since I only saw things through Sadie’s eyes, I found myself worried about Blaine’s actions and intentions toward Viola, a young woman in the book. This is good book that left me with a hopeful feeling at the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN!

Date:March 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If anyone has a heart and understanding for the children at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children, it is Sadie Sillsby. She was once one of those children. Her dedication, hard work, and love for the children cannot be matched. While she is very happy to be assistant matron at the orphanage, she is looking forward to marrying her sweetheart, Blaine. They are waiting for him to save enough money to buy land for their new home. Everything is neatly planned out. That is until the head matron resigns to be married herself, as all matrons must remain single. Sadie is appointed new head matron and jumps at the chance, quickly signing the contract before even consulting Blaine.
She is sure he will be surprised and happy because her higher salary will increase his savings toward the land. Well Blaine is surprised, but he is not happy! He wanted to surprise her and he had just signed a mortgage on the land so they could be married right away! Blaine wants Sadie to quit her new job and she feels she is obliged to work for one year. Where would they find a new matron that truly knows the children and the orphanage in such short notice? He tells her she must choose between him and the children. She chooses the children believing it is the right thing to do. Both of their hearts are broken, each believing the other does not truly love them or they would yield.
Very quickly Sadie learns there is much more to being matron than meets the eye. Not only the load of responsibility for the children and running the home, but the severe financial trouble the home is in. The board tells her they must close the home in 1 year unless money is raised to meet its financial needs. She must somehow raise funds and keep the closing a secret from everyone! She also feels she must prove herself because is looked down upon being an orphan herself once. I could feel her pressure and frustration in trying to do everything in her own strength.
She still loves Blaine and the pain of their broken relationship never stops hurting. Then Earl, a dashing, charming representative from the Children’s Aid Society appears, offering his expertise to help her save the home. Is Earl all he professes to be, or has Satan sent his best to confuse Sadie’s affections?
Sadie’s great faith in God and constant prayer, even in the face of defeat and impossibilities leads her through many difficulties and uncertainties. This is a beautiful story learning that circumstances do not always dictate God’s plan for us. Through her trials and suffering Sadie grows and matures. She learns there are people she over looked as she had been overlooked and she judged because of their humble beginnings as she had been judged. Most importantly, she recognizes when you turn everything over to God, He can bring about the perfect solution to our problems in ways we never imagined. A beautifully written book.
I received this book free from Bethany House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mostly orphanage, little romance

Date:February 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed the behind-the-scenes look at running an orphanage and the constant struggle to bring in donations and funding. Sadie was far from perfect, but her vulnerabilities made her easy to relate to. She took on a big job that she thought she was prepared for, but had her eyes opened to how an administrative job has different challenges. I felt that the romantic chemistry was lacking with her and Blaine. I would have liked to see more background about how their relationship developed in order to have a deeper understanding of their present behavior and choices. The author focused much more on some of Sadie's personal and work-related obstacles. Her character development by the end of the novel was gratifying and led to a sweet ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The intriguing backdrop of an early-1900s orphanage makes this a unique, engaging read.
Sadie Sillsby works as the assistant to the matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children and dreams of the day she'll marry her beau, Blaine. But when the matron surprises everyone by announcing her own engagement, Sadie is suddenly next in line for the job. For a young woman who was once an orphan herself, a shot at such an esteemed position is a wish come true.
But the matron of the Home cannot be married. Is Sadie willing to give up her dreams of a life with Blaine and a family of her own? Is she prepared to forgo daily involvement with the children as she instead manages the financial, legal, and logistical aspects of the orphanage? And when it's revealed that the Home is spending a lot more money than it's taking in, can Sadie turn things around before the place is forced to close forever?
My Review:
As always, I just LOVE Mateer's writing! I could write a novel trying to describe how amazing her books are. This one was no exception, and the journey to discover how things were going to turn out was a literary journey that kept me guessing the entire ride.
Sadie's character development was well done, and I loved how we got glimpses of Sadie's past little by little. I eagerly anticipated all the clues from the past that made her the woman she became. What I took away from the story was that who we are, the way we are raised, and the mistakes we make don't have to define our future. I would say it's Mateer's best work yet, but I loved her previous novels and I know she'll write fantastic novels in the future. Recommended to every lover of Christian fiction.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A delightful historical fiction that you will love

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anne Mateer has written a completely enjoyable book. I loved it, couldn't put it down, well, except for one night to sleep. I loved how she wrote the characters where she kept pulling and tugging on each one of their hearts for them to do the right thing, the right thing in God's eyes. So many of the characters, not just the two main ones, ended up being taught lessons they had no idea they were even learning.
From the beginning to the end the twists and turns and lots of surprises are interspersed throughout.
You never know what to expect, you can't see around the corners. It was hard not to love all the characters, but a lot of the children living in the orphanage especially. Some so quiet, shy and living more within themselves, and others loud, boisterous and making a lot of trouble. Sadie and Blaine and his brother met in the orpahnage when they were young children. You will laugh and cry with them as their story is told. When I read a book I want the writer to describe in lots of detail the characters and the settings of the story. I believe that Anne Mateer totally did this in the book.
I would recommend this book to all who love historical fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Story

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After Sadie Sillsby accept the position of matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children, her whole life is turned around. Sadie had planned on working as the matron until her fiancée, Blaine, had saved enough money to buy a farm. Then she was going to quit her job and marry Blaine, as the matron cannot be married. However, as soon as Sadie became the Home’s matron, she found out that Blaine had bought a farm, on credit. Sadie and Blaine broke up their engagement, and Sadie continued running the home.
However, being the matron was not as easy as Sadie originally thought. She now had problems such as hiring a new assistant to take her old position, settling problems with foster children and parents, and trying to raise enough money to keep the House running. Sadie also ran into personal problems, such as the charming and handsome reprehensive sent by the Children’s Aid Society. Sadie had to rely on Christ to help her through these problems and to lead her life.
This book was very well written and had a great plot. It drew me in and made me really want the best for Sadie and the Home. It was not a complete romance, but it had a fair amount. From the description I had assume that most of the book was about Sadie trying to decide whether to accept the position as matron or to marry Blaine, but it was not. Most of the book was about what happened after Sadie became matron. The ending was satisfactory, but I really hope that Ms. Mateer writes a sequel continuing the story of Sadie and the Home.
I received this e-book free from Bethany House in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Lessons

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home for My Heart is an inspirational historical fiction novel set at the turn of the twentieth century. Sadie Sillsby has it all planned out; she will continue working as an assistant as the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children and then marry her beau, Blaine. But as in real life, God had other plans for Sadie and Blaine. Both are presented with – and accept – opportunities they feel they can’t refuse. Unfortunately, these opportunities are somewhat mutually exlcusive.
Despite their feelings for each other, they both feel committed to the choices they have made and reluctantly part ways. This ends up being a good decision, as Sadie does a lot of growing up over the course of the novel. While she is proud of her new role as matron, she finds herself woefully unprepared for all of the administrative and financial responsibilities of the job. She also misses working closely with the children and is still grieving the loss of Blaine. What will happen to the orphanage? Will Sadie and Blaine reunite?
The author, Anne Mateer, weaves a well-constructed and heartwarming story. However, in the spirit of an honest review, this was not a book I considered to be a page-turner. The story just didn’t grab me the way that some do. It plodded along and was a little slow in spots.
Despite that, one thing I did really like about the book was the way the author incorporated an important character lesson about being in control without coming across as superficial or preachy. Over the course of the novel, readers see Sadie come to the realization that she does not have to be in charge and in control all of the time. As she slowly starts to let her guard down a bit – opening her heart to trusting God’s will for her life despite the perceived risks she feels – she is surprised to discover the good things that happen as a result. As a perfectionist myself, I could relate to Sadie’s struggle to let go and trust others instead of just herself.
I received a copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Setting

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author of this book, Anne Mateer, has only written a few books but she definitely has a career in Christian fiction! This is an excellent story that is well written and very entertaining. The story follows a woman, Sadie, who helps at an orphanage and is given an opportunity to move from assistant to the person who runs the home. The change in her job brings about positive and negative emotions for her. There are also complications with finances and a romance! I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend this book to anyone who liked stories with lovable children and characters that face personal conflicts while trying to rely on the Lord for answers.
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Heartwarming and Inspirational Romance

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Willows, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a heart-grabber. I knew when I saw the sweet little girl on the cover this story would be one I'd love, and boy was I right.
Sadie Sillsby, assistant matron, is handed the position of matron at the orphan home where she grew up, and she is overjoyed--until, on the same day, her beau, Blaine Wellsmith, informs her he's also gotten his heart's desire. A ranch. One where they can raise a family. At last they can marry. There's just one problem. She can't be married and be the matron. There are rules at the Raystown Home for Orphans and Friendless Children.
Blaine thinks she should drop her heart's desire for him. She thinks he should understand how she loves these children, this orphan home, and the job. At least she thinks she loves the job. The matron doesn't get to interact with the children as much as the assistant does.
And the assistant who took her place has eyes for Blaine. And for the handsome representative who comes from the Children's Aid Society in Philadelphia, Earl Glazier. Earl, however, has eyes for Sadie, and he begins to court her.
Who will win?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A heart-warming story

Date:October 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jill Jones
Location:Opelika, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set in 1910, Sadie Sillsby is the assistant to the matron of Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children where she herself had lived as a young child. When she is promoted to Matron, her whole life changes. Blaine, the man she thought she would marry, dumps her. Her job is not what she anticipated and she quickly realizes she is in over her head. Her heart is torn between caring for the orphanage and caring for the orphans. She is grieving the loss of her relationship with Blaine while she is struggling to handle the financial struggles of the orphanage.
Sadie is only 21 when she is asked to take over as matron. But over the course of a year she matures into a young woman willing to admit her mistakes and make those decisions that will ultimately be the best for everyone. The questions that remain are has she lost Blaine forever and will she ever find God's true plan for her life?
A heart-warming story of a young girl's journey into adulthood, "A Home For My Heart" by Anne Mateer is a great story of how God works in our lives even when we think we know what we're doing better than He does. Even though Sadie experiences setbacks, she never turns away from God and continues to seek His guidance.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, as part of their Book Review Blogger Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A true home for my heart...

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jen Pen
Location:Midwest
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SUMMARY:
Sadie Sillsby adores the children of the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children. When offered the opportunity to serve as the home’s head matron, she is willing to risk everything for the children she loves so dearly. Yet, the decision may prove to cost her more than she had anticipated and the position entails many trials and difficulties. When the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children is faced with an uncertain future, Sadie must find a home for her heart.
A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
Anne Maeter provides the reader with a gracefully written novel. The book proves to be a relaxing and enjoyable read due to excellent word choice, structure and content. Maeter provides enough information to whet the reader’s appetite, but then holds back in order to propel the reader through the pages of the story. All within the single storyline, the reader will be delighted to find historical fiction, romance, and slight mystery. This is a novel that will appeal to many readers with many different reading interests.
RATING:
4.5 (out of 5) Pennies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Made me cry!

Date:October 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since a book made me cry...and A Home for My Heart gave me the case of the sniffles! This is the second book I've read by Anne – I read and loved Wings of a Dream (which also made me cry)! In A Home for My Heart, Anne captures the struggle between duty and love in a realistic and tender way.
I empathized with Sadie, because I've got a pride problem, too! It can be so difficult to humble yourself and give up jobs that you are capable of doing to others who are God-gifted in the task, despite their appearance or background.
The entire story flowed so well and the characters were genuine and easy to love (or be frustrated with, depending on the moment). I read it in less than a day and loved it!
*I received a free ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The intriguing backdrop of an early-1900s orphanage makes this a unique, engaging read.
Sadie Sillsby works as the assistant to the matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children and dreams of the day she'll marry her beau, Blaine. But when the matron surprises everyone by announcing her own engagement, Sadie is suddenly next in line for the job. For a young woman who was once an orphan herself, a shot at such an esteemed position is a wish come true.
But the matron of the Home cannot be married. Is Sadie willing to give up her dreams of a life with Blaine and a family of her own? Is she prepared to forgo daily involvement with the children as she instead manages the financial, legal, and logistical aspects of the orphanage? And when it's revealed that the Home is spending a lot more money than it's taking in, can Sadie turn things around before the place is forced to close forever?
My Review:
As always, I just LOVE Mateer's writing! I could write a novel trying to describe how amazing her books are. This one was no exception, and the journey to discover how things were going to turn out was a literary journey that kept me guessing the entire ride.
Sadie's character development was well done, and I loved how we got glimpses of Sadie's past little by little. I eagerly anticipated all the clues from the past that made her the woman she became. What I took away from the story was that who we are, the way we are raised, and the mistakes we make don't have to define our future. I would say it's Mateer's best work yet, but I loved her previous novels and I know she'll write fantastic novels in the future. Recommended to every lover of Christian fiction.
This book was provided by Bethany House Publishers for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A story of love and redemption

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stacey Zink
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say upfront that this book will tug at your heart. It is going to make you wish that you could reach out and hug an orphan. Sadie is someone I related to because she is impulsive and driven to follow God will. At times, those two things do not always line up. I often found myself shaking my head as she plowed ahead in "her" plans while forgetting to ask God about His plans. Her heart was always in the right place, as she sought to put the needs of "her" kids ahead of her own. I loved seeing how this character changed and developed as the story unfolded.
As always, my favorite books have a bit of romance added in. Anne Mateer did not disappoint. The tension between Sadie, Earl and Blaine was perfect! I loved it!
Anne did an amazing job of using her words to paint a picture of God's unfailing love for His children. She showed that even in our weakness, His work is accomplished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet and Wholesome Story

Date:September 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Peaches
Location:Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie Sillsby works as an assistant to the matron at Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children. So when the matron decides to leave and get married the offer for Sadie to become matron is presented. Sadie loves the children as if they were her own so she is over the moon with happiness and eagerly accepts the position, but there is one slight problem - the matron cannot marry. Sadie has dreamed she would marry the love of her life, Blaine, someday. Blaine has not yet asked for Sadie's hand in marriage because he dreams of owning his own land and wants to be able to provide for his future wife. So when Sadie takes on the role of matron and signs the contract she thinks she has plenty of time to fulfill her calling before Blaine proposes, but on the night she shares her exciting news, Blaine has some thrilling news himself.
A Home for My Heart is a very sweet and wholesome story
about a young lady desiring to do the Lord's will.
I was so pleased with the pureness in the book and because of it, it won me over.
It was a joy to read about Sadie and Blaine as they tried to figure out their futures
and their love for one another.
Sadie was also an orphan and had difficulty pushing past the "sin" of her mother and felt she had to prove herself to the community that she is nothing like her real mother. Sadie finally comes to this realization, "I couldn't remember her. Perhaps that was the Lord's mercy, I didn't know. I only wished I hadn't spent years taking her burdens on my shoulders, where they were never meant to reside. My security rested in Jesus, not in obliterating my past."
There is love, lessons to learn, and some mystery in this delightful book. Join Sadie for a heart-warming journey as she tries to figure out God's will and calling for her life.
** I was given a free copy of this book from Bethany House Publishers for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. No other compensation was received. **
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful Writing

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angela J
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sadie Sillsby is the assistant at a home for orphan and "friendless" children (children whose parents can't afford to keep them but promise to return when their fortunes change). She feels a special bond with this place because she was once there herself, a lonely four year old no one wanted. Her life is going better now. She's practically engaged to Blaine, who has promised to marry her once he can afford to buy his own farm, and loving her job working with the children.
But when Hazel, the current Matron, becomes engaged she offers the position to Sadie. As Matron, Sadie's responsibilities become more overseeing the home, raising funds, finding homes for the children. She believes this is what she's been called to do and accepts the job without hesitation. But when Blaine announces he's bought a farm and wants to marry her, she's caught in the middle. The Matron isn't allowed to be married but she's been in love with Blaine for years. What to do?
All that happens within the first five chapters (out of 46). What happens in the rest of the book? Much growing and soul searching on the parts of all the characters. The storyline never seemed to drag, something was always happening to draw you in, to move the people involved closer to their ultimate decisions.
This was the first book I read by Mateer (she's written two others) and I love how deep her characters are. The more you read the more you learn about them. Sadie starts as a young woman determined to help her childhood home thrive and offer the children the love and attention she received there. After becoming Matron, she changes to a woman concerned about raising money, promoting herself to others, and seeing her own faults and shortcomings. By the end, Sadie has been humbled, taught to be selfless, and made to realize she needs to depend on people other than herself.
There were a few things I felt were mentioned and never addressed again but all in all the strings were well tied and put in order by the end of the novel. I look forward to reading more from this author.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions of this review are strictly my own and were not influenced in any way by the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get it!!!

Date:September 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Malory
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was definitely a great, sweet book to read!!! I enjoyed reading Sadie's story. Anne Mateer weaves a story that has you guessing and rooting for the underdogs all at the same time. I won't give anything away so I'll just say get this book! You will enjoy it! It is definitely one of those books that should be made into a movie or tv movie :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartwarming

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Home For My Heart is about Sadie Sillsby who hopes to marry Blaine one day. When she becomes matron at the Raystown Home for Orphan and Friendless Children in 1910, she cannot be married as matron. Now, she must turn her attention to financial and legal affairs of the Home. She's torn between he love of Blain and her love of the children of the Home. Will Sadie find out what truly matters in her life?
This is such a sweet, wholesome, and heart warming story. I kept imagining watching this story unfold in a Hallmark movie. I highly recommend this book for all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Home for My Heart, A - eBook
This review is fromA Home for My Heart.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful story of grace given and received

Date:September 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Friday, September 20, 2013
A Home for My Heart by Anne Mateer, ©2013
I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands
He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
and He hears me when I call
I have a Father
He calls me His own
He'll never leave me
No matter where I go
He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
and He hears me when I call
A Home for My Heart is so aptly named for this beautiful story of grace. I really liked the detail of the characters, displaying their needs and the care given as they learned to trust each other.
My favorite outstanding character is in the background ~ The Lord Knows Her Name. Here is my favorite line ~
"It's been hard, not having the same schooling as everyone else, knowing they thought me stupid." Miranda looked at me now, her eyes bright and sad at the same time. "I didn't quit school because I couldn't do the work, you know. I quit because my pappy made me." She studied her short fingernails. "There were little ones to care for. I was the oldest girl. My brother Jim quit, too. Joined our pappy felling timber." Her words stopped as abruptly as they'd started.
--A Home for My Heart, 240
So wise with a servitude heart ~ and here in an earlier part ~
I stopped, holding my breath. It wasn't like Mrs. Fore not to hurry home and have dinner on the table. And Miranda. She rarely stayed longer than to shake Pastor Uland's hand.
Mrs. Fore patted Miranda's arm. "There now. It's for the best, I'm sure."
Miranda slumped, pressing a hand over her eyes. "I could've done that job. I know it."
--Ibid., 52
It's Miranda... and Mrs. Fore with her compassion and wisdom in silence until she is needed and required as a comforter. Wise, wise, women. In depth knowing the love they have, from the One Who Matters.
I indeed liked Sadie and Blaine and how they held on to truth and forgiveness so apparent in their lives.
The biggest thread I picked up throughout was communication and the lack of it. Imaginations of what we think the other meant by their words or actions. It reminded me of the Christmas gifts given in the story of The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry. Each sacrificing to give the best they could give. Until... they lost sight of why they gave. Pride and sorrow for misplaced judgments, they could have saved themselves a lot of speculation had they talked to each other about their decisions. Each wanting to surprise the other with their gift, they could not recognize the other's sacrifice.
This story is so well written. It is applicable to all ages. Trust is significant.
Anne Mateer is a three-time Genesis Contest finalist who has long had a passion for history and historical fiction. She and her husband live near Dallas, Texas, and are the parents of three young adults.Visit annemateer.com for more information.
***Thank you to author Anne Mateer and Bethany House Publishers for sending me a copy of A Home for My Heart. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>