Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set

Alpha Omega Publications Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set

An understanding of the principle elements of algebra is essential to upper-level math and good standardized test scores. Introduce your junior high students to advanced math with this kit's 160 colorful lessons. The colorful student workbook reviews basic math skills before introducing algebra, geometry, and trigonometry concepts like absolute value, transformations and nets, compound interest, permutations, combinations, two variable equations, volume and surface area of solids, four operations with monomials and polynomials, representations of data, trigonometric ratios and more. Grade 7.

The student workbook includes a set of college test prep questions that follows each block of ten lessons; a new collection of math-minute interviews help students understand how ordinary people use pre-algebra concepts in their work. 358 pages, softcover.

The teacher's guide includes the main concepts, lesson objectives, materials needed, teaching tips, the assignment for the day, and the reduced student pages with the correct answers supplied. Each lesson will take approximately 45-60 minutes, and is designed to be teacher-directed. 400 pages, softcover.

Arranged by assignment category, the test & resource book includes 16 tests, 4 quarter tests, 80 worksheets, formula strips, nets supplements, and algebra tiles. 239 pages, softcover.

Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
5 out of 862%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Review 1 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Math Curriculum

Date:September 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
strickland99
Location:Leicester, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've used Horizon's Math for five years and it is, by far, the best math curriculum available. I have two girls that can sometimes get pretty frustrated with the more difficult lessons, but with Horizon's that frustration is usually short-lived. It will introduce a difficult activity and then go back to easier tasks that build back up to the more difficult ones. It's bright and colorful pages keep their interest piqued. Since we started Horizon's, my girls stay 2-3 grade levels ahead in math!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For the solid math student

Date:April 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jamila T
Location:Charlotte, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Horizons K-8. It has always been a bit fater paced than the "average" math curriculum in ALL their subjects. I would not recomend this for any student who has not completed Horizons grade 7 or is a strong math student. It moves just as quickly as any other Horizons. I found the classwork to be far tougher than the tests. I appreciated the practical application aspects. It does well in covering the topics and teaching application. There is not a ton of practice on each concept, but more than enough for a GOOD math student that would get bored the extreme repetition. I am more than happy with it. I have bought Grade 8 and can't wait for grade 9.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

disappointed

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
MDV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I have used Horizons for K-6th and was so excited to see they added Pre-Algebra. However, it has not worked out well at all for us. It is very fast paced but gives very little practice of new concepts. We also have found that at times a new concept is just introduced and in the first few problems they give the student, there is an exception to the rule or a very complex problem. The student does not even get a chance to learn the basics before complexities are given to them. My son who loves math and has alway done very well now is very discouraged and hates math. I have stopped the program half way through the year and will not continue with Horizons after 6th grade. Hopefully they can improve this product in the future to be up to par with their K-6th math.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall a great program

Date:October 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Horizons for K-2 and 5 and always felt it was a complete and advanced program. After competing Horizons 2, my older daughter was a year ahead in math when she entered school. With my himeschooled younger child, we switched to Saxon 7/6 for 5th grade and my daughter really balked at the boring black and white layout and repetitiveness. I think Saxon is a great program, but my daughter really likes color. It seems crazy to switch for this reason, but if the layout is unappealing, it can be very difficult to persevere. When I saw Horizon had Pre-Algebra, I jumped on it. We have been doing it for twenty days and overall we are happy. I would say that it moves quite quickly and does not offer as much practice as Saxon. It also does not offer the complete explanations in the Teachers Guide offered by Saxon, but it does cover all the same material. Most importantly, my daughter is working through it happily and is doing well on the tests. I always work through the problems first to be sure I can explain them well. The TM could definitely offer more detail. If you are not a math person, this curriculum may not be for you.
We love the stories of real life people who use math in their work. The word problems are engaging, although there could be more. I do think this curriculum will well prepare a student for Algebra. I have been comparing the Scope and Sequence to a public school math book and it definitely lines up. I love that we can reasonably complete one lesson per day. I will definitely consider horizons Algebra I next year.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Date:May 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
docmom
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I used Horizons for 3d, 4th, 5th, and 6th with no complaints. But, this book was a disappointment. I really agonized whether to switch to Saxon for pre-algebra but went with Horizons b/c it has color (lol) and my daughter loves that. The pre-algebra book is very fast paced (there is a new topic every day), but there are not enough practice problems and worksheets. I think they tried to cram too much into this book. We're trying a "real" text for algebra next year (rather than a homeschool text).
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Pre Algebra program

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
TracyR
Location:Corry, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll admit that Horizons was the last on my list for math programs with my children. Happy to say though that I went ahead and took a leap with buying an Alpha Omega product and couldn't be happier. We used a different math program with my oldest daughter and she just was not 'getting it' no matter what I did with her. I tried many things to make the curriculum work for us and it just wasn't working. To find out she needed color to concentrate on the math problems. I searched and Horizon's Pre Algebra was just what we needed. To focus on one concept at a time and to review concepts that were learned earlier so that they stayed fresh in her mind.
I will say you need the whole set for the program to work. The teacher manual contains all the problems and solutions , the resource book contains all the tests, quizes and final exams, and practice worksheets. The teacher manual though does not explain things the way I wished it did because I'm not very math minded, but I have found with the advent of websites like Khan Academy and Hippo Campus really the manual is obsolete when it comes to explaining things anymore.
What I like about this course is not only does it teach Pre Algebra but it also introduces the beginning of Trigonometry as well. I also like the College Prep tests they include in the workbook for the children to practice with. It definitely gives them an idea of what to expect for college entry tests some day. I also like the continuous review so that she does not forget what she's learned.
My daughter says she likes the color to help her focus on the math problems, and the fact it focuses on one math concept at a time.
Everything we have is of high quality and is an excellent product. The only negative is that Horizons only goes to Algebra 1 as of right now (2012). I hope they come out with more levels in the future.
I do plan on giving it a try with my other three children for the upcoming school year.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lessons are not leveled and minimal teacher help

Date:September 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marie
Location:GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We are on lesson 50 of this book and I am very unhappy. The lessons on fractions, decimals and percents are on the easy side but then they introduce solving square roots and scientific notation which is very difficult. The word problems start out okay but then get very difficult. There also isn't near enough word probloms but that is true with most math books. Some lessons introduce a concept and then give no practice exercises. The teacher's manual is worthless; the problems are not worked out and the print is tiny. I have homeschooled for many years and have used many math programs; this was a waste of time and money. I rarely write reviews but felt compelled to in this case.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Horizons Pre-Algebra Complete Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

looks awesome

Date:February 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mcat
Location:Atlanta,GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the set and after using Horizons for 3 years now this set looks even better than the other levels. I just love how well structured the pages are, also great for older kids (the K-6 have more pictures, this has real people like missionaries, etc telling, where they need math, which I find very encouraging!)
Also the teacher book now has a printed student page in small (like BJU does) so you´ll find the correct answers right within the lesson . I like that the extra worksheets are not in the teacher book anymore, but in the seperate test and resource book, so you can just get this book new for each child.
I will update my comment as soon as we´ve worked with this books for a while, happy home schooling!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.