Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green

B&H Books HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green

Handy, beautiful and classically classy, the HCSB Celtic Bibles are a conveniently compact way to take the Word with you. The Holman Christian Standard Bible® is gaining in popularity for its modern-language, readability, beauty and accuracy. This large print compact edition is available in three gorgeous Celtic binding designs reflective of the growing interest modern Christians have in the ancient roots of their deepening faith.

Remember, "large print" is a relative term - this Bible features 8 point text which, while large for a compact is still relatively small.

These Bibles are packaged in a gift box with die-cut window to clearly show each design.

  • Presentation page
  • 8 Point text
  • Double-column format
  • More than 20,000 end-of-paragraph cross-references (Jewel Verse Reference System)
  • Subject headings
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Where to Turn
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Titles of Jesus
  • Messianic Scriptures that Jesus Fulfilled
  • Ribbon marker
  • Silver gilded page edges
  • Supple imitation leather
  • Spring green, with the Trinity symbol embossed in cover
  • Silver accented border and spine
  • 6" x 41/4" x 11/8"
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 560%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Review 1 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great, but not for heavy use

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
NarwhalLK
Location:Austin, TX
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this Bible, and it is the right size for me to use while I am teaching my Bible Study group, but the problem I have been having recently is that the pages fall out from the Bible. While I was reading an highlighting in my Bible, pages began to fell out as I turned the pages. Although the Bible is working alright size wise, the pages falling out is really annoying, especially when you expect to buy a Bible well made that you expect to work so well...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It! But.......

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
flnative66
Location:Loughman, Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a beautiful Bible, it's small ( i didnt check the specifications) love the spring green color and i love the HCSB Version, which is wonderful, the only complaint and it might be my fault, was that when going through and reading passages i would kinda flatten the Bible a little so i could see better. Well then pages started fallin' out from the latter part of the New Testament. No more have fallen out and this is still one of my favorite Bibles ever! I would still recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Bible but falling apart

Date:August 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
DrBug
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The translation is good and it uses the divine name (Yahweh) in places. The cross references are after the paragraphs instead of at the bottom of the page, see book preview. The font size is good and so is the size of the bible. It's about 1.50 - 1.75 inches wide and 6"by 4" flat. The only reason I sent it back was because the copy I got had the middle pages falling out, probably due to the manufacturer's stitching being off. It was also a darker green than i wanted. More olive than spring. But otherwise (if it wasn't defective) i would highly recommend the bible to those that don't want too tiny a print but a smaller bible for portable purposes. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tiny but beautiful

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommyatheart
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my kids.. they fell in love with the covers on the site. Unfortunately, I didn't read the dimensions. When they arrived, I was so disappointed that they were soooooooo small!!! I can't even read the print and I wear glasses. They say they like them, so we're keeping them, but I really wish they would have let me sent it back.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ok

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
justme
Location:Colorado
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The HCSB Celtic Bible is a nice size Bible, fits in my purse. It says it has large print but I think most people who look for large print in any book would disagree, I do. I expected larger than it is, at least a little. The translation is ok, but I'm not really crazy about it. One of the other things I bought it for and it does have is that it capitalizes every pronoun that is referring to God. So all the Me, My, and I's (etc) that are about God or Him speaking are capitalized, as I have always thought should be, for obvious reasons & for better understanding. So for that reason I would recommend this Bible.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Ruch
It is the perfectt sized Bible for me to take anywhere. The wording is large enough to read without difficulty. I love the cover of it! I LOVE IT! it is perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chelsea Paulson
This is the kind of Bible that an emerging Bible scholar would love to have. My husband and I each have a Celtic Bible, and we just loved the easy reference, the study maps, and other study tools it provides. It was certainly a great investment in our "future" as we may say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Karen Yingst
I thought the bibles were lovily and a great gift. It is a nice size to carry and the larger print was nice also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie
I own a Soldier's Bible in the HCSB translation and will be purchasing this green compact because the size is slightly smaller yet the font is a size bigger...HCSB is the only version i have yet to find that uppercases all references to the deity (i.e. "Him" instead of "him", "My" instead of "my") and not only do i find it more helpful when a verse talks about both God and man, but i like that little extra step of respect and honor...all in all, a very accurate and readable translation, not to mention a beautiful Bible :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Mills
I purchased this bible for my husband, he simply loves the translation. It is easy to read, with great references to help you understand Gods Word. I have read other translations of the Bible, but found that they were either not true to the original Greek or Hebrew text, or they used Old English vernacular. This Bible written in modern day English is one of the best translations that I could find. I would encourage anyone to purchase this Bible.Anna Mills
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Wanda Scoggins
This is a beautiful Bible. A must have for those of us that love green. It's also small enough to carry around with you but the letters are large enough to see.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nancy Morris
I was very pleased with this bible. The print was largr than you would expect for a bible this size, and easy to read. The binding was very soft and seemed to be real leather although it was not , and the silver edged pages gave it a very nice look. The ribbon marker was an added touch. This bible was an excellent buy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Celtic Bible, Simulated Leather, Green
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patricia Schaefer
This is the perfect size to carry in your purse. With all the waiting in doctor's offices etc. we can now read the Bible. The print is larger than in most small Bibles. It makes a perfect Christmas gift with a personalized name added.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.