Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B&H Books Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather

Handy, beautiful and classically classy, the HCSB Celtic Bibles are a conveniently compact way to take the Word with you. The Holman Christian Standard Bible® is gaining in popularity for its modern-language, readability, beauty and accuracy. This large print compact edition is available in three gorgeous Celtic binding designs reflective of the growing interest modern Christians have in the ancient roots of their deepening faith.

Remember, "large print" is a relative term - this Bible features 8 point text which, while large for a compact is still relatively small.

These Bibles are packaged in a gift box with die-cut window to clearly show each design.

  • Presentation page
  • 8 Point text
  • Double-column format
  • More than 20,000 end-of-paragraph cross-references (Jewel Verse Reference System)
  • Subject headings
  • Words of Christ in red
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Where to Turn
  • Table of Weights & Measures
  • Titles of Jesus
  • Messianic Scriptures that Jesus Fulfilled
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold gilded page edges
  • Supple imitation leather
  • Tan, with Celtic version of the Canterbury Cross embossed in cover
  • Gold accented border and spine
  • 6" x 41/4" x 11/8"
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Review 1 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Tiny but beautiful

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
mommyatheart
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my kids.. they fell in love with the covers on the site. Unfortunately, I didn't read the dimensions. When they arrived, I was so disappointed that they were soooooooo small!!! I can't even read the print and I wear glasses. They say they like them, so we're keeping them, but I really wish they would have let me sent it back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Compact Bible

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Shopperv
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this "large print" compact bible. It's perfect for travel or just to carry around without a lot of bulk.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for teens

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
GodlyPa
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 15 year old son. He loved the style and the Where To Turn section. I highly recommend this for high school & college age students.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible!

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caoimhe
Location:South Cle Elum Washington
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this Bible for me auntie who is homesick for Ireland. When she saw it was a Celtic Cross on front, and with her name, she wept and said this is the best present I have gotten all year!! I was priceless!! Thanks so much. Caoimhe
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Print Size is Perfect!

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
William Miller
Location:Greensboro, Md.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Bible knowing that it was small, but the 8 point text is actually large enough to read with the Bible on my lap without wearing my glasses. The binding is great and the Celtic Cross design is on the front and back as well. This Bible is an outstanding value. I collect Bibles, so my next purchase will be the Burgandy color of this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful Bible

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jexix Whaley
Location:Washington State
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cover is soft to the touch. Printing while small is clear
I carry this to church and leave my heavier,, big study Bible at home. I love the celtic cross on the front, connects me to my ancestors from county Antriem in Northern Ireland.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
mhorner
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS LITTLE BIBLE IS COMPACT ENOUGH TO FIT IN A POCKET, BUT THE PRINT IS BIG ENOUGH TO READ WIYHOUT USING READING GLASSES. I ACTUALLY ALREADY HAD THIS BIBLE FOR MYSELF. I BOUGHT THESE TO GIVE AWAY TO MY DISCIPLES.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Ebert
I love this little Bible. I can carry it in my purse and it is very easy to read. I love the translation. It is easy to understand and still has a poetic sound like the KJV. My son and daughter now have one and my neice has asked for one. Love the cover design and the binding. I thought it was leather!!It's very distinctive. I plan to give them as gifts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Diane Ebert
I love this little Bible. I can carry it in my purse and it is very easy to read. I love the translation. It is easy to understand and still has a poetic sound like the KJV. My son and daughter now have one and my neice has asked for one. Love the cover design and the binding. I thought it was leather!!It's very distinctive. I plan to give them as gifts in the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lesley Nolan
Love it, fits in my purse, easy to carry to BSF, small type is actually easy to read. My daughter now wants it in green or blue.I got it because two friends got it in red and in green from mardels but it was the cheaper online if you dont want your name engraved.Just wish it came in other colors...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Mills
I purchased this bible for myself, and I'm so tickled pink, that I would never buy any other Bible except a "Holman Christian Standard."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
James Dressner
This Bible is a very convenient size for travel--but not for a pocket. It looks very nice--my 18 year old son saw it and used it for a month until I got him a new one. The "large print" is about as small as I can comfortably read with my bifocals. So far, my impression of this HCS translation is positive--a more conservative translation style than the NIV, but more readable than ESV or NASB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Arild Trosberg
I was very surprised that it looked so good for this price. The covers feel and look almost like real leather, and for now has held up very well.The HCSB is a accurate text in the tradition with KJV,NIV etc but still with modern expressions in its text.Short sentences makes for easy memorizing.I bought one for my wife and one for myself. Its easy to carry around. Modern design !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Holman Christian Standard Bible Celtic Bible, Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin Carrigan
A cool little bible and a very good deal for the money! I really like the HSCB version, there are lots of references and it's easy to read. The only downsides are that this bible does not have a good concordance, and the map pages at the end started to fall out soon after I bought it. For the money though, i would definitely recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.