Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1

David C. Cook False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1

Zoe Broussard and her husband enjoy a wonderful life in her Louisiana hometown---and their popular restaurant draws folks from all over. But her little piece of heaven is about to turn into hell. Anonymous notes threaten to reveal secrets that could ruin her business and marriage. Can she find the courage to face her past?
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Review 1 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
This review is fromFalse Pretenses - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A shameful past, a dangerous lie

Date:May 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"False Pretenses" is a Christian suspense novel. The story is about a woman who is ashamed of her past and so she took a new identity and began a new life. But now someone is threatening to tell about her past, and she's afraid people will reject her when they discover who she was and that she's lied to them. This is the first book in a series. Some characters are apparently from a previous series, and they talk about past events. That vague information might spoil some of the suspense in that previous series, but I don't actually know if it will.
The suspense is created by relationship tensions and from physical danger. The characters were interesting, varied, and complex. I guessed whodunit and who the blackmailer was long before Zoe caught on, but it was realistic that she wouldn't guess. The story wasn't really about guessing whodunit, anyway. The Christian element was mainly provided by a minor character who was wronged by Zoe. This woman showed Christ's love and encouraged Zoe to be honest with her husband and friends--though Zoe didn't take that advice too well.
There was no sex or bad language. Overall, I'd recommend this suspenseful novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
This review is fromFalse Pretenses - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrsB
It was ok, a read that passed the time, not hard to put down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
This review is fromFalse Pretenses - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed the book

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Montreal, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always enjoy receiving free e-books. The book was interesting, and easy to download to my computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kept Me Guessing

Date:August 30, 2012
False Pretenses was a great introduction to Kathy Herman. The suspense was fairly intense, and I was constantly wondering what was going to happen next. Plus, the plot moved along quickly, which really kept me flipping the pages. Zoe Broussard was a great main character, and I really enjoyed getting to know her. The author did a great job writing about such a unique and iconic location as New Orleans, but I wasn't crazy about the Cajun dialect. I know the author was using it to give a realistic flair to the dialogue, but if I'm unfamiliar with the words, I don't like having to stop and start to check the glossary. Other than that, though, I really did love the book, and it whet my appetite for the next novel in the series! [4 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from David C. Cook in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things that a love about Kathy Herman is the fact that she takes characters from her last series, sets them in a different location and gives them their own stories while introducing us to new characters. I love this because I think that it mirrors real life.
I loved reading about Vanessa and Ethan (Sophie Trace series) and meeting Zoe and Pierce. Through in a little mystery and I thought this was a great start to a new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A New Mystery Series

Date:May 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Robin Wallace
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
False Pretenses
Kathy Herman
Zoe Broussard loves the life she and her husband Pierce have built in her beloved Louisiana hometown-especially their popular brasserie Zoe B's, to which folks drive all the way from Lafayette for lunch or dinner. It seems like heaven.
But it's about to become hell. A series of anonymous notes is making her life a misery-because Zoe has a secret so terrible it could leave the business in shambles and tear her marriage apart. Can she find the courage to face her past?
The first in a new series from Kathy Herman, False Pretenses is a gripping suspense novel that leaves a lasting impression about honesty and accountability.
This was an enjoyable mystery that kept me on my toes waiting for the other shoe to drop. I found the 4 main characters at the start to be confusing at the start I found it a great story builder and increased the pace of the book. Zoe, while having done something extremely wrong was an interesting twist on the main character. It was great to have a character remind me that the grace of Christ can cover and prompts us to love the lost not their sin. It was an ongoing theme of the book. I am looking forward to reading the other books in this series.
I would like to thank Net Galley and David C. Cook Publishing for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First in New Murder Mystery Series

Date:April 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ten years ago, Shelby Sieger changed her name and left her home, bound for Lafayette and a new life…
Vanessa and Ethan Langley have just moved into Langley House, with the intention of turning it into a B&B. But Langley House has a six-generation history that includes its share of ghosts. Meanwhile, they are renting a apartment from Zoe and Pierce Broussard while Langley Manor is being renovated. Pierce and Zoe run a cafe together.
Trouble begins when a white man, the simple-minded Remy Jarvis, is lynched just 200 yards from Langley Manor. Meanwhile, Zoe starts getting anonymous notes, each the same five words cut from the newspaper: I know what you did. Her past is a secret from everyone, including her husband. Does someone know? If so, what do they know? And what will she do to prevent her secrets becoming known? The answers to these questions are slowly uncovered as the story progresses.
I have to say that I really admired Vanessa in particular. I don't want to give away the plot, but at one point she is threatened. She is intelligent enough to understand that the consequences of obedience and defiance are the same and chooses to defy. In too many books and movies, when the hero or heroine are faced with deciding between giving away the good guys or being killed, they choose their own lives, even though the reader or viewer knows they are going to face death either way. It was refreshing to have a character intelligent enough to realise this, and to base her actions on that knowledge.
Although Kathy Herman has apparently incorporated characters from previous books, this book (the first of the new Roux River Bayou series) can easily be read on its own. False Pretences has a good Christian message, but not overpowering or preachy and with an underlying theme of personal responsibility. It is also a story of the triumph of grace over adversity.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
This review is fromFalse Pretenses - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice story and a good book

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
moonmist
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book very much! it was a nice story.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
This review is fromFalse Pretenses - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

The site won't let me download this book

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
justme0188
Location:AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even when I can download most of the ebooks, many "aren't allowed" to be copied to my NOOK.
I would love to read them, but with ADE becoming such an unhelpful company, especially because this is free, it's only going to get worse.
On the Adobe forum site, so many people are disgusted with the problems and getting no help. There has to be another company we could use!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Honesty is the Best Policy

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
HollyMag
Location:Covina, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review Summary: This was a good read. The storyline was solid and the pace of the story moved well. I enjoyed most of the characters, the only one that bugged me was Ethan Langley who too often wore his “therapist” hat when he should have been wearing his husband and father hat. The one thing that really touched me in this story was Remy Jarvis. The author did an excellent job of making me feel the pain and anguish that should be felt when anyone faces those type of circumstances.
Digging a Little Deeper: This story deals with several topics, but the main one being ‘honesty is the best policy.’ Zoe Broussard had been running from her difficult and painful past and living a lie for ten years. When it suddenly starts to fall apart even as she tries to tell lie to cover up another one. This story also deals with prejudices that too many of us live with and don’t even realize it.
This cast of characters all have flaws that normal people can relate to at some level. Zoe has lived a lie for so long she can almost believe it, yet when her world starts to tumble she finds herself struggling to keep her lies straight. Her husband, Pierce has his own struggles and tends to be judgmental which adds to Zoe’s fears. Their tenants Ethan, Valerie and Carter Langley are new to town and feel that because they’re not Cajun they are being shun by some of the townspeople. Ethan tended to step into “therapist” mode way too often analyzing the actions of others including his wife. Valerie seemed to be the most problem free person. The regulars of Zoe B’s restaurant were great. They added some fun and some very touching moments to the story.
Recommendations: If you enjoy Colleen Coble or Terri Blackstock you should enjoy Kathy Herman. Her writing is very good and flows for a quick read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Multiple Story Lines

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
False Pretenses is book one in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou series written by Kathy Herman. Taking place in a small town in Louisiana the story is filled with suspense, friendships and a lesson in forgiveness all rolled in one.
It took me a bit to get into this book. The book contains a few story lines and they are all thrown at you at the beginning. I finally got an understanding of who the characters were and how they interacted about half way through the story. Once I understood what was happening and who was involved I enjoyed the story more.
Zoe and her husband Pierce own a restaurant but Zoe has a secret she is not ready to share. Once it becomes apparent that secret may be revealed, we see her character learn about consequences of our actions and true forgiveness. Along with this story is also the story of Vanessa and Ethan who have begun to restore a home in the hopes of making it a bed and breakfast. There is a mystery that goes along with this story and this part of the book was written well. Overall it is an interesting story about forgiveness with a little mystery thrown in.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Likeable characters and solid suspense

Date:December 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
False Pretenses is the first book in the Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series, and in part it continues the story of Vanessa and Ethan and their 4-yr-old son Carter, characters who are featured in Kathy Herman's Sophie Trace Trilogy. The family has moved to Louisiana, planning to renovate an inherited heritage house to turn it into a bed-and-breakfast. Shortly after their arrival, Carter claims he saw a man in the closet of one of the rooms. Although at first they believe that Carter is imagining what he saw, they soon start to wonder if he truly did see someone in the home. In the meantime, their landlord, Zoe Broussard, has started receiving a series of threatening notes to expose Zoe's secret past, one that could destroy her reputation and the future of her marriage. Zoe must make a choice of whether to face her past once and for all, while her very life, and those of others, is threatened in a very real manner.
Kathy Herman has written a fairly solid start to a promising new series, with likable characters and suspense that kept me turning the pages. She excels at making the reader truly care about the characters, even with their very human flaws, and I enjoyed revisiting the world of Vanessa and Ethan and being introduced to new characters as well. I also appreciated how she wove faith issues into the story, as she leads the characters through times of trials and learning to rely on God.
I did find some of her writing to be troublesome, however, in that she had the tendency to have characters experience introspection through repetitive questions, such as where they'd think "Hadn't she tried her best to..." or "Hadn't she always believed..." etc. In one instance I read such a phrase four times in two paragraphs, and the constant use of such questions throughout the book distracted me from the story. I do not recall ever seeing this problem in Herman's past stories, and am a bit disappointed by it. Nevertheless, the plot has enjoyable twists and turns, and overall I would still recommend this novel to readers who have enjoyed Herman's previous novels.
I give this book a mild recommendation of 3 out of 5 stars. I do plan on reading the next book in the series as I've faithfully followed the characters from the Sophie Trace Trilogy and look forward to what will occur next in their lives.
An electronic galley of this book was provided by the publisher via netgalley for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

False Pretenses

Date:October 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
What a good first experience with Kathy Herman's books! Until this novel, Kathy was a new author to me, and now, I have a feeling I will be returning for future novels, as well as searching out her back list. Her style of writing was so personable and friendly, even with a plot that had murder, deception, and racial tension.
In spite of actually reading the back cover blurb somewhere along the way, it slipped my mind that this book would feature the continuing story of a few characters from some of Kathy's earlier novels. I got a tad bit worried that this would make for a less-than-ideal reading experience, but she gave just enough info that I had no trouble piecing together Ethan and Vanessa's back story. In fact, their reasons for moving to Louisiana later became an instrumental part of the story in more ways than one.
Unfortunately, I had a hard time connecting with the main character, Zoe. I think the combination of her attempts to change her past coupled with her desire to fit into the Cajun culture made her the most unrealistic character of the bunch. Her only redeeming feature was her husband, Pierce. His struggle to forgive Zoe for her years of deceit was both believable and heartfelt.
Now that I've connected with all of these characters, I'm anxious to return to the Roux River Bayou and see what's in store for Mrs. Woodmore. Her Southern charm in this novel was like iced sweet tea on a hot summer day--I just couldn't get enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Hale
Location:Tenn
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book holds your attention and will not let you put it down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

enjoyed the book

Date:August 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
gail
Location:louisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
from Louisiana and enjoyed the references to foods, words and locations. look forward to the next book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense Cajun-Style!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kathy Herman takes the reader off on a suspenseful page-turner in the first of her series Secrets of Roux River Bayou, False Pretenses! I was immediately drawn to the hometown atmosphere of this Loiusiana bayou setting...colorful shops, cajun cuisine and language, and southern plantations!
Zoe Broussard's life is perfect...her dream of opening a successful cajun eatery has come to fruition, a dream she shares with the love of her life, Pierce Broussard. As her best friends, Vanessa and Ethan Langley, embark on fulfilling their own dream of turning an inherited plantation into a bed-and-breakfast, Zoe's perfect world begins to unravel.
What terrible secrets is Zoe hiding from the past that could destroy her marriage and reputation, and who is sending her frightening, anonymous notes, threatening to expose her? And who is the mysterious stranger that Vanessa and Ethan's four year old son claims to have spoken to in the mansion? Is he the product of a child's overactive imagination or is the Langley mansion actually harboring a ghost?
Eventually Zoe's lies put her and all those she loves in terrible danger, and her marriage is put to the ultimate test. A riveting novel of past mistakes, forgiveness, tension and suspense that will keep you on the edge of your seat! My passion is historical fiction, but there is enough southern history packed in this powerful novel, to have successfully turned me into a fan of contempory suspense. At least of Kathy's books anyway! I can't wait for the next one!
*Warning* There is some violence for those of you who are a bit on the squeamish side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

False Pretenses by Kathy Herman

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this bad habit. Fellow book lovers, you’ll probably relate to this. I love to buy books, to collect books, but often times I buy them faster than I can read them. I’m sure I’m not alone in this, but I do miss out on a lot of good books because of this. I have a few of Kathy Herman’s books on my shelf that are yet unread, but I was really looking forward to finally reading her newest book, False Pretenses.
I liked this book a lot. I don’t know what I was expecting exactly, but I liked the cozy, small-town feeling Kathy created while at the same time, there is tension, suspense and secrets. I know from reading her posts on Facebook and such that she did a lot of research for this book, especially for the location. She must have done a very thorough job because the details and mood she creates brought me and will bring other readers to this charming Louisiana town. Everything from the people and the Cajun accents to the food served in Zoe’s cafe, it all comes to life in this book.
The story itself is quite good as well. There is plenty of suspense to keep the reader guessing and reading, but there is also much more going on that makes the story interesting. Kathy is a master at creating suspense and drama that made this book go by very quickly for me. All those hours of watching 24 have paid off! She is very good at leaving readers wanting more.
The only downside I can think of is that sometimes the dialogue dragged a little. There were just a few times I found my mind wander a little, but I didn’t feel that this affected my overall enjoyment of the book as a whole. Overall, False Pretenses is a very good read, a must for suspense fans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for False Pretenses, Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Ghosts

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
This book shouts "Louisiana!" It makes me feel as if I've visited Louisiana. I've experienced the talk, met some residents, and enjoyed the food. What a neat way to travel!
The protagonist, Zoe, is living a lie, and as happens with most lies, they catch up with her. Intertwined is a lynching, a mystery stalker, and the suspicion of a ghost!
A Discussion Guide is included, making this a good book club read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.