Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northfield Publishing A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book

Northfield Publishing A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book

Encourage your kids to learn more about the Five Love Languages and how to utilize them in their own lives. Join twins Peyton and Penny as they go on a birthday adventure to Mr. Chapman's Pet Pal Emporium to get paired up with their perfect pet pal. The kids will learn about the five languages: gifts, words of affirmation, physical touch, quality time, and acts of service. Includes a quiz in the back to help children identify their unique love language.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Review 1 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, Lacks Clarity

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think my expectations were that it would be at a younger child's level. I thought the story line was interesting enough but lacked clarity in trying to accomplish really understanding love languages and why they could be important in relationships. My 7 year old grandson enjoyed it, but it wasn't a real favorite for him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic book for kids, great tool for parents

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
crtnybc
Location:British Columbia, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful story with beautiful illustrations and it also gets it's message across clearly. My kids love this book, even the 9 year old listened intently and got into it. Every page has a bug to find which helps to keep little ones engaged.
In the story the kids go to a birthday party at a Pet Emporium that also doubles as a theme park. Pretty cool. They will each leave with a perfect pet pal that Mr. Chapman pairs them with. They are based on the 5 love languages and how each child likes to show, and be shown, love. There's a 5 love languages quiz at the end to discuss with your children and help you figure out what their individual love languages are. I found the book and quiz very helpful in determining what my children's love languages might be.
If you are interested in more information there is an online quiz to do for yourself or your child at www.5lovelanguages.com as well as information on each of the love languages.
Another bonus with the book is the free ios app! Sweet, gotta love that, right? My favourite game is the one where you go through your house with your device looking for pets that show up on screen.
This is a fantastic book and a great resource for learning more about your kids!
I received this book from Moody Publishers for the purpose of an honest review. My opinion is my own. Thank you Moody Publishers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good story, loved the illustrations!

Date:November 13, 2012
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For twins Peyton and Penny, this will be a birthday to remember. Joined by three of their friends, Peyton and Penny's adventure through Mr. Chapman's Perfect Pet Pal Emporium includes surprising animal encounters, eating Mythical Monster Sundaes, opening gifts, and finding their own perfect pet pals based on their personal love languages.
A Perfect Pet for Peyton by Gary Chapman and Rick Osborne, and illustrated by Wilson Williams, Jr. is based on Chapman's book, The Five Love Languages. As Peyton, Penny and their friends celebrate at Mr. Chapman's Perfect Pet Pal Emporium, they learn what the five love languages are and the characteristics of each love language. Though the concepts are explained in simple terms, children ages five to ten are probably target age group for this book. Still, the illustrations are beautiful and my five month old enjoyed looking at them. I thought it was neat how there were hidden insects on some of the pages. This adds a nice element that can allow for further child-parent or sibling interaction.
I absolutely would recommend A Perfect Pet for Peyton to parents. It teaches the principles of the five love languages and contains underlying messages about animal kindness, friendship, and love.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book about love languages

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christine M. Irvin
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s Penny and Peyton’s birthday. They are twins and are excited about celebrating their birthday together. They are having their birthday party at the Perfect Pet Emporium, which is like “a zoo, a museum, a theme park, and a birthday party palace all in one place,” in other words, the perfect place for a birthday party. Three of their friends have been invited to join them for the party
The twins and their friends spend a great day exploring the facility. After pizza and cake have been served and eaten, each of the friends get to take home a “perfect pet”. The pet is chosen by Mr. Chapman, who uses each child’s “love language” to pick the perfect pet for them. There are five love languages: Gifts, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch, and Acts of Service.
Mr. Chapman explains: “Each of us especially likes to love and be loved in one or two of these languages; some love kind words, others like touch. Some enjoy spending special time with people. Others love gifts and some like to do nice and helpful things. We all need to love people in every way. However, God made us each special and we all love a little differently. Pets do some things naturally that can kind of match our Love Language. When we find one that matches yours, that’s a perfect pet pal.”
A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book, was co-written by Rick Osborne and Gary Chapman. The authors included a couple of extra items in the book. Each large picture contains at least hidden insect. This is mentioned on the first page so readers will know to look for the hidden insects on subsequent pages. Also, there are instructions in each successive illustration to look for various other things, such as different types of birds. The authors also include a section at the back of the book with questions for children to help them determine their own particular “love language”.
The illustrations by Wilson Williams Jr. are truly delightful. They are bold, colorful, expressive and detailed. The addition of hidden objects in them makes them even more appealing.
What I Like: The illustrations. They are great. I also like the "love languages". It's a concept I had never heard of before.
What I Dislike: I realize one reason this book would be appealing to children is because of the thoughtful way Mr. Chapman figures out each child’s “perfect pet”. One of the twins’ friends is given a Capuchin Monkey as her perfect pet. I don’t think it’s wise to suggest that a Capuchin Monkey would make a perfect pet for a child, even if that particular animal does match the “love language” of the recipient.
Also, some of the insects are hidden quite well in the illustrations and might be difficult to find. There is no guide at the end of the book to tell you where any particular insect is hidden if you can’t find it.
Overall Rating: Very good.
Age Appeal: 8-12
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Book for Parents! I meant Kids!!

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a special day for the twins Peyton and Penny. It is their Birthday and their parents have a surprise birthday party planned for them at the Pet Pal Emporium. Several of their friends have been invited to share this special day with them. They will get to meet Mr. Chapman and many of the Pet Pals at the Emporium.
They will learn about their good traits and how these traits are gifts from God. This is in part of the 5 Love Languages. They will be paired up with a special pal pet.
This is an excellent book for parents and children to enjoy reading together. The parents can ask the child questions and interact with the child while reading the book and doing fun activities on on every page.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure:
I received a free copy of this book for review from Moody Publishing. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Perfect Pet for Peyton

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have ever heard about the 5 Love Languages for Children, then you will love the introduction that "A Perfect Pet for Peyton" by Rick Osbourne and Gary Chapman gives young children. In this amazing and beautifully illustrated children's book, the story involves the hints that Peyton and his sister Penny have been providing as hints to their parents in preparation for their birthday. Hoping that they will get just the right pet for their birthday, their parents begin their day with a party at The Perfect Pal Pet Emporium. Along the way, Peyton and Penny along with their friends learn about what they each love about how the celebrate their day and in so doing so show what each of the 5 Love Languages are and how they relate to the children.
Besides just a beautifully illustrated story book, there are activities for the kids to do as they are reading through the book, a scavenger hunt of sorts that begins at first page and lasts til the very end. It's a great way for parents as well as their kids to understand the meaning behind what the 5 Love Languages are and how they relate to what the kids appreciate from life and others. In the back are questions for parents to ask their kids as they re-read the story. It helps both parents and their kids to understand what is truly important to speak the language of "Love" to our kids and in return is a great way to share quality time together.
I received this book compliments of Propeller and Northfield Publishing for my honest review. I've read about the 5 Love Languages for adults and knew that ones also existed for kids as well. This takes a step further and brings it to a beginner level for younger children. Perhaps while reading it, they can share what they think different love languages are for each member of their family or even friends. I rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend this to anyone working with young children as well as for parents and grandparents alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Interative Children's Book

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The boys and I, ages 4 and 6, spent a really fun time reading and enjoying this great book. They loved that the twins were a boy and a girl...Peyton and Penny, and were celebrating their birthday!
Besides the delightful story there are so many interactive pictures for them to participate with! One of the first fun activities was to find a very small insect in each of the big pictures. For their party they are going with their friends to Mr Chapman's Perfect Pet Emporium. The boys both decided they wanted their next parties there!
We have been through this book a few times now, and it has become a real favorite! They also like it when we get to end and get to the Quiz!! There they are introduced to the Five Love Languages for Kids..we talk about Gifts, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Physical Touch, and Acts of Service.
I really recommend this book for a good quality time with your children!
“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or
services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it
on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally
and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance
with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Perfect Pet for Peyton: A 5 Love Languages Discovery Book
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun way to learn your child's love language!

Date:March 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Younger kids will love this day spent with twins, Peyton and Penny, as they celebrate their birthday with 3 friends at Mr. Chapman's Perfect Pet Pal Emporium!! The bright colors and invitations to search for the various animals on the picture make this book one that younger kids will eagerly want to become engaged in and is sure to provide a lot of fun. Plus, as they play, and the story unfolds it gives the adult a chance to gain a better understanding of the child they are sharing with, and for the child to become more aware of the various ways of receiving and expressing love and appreciation. Based on the popular 5 Love Languages, this creative story is a great teaching tool, enjoyable read, and bonding experience that is sure to be an unforgettable experience.
“Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.