Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook In Grandma's Attic, repackaged

David C. Cook In Grandma's Attic, repackaged

Remember when you were a child--when all the world was new, and the smallest object a thing of wonder? Arleta Richardson remembers: the funny wearable wire contraption hidden in the dusty attic, the century-old schoolchild's slate that belonged to Grandma, an ancient trunk filled with quilt pieces--each with its own special story--and the button basket, a miracle of mysteries. And best of all was the remarkable grandmother who made magic of all she touched, bringing the past alive as only a born storyteller could.

Here are those marvelous tales--faithfully recalled for the delight of young and old alike, a touchstone to another day when life was simpler, perhaps richer; when the treasures of family life and love were passed from generation to generation by a child's questions, and the legends that followed enlarged our faith. Recommended for ages 8 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Review 1 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
This review is fromIn Grandma's Attic - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
sheba
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is nice made me think what would have been like if I had my grandmother and what she would have told me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Stories for Children

Date:June 8, 2011
I enjoyed these sweet children's books by Arleta Richardson. Each chapter tells a different story about when Grandma was growing up. As she tells these stories to her granddaughter, she weaves in wonderful lessons that teach character. These old-fashioned stories are simple and easy to read, but the lessons are valuable and timeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heart-Warming

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annette of A Well-Watered Garden
Location:Temple, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Little Arleta loves her Grandma Mabel and she often asks her to tell stories of when she was a little girl.
Grandma Mabel was born in the early 1900's. This was a time of long dresses, wagons pulled by horses, no electricity, no inside plumbing (in rural areas), everything was handmade or preserved, and girls wore bonnets. Grandma Mabel's stories are full of nostalgia. Grandma Mabel as a young girl was full of curiosity and mischief. Arleta is amazed at the antics of her grandmother as a young girl. During this time of storytelling the two of them grow a closer bond, and for the rest of Arleta's life she will remember these memories.
I felt this is a great book for little girls--reading level 2nd grade through 5th grade.
The stories seem so far removed from the current culture we live in, it really is from another age. An age of no computers, or Twitter, or Blogger, or Facebook, and no television. Children read books, or played outside, or listened to stories that their parent's or grandparent's told. This was also an age when children had chores to do, as soon as they were old enough responsibilities were given to them in order to the perform household or farm functions.
Examples of various stories are: the button basket, hoop skirts, childhood diseases, tongue stuck to frozen pump handle, and the dark root cellar.
Arleta's respect and admiration for her grandmother is tender. It brings back memories of my own relationships with my two grandmother's. I too remember their stories of "when they were a little girl."
Thank you to David C. Cook and B and B Media Group for my free review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Books for your 8-12 year old girl

Date:May 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Any of you remember reading these books as tweens? I loved the In Grandma's Attic books, but my one complaint is that the print was so small I haven't been able to interest my ten year old in them.
These new editions take care of that issue, by making these wonderful short stories easy-to-read. And engaging illustrations have been added to several of the stories in each book. Each short story tells of an event in Arleta's grandmother's life. Everything from a hoop skirt to a quilt or a button serve as the launching point for a story that illustrates an important life truth.
These short chapters are easy for young readers to enjoy. But the content is great for any age. If you like Little House on the Prairie, you will equally enjoy these books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great For 8-12 yr Girls :)

Date:May 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: In Grandma's Attic - Grandma's Attic Series - Arleta Richardson - Originally Pub. 1974 - Reprinted 2011
Are you looking for a timeless tale to get your daughter reading chapter books and ones with morals and Christian standards and beliefs ? Originally printed back in 1974 and reprinted in 1999 , have been reprinted once again in 2011 with funky new covers which will appeal to today's audiences. In Grandma's Attic tells the story of Arleta , who as a little girl loved exploring and hearing tales of past years , one of Arleta's favourite places in the whole wide world to explore was at her Grandma's house and in her attic. Her Grandma was one of those people who never ever chucked anything out , we read as Arleta discovers a number of things from a old hoop which used to be part of a hoopskirt who Grandma got when she was eight , a quilt her Grandma knitted and a button basket. Each piece of treasure Arleta finds in the attic spurs off a creative story from her Grandmother about how and why that piece was important to her.
The Grandma Attic series make way for a gorgeous series which encourages children to look at the small stuff and to appreciate the things they have in the now and who knows once they reach their grandparents age, their grandchildren may be doing the exact same thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful memories of yesterday

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFaith
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reading, "In Grandmas Attic" by Arleta Richardson, really had me going back to when I was young and this was one of those timeless books that I can still remember, checking out, over and over from the library to read and was a staple growing up.
If you are looking for timeless stories to share with your daughter,and having a hard time finding content that is safe and modest and just innocent, particularly in an age of questionable content and little girls being taught to grow up faster than they need to be, this and the rest of the series, is just the book to get that is safe, clean, innocent and would touch the heart.
I found myself feeling like I was a little girl, sitting in the far corner of my bed, cuddling a doll and reading with delight, stories found,"In Grandmas Attic" and just found myself giggling and feeling young again at the thought that I get to share these stories with my own children and maybe one day, grandchildren too.
The stories are a delight,the illustrations are exquisite and with summer around the corner, you and your children will find within these books, delightful stories to read and share together at bedtime or maybe while on family vacation.
But these aren't just for those times, but more than anything, to introduce to your kids and particularly your daughters, what's "In Grandmas Attic".
Hurry and grab a copy and rediscover the nostalgia of yesterday.
Thank You to Audra Jennings, Senior Media Specialist, The B&B Media Group for sending me a review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Stories

Date:April 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are some of the most amazing stories for children [adults]. Find yourself transported to the 1800's, cry and mostly laugh with O'Dell's.
I've read these to my Grandson when he was younger...he is now 13, and he still talks about them.
There are great lessons for all in these books. In this first book there is a lot of stories about Pride. Wait until you read about Mable and Sarah Jane in their hoops! So funny! Then there is the time that Mable wants these beautiful Gray shoes...even though they are to small! Through out the book you can see the love of the Lord, and how the family relies on His Word.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from of B & B Media Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In Grandma's Attic, repackaged
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely delightful and charming!

Date:April 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the Grandma's Attic series when I was a young girl. I loved them.
When I had the opportunity to check out the updated cover and inside art, I couldn't resist.
As soon as I read the first story, memories from all of Mabel's ("grandma") and her best friend Sarah Jane's antics came back. Each story is just as delightful and charming as I remember! I absolutely loved the tales from Grandma's Attic all over again!
Each Grandma's Attic book (there are 4) is full of short stories (1-2 pages) once told to Mabel's granddaughter, the 'author' Arleta Richardson. Each story centers around a lesson that young Mabel learned...and usually the hard way!
The stories are written for ages 9-12 and are full of yesteryear's charm (think Little House). Each story is a quick read for young readers woven with both Biblical truths and everyday examples.
From the first story of a hoopskirt gone wrong to the endless stories found in grandma's button basket to a cake that tasted funny, Mabel's life stories will delight both mom and daughter (boys just may enjoy the tales, too)!
Excerpt from the first story:
"And you were never proud again, Grandma?" I asked after she finished the story.
Grandma thought soberly for a moment. "Yes," she replied. "I was proud again. Many times. It was not until I was a young lady and the Lord saved me that I had the pride taken from my heart. But many times when I am tempted to be proud, I remember that horrid hoopskirt and decide that a proud heart is an abomination to the Lord!"
I highly recommend In Grandma's Attic, More Stories from Grandma's Attic, Still More Stories from Grandma's Attic, and Treasures from Grandma's Attic.
**I received a review copy from B&B Media Group, through FIRST blog tours!**
Check out more of my book reviews on my blog: acookingbookworm DOT com!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.