Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living

David C. Cook Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living

Do you worry more than you pray? Ask for God's help only when your own "fix" fails? Or doubt he even answers prayer? In this classic guide, Stanley shows believers how to pray with assurance; why Satan fears prayer; how praying and waiting go together; and more. Includes an enhanced study guide and updated content. 144 pages, hardcover from Cook.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Review 1 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Good Manual On Prayer And So Much More!

Date:September 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Woofiejo
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written book that covers a lot of the common questions we have about prayer:
• The purpose of prayer
• Why our prayers go unanswered
• How to pray with authority
• Praying for others
• The warfare of prayer
But, this book pleasantly goes beyond the basic information to provide rich insights about the benefits of praying and fasting, what it means to have a prayer burden (and why we might have one), and how to pray in the will of God. All of Charles Stanley’s key points are backed up with scripture and there are many personal anecdotes to help support the principles in this book. Especially worth pondering is Stanley’s comment about the attitude of our heart when praying. We have a God that desires to truly know us and have a relationship with us. This book helps to teach principles beyond using prayer as a tool to just ask God for stuff. It’s a tool for seeking God at a deeper level, knowing His will and how to obtain His guidance for your life.
At the end of this book there is a 13 session group leader’s guide. For each lesson, it includes the overall goals for each session, what you can do to prepare for each session and several discussion questions relating to each chapter. From a quick review of the questions, it seems like this would be a terrific study to share with a small group. I think there would be great value in doing this study with others.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from David C. Cook in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth reading!

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Annya
Location:New York State
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is well written and true to Scripture. Gave me a new impetus to pray more and to pray more Biblically.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love all the relevant scripture.

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jace
Location:Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all the relevant scripture. I love how it sends you back to the bible.
I have been talking about this book to anyone who will listen. Will get this is a hard copy. It is a definite keeper
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The product helped me stay focused in God.

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tami
Location:Blakely, Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product helped me through a difficult time. It is a great product;it has great features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Falcon
Location:Altamonte Springs, Fl
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you would like to improve your prayer life, this book guides you through different aspects of prayer. If you struggle with prayer, this book is a step by step guide. It includes a study guide.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book on prayer!

Date:July 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Handle with Prayer” is a wonderful book on prayer! Dr. Stanley clearly explains how to pray, which is to commune with your Heavenly Father the Lord Jesus. Dr. Stanley will cover everything you need to know to start the good habit of prayer. He explains how Jesus taught us to ask, seek, and knock. I’m sure you will learn how to pray by the end of this book if you will do it with your Bible open alongside as you read. Those who seek Jesus will find Him! I highly recommend Dr. Stanley. He’s the best pastor I’ve ever heard and he’s always inspiring no matter what topic. Consider sharing this book with your church study group since it includes a leader’s study guide. Also share copies of this book with each of your loved ones who would like to start learning how to pray!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great book!!

Date:May 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
amberfrench
“God desires to make known the unknown to His children. He desires to unveil the hidden. Yet many times we are satisfied not knowing. Either we aren't willing to take the time to wait, or we aren't sure God even wants us to know." God reveals these things to us through prayer. It's when we lay aside our plans and our agendas that God is able to speak to us. Charles Stanley talks about the different aspects of prayer as well as the different kinds of prayer itself. He discusses why we don't always receive an answer to our prayers (or maybe it's that we don't receive the answer we want). He talks about the benefits of fasting coupled with prayer as well as the importance of having people who will both pray for you and that you can in turn lift up in your life.
I've not ever read anything by Stanley but I've grown up hearing his name and know he's written quite a few books. I enjoyed this book! Prayer is a deep topic so it's something I want to keep on hand to refer to when I need to remember the points he made. There's also a study guide included at the back of the book. To me, I feel like the theme of the book is: in order to pray effectively, you have to take the focus off of you and not only be willing to pray sincerely but also listen to what God is saying back. It's not a time of us having our chance to talk and then we throw in a hurried "amen" before God can respond. We have to exchange our timetable for His. "Regardless of what kinds of storms come our way, regardless of our circumstances, we are to keep looking at the Word. He wants our prayers to be God-centered, Christ-centered, and Spirit-centered - not thing-centered, trial-centered, and circumstance-centered."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for a Small Group Study

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review: Handle With Prayer - Charles Stanley - March 2011
Are you wanting to get deeper into the word of prayer and learn to unwrap God's strength and power by praying. As I was searching for a picture of the cover , I noticed that in February 1992 when I was five years old , Charles Stanley wrote a book called Handle With Prayer - reading this one and the blurb of the previous , I figured that this new edition must be an updated and more up with the play as the one written those many moons ago. For me, personally I find Prayer quite a challenge as I can pray for myself silently for protection , pray to keep others safe and those other everyday prayers like "Dear Lord, please find us a carpark" when you enter the shopping mall and its so busy. However, Prayer is actually something much deeper than that , it is something that Jesus used and there have been other accounts by everyday people to make miracles happen , people raise from the dead , others have sickness healed that may never have been healed. Prayer is essential to us all as Christians and believers, as without prayer we do not have the connection we require from God.
Handle with Prayer - Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living will teach you as a study guide how to pray with an authority, how to recieve answers to prayer, how to pray in God's will and not our own, the answer to one of the world's most popular and asked question - Why does my prayers go unanswered and one that I always find difficult as Im worried I'm going to say the wrong words - how to pray for others.
Handle with Prayer is the perfect study guide that can be used as a Small Group programme or in a seminar/sermon on how to teach others to pray in God's name and in his will.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Handle With Prayer: Unwrap the Source of God's Strength for Living
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great help book to go alone with our Bibles

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Edna Tollison
Location:SC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I watch Charles Stanley on TV sometimes as he is a pastor of a very large church not too far from where I live in SC. He is the pastor in Atlanta, Ga.
As the front of the book states "unwrap the source of God's strength with prayer" such a great statement.
This book really relates to what he talks about in him messages, he had a way about him that make us understand the Bible. In this book "Handle with Prayer" Charles Stanley goes chapter by chapter and and explains in a way for us to handle our own prayer life. There are thirteen chapters and each one follows the others with a thirteen-session guide to help us alone the way to a better understanding of Prayer and God.
This is a great book to be used on your own on in a group settings as Dr. Stanley explains a way for us to talk to our Heavenly Father and how to make wise choices.
It can be picked up anytime and always find something new to read and understand.
This book was sent to me free from The B and B Media Group for my review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.