Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide

Holman Bible Publishers HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide

When reading a passage in the Bible, you shouldn't have to wonder where to find supporting reference notes and commentary that go along with it. That's why the HCSB Study Bible-featuring approximately 15,000 study notes-is designed so that every clarifying resource is there on the same page spread as the biblical text to which it refers. You'll never again forget what you were looking for, because the pertinent note, map, chart, word study, or illustration is already there. And when an even deeper view is desired, there are also introductions for each book, outlines and timelines, a concordance, and more. For the growing believer whose desire is to know Scripture more intimately and live out its loving instruction, the HCSB Study Bible always keeps you and God on the same page.

Features
  • Top-quality black cowhide binding
  • Online access to the HCSB Study Bible and Bible study resources
  • 408 word studies
  • More than 100 photographs
  • 59 timelines
  • 59 maps
  • 24 articles on practical and theological issues
  • Feature-length article on how to reaed and study the Bible
  • 16 illustrations/reconstructions
  • 15 charts
  • Four-color presentation pages
  • Two-column text setting
  • Center column references
  • One-year Bible reading plan
  • Topical subheads
  • Black letter text
  • Gold page edges
  • Lined pages for personal notes
  • Presentation page
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 9.75" x 7.00" x 2.00"
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Review 1 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:June 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Daniel Pasculli
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
---the HCSB translation is a very clear translation, that is still true to the original text. It is not as word-for-word as the ESV or NASB, but I think it is easier to read.
---The leather quality is amazing, it's very soft, very flexible, and looks amazing.
---The study notes are good. Again there aren't as many as the ESV has but they are still very in depth.
---There is plenty of color on each page. The fact that each page has much more than black and white text on it makes reading for long periods of time easier and more pleasing to the eyes. The inclusion of so much color may bother some but I prefer it.
---Also this Bible has a FULL CONCORDANCE. Not a topical concordance.
---The imprinting looks good.
---Some pages are stuck together on the first time through, but that's to be expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Bible

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Gravette, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is the best quality of all my bibles. Content
is excellent, especially the commentaries. Highly
recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Now this is a Bible I will treasure for years.

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Butch
Location:St. Louis, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a Bible to replace my NIV Study Bible for a long time. After much consideration, I selected HCS Study Bible with the black premium cowhide binding.
It arrived today, and I could not be happier with my selection. The quality of the binding is exceptional, and there are so many study resources in it that it will serve me for the rest of my life. I also like that there are even more resources available for this Bible online. Truly, I cannot think of anything I would add to it.
The only disappointment I have is with the imprinting. It looks kind of cheap when compared to the quality of the Bible. I think there might be a problem imprinting on a leather of this caliber and texture. I would forgo the imprinting if I were to order again.
That's a minor complaint, however. Everything else about this Bible is exceptional.
Oh yes...the translation. I normally read the King James, New King James, and NIV. This translation compares to the New King James, but it is easier (for me ) to read. I like it. If you are concerned, I suggest you buy and inexpensive HCS Bible and read it for a month before investing in an expensive one. That is what convinced me.
All in all, a fantastic product. I believe anyone would be very happy with this beautiful resource.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT STUDY BIBLE

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hunter
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This study bible is really good. I have a regular HCSB and wanted to get a study bible from them. I really like the way HCS translates. It has a lot of similarities to the King James version while being easy to read. I probably did not need to go with such a nice cover but I think it's ok to splurge now and then. Could spend my money on less important things after all.
The only downside to this is:
The colored pages (maps and chapter summaries) stick together around the gold edging. Not that big of a deal though. Once you break the gold edging between the pages it's all good.
Everything else is wonderful.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:August 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beloved by Him
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have been searching for a new study Bible for a long time. My NIV Disciple Study Bible has been such a wonderful Bible, but it was time to replace it. Really like the features as others have mentioned. It is just a bit too heavy for me and one would think that for such a nice Bible the binding would be such that it would lie flat when opened. It is awkward and there is little room to write on inside margins. Other than this, it is a great study Bible.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best quality study bible in the market!!!

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
tonymalbas
Location:Corpus Christi, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own other study bibles but so far this is the best in the market in terms of quality of content, accuracy of translation, and excellence of binding.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect study Bible

Date:June 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Seth2012
Location:Atmore, AL
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love it - the pictures and maps are beautiful with their full color, the literal translation study notes as well as the historical ones are fantastic. The leather is WONDERFUL - i wish i could afford a coat made from it. XD Its absolutely awesome to hold and read - 10 outa 5 stars. ^.^
Highly recommended to everyone, especially students, pastors or teachers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All around great Bible

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
eye duh hoe an
Location:Idaho
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you pick it up, the feel of the soft leather is wonderful. The leather is just as flexible as the pages are so it lays open effortlessly whether you're holding it or if it is on your table. The study part of this study Bible is very informative. It often takes up about half of the page, give or take. The Holman Version has captured my trust and it has become my favorite Bible translation. The background information at the front of each book / Letter in the Bible is very interesting too. The only drawback, which really isn’t a drawback, is that some the pages DO tend to be stuck together per the gold leaf edging. But it’s still fun going through the pages, separating them. This mainly happens at the front of the Books/ Letters for most of the books of the Bible, probably because those pages are of a slightly different kind of paper. This is a great Bible that feels great in your hand or on your lap…
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I expected from HCS Bibles

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Allan Macmanes
Location:Ashford, CT
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a seasoned Christian, I have studied Scripture using NASB, King James, NIV, ESV, and other translations. I have always returned to the Holman Christian Standard Bible-Study Bible for their clarity, charts, maps, graphs, time lines, visuals, archaeological pictorial references, and unbiased study notes. The premium cowhide is soft and beautifully sewn with two ribbon markers. The Bible lies flat and it is easy to write study notes in the margins.
I recommend this Bible to anyone needing a clearer understanding of God's Word without losing the literalness in the translation.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Bible to Have

Date:February 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
csaltzman44
Location:Costa Mesa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
The leather is really soft and the Bible is reader friendly, there's a lot of color in it. So getting through the tough books like Leviticus is possible, lot of insight in the study notes. Print is on the small size though, other than that I love the translation and commentary. The Bible has a fresh, fruity feel to it, not like the stale black & white print of other Bibles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiul, very well made BIBLE

Date:January 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robert Shipley
Location:Goldendale, Washington
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have several different study BIBLES, and love them all. I am really impressed in the way this version is laid out, and the ease in finding verses your seeking. I am sure you will enjoy a copy of this beautiful version of GOD's WORD. The HCSB is very easy to read and understand, and is said to be an extreamely accurate version.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very informative bible!

Date:December 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
FLHTCUI
Location:Winchester, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The new HCSB Study Bible has the most information I've ever found in a study bible. I am very well satisfied with this bible's content, and the premium cowhide is very luxurious. Everything is laid out is an easy to read and understand fashion. I have been a HCSB user for several years, and really believe the translation is the most accurate out there. I don't believe anyone would be disappointed with this bible. The only reason for not giving it a five star rating is that the gold page edges appear as if little specks of the gold may already be coming off, or were not coated well to begin with.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A valuable aid for the Student of God's Word.

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jim Cantrell
Location:Okla.
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holman's best product to date.
The material is presented with many illustrations, topical charts, cross references, study notes, maps, photos and timelines.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCS Study Bible, Black Premium Cowhide
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bruce Blanchard
Location:Worland, WY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely delighted with this Bible. I waited a long time for it to come out and am delighted by it. It has become my favorite translation and will become my favorite study Bible as well. I am really looking forward to using this Bible for study and in church. Thanks for the fine product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.