Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather

B&H Books HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather

Like the acclaimed Apologetics Study Bible, the Apologetics Study Bible for Students anchors younger Christians in the truths of Scripture by equipping them with thoughtful and practical responses for whenever the core issues of their faith and life are challenged.

In addition to the complete HCSB text and dozens of articles collected from today's most popular youth leaders, including editor Sean McDowell, this new study Bible also includes:
  • Two-color design-intensive layout on every page for the visual generation
  • Study notes
  • 120 articles by leading Christian thinkers dealing with life's ultimate questions
  • Sixty “Twisted Scriptures” explanations correcting distortion & misunderstanding of scripture
  • Fifty “Bones & Dirt” entries (archaeology meets apologetics)
  • Fifty "Notable Quotes" from influential people throughout history
  • Twenty-five “Tactics” against common anti-Christian arguments
  • Twenty “Personal Stories” of how God has worked in real lives
  • Twenty “Top Five” lists to help remember key apologetics topics
  • Bullet notes explain Bible terms
  • Book introductions
  • Presentation page
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I buy them as gifts for my children.

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JHall
Location:Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Apologetics Bible is a great tool for any christian, whether young in their faith or mature. I occasionally buy my adult children Bibles for their birthdays, and after browsing the Apologetics I knew it was just what they needed. Without a doubt, I'll also be buying a couple for my husband and I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Roboat
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the how the scriptures are put together. I personally don't find it 100% accurate. It makes it, not have the same depth of value. A small example is Luke 22:32(KJV), when Jesus told Peter when he is "converted"; he must strength his brethrens. But in the NKJV, instead of converted it states "turned back". The world turned back, doesn't bring the same meaning. When a person comes to Christ they are first convicted of their wrong and that Jesus is Lord. So they are in the state of conviction. But to serve God in the way he desires, we have to be converted.The Apostle Peter was on the process to conversion, but in his heart he was convicted as shown when he denied Christ, cut of a man's ear. But it's when he was in the upper room and stood up to the people in the book of acts, saying that the people speaking in tongues are not drunk but are speaking through the power of God. But the word "turned back", just makes it seem like his heart turned from God. So I find it inaccurate. I believe this is because the NKJV, is written from the KJV. I believe it should of been written directly from the original text.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:June 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arabia23
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a teen Christian, and I love this bible! It is a very helpful tool when learning more and more about my faith. I would recommend this for any young adult Christian who wants a stronger relation with the bible and GOD!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the investment.

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
WOuellette
Location:Saint Pauls, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am highly pleased with my recent purchase. This was exactly what I was anticipating.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible!

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan
Location:Nevada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids and I are reading through the Bible again this year and using this new HCSB version. I am really enjoying this version -- it seems to be very accurate, literal and reverent, while at the same time it uses modern english without trying to be politically correct or gender neutral. I am not able to read Greek and Hebrew texts -- I must rely upon study tools when I am trying to learn the richness of meaning of the text in the original languages, but so far it seems to me that the translators of this version were very concerned with trying to capture as much literal richness of the original languages in rendering the text in English. I am really growing to appreciate this translation and it is quickly gaining equal standing in my mind with the KJV, NASB and ESV.
The apologetic notes in this edition seem to be worthwhile, but you would have to ask someone younger than me (I am in my 50's) if they are relevant for teens and twenties.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
sixkids
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice, just hope the binding lasts longer than my leather-covered bible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than I imagained....

Date:December 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibchiln2
Location:South Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought it would be good but never imagined it would be this good. I was captivated in the first few pages with how the words spoke directly to me....where I am today and how I struggle with being "prepared to give an account...". I am excited about furthering my knowledge of Apologetics through this Bible.
God bless!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

First study bible

Date:November 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Samantha willis
Location:Brentwood,Ca
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is very good the articles are an added bonus and make digestion and application of the word extremly easy throughout the day. The only downfall is that the words of Crist are not bold or highlighted, but that can be fixed easily if you dont mind using a highlighter. The Bible itself is of good quality and despite the added articles no heavier than a standard Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent Bible for any age!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kcopas
Location:Sioux City IA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second purchase of this student's apologetics Bible. It is a gift that I hope to keep giving in the future. I heartily recommend it for any one looking for a sound study Bible. The content is the treasure, but the package is also really nice! It is a wonderful gift Bible for someone you love and desire to help glean from the Word!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Happy Reader
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I enjoy this Bible very much. I find it is easy to read and understand. Moreover, I think students will find it very helpful when explaning why? they believe what they do.
Sincerely, Kim S.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this Bible

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
pugsforpeace
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
This is my 6th bible and I find myself reading it late into the night after work. I enjoy the articles, fast facts, etc in this bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very helpful

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has articles by top christian leaders and helps in defending the faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT BIBLE

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Madelen Mclaughlin
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandchildren receive three Bible as they are growing up: First grade, seventh grade, and their 18th birthday. This one I chose for my granddaughter and had her name engraved on the cover. The cover is beautiful. All the apologetic pieces plus study notes are there. This also comes in a hardcover, which I have given for seventh grade. I gave my Marine grandson the, HCSB Marine's Military Bible, Bonded Leather, Burgundy, with his name engraved, when he served in Iraq. I use the HCSB Study Bible, Hardcover for myself and it a wonderful companion to the NASB, Study Bible by John MacArthur.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was hoping for

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
MisD
Location:Mpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very satisfied with this Apologetics Bible. I bought it for a friend of mine graduating from high school. He was thrilled and I was happy to be able to give him a quality bible that will last for many years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Resource!

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brando Sauce
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had some experience with the other Holman apologetic study bible. I really appreciate the work that they are doing!
I purchased this for a graduating senior in our youth group as she was preparing for college. I flipped through it before I gave it to her and found it to be incredibly helpful. I wish I had had one of these when I was in college.
Some wonderful articles written by some well known apologists. Simple, biblical, REAL answers for some tough questions that will face college students and high school students as they interact with other faiths and with their own doubts or questions.
Amazing price and amazing resource!
Must buy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
idaho
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the Best Study Bibles ever. Deals with lots of issues and questions every christian faces. I can't put it down. Every family should have one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julito
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its excellent... i can't stop reading and learning about the lord's word... God bless everyone chao :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great study bible.

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
SueAnne
Location:Lansing, Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter and I bought this for my husband because he is studying to be a Deacon. He mentioned this one after researching (study) bibles for awhile. He uses it everyday and absolutely loves it.. Thank you very much..
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
shack
Location:Redford MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It leaves me asking the same question even after reading the answers.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible for Students, Black and Tan Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
jaredean
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is unlike any other I have ever had. I already love it and I've only had it four a couple weeks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>