Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holman Bible Publishers HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather

Holman Bible Publishers HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather

When reading a passage in the Bible, you shouldn't have to wonder where to find supporting reference notes and commentary that go along with it. That’s why the HCSB Study Bible-featuring approximately 15,000 study notes-is designed so that every clarifying resource is there on the same page spread as the biblical text to which it refers. You’ll never again forget what you were looking for, because the pertinent note, map, chart, word study, or illustration is already there. And when an even deeper view is desired, there are also introductions for each book, outlines and timelines, a concordance, and more. For the growing believer whose desire is to know Scripture more intimately and live out its loving instruction, the HCSB Study Bible always keeps you and God on the same page.

Features
  • 290 word studies
  • 141 photographs
  • 62 timelines
  • 59 maps
  • 24 articles
  • 16 illustrations/reconstructions
  • 15 charts
  • Four-color presentation pages
  • Two-column text setting
  • Two-piece gift box
  • One-year Bible reading plan
  • Center column references
  • Topical subheads
  • Black letter text
  • Silver page edges
  • Lined pages for personal notes
  • Presentation page
  • Ribbon marker
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
93 out of 9994%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
This review is fromHCSB Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book with great features

Date:June 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Maxie
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product has a lot of great features. The type is large enough to read easily and maps, illustrations and photos are wonderful. I love the time lines and overview at the beginning of each book and the colors that separate Scripture from commentary, the word studies and charts. Also there is a Bullet Point section that is wonderful. I have been a little less pleased with some of the commentary considering the number of scholars from schools like Dallas Seminary, Yale University, Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary to name several. My biggest problem with this Bible is the PITIFUL concordance. I would rather have foregone the essays, and Bible reading plan to have had an extensive concordance and Harmony of the Gospels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Book

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase of my HCSB Study Bible.
It is Beautiful to look at - Great information looking into it -
This book was supposed to be a second - and I have yet to find the problem, The value of my purchase is priceless if I can draw closer to my GOD by using it!!! Thanks CBD another Great Product!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent Bible to add to your library.

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tagalong
Location:Outer Banks, North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy and appreciate the convenience of the notes and references on the same page. The features are a fresh way to access facts and illustrations. I recommend this Bible for a deeper study tool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very well made, great product.

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
SargeE6
Location:Selma, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bible, can't say enough about it. Easy to read and easy to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best study Bible I've ever owned!

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorDylan
Location:King, NC.
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the HCSB for about a year and a half now.
I wanted the HCSB study Bible ever since I started using the HCSB as my primary studying/preaching Bible.
The delivery of my Bible was quick and it was ALL I expected!
I love the notes, maps, illustrations, essays and references.
Everything is just perfect in this Bible.
The cover feels amazing and it seems like it will stand up to years and years of use.
If you are in the market for a new study Bible, then I HIGHLY recommend this one. :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Bible I have had in years!!!

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
revmom
Location:Chowchilla, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter introduced me to this Bible when she was gifted one by a friend in college. I like it so much that I bought one for myself. I use it now all the time for devotions, Bible studies, and church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
This review is fromHCSB Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
JPH1
Location:DeRidder, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HCSB has been absolutely great!. My wife and I use it daily in our personal quiet time for Bible study. Excellent commentary.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Mixed review on this bible

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JohnNMC
Location:Mill Creek, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the HCSB version but I am not enthusiastic about this study bible.
The pages are so thin they stick together stubbornly. I have never had to lick my fingers to turn a page but these are truly "two lick" pages. Very unacceptable.
For some reason I expected this to be a red letter edition; it is not.
The reference system is good but even with powerful reading glasses and good lighting I have trouble deciphering the footnotes. The notes from the "experts" are of mixed value, from very good to so-so.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent translation

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike
Location:Bloomington,IL.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great bible. however one of the pages was not made right. It would also be good for the words of Christ to be in red and the bible to be available in larger print. other than that I really enjoy using it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Source for Bible Study

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is just what I needed to assist me in my Women's Bible Study Classes. Great maps with easy reference to assist with the passages on each page. Very Pleased....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Of all the bibles I own HCSB is my favorite

Date:April 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marly
Location:Easton, MD
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a fairly new Christian, coming from generations of Greek Orthodox Christians, I finally can understand what it means to be a Christain. The HCSB deepens my desire to understand my relationship with Christ. It gives me ideas and causes me to solve questions from what I may need to understand each book. Since I know the Greek language that I learned while studying in Greece, I am delighted to read the descriptions at the bottom of many pages. i find that it is far superior to any other study bible i own. Infact, I just gifted it to my sister for her birthday last month.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:March 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charles Dunham
Location:Oklahoma
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one of these for my use and I also buy them as gifts for others!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
This review is fromHCSB Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Surpassed my expectations!

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this study Bible. I have been using the HCSB Bible at church and the notes on every page really help. Amazing pictures of the present day sites in the Holy Land are an added bonus as well as definitions of the Greek terms. This study Bible gives so much insight and it is a real bargain. So glad I decided to order it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
This review is fromHCSB Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent visuals and notes

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HCSB Study Bible from Holman Bible Publishers is one of few study Bibles with full color photos and maps throughout the text. The quality of its visuals, paper, print, tools, notes, and study material make this one the best study Bibles available.
Cover and Binding
This edition is hard cover. The binding is sewn. It seems to be built really solid, which is good considering the size a weight of this Bible.
Text and Layout
It looks like a 9-point font, but I’m just guessing. This is a black-letter edition. The print quality is consistent.
There are plenty of headings in the text. The color of the headings is kind of a brownish orange, which I like a lot. Verse numbers are turquoise. This makes the numbers not stand out or be too distracting.
There is almost an inch margin on the outside margins. That might be handy for those that like to write in their margins.
The top outside corner of each page shows the verse number of the first verse that starts on that page.
The notes look like maybe a 6-point font (but again, just guessing).
This is a two-column layout in paragraph format. Poetry is set in verse format. Old Testament quotes that appear in the New Testament are in bold. Sometimes they appear in verse and other times they are within the New Testament text.
Paper
The paper feels like good quality book paper. It isn’t as thin as most Bibles, but it is thinner than most books. It doesn’t feel cheap. It’s extremely opaque. The photographs look great on this paper. There are seven pages in the front for notes. These pages appear after the presentation page and use the same thick paper. I’d like to see more pages for notes. I love the look of those pages. I want a journal of just that paper alone.
References and Translation Notes
These are center column references that are keyed to the text, both with letters and with verse numbers. There are plenty of references. Genesis 1 has 14 references with some of them spanning several verses.
Translation notes are keyed to the text with letters and are found in a section between the text and commentary. This section has a crème background, making it easy to see and read. The turquoise looks better on the cream than it does the white paper.
Essays and Articles
There are several essays and articles including: “How to Read and Study the Bible”, “The Origin, Transmission, and Canonization of the Old Testament Books”, “The Origin, Transmission, and Canonization of the New Testament Books”, “Differences in the Gospels”, “The Biblical Basis for Missions”, and many others.
Book Introductions
There are introductions to each book that includes an introductory thought with a picture. It also has sections called Circumstances of Writing, Message and Purpose, Contribution to the Bible, and Structure. There is a timeline and an extensive outline.
Notes
The notes are much better than most study Bibles. They often offer multiple views on a topic. I like this because many times people tend to only see one point of view in a study Bible. This shows the reader more than one viewpoint, encouraging you to study the topic further. There are more notes in the HCSB Study Bible than what is found in most study Bibles.
Bullet Notes
After the text is a 7-page list of bullet notes. This is basically a glossary of frequently used words. There are many words in the text that are marked with a bullet. These words appear in this list.
Topical Concordance
This study Bible doesn’t have a full-blown concordance. Instead, it has a 12-page Topical Concordance. It’s a basic topical list with the primary verses given for that topic. It’s probably the most popular topics that are looked up in a concordance.
Reading plans
There are two reading plans. One for reading the Bible through in one year and one for reading the Bible through in three years. There is an introduction that teaches how to approach reading the Word of God.
52-Week Scripture Memory Plan
This is a guide to memorizing a passage of Scripture every week. The list includes 52 passages with its topic, the basic passage, a challenge passage, and the Biblical concept. This is based on Lifeway’s Bible study curriculum and supports studying 15 Biblical concepts through the year.
Maps
There are 8 full-color maps in the back (with no index to maps). There are over 50 color maps throughout the text. Many of them are full-page.
Conclusion
There is plenty of study material and features in the Holman HCSB Study Bible. Its notes are better than most study Bibles because they have less bias and often show more than one point of view. The word studies give a lot of information of Greek and Hebrew words. The full-color maps and images are beautiful. The Holman HCSB Study Bible is one of the better study Bibles available.
For more information and photos see the review on Bible Buying Guide.
Holman Bible Publishers provided this Bible free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best study Bible ever owned

Date:January 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
duckysdaughter
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The color details impressive. Verses in blue makes identification so easy in the middle of paragraphs. Commentary thorough and articles fascinating. Tabbed indexing is perfect. Binding is of excellent quality. Have CBD do the personalization, the quality is waaaay better than having it done in your local book store. I gave this one as a gift and it was perfect.
I have had and used many translations for study and personal use and I find this is the best translation to date. It is easy to read and I would recommend for the new or seasoned Christian. As a side note, a red letter edition is not available but after 2 years of using this Bible it has not been an issue, as I originally thought.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this product is good

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
in spite of
Location:Bklyn NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is good. However, the timeline section display and some of the fonts are fading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

HCSB Study Bible Digital Edition

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Al Zink
Location:Harrisburg, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice and easy to use. The only problem is the index is for chapters and books. It will not let you go directly to a verse which is what I needed. It is difficult to use for looking up verses but great if you want to read entire chapters. Not quite what you would expect from a Digital Edition.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and Beautiful Study Bible

Date:January 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sean
Location:Rogersville, AL.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was somewhat skeptical of the HCSB Bible; mainly due to my unfamiliarity with it. After looking into it, I decided to order myself one as a Christmas Gift to me. My main concern was the possibility of a denominational bias. However, after a little research it passed the test and was a somewhat multiple-denominational project. It's the most beautiful Bible I've ever owned. It contains colorful maps and very good study notes. It also has a variety of textual colors that add to the richness of the Bible. I like the fact that it's not a paraphrase of another translation (or a translation of a translation). So far as complaints, I only have one: thus far it is not available in Red Print. I hope it's one day available in Red Print because it makes the words of Christ more decipherable. However, the many other unique features make up for the Red Print. Buy it today! You will love the HCBS Bible! God Bless!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The absolute best tool for bible study.

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbi
Location:Wisconsin
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible has everything for study and understanding right there in the text. Love the maps in the text also. This version is very easy to read and I find it accurate for meaning. Take the time to read all the intro sections, very informative. Binding is great...the only neg...no thorough concordance. Portable...like taking a library of study books with you only no bulk.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HCSB Study Bible, Black Bonded Leather
This review is fromHCSB Study Bible, Hardcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my HCSB.

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Doris
Location:Campbellsville,KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly love my new Holman Study Bible. The features are great! Study notes are outstanding in volume and quality of content. Unexpectedly, Greek and Hebrew words are explained. It contains colored and detailed maps and charts, like: lists of old testament priests, outline of the kings and when they reigned, such informative introductions to each book of the Bible, it shows the differences in the Gospels and so much more. Being a senior, I was looking for a large print, but Praise God! The print is of the type that is easy for me to read. I thank God for this wonderful gift! And thank you Christian Bookstore.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.