Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather

Real Questions. Straight Answers. Stronger Faith. The Apologetics Study Bible will help today's Christians better understand, defend, and proclaim their beliefs in this age of increasing moral and spiritual relativism. More than one-hundred key questions and articles placed throughout the volume about faith and science prompt a rewarding study experience at every reading.

The Apologetics Study Bible features valuable contributions from a who’s-who of modern apologists such as Chuck Colson, Norm Geisler, Hank Hanegraaff, Josh McDowell, Albert Mohler, Ravi Zacharias, J. P. Moreland, and Phil Johnson.

Other features include:
  • The full text of the popular Holman Christian Standard Bible translation
  • Two-color page layout
  • Introduction to each Bible book focusing on its inherent elements of apologetics
  • Double-column format
  • Book Outlines
  • Translation Footnotes
  • Articles on ethics, science, archaeology, philosophy, and non-Christian belief systems
  • Study notes that explain "problem" passages
  • Sidebars on Scriptures misused by cults
  • Profiles of historic Christian apologists from Justin Martyr to C. S. Lewis
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Lined pages for recording personal notes
  • Gold page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 10-point text
  • 9.50" x 7.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 786%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great insight

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
36pets
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have many different study Bibles. This is my favorite one. I do like to compare using all my Bibles notations. They add so much knowledge and helps me to understand the passages better. But if I only could have one it would be this study Bible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The book is great for serious Bible study.

Date:February 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nanlee
Location:Fort Myers, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
The Apologetics Bible is beautiful and is full of a wide variety of information with references to check if in doubt..
My own ideas and beliefs differ from those expressed in the
introductions to some of the Books in the Bible. However the Apologetics Study Bible is one to have for references and/or
comparison for a serious Bible student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone

Date:May 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Karenc
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a recent purchase, so I cannot give an overview to all the study notes or articles. But I wanted to share on the quality of this sewn Bible. It may not be apparent viewing online but the font is a pleasure to read. The spacing is, well, spacious, between the words and marginal space. It is not perhaps even a very large print, but still I find it having the appeal of some of the older Bibles from the 1970's or 80's where more space was given for the Bible text. This truly makes it a reach for Bible. Furthermore, the blue on this binding is a very tranquil color and matches the blue design in the interior. One slight complaint is that the Bible footnotes are on the light font smaller side. Because I am an avid reader of Bible marginal footnotes and extra information pertaining to the Bible text, I always like these notes to be also big and bold. Lastly, the HCSB is coming forth with more 2009 update editions, but I find that this edition is also very nice. I do love the increase of the Yahweh Name usage in the new edition.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
lilpink90
Location:Rifle, CO
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent version, and I would highly recommend it to everyone. The Study Bible has a great array of resources to help you learn about the passages you are reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Sorry guys, but I do not think much of this Bible

Date:August 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick Reynolds
Location:Kennewick, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My biggest disappointment with the Apologetics Study Bible is that most of the issues they address are not really apologetic matters. They are doctrinal matters. Why does this make a difference? It makes a difference because the way we treat doctrine, which is the particulars of the faith, should be different than apologetics, which is a defense of the faith. Obviously, the two matters are related. A faith built on strong doctrine is more easily defensible.
The problem comes from confusing a legitimate question or interpretation from the inside with an attack from the outside. Christians with different doctrinal stances aren't trying to destroy faith; if anything, they are trying to make faith and belief more understandable. This Bible includes such essentially non-apologetics related matters as: why God is definitely male, why trus Christians should believe in eternal torment and not annihilation, and why the Churches of Christ are wrong to disallow the use of musical instruments. This is not apologetics. Apologetics is designed to defend the faith from attacks of those outside the Church, which today predominately means secular humanists, not the Church of Christ, the Seventh-Day Adventist, or Liberal Protestants. You may disagree with these groups interpretation of the Bible, but that i a doctrinal matter not an apologetic one.
On the positive side, I do love the HCSB
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
CECE
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nervous about cover material and keeping it clean but it is beautiful... and worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A welcome edition

Date:February 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ellis Mcbride
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fantastic resource for any layman or clergy who has discovered that the evangelical landscape in America has changed. For those who understand that we are no longer speaking in Jerusalem, but now - in Athens, this will come in very, very handy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bettye Sullivan
I am so blessed to finally have this Bible. I've heard so much about it and it is everything I wanted in understanding the Bible and some critics. My husband and I are sharing by schedule. No house should be without this bible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene Finn
I love it. The print is big enough so I can read it clearly and yet it's not so large in size that it's hard to carry. I love the study notes and the notes about things we hear about in everyday life. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to immerse themselves in God's word.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nathanael
The Apologetics Study Bible is definitely an excellent resource for an in depth look into controversial and challenging subjects which every Christian should know about. Full of biblical reference, the articles written by various scholars on different subjects become a great guide for every Christian. I strongly recommend this Study Bible. Not only has it has helped me mature in the defense of my faith, it has also been another tool God has used to strengthen it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angela Jeffries
I love the look and feel of this Bible. My husband had been wanting an Apologetic Bible and this one is perfect. I had his initials put on the cover and it looks great. Shipping was very fast and we appreciate the service provided.Thank You and God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Blue Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracey Deavers
This is a great resource! I gave one to every adult who helps us with our ministry to disciple college students. The articles are wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.