Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

B & H Publishing Group HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather

Real Questions. Straight Answers. Stronger Faith. The Apologetics Study Bible will help today's Christians better understand, defend, and proclaim their beliefs in this age of increasing moral and spiritual relativism. More than one-hundred key questions and articles placed throughout the volume about faith and science prompt a rewarding study experience at every reading.

The Apologetics Study Bible features valuable contributions from a who’s-who of modern apologists such as Chuck Colson, Norm Geisler, Hank Hanegraaff, Josh McDowell, Albert Mohler, Ravi Zacharias, J. P. Moreland, and Phil Johnson.

Other features include:
  • The full text of the popular Holman Christian Standard Bible translation
  • Two-color page layout
  • Introduction to each Bible book focusing on its inherent elements of apologetics
  • Double-column format
  • Book Outlines
  • Translation Footnotes
  • Articles on ethics, science, archaeology, philosophy, and non-Christian belief systems
  • Study notes that explain "problem" passages
  • Sidebars on Scriptures misused by cults
  • Profiles of historic Christian apologists from Justin Martyr to C. S. Lewis
  • Plan of Salvation
  • Lined pages for recording personal notes
  • Gold page edges
  • Two ribbon markers
  • 10-point text
  • 9.50" x 7.25" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Review 1 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One problem.....

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sando9
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this Bible for a friend, thank God I flipped through the pages before I gave it to her. Somewhere in Isaiah, the makers didn't fully cut the pages to size, so there was about an inch of paper sticking out of the top that was not like the other pages, and there were tiny holes at the top of the 2 pages where they obviously forgot to cut. I had to trim it down before giving it to her. I don't know if it was just a flaw in my Bible or if more are like this. Overall it was a beautiful Bible and I would reccomend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So glad I got this Bible

Date:March 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
CHUSA
Location:Estes Park, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've anted a new bible for a while, but just couldn't quite decide which one to get. I knew specifically what I didn't want, but couldn't narrow it down to a Bible that matched everything on my list of requirements, wants, and don't wants. I thought I had it settled on another NASB, but then I came across this one, and it seemed to be more what I was looking for. I even got an additional one to give to my friends from Ukraine. I am really impressed with mine and am so glad I chose it. My friends love theirs, too. I'm pretty familiar with the Bible, having attended Bible School years ago, but it's so helpful to have so much information all together. What a fantastic find!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the more I use this Bible, the better I like it

Date:February 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
vanessa walters
Location:Red Cloud, Neb.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased another Bible, sent it back and exchanged that one for this one. I love the HSCB version more and more, its very to read and understand. Many of the biblical terms I didnt understand, are defined by the 'bullet notes' in the back. This Bible has many articles about apologetics for the Bible, our christian faith, and our Lord; these matters I had never read much about before. I love the print size, I do wish the Words of Christ were in red; but the font size and the layout of pages is very good. I am very glad I made the exchange for this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best value

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Onion
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible met my expectation, best value of my recent purchases. It's worth keeping at hand to answer the reason of our hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A pleasure to handle and use!

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barnabus
Location:Geraldton, Western Australia.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is very readable with support articles very relevant to the the section consulted and from extremely respected contributors. The attractive finish and has a great feel. Smart, effective and quality presentation! Easy on the eye!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I really like this version!

Date:January 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan
Location:Nevada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids and I are reading through the Bible again this year and using this new HCSB version. I am really enjoying this version -- it seems to be very accurate, literal and reverent, while at the same time it uses modern english without trying to be politically correct or gender neutral. I am not able to read Greek and Hebrew texts -- I must rely upon study tools when I am trying to learn the richness of meaning of the text in the original languages, but so far it seems to me that the translators of this version were very concerned with trying to capture as much literal richness of the original languages in rendering the text in English. I am really growing to appreciate this translation and it is quickly gaining equal standing in my mind with the KJV, NASB and ESV.
For the most part I am enjoying the apologetic notes in this version, although a few of the articles seem to be a little trivial and of not much importance to me. But that doesn't mean that they won't be of interest to others. All in all I am really enjoying my reading in this version and edition and I am really glad that I purchased!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
hannahbbanana
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The commentary is so specific to apologetics that I feel like it is useful to have a second one to help explain the meaning of the passage. But the commentary itself is useful for its intended purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
goofydoo
Location:GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful Bible! Bought it for my husband and am so glad we found one he will read everyday! Also bought the student Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exceptional study bible!

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Taco
Location:Eagle Lake, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It's a somewhat different take on a study bible. It has "Twisted Scriptures" which gives the reader a perspective as to how Scripture is interpreted by other "religions". I also love how it adds additional information to Scripture reading like the reference indexes in the back of the Bible.
Also, the font size and text makes it very enjoyable to read. In addition, I love the feel of the leather that covers this study bible.
I definitely recommend it as it takes the reader beyond just a study bible, it makes you think on different perspectives to help you dig deeper on affirming one's faith in God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlotte Sturgis
I love this Bible. First off, it is a Holman Christian Standard translation which is easy to read and understand. Secondy, I am really enjoying the Apologetics articles in this Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Frank Prescott
I have this bible. I chose the brown simulated leather cover. It is very flexible and I believe will be durable, more so than bonded leather. I was pleasantly surprised that it has 2 ribbon markers. The margins are wide which will be ideal for notations. There are also 7 lined pages inside the front cover dedicated to note taking. There are plenty of verse notes which help clarify the text. The articles included will be good material when teaching and for personal study and use.The Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) is, in my opinion, a very accurate and literal translation. It is also a very readable translation. The "optimal equivalence" philosophy used in the translation is, I feel, successful in its' goal. This from one who used the NASB for over 20 years. Couple the HCSB with the resources of the Apologetics Study Bible and you have a very good tool to learn and grow.Whatever type of cover you may choose, you will not be disappointed with the Apologetics Study Bible or the HCSB.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HCSB Apologetics Study Bible, Brown Duotone Simulated Leather
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betsy Roman
First it is a beautiful item to look at and feel.Secondly and most importantly, I was looking for a bible that would give background information on each book in the bible in clear easy to understand language.This is definitely one of the best purchases I have made this year.If you consider purchasing this bible for your own knowledge development and a better understanding of the Word and God, you will not be sorry.Makes a wonderful Christmas gift for those loved ones who are searching for knowledge.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.