Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1

River North Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1

After Wande Fleischers' fiancee marries someone else, the young fraulein determines to make new life for herself in Texas. With the help of Jud's sister Marion, Wande learns English and becomes a trusted friend to the entire Morgan family.

As much as Jud dislikes the German invasion, he can't help admiring Wande. She is sweet and cheerful as she serves the Lord and all those around her. Can the rancher put aside his prejudice to forge a new future? Through Jud and Wande, we learn the powerful lessons of forgiveness and reconciliation among a diverse community of believers.

Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Review 1 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
This review is fromLone Star Trail - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hemmed and hawed over choosing this book. It appeared to be another one of those sappy-everything-turns-out-all-right-in-the-end-after-some-crazy-misunderstanding type of book. Well I was right that everything turned out all right. However I was wrong when I realized it wasn’t sappy. Darlene Franklin did a wonderful job at creating a story set in the heart of Texas in the 1840′s.
Wande Fleischer and her German family have arrived in Texas – “the land flowing with milk and honey.” As soon as they set foot on American soil their future becomes unstable and many trials unfold around them. Wande is supposed to meet her Fiance, Konrad, upon arriving in Texas, but he has jilted her and married another. She is slowly resigning herself to living out her life single. Jud Hudson’s family moved to Texas from Vermont when he was little. His father was killed in the Spanish American war and his little sister was supposedly kidnapped by Comanche Indians. He has little respect for German immigrants trying to invade his homeland where family blood has been spilled.
Follow the lives of Wande and Jud as they come to grip with their past and consider facing the future together. The Fleischer and Hudson families quickly form a bond between them that is constantly put to the test. Will this bond be strong enough to hold them together when the many tragedies strike?
I received this book from Moody Publishing and I am not being compensated for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a Wonderful Book!

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful book. It is the first book I've read by Darlene Franklin, so I didn't know what to expect. I was not disappointed. Jud Morgan is your typical man. He is strong, smart, and stubborn to a fault. He is prejudice against outsiders and doesn't welcome change very easily. That is, until he meets Wande and her family. Wande is an excellent role model for women. She is a happy, strong, and independent woman. The character development in the story was excellent. I felt like I got to know both of the main characters, as well as the secondary characters in the book.
The story is sweet. Jud and Wande meet. Jud, who is completely against the German people settling in his Texas, wants nothing to do with her at first. Wande is the same. She does not want to be around someone who so easily dismisses her people. They are brought together through a series of events and become friends. Then, of course, as the story progresses, they become so much more! The romance of the two is sweet and simple. It is not over the top or overdone. The story line is interesting and the book was very easy to follow.
The message is this: trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean on Him in hard times. I stated at the beginning of this review that Wande is a great role model for women because this is exactly what she does. Even through all of the trials she faces, she turns to the Lord for comfort and keeps going, even when the going gets tough. There is an old hymn that is referenced several times in this book that sums up the message quite nicely: A Mighty Fortress is Our God. Overall, I am so glad I picked this book to read and can't wait to get the next one!
**I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lone Star Trail

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My children's Great Grandparents have roots to the German's that immigrated to Texas. Their has one of the first homesteads registered in Williamson County. It was not easy for anyone during those days.
Darlene Franklin writes about about two families trying to build a life in the new state of Texas. Wande Fleischer along with her siblings and parents have immigrated to Texas in 1845 to start a new life in this promised land of milk and honey. Then there is the Morgan family whom raises Morgan horses on the Running M Ranch near Victoria, Texas.
Jud Morgan is portrayed as somewhat of a bigot not wanting to accept the Germans or the Mexican as landowners on Texas soil. Love thy neighbor as thyself, seems to be the moral of this story. There is so many hardships for not just these two families but the whole community. Franklin shows that with prayer God can reach the hardened heart of a man's soul.
There are six books in this series and they are written by several authors.
I am looking forward to the other stand alone books in this series.
Disclosure
I received a digital copy from Netgalley/Moody Publishers for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great work of historical fiction!

Date:November 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Beth
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Morgan Family is a proud and patriotic Texan family, and Jud the man of the Morgan household is definitely not enthusiastic about the German immigrants invading the land his father died for.
But when circumstances bring the Fleisher family, who have just arrived from Germany to the Morgans ranch needing their help, Jud finds that he is falling in love with the beautiful, hard working, and selfless Wande Fleischer, but will he let his heart conquer his prejudices?
The Lone Star Trail was an exceptional book!
It was informative and entertaining, I am looking forward to reading the rest of the Texas Trails Series!
This book is great for anyone who likes historical fiction or western fiction!
I received this book to review from Moody Press Publishers, I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
This review is fromLone Star Trail - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:December 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebeca
Location:tx
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a shame when people look on the ourside instead of the inside. God made us all and he loves us too. Thanks for the book, it was hard to put down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Prejudice had to fizzle

Date:June 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most people in modern society don't remember prejudice between different ethnic groups that immigrated to America. I didn't know the Irish were considered scum in some large cities when the people first came here until I read well-researched historical novels.
In many mining camps, the Chinese were mistreated, as well as others who came here poor, lived in the slums, and earned their living at menial jobs. Germans and Japanese were even jailed during wars because of the atrocities their home country thrust upon the world.
Prejudices were so deep and language barriers so high in one community three Catholic churches rose up in one little neighborhood in order to allow ethnic groups in their midst to worship separately.
So I wasn't surprised when bachelor horse rancher Jud Morgan wouldn't look twice at Wande Fleischer, a beautiful young woman who recently came with her family from Germany. After all, she came to marry someone else, anyhow.
As in real life, however, circumstances often work against what we consider our priorities and good sense. But it could also be Almighty God's way of directing our footsteps.
Wande's path is filled with heartache, danger, wicked people, unending toil, disappointment--but ultimately well-deserved love and romance. I enjoyed Lone Star Trail, the characters, and the way the author unfolded this story. I recommend it.
Note: I was provided a review copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lone Star Trail by Darlene Franklin is the first in the Texas Trails saga following the Morgan family. Jud Morgan has his hands full trying to keep up with his father's ranch. His father died defending Texas freedom and he isn't too excited about a bunch of Germans who are coming to his state to colonize a New Germany in Texas.
Wande Fleischer comes to America with her family, and to meet her fiance who has gone on to Texas before her. However, when she arrives she is faced with heartbreak and the fact that her fiance found somebody else to marry. Will she be able to find a new life in a foreign land? Will Jud be able to overcome his dislike of the Germans and see what Wande has to offer?
I found the first book of the Texas Trails series to be a delightful read. It was of particular interest to me since I too have some German heritage.
This book was provided free for review by the author and Moody Publishers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vivid Descriptions & Interesting Characters

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Descriptions of Texas, circa 1840’s are vivid as are many of the cultural situations the author has researched and woven into her story. The daily life descriptions even include foods prepared, daily chores, and church gatherings and their oft-times diversity due to the variety of settlers.
Characters are well-developed; Jud thinks he has overcome his prejudice to find that it raises its ugly head at the slightest provocation. Prejudice against German immigrants is portrayed in ways which help us examine our own prejudices.
There is plenty of romance for your enjoyment
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

German immigrants in Texas & prejudice

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having just read the autobiography of America's currently most famous individual from Texas, President George W. Bush's Decision Points, I found it a delight to delve into a bit of historical fiction about Texas, President Bush's home state, the Lone Star State in it's early days of statehood.
Author Darlene Franklin's book, Lone Star Trail, begins in November 1845. A family of German immigrants is broken down when the Morgan's wagon passes them by. The Morgans don't stop and lend a hand. Why? It is the age old story of "not in my backyard." Though the Morgans settled only recently in the area that was fighting for its separation from Mexico and becoming an American State. They still felt as though the German immigrants, who were surging into the area, were interlopers with their different language, customs, and foods. Prejudice is not always a matter of skin color but can rouse it's ugly head for a number of reasons.
However, Christian charity begins to win out, and the needs of the Fleischer's from Germany were met by the caring Morgan's. Both families learned that each family had lost loved ones because of the hardships in the land that was Texas. They had much in common.
The characters in this story are well thought out and believable. They follow predictable tendencies, but the story line flow has accurate historical touches and the spiritual convictions the characters exhibit are not overtly contrived
Yes, there is romance, though at times you'll think it just isn't going to develop because the characters don't seem to be able to get beyond the "immigrant" situation for very long at a time.
This is an easy going, relaxed read but substantial enough that you might feel enticed to find a period history and delve into some of the aspects of events in that timeline.
The Texas Trails Series is a 6 book series and Lone Star Trail is book one. I look forward to reading Captive Trail, book two in the series, which I have waiting on my book shelf.
I recommend Lone Star Trail for some good historical fiction. I was given Lone Star Trail by RiverNorth, fiction from Moody Publishers to review and was not required to post a positive review.
Publisher: Moody Publishers; New Edition edition (August 1, 2011)
ISBN-10: 0802405835
ISBN-13: 978-0802405838
This review is also on my blog: http://chatwithvera.blogspot.com/2011/11/lone-star-trail-book-1-of-texas-trails.html
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure of a book

Date:October 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
beverly Grider
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! Such an awesome book! I started reading, did not want to put it down until the very end, and was left wanting more - what more can you ask from a book?
"Lone Star Trail" is book one of the "Texas Trails ~ A Morgan Family Series" set during a tumultuous time in Texas' history. Darlene's descriptive writing paints a vivid word picture in the reader's mind, making them feel as thought they are a part of the dusty heat of Texas. The characters are well developed and it's easy to imagine them as real people.
The story deals with German immigrants coming to settle in Texas in hopes of a grand new life and Texans who struggle with accepting these strangers coming to claim their land. "Lone Star Trail" follows the lives of two families: the Morgan family who owns the Running M Ranch in Victoria and the Fleischer family immigrating to Texas from Germany. Both families are reeling from the tragic loss of a family member and learning to trust in the Lord no matter what. As the families cope with conflicting emotions including prejudice, they discover that even though they are from wildly different cultures, they may have more in common than at first glance.
I highly recommend this gem of a book. To learn more about the author, Darlene Franklin, please visit her website, http://darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com/
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A German-Texan Romance

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Kingery
Location:central OHIO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Today I am reviewing LONE STAR TRAIL, by Darlene Franklin, published by Moody Publishers. It's part of the Texas Trails series. In the story, Wande Fleisher and her family join the wave of German immigration to Texas, which has been advertised in Germany as being the land of milk and honey. Once they land in Texas, however, one of Wande's sisters dies of a fever, and the Fleishers discover all will not be easy for them in their new home. But they are welcomed and aided by the Morgan --all but man-of-the-house Jud Morgan, who resents the wave of Germans overrunning "his" Texas.
Wande soon learns her promised marriage to a German fellow in the settlement of Neu-Braunfels is not to be, and it seems like she is doomed to be alone. She and Jud Morgan feel attracted to one another, but on Jud's part this feeling is against his wishes.
This is a book of gradually falling in love, and Wanda and the other Fleishers adjusting to the new world of America, and specifically, Texas. I believe this story of connection between different cultures has implications for relationships today. I was particularly interested to read Darlene Franklin's story contribution to the "Texas Trails" series published by Moody since my heritage is half German, and I have spent many happy hours in modern-day New Braunfels and Fredericksburg, Texas, both centers of German Texas.
Thanks, Darlene and Moody Publishers, for providing this book for me to review free of charge. It was a pleasure to read.
Blessings, Laurie
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lone Star Trail by Darlene Franklin

Date:October 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Elizabeth
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Both romance readers and history buffs will appreciate the opening book of the Morgan Family series recently released by Moody. Author Darlene Franklin has done a commendable job of keeping true to Texas history while also adding touches of romance.
The book is a light read with clear plot and short sentence structure making it applicable for teen readers as well as adult. I plan to donate my copy to the library of our Christian school and I am sure nothing in the work will be offensive to even the most sensitive conscience.
Although her characters have a tendency to be predictable, the accurate historical touches keep the book moving and easily draw the reader into an early West time frame. It was good to hear from an author who could add drama to a work without overstating events or twisting them beyond credibility.
I felt the author handled the religious aspect of the book extremely well. The spiritual convictions of the characters did not seem contrived and readers without a religious background will probably enjoy the book without being affronted by obvious ploys for personal conversion.
All in all, I would recommend Lone Star Trail for those who enjoy the historical romance genre or anyone else looking for a few hours diversion without being weighed down with excessive drama or twisted plots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

more than a romance

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Roberta Brosius
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twenty centuries ago Paul wrote, “Here there is no Gentile or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all.” (Colossians 3:11, NIV) To Paul’s list Darlene Franklin adds “German or Texan” as she explores the interaction between Texans and German immigrants in the 1840’s. Prejudice against different ethnicities is not a lightweight topic, and Lone Star Trail is not a lightweight story.
The book is a satisfying romance, as expected, but also successfully transports the reader back over 150 years to everyday life on a ranch and in a small town, including the dangers faced: disease, death, and fire. The author populates the setting with two families of characters worth caring about, and the extras necessary to advance the plot.
A great read, Lone Star Trail gives the added values of spiritual insight and a painless history lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lone Star Trail, Texas Trails Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great read!

Date:October 2, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An enjoyable read. Ms. Franklin wrote in such a way that made me want to find out how Wande Fleischer and her family conquer the land, also called Texas. It is a peek into the lives of the early Texans and those, like the Germans, who joined them in taming the land. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.