Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2

River North Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2

Taabe Waipu has run away from her Comanche village and is fleeing south in Texas on a horse she stole from a dowry left outside her family's teepee. The horse has an accident and she is left on foot, injured and exhausted. She staggers onto a road near Fort Chadbourne and collapses.

On one of the first runs through Texas, Butterfield Overland Mail Company driver Ned Bright carries two Ursuline nuns returning to their mission station. They come across a woman who is nearly dead from exposure and dehydration and take her to the mission.

With some detective work, Ned discovers Taabe Waipu's identity. He plans to unite her with her family, but the Comanche have other ideas, and the two end up defending the mission station. Through Taabe and Ned we learn the true meaning of healing and restoration amid seemingly powerless situations.

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Review 1 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ruth Stiles
Location:Central NY
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taabe Waipu knows she is not a Comanche Indian. She knows she was captured at a very young age. However she cannot remember who she was, or where her family lived. After more than 10 years in captivity, Taabe decides to run away when a warrior seeks her hand in marriage. As she seeks her freedom she is injured and taken into the care of a mission run by nuns. Language barriers and fear of strangers slows her progress in reentering the American West way of life.
Ned Bright is the stagecoach driver who found Taabe on one of his runs. As he gets to know her he realizes that he is falling in love with her. He struggles daily with the fact that one day her family will find her and she will leave. However, he knows that she desires to be reunited with her family so he seeks out any information he can.
A rash and rushed decision to find a Comanche translator results in danger to the mission. As the nuns, Taabe, and several girls who have moved to the mission for schooling prepare for an impending attack, Ned gets in contact with a man who believes himself to be Taabe’s brother. They come to visit the mission, but before they can be truly reunited the Comanches attack.
Will Taabe find out who she is? Will she be reunited with her family or will she be recaptured by the Comanches? Can Ned let her go, or will he pursue her regardless of what happens?
*I received this book from Moody Publishers, and am not being compensated for my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable story

Date:November 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kate
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captive Trail is the second book in Texas Trails A Morgan Family Series. Even though this is a book in a series, it is also a book that can stand alone. I enjoyed that aspect immensely. I also like the fact that this series of six books is written by three different authors. It has given me the opportunity to discover new authors and their books.
This was the first book I have read by Susan Page Davis and I really enjoyed it! She was able to capture the difficulties of the time and bring it to life in her story. Taabe Waipu is a girl on the run. She didn't want to be married to an Indian brave from the Comanche, all she ever wanted for the last twelve years is to get back to her family and her people. After being kidnapped and forced to live Comanche, Taabe found a way out and took it. However, with her years away from the English language and the punishments she received for trying to speak it, it was lost to her over time.
In her escape, Taabe's stolen horse falls, injuring Taabe and leaving her alone in the open plains. Taabe does her best to keep going on foot, but with her injuries and lack of water, she passes out. She is stumbled upon by a stagecoach that is carrying nuns to their new mission a short distance away from a fort. The nuns bring her to the mission where they care for her. In their time, Taabe slowly adjusts to her new surrounds, but is always careful and with the help of the nuns and her new friend Ned, who was the driver of stagecoach, the search for her family begins. Throughout the whole story, we watch as Taabe learns and grows, and slowly rediscovers who she is.
The pacing of the story was enjoyable and kept me turning pages. As Taabe learned English again, more of the plot was revealed. It was an interesting way for everything to unfold.
Thank you to Moody/ River North, I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to the Texas Trails series!

Date:November 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was captivating. I've never read a book on this subject and I think the author did a wonderful job of capturing the emotions and depth of the issues the characters had to face! Taabe Waipu remembers the live she was taken from. She remembers that her place is not with the Comanche people with whom she resides, but she doesn't remember anything else. I loved her character. I felt like I was watching her struggle to remember the old way of life. I felt her joy and frustration at learning "white man ways" again. Susan May Warren did an excellent job on Taabe's character. Ned Bright was a simple man. I liked him because he wasn't trying to be tough or macho. He was just a normal guy who falls in love with a girl. He was certainly protective and "manly," but I think he more closely represents real life men.
The story was fantastic. Again, I've never read a story with this subject before and as also stated previously, Susan May Warren did a fantastic job of capturing the depth of emotions and issues these characters had to face. While the story was predictable (in that I knew Taabe and Ned would be together), it was very enjoyable. There were facets of the story that I absolutely loved, like Ned's devotion and dedication to Taabe and her best interests. The interaction with the Comanche at the end kept me rooted to my seat with my eyes reading and furiously scanning the pages!
The message of the book was to trust in God to take care of you and all your needs. I wished this theme was communicated more clearly in the book, but that's what I got out of the story. Overall, I absolutely loved this book and would definitely read it again!
**I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!!

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything Cowgirl trail wasn't Captive trail is!!! Susan's writing is exquisite, the story line is amazing, and the pace is wonderful. This is an excellent adventure and a heart warming story. Susan's characters are wonderful and they will steal your heart. An amazing, surprising end will leave you reeling! Or at least it left me that way! I had to read the scene three times it is SO good. Captive trail has given me new love and interest in this series and this author. Susan always has strong female characters, intelligent characters all around, and adds that bit of humor and surprise to whisk you away to the time of Comanche captives, cavalry men in forts, buffalo hunters, and wild Indian renegades raiding the plains in all her books but especially in this one! I can't wait to read more from Susan now! Captive trail is a great read whether you are looking for an adventure during a rainy or snowy day, or if you just want a great read in general! :)
I have 2 songs for this book and 1 of them is from the book (or at least the closest I cold find.) "Amazing Grace" by Spiritual Flute Recorder Music and "Soothing Thunder Tones" by Sleep Tribe
John 14:1-3
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is Fantastic!!!!

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Birdie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Taabe Waipu was captured as a little girl by the Comanche Indians. After many years she finally escapes. She is taken into the care of some Ursuline nuns and a kindly stagecoach driver. She desperately wants to find her real family, but the Comanche desperately want to find her!
This great story is filled with courage, love, and determination.
I enjoyed this book more than I have enjoyed a book in quite a while. It was realistic and engaging, and it touched something inside of me. I liked that the love story was not the only point of the book. I also loved the rich historical context. I actually learned a lot from this book.
I definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good clean historical fiction.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Wonderfully Written Book!

Date:November 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
A Restful Place
Location:Missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this book out of order as well as the last one I reviewed. :( I can't wait to read the 1st book in this series and all the other ones.
Captive Trail is about a young girl, Tabbe who was captured by Indians (the Comanche's). When she got older she was going to be forced to marry one of their leaders, a man who enjoyed raiding and stealing. When the time grew near and she had an opportunity she stole the fastest horse and escaped.
During Taabe's escape her horse stumbled and threw her off injuring her quite a bit making it hard for her to travel at all. Some of the men in the near town found her laying almost unconscious on the road and brought her to the Sister's house for care. They were able to clean her up and treat her wounds but since she was captured so young she had forgotten her family and their language, so it seemed impossible for them to find out who her family was.
Ned, one of the men who found her, was determined to find her family and bring her back to them. Finally through Taabe learning how to communicate while under the Sister's care she was able to remember a few things and Ned was able to find her family. When he was going to bring the good news to her he finds the Sister's house under attack by the Comanches (trying to get Taabe back). Between the Sisters, Taabe, and the men with Ned they were able to defeat the Comanches and he was able to bring Taabe home to her family. The story ends with a visit from Ned to Taabe (her real name was Billie).
This book was a fantastic read and I'm keeping it to read again! :) I love historical fiction and this one was no exception. The author did a really great job at capturing you into the book, it was so hard to put down. I'm pretty sure I read it in just a day or two. :)
*I received this book free from Moody Publishers as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Captivating Book for Sure!

Date:December 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Around the year 1845, Taabe Waipu was taken captive by the Comanche when she was a mere child. She was their slave at first. Not allowed to speak her own language and was made to learn the female role within the Comanche tribe. Once she learned that role she was taken in as a family member of the ones she worked and lived with. But she knew she did not belong and was determined to find her way to the home she could not remember. She fled the Comanche camp and the warrior who wanted her as his bride. Taabe knew he would track her and bring her back.
She was found for dead by a stagecoach driver and taken to a missionary of Nuns where she was taught the ways of her English childhood. Yet she still desired to search for the family she no longer remembered. Ned Bright, the driver who found her was more than willing to help her search for her family.
The author picked right up from where book one left off. She pulled me into the book as if I were a part of story. She made me see how horrendous it must have been for Taabe to be held captive at such a young age. The character was given such fortitude to seek what she knew was her roots. By the author putting Taabe in the care of the Nuns, they not only nurtured her back to health but also to the God she remember from her childhood.
This was a outstanding story and I would highly recommend you read this book.
I rate this book 5 out of 5.
Disclosure: I won a copy this book. I was not compensated in anyway for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Captivating" Tale

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan Page Davis takes us on a poignant and compelling journey into the life of a young white woman who was kidnapped by the Comanche Indians at the age of nine years old. In the Plains of North Central Texas, 21 year old, Taabe Waipu, "Sun Woman" in Comanche, flees her village, and the Indian brave, Peca, who wishes to wed her against her will. Though she is never allowed to speak English among the Comanches, and gradually forgets her native tongue, Taabe tries desperately to hold on to fleeting memories of her family, and the dream that one day she will be reunited with them. Upon fleeing, Taabe is thrown off her horse and is found beside the road unconscious, by Ned Bright, a stagecoach driver.
Ned Bright and his partner, Tree, as he is nicknamed, deliver mail and passengers for the Butterfield Mail Company. They are astounded when they find the wounded white woman in Indian clothing and immediately take her to a nearby mission run by Ursaline nuns. Under the loving care of the "sisters" Taabe's outward and inward wounds begin to heal, and she commences to learn the language and ways of the white people. She finds a special friend in delightful, nine year old, Quinta, Tree's daughter, and a special love for Ned Bright who desperately searches for her family.
Will Taabe ever be able to put together the flitting memories of her childhood to help her to find her family? What significance does the little white paper with the strange words hold...that she has kept hidden all these years? What dark secrets does she hold of her life with the Comanches, and will Ned reject her should he discover them? And when Peca comes back for her, will she go with him, to save the lives of all those in the mission?
This book will grab you from the beginning and not let go! Susan's reasearch into the history of children kidnapped by Indians, and of the Comanche tribal ways is impeccable, and therefore lends to the authenticity of this story and its characters. I loved the secondary characters; Tree, Quinta, and the nuns, were all a delight! Another awesome read from the pen of Susan Page Davis!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Captive Trail

Date:October 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Susan Page Davis is an author whose books I've come to love. From her early days of writing for the Heartsong Presents line to one of her newest series, The Ladies Shooting Club, I've been able to rely on her ability to supply excellent stories to the Christian fiction genre. For those reasons, I was eager to read her newest novel, Captive Trail.
Captive Trail was a bit of a departure from Susan's usual style. There wasn't the spunky heroine or the handsome hero, nor was there the gradual and believable romance that I'm accustomed to reading. However, there was a sweet series of relationships that formed among the characters, and enough danger and fear evident with the local Indian tribes that I kept turning page after page.
I'm looking forward to the other 5 books in The Texas Trail Series by various authors that I have come to enjoy. My rating for Captive Trail is 3 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating Tale of Love and Suspense

Date:October 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
Location:Saginaw, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In April, 1857, a young white woman flees her Comanche captors, running from the warrior, Peca, who would have her as his bride. A captive for twelve years, Taabe Waipu (Sun Woman), as the Comanche call her, remembers nothing of her white family. Fragments of memories and a tattered piece of paper are all that remain. And she can no longer read English.
Ned Bright, stagecoach driver for the Overland Stage Company, finds Taabe on the side of the road, injured and disoriented. He takes her to a school newly established by nuns to educate children from the surrounding ranches.
Taabe begins an adventure of discovery as pieces of her past come to mind along with the more pleasant memories of her Comanche family but the dark cloud of Peca haunts her. She believes he is seeking her and her presence places the nuns, the children at the mission, and her new friend, Ned Bright, in danger.
White families visit the mission wondering if she is their missing child or if she knows anything about other missing children. This wears on her emotionally as she sees the disappointment in their eyes as they walk away.
Slowly, Taabe begins to adjust to her new surroundings as the nuns and a young child, Quinta, engage her and develop relationships with her. Snippets of her past surface through familiar songs, through the crucifix on the wall, through the prayers of the nuns.
Ned Bright protects her when families visit. He seeks her birth family through letters. A family many miles away believes Taabe belongs to them. The circumstances seem to fit. Taabe’s real name is Billie. She is torn between excitement about finding her family and leaving her new friends, especially Ned.
Disaster threatens when Peca locates her and attacks the mission, setting fire to some of the buildings and demanding she come with him. In a bold and daring move, Taabe/Billie is able to knock him off his horse. In the Indian culture, this “counting coup” shames him. He withdraws leaving Taabe/Billie with dilemma of returning to her birth family while acknowledging she has fallen in love with Ned Bright.
This is an excellent read. The author subtly weaves her research and knowledge of the time period, the history and the cultures of both whites and Native Americans without any author intrusion. She naturally weaves facts of the story world through her dialogue and descriptions. She is especially poignant when she depicts white families seeking their loved ones who had been taken.
My only minor disappointment is that I would have like to see more of the contrast between Christianity and the Comanche spiritual beliefs as Taabe/Billie recovered memories of her faith prior to her capture.
Her minor characters add just the right touch of cultural issues to move plot along, bring out the personalities of the major characters and humor.
The plot is fast-paced and keeps the pages turning. Lots of twists and turns as Taabe/Billie faces challenges from cultural adjustment to dealing with Peca’s continued searching and the threat this presents to the people who have taken her in and cared for her. Taabe/Billie’s final confrontation with Peca is well-written and entirely believable yet with enough of a twist that the reader doesn’t see it coming.
The publisher gave me a copy of the book to review but in no way influenced the opinions expressed in this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Frontier Texas Romance

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie Kingery
Location:central OHIO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today I'm reviewing CAPTIVE TRAIL, by Susan Page Davis, book 2 in the Texas Trails series published by Moody Publishers. As the book opens, a white woman who knows herself only by her Indian name, Taabe Waipu, has escaped from her Comanche villages on a horse taken from those an Indian brave has brought as part of her bride price. After she falls from her horse, she is found along a trail by stagecoach driver Ned Bright, who is hauling a coach full on nuns who plan to start a new convent school along the Butterfield route in north central Texas. She remembers no English or anything of her previous life, not even her "white" name. Nursed back to health by the caring nuns, she grows to care for Ned Bright, and he for her, as he visits and attempts to solve the question of her identity. Not everyone wishes her well, for the Comanche who wanted to wed her wants her back and will go to any length to make that happen. And Ned wonders if reuniting the woman he is coming to love will mean he will lose her to her family in the end--if he does not lose her to the Comanches again.
This the best story of a Indian captive returning to her white world that I have ever read. Susan Page Davis has done her research and portrays the Comanches, as well as the settlers of the time, very convincingly. The hero and heroine become people whose developing romance you want to root for, and even secondary characters are given a thorough and detailed portrayal. Brava, Ms. Davis!
This book was provided free for review by Moody Publishers.
Blessings, Laurie Kingery
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Read

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since I've read a historical fiction book describing the life of white hostages in an Indian camp. I found Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis to be a delightful read. It tells the story of Taabe Waipu who was taken captive as a young child. She lived in a Comanche village for over twelve years, but had never fully forgotten her former life. When the opportunity arises, Taabe escapes, trying to find her family. A fall from her horse causes grave injuries. Her life begins a whirlwind of changes when stagecoach driver Ned Bright discovers her, along with nuns from the Ursuline Mission. They work together to for clues to her families whereabouts - only problem is Taabe doesn't remember English.
This was a wonderful book in the Texas Trails series about the Morgan Family. I highly recommend it and am looking forward to reading the others in this series.
This book was provided free for review by Moody Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Captive Trail, Texas Trails Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Series!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Captive Trail by Susan Page Davis ISBN-978-0-8024-0584-5
The second book in the Texas Trail – Morgan Family Series continues in the excellence of the first book. In Lone Star Trail we know that Billie Morgan and her horse were gone, Comanche's. They continued searching for her but assumed she may be dead. She was nine years old at the time.
Taabe Waipu is escaping the Comanche camp. She had an opening for escape and took it. She would not marry Peca and be tied down to the Numinu for the rest of her life. Pia had been her sister since she was taken all those years ago and she loved her and the baby but Chano, Pia's husband, thought she should marry Peca, a warrior who enjoyed raiding. Taabe took one of the fastest horses from the six Peca had left at their home as a way of asking for marriage and left with all the speed she could. Several days later the horse fell into a hole and Taabe was thrown off. She awoke in pain and the horse was gone.
Ned Bright and his partner, Patrillo Garza who went by Tree, live on a ranch with run a stagecoach from it. Tree is a widower with four rambunctious sons and Quinta, the nine year old daughter, was already a wild cat and a spoiled one at that. Tree is now the station agent at the Bright-Garza Station and Ned was the driver of the stagecoach from their ranch to Fort Chadbourne, delivering mail and any paying customers. It was his first day. Their passengers were not ones who would pay though, two Sister's going to open a girls school.
When Ned and Brownie, the shotgun rider, seen a body in the road they were concerned it was a trap. When Sister Natalie jumps out of the coach and heads for it Ned makes quick work of getting there first. It is a woman. The Sister's insist she stay at the Mission house.
The Fort's Captain sends out feelers for missing girls to see if they can discover who Taabe really is. She no longer speaks or understands English. She was punished in the early days of her capture if she spoke English. Many people go to the Fort and then are taken to the Mission to see if Taabe is their daughter, even if the description did not match these people were desperate to find their missing children.
A really good historical adventure with a touch or romance. The threat of Indian raids, not always knowing who you could trust, Taabe's struggle with the language and adjusting between the Indiana and white world. Looking forward to the next four books in this series. The first two are excellent even as they are written by two different authors.
Book received through NetGalley for review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.