Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5

River North Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5

Maggie Porter returns to the Rocking P Ranch. The sanatorium was not able to save her mother and now her father's health is failing. When the cowboys walk off the job leaving no one to drive the cattle to market, head ranch hand, Alex Bright, cannot convince the men to stay. Maggie is desperate to save the ranch and to everyone's surprise, she turns to the town's women for help. With only two days left, outlaws charge the small band in an effort to start a stampede. The cattle begin to scatter. Will they lose everything? Where will their help come from?
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Review 1 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average

Date:December 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lucy
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cowgirl Trail by Susan Page Davis was not near as good as I expected it to be. I had read the Ladies Shooting Club series by her and loved them, but this book didn't compare. The first half of the book was mainly an introduction of the characters, which is very helpful, but there is little interaction between them. When I read the back of a book, I expect it to match up with what is inside the book. In this case, it did but the back cover left out many of the main ideas that happen in the first half of the book. If you based your ideas on what the back cover said, you would think that Alex doesn't play a very big role in book, when in reality, he is one of the major characters. You would also think that Maggie just gathers up her friends and hits the trail from the beginning, when in fact, that doesn't occur until halfway through the book. Other than that, I found the book to be a good read. It kept me interested, but it wasn't the best book I've ever read. The plot was predictable in some places, but not at other times. I also liked that although this book is part of a 6 book series, it can also be read as a stand alone book.
I received this book for free from Moody Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowgirl Trail by Susan Page Davis

Date:November 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When Maggie Porter returns home after a two year absence she expects to find all things are doing well only to find out the bills are piling up from her mother's prolonged illness and her father is dying from cancer. Suddenly Maggie finds herself in charge. When the ranch hands go on strike because of poor wages, Maggie is faced with the task of getting the cattle to market and saving their home. Maggie had loved their ranch foreman, Alex Bright, since she was thirteen, but when he walks off the job with the other hands, she is afraid her chances with him are permanently severed. Maggie knows that getting the cattle to market is a priority but where will she find enough cowpunchers to help her complete the task? Her best friend Carlotta Herrera suggests they have an all-girl cattle drive. With the help from her friends, Maggie sets out to save her family's home. Little does she know that Alex and a few of the men are following at a distance in case trouble erupts. Can this bunch of cowgirls complete their task? Will she set aside her suspicions of Alex and welcome him back into her life and home?
Alex Bright had worked for the Rocking P Ranch for seven years and he had loved Maggie Porter since the early days when he used to take her riding. When his ranch hands feel their boss is being unfair Alex finds himself caught in the middle. Should he remain loyal to Maggie's father or stand by his men? Torn between what he feels is right and his love for Maggie, Alex goes on strike with his men but he can't stop worrying about Maggie and the fix it puts her in. When he discovers that her "hired hands" consists of the women in the area he knows he must follow her on the cattle drive and see her safely to the market. Regardless of how her father treated them in the end, he loves Maggie and refuses to turn his back on her. When a disgruntled ranch hand wants revenge it's Alex and a few of the loyal men that ride in to save the day. But can he work his way back into Maggie's heart and life? Or has his bridges been burned?
I knew when I read the blurb for this book I was going to love it and I wasn't disappointed. I love a spitfire heroine that knows how to be tough in tough situations and Maggie was spot-on. She knew what had to be done and she took the lead and followed through. Alex was the kind of hero you fall in love with. He was honest, faithful and loyal to the core. I really felt how torn he was between his boss and his men and I loved the way he took care of Maggie when she didn't even have a clue. The storyline was amazing from beginning to end and thoroughly enjoyable. I didn't want to put it down. The characters were perfect from the most prevalent to the least. This was my first book by Susan Page Davis but it definitely won't be my last. She is an author to add to your favorites list and if you haven't read the other books in this series you will want to after reading Cowgirl Trail. Excellent story and I highly recommend it to anyone that likes historical western romance.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody Publishers for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine and mine alone and I received no monetary compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not my favorite in the series, but still enjoyable

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I received this book from Moody Publishers for the purpose of this review. All comments and opinions are my own.”
Cowgirl Trail is book 5 in the series called The Texas Trails. The Texas Trails books are all about a member in the Morgan family as they travel through the generations. Most of the family members are mentioned in this book, and some even come to visit at the end, but any of these books can be read as a stand alone.
Cowgirl Trail is about a young cowgirl named Maggie Porter and the foreman of her and her father’s ranch, Alex Bright*. Maggie and Alex have been in love with each other since they met but both of them think the other one hates them, so they have never really talked about anything other than the ranch.
After Maggie’s mother dies, the ranch starts going bankrupt, but Mr. Porter is too prideful to tell Maggie and takes out his anxiety on the ranch-hands, causing them to strike. On top of that, Maggie finds out that her father is dying from cancer and that he dreads leaving her a ranch with tons of debt and no workers, therefore adding to his stress.
Not wanting the cattle that the men left in holding pens to die of thirst, she rounds up a dozen or more women from her town to finish what the men started in the spring round-up. But she needs to figure out how to take them all the way to Fort Worth so she can sell them. With a herd of 1600 cattle, Maggie only has a dozen women willing to help her take these cattle on the trail that can last up to a month. But Alex and the men are mad because they were replaced by a bunch of girls in skirts, and the girls are actually handling the ranch as good as they were!
Will Maggie and her band of cowgirls be able to make it to the stockyards before the prices are too low or will a group of outlaws succeed in stampeding their herd so they loose more than they sell?
* Even though neither of the main characters name is Morgan, Alex’s mother is Billy Morgan and her story is book 2, Captive Trail, so Alex is the Morgan is this book!
I enjoyed reading this book, although it was pretty emotional with all the stuff her dad was keeping from her. It did have a good amount of action to match with the emotion, and also a bit of humor. Even though I liked this book, I probably won’t be reading it again any time soon, just because it didn’t hold my attention as long as I had anticipated.
Just a side note, from all the comments I have been reading, I have noticed that the order of these books have been kind of hard to figure out, so I am going to list the order of the books here:
Book 1: Lone Star Trail
Book 2: Captive Trail
Book 3: Long Trail Home
Book 4: A Ranger’s Trail
Book 5: Cowgirl Trail
and Book 6: End of the Trail
Thank y’all for reading!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GOOD STORY!

Date:December 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
My Book Addiction
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
COWGIRL TRAIL by Susan Davis Page is an engaging christian western historical romance. "Part of a six book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896. Although a series, each book book can be read on its own. "Cowgirl Trail" is book #5 in this amazing series. A very good story. I liked the all characters,especially, Maggie. Who was a good Christian girl and I liked how she took care of her family. The love she found with her husband. What an amazing family and story. Received for an honest review from the publisher.
RATING: 5
HEAT RATING: SWEET
REVIEWED BY: DorothyA, My Book Addiction and More/My Book Addiction Reviews
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:August 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Digging4Pearls
Location:Shippensburg, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cowgirl Trail by Susan Page Davis is a delightful tale in the Texas Trails series. This fifth book in the series shares the wonderful story of Maggie Porter. This young woman returns home after a couple years away to discover her childhood home, the Rocking P Ranch is in failing conditions and the cowboys are threatening to strike. Her father is in desperate financial straits and failing health. It's up to Maggie to round up the cattle and prepare them for the cattle drive. She enlists the helps of her friends to have the first all female cowgirl drive.
Alex Bright, her former foreman, is caught between honoring the family he has served for many years or sticking with the men striking for better working conditions. His heart is caught in the middle. Will he choose to follow it, or choose to lose his only chance to attain Maggie's favor?
This book was provided free for review by River North Fiction from Moody Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can be Read as Stand-Alone

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had this sitting in my to-read pile for months, and just never picked it up, possibly because it’s part of a series, and I haven’t read the earlier books. However, once I started, I found it hard to put down.
Maggie Porter first met Alex Bright in 1877, when he was a handsome new cowboy on her father’s ranch, the Rocking P, and she was a teenager with a crush. Seven years later, she has just returned to the ranch after the death of her mother, and finds that Alex is now the foreman, the workers are unhappy and her father is not himself. Maggie tries to help the workers, but when problems get worse, she finds herself working as a cowgirl, leading the annual roundup to save the ranch while hoping she can also save her relationship with Alex – and perhaps let it develop into something more.
There have been so many books written about the American West during the nineteenth century that there is often a sense of ‘read that before’ with these Christian westerns. Cowgirl Trail was original (the clue is in the title. It’s a book about cowgirls as well as cowboys). Although it is Christian fiction, the faith aspects are very understated. Unfortunately, so is the romance aspect, but it is still a very good read,
This is the fifth book in the Texas Trail series, which is unusual, in that two of the books are by Susan Page Davis, two by Darlene Franklin and two by Vickie McDonough. Although the books in the series are related, this can easily be read as a stand-alone (but if you wanted to read the whole series, you probably should start with Lone Star Trail). An original and enjoyable read.
Thanks to River North (an imprint of Moody Publishers) and NetGalley for providing a free book for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great series for Christian Western readers!

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maggie Porter has grown up on the Rocking P Ranch and has come to love everything there is to about ranching, from riding horses, roping and driving cattle. As a young girl at 13, she had developed a school girl crush for ranch-hand Alex Bright because he didn't treat her any different because she was the bosses daughter.
Now that she has returned to the Rocking P as an older women, she wonders if that same crush exists and she can't wait to see Alex again. When she arrives home on the ranch, she learns Alex has been promoted as foreman, but even though her heart continues to chase after Alex, she finds out that things on the ranch aren't running as smoothly as her father would like. Maggie returns home after a long stay from helping her ill mother at the sanatorium and later attending her funeral, she finds her father isn't his usual self. She believes he is taking her mother's grief harder than she expected and learns that he has relinquished most of the ranch's task to Alex instead of being there on hand to help.
Maggie learns from Alex that most of the men are considering striking against the Rocking P, since her father has taken back some of the benefits they used to have working for him, from herding their own cattle on the ranch, to basic help in maintaining the bunkhouses and they haven't had a pay raise in ten years. Things get worse when Leo, one of the ranch hands is injured and her father refuses to help. He tells Leo that his wife will have to take him to town to see a doctor because he can't spare any men. That leaves Leo's wife, Sela to have to manage with an infant and leave her three young boys in the care of Dolores, the housekeeper. But when her father learns of this, he dismisses the boys and Sela to town because he can't afford to help them manage their family affairs on the ranch.
This places Maggie and Alex in the middle as Alex attempts to keep the men working on the ranch at least til they finish the cattle drive and they can get paid, while Maggie tries in vain to find out what is going on with the change in her father. It goes against how he has managed the ranch up to this point and if they can't reach a compromise, the ranch will fail.
In the novel, Cowgirl Trail by Susan Page Davis, the reader is transported back to Brady, Texas during the late 1800's for a look at what it takes to manage and run a large cattle ranch and how people made a living back then, either running a ranch or helping to maintain it. I feel for Maggie Porter, because as a daughter she is stuck between her loyalty to her father and toward helping the men when she feels her father is out of line. Will she be able to help them all find a compromise or will the ranch be lost along with her dreams of falling in love with Alex?
I received Cowgirl Trail compliments of Moody Publishers and Net Galley for my honest review and being a huge fan of Christian Western Romances, I absolutely loved this one. Susan Page Davis creates a different type of conflict and the way she has Maggie attempt to handle this as the only child of the Rocking P is brilliant and virtually unheard of in most western fictional books but one that works well in this one. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and shows the strength that can be required of us when faced with challenging and difficult situations if we are willing to look to God for answers! This is book 5 in the Texas Trails series and one I've really enjoyed if you love westerns!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowgirls vs. Cowboys

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 1884, Maggie Porter thought loosing her mother to a terrible disease was unbearable. That is until she returns home to the Rocking P Ranch to find her father deathly ill and unable to care for the ranch. He had kept this a secret from almost everyone. The ranch hands were ready to strike leaving no one to drive the cattle to market.
How will Maggie pay bills and give the cowhands their wages? The head ranch hand Alex wants to help Maggie but he feels pressured to stand with the other ranch hands decision to strike.
So Maggie stands her ground and decides that some of her female friends are going to help her drive the cattle to market. The men are dumbfounded at this idea. No way did the men believe that a bunch of women would make it to market without their help. Can a group of women really handle themselves on a long cattle drive? You just might be surprised.
The author writes of death, sorrow, danger, excitement, adventure and humor. Oh, let's not for get about romance.
Who do you think will save the ranch, the cowgirls or the cowboys?
This is another wonderful read in this series and only one more book to go.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure
I received a copy of this book from Netgalley/Moody Publishers for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. It is my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looking for an exciting read?

Date:August 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Henry McLaughlin
Location:Saginaw, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cowgirl Trail is the fifth book in Texas Trails: A Morgan Family Series. The connection to the rest of the series is subtle so this book works very well as a standalone yet still holds its place with the other stories.
Maggie Porter has been away from the Rocking P Ranch, helping to care for her mother in a sanatorium. After her mother passes away, Maggie returns to find her home in turmoil.
The cowboys threaten to strike after some harsh and arbitrary decisions by her father. Alex Bright, the foreman, tries to mediate the dispute but can’t understand Mr. Porter’s obstinate attitude. The men walk off and, conflicted by divided loyalties, Alex reluctantly joins them.
Maggie and Alex have been sweet on each other and, in the beginning, both look forward to Maggie’s return. This relationship is strained to the breaking point when Maggie holds Alex responsible for not keeping the men on the job at a crucial time.
Maggie learns that her father is facing huge bills from the sanatorium and may lose the ranch. This is why he could not negotiate with the cowboys. He is also dying of cancer and the pain has affected his judgment.
To pay the bills, the cattle need to be rounded up and driven to market. With her own cowboys gone and none available from other ranches, Maggie recruits women from the nearby town and surrounding ranches to get the cattle to market.
Alex and some of the other cowboys follow. Alex wants to keep an eye on Maggie. Some of the others, however, look for opportunities to harass the women and show the need for Porter to meet their demands. One prank ends up costing Maggie more money than she can spare. When she learns who pulled the prank, she accuses Alex of being part of it, severing their relationship.
Other cowboys have more sinister plans to disrupt the drive and steal the cattle. They start a stampede. When Maggie sees Alex riding among the herd, she believes he is part of the group looking to take her property away.
Maggie eventually learns Alex was trying to stop the stampede at the risk of his own life and he had nothing to do with the expensive prank. She realizes he was doing his best for her, her father, and the ranch.
As always, Susan Page Davis presents an exciting and tense story with enough twists and intriguing characters to keep you turning pages. She provides the right amount of detail to give authenticity but doesn’t overwhelm you with myriad facts just to show off her research.
You are with the women on the cattle drive, sleeping on the hard ground, enduring the boredom and routine, burning the hide of a calf with a hot iron, and enduring the danger and excitement of a stampede.
The women are believable in their roles. The minor characters add just the right amount of humor, insight into the major characters, and tension.
Maggie and Alex are two people in love but struggling with inner conflicts and loyalties that present major stumbling blocks to the relationship. You are wondering until the very end if they will make it.
If you enjoy historical romance, this will be a most satisfying read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Woen Run A Cattle Drive And Romance

Date:July 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Susan Page Davis in her new book, “Cowgirl Trail” Book five in The Texas Trail Series published by River North Fiction Division of Moody Publishers takes us back to Texas in 1884.
From the Back Cover: A young woman determined to save the family ranch
A devastating loss
An answer to prayer as shots are fired
Maggie Porter returns to the Rocking P Ranch. The sanatorium was not able to save her mother and now her father’s health is failing. When the cowboys walk off the job leaving no one to drive the cattle to market, head ranch hand, Alex Bright, cannot convince the men to stay. How could Alex let this happen?
Maggie is desperate to save the ranch. To everyone’s surprise, she turns to the town’s women for help. The cowgirls must herd, rope, and drive the cattle to market. With only two days left, outlaws charge the small band in an effort to start a stampede. The cattle begin to scatter. Will they lose everything? Where will their help come from?
Doubt meets hope, and fear gives way to faith in the Morgan family.
Do you remember the old Television series, “Rawhide”? Every week we were treated to a new adventure about cattle drivers or “drovers” as they were called on a cattle drive. In “Cowgirl Trail” Susan Page Davis has given us a distaff episode of “Rawhide”. This book is a lot of fun. The men want to go on strike right at market time. The ranch is in debt and needs the revenue the cattle sale will bring but what to do without the cowboys? Maggie has a lot of women friends who are daughters or wives of ranchers and who know their way around a horse. So she rounds them up for the drive to Fort Worth. If the men will not do their job the women will just have to do it for them. “Cowgirl Trail” is another romance set against the backdrop of Texas. Susan Page Davis takes up the story of the Morgan family that she began in the second book, “Captive Trail” as Alex is the son of those two main characters. Me, I really like Westerns and Ms. Davis really knows how to write a Western. If you enjoy history like I do then this book is for you. Ms. Davis really makes you feel the heat and the dust and the danger. Every one of her characters seem to come alive and it is like actually being there in Texas with them. “Cowgirl Trail” continues being all about families and relationships and that is what makes this book a winner. I enjoyed this book a lot and am looking forward to the next one.
If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
To listen to 24 hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for free from at Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Doing The Impossible

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be a really great read. Susan Page Davis has woven such an interesting tale....woman Cowgirls. Back in the late 1880's they did the unexpected, and probably not approved.
Maggie Porter returns home from a delightful time in San Francisco to find that things are really bad at the Ranch. Her father appears not to be himself, and he is doing unexpected things. As a result the Ranch Hands are besides themselves and are about to strike. The Ranch Foreman Alex Bright, who Maggie has felt sparks fly about, feels he needs to stick by his men.
When we find out what is going on, we are fully supportive of Maggie. Love the reaction of the small town Brady TX, and wish I could have been there with them.
Once you begin this journey one you won't be able to put it down...Enjoy!
I received this book from the Publisher Moody, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The characters are unique

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is part of the Texas Trail Series and is set in the late 1800’s. The story is about Maggie Porter and her struggle to keep the family ranch. The story itself is interesting and will keep you turning the page to find out what happens next. The characters are unique and keep you guessing about how they will react to the next difficult situation they encounter.
I liked how the women of the town stepped in and helped Maggie. I especially enjoyed the journey to sell the cattle. I actually laughed out loud a few times. All the main characters are well written and develop over the course of the story. The relationships are believable and don’t slow the story down. Overall it was a good Christian western book and I gave it 5/5 stars.
I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Texas Trails: A Morgan Family Series Book 5

Date:March 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
JudyMom2
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cowgirl Trail by Susan Page Davis
Texas Trails: A Morgan Family Series Book 5
This is the 5th book in a six book series written by three different authors. In Cowgirl Trail we find that the cowpunchers on Rocking P Ranch are wanting to strike. Mr. Porter won't let them have a few head of cattle like he had in the past and he refuses to raise their pay. Alex Bright is caught between loyalty to his boss and the men. And mostly Alex's heart. Maggie Porter has just returned home after two years. As the ranch foreman now, Alex was hoping she'd notice him in a more personal way. Like he noticed her. The way things were going it looked like any hope between them was being torn away. After a cold hearted decision by Martin Porter the choice is made to strike.
Maggie Porter thought that maybe her feelings she had for Alex since she was thirteen were only a young girls crush, but now as a young woman she knows they are true. Only he won't stand up to the men for her dad and her dad has issues that he is too proud to share with his men, thus leading up to this turmoil. When everything seems to be falling apart, Maggie and her friend Carlotta decide they will get a group of Cowgirl's to round up the rest of the cattle and to drive them to Fort Worth.
At this point in history the cattle drive is not as far. They need to get to Fort Worth and the train delivers them the rest of the way. There still are dangers and with growth in the area they are not as free to travel over land like the old days. But the threat of the Indian's no longer existed. Another exciting adventure in this series. Alex is the son of Billie and Ned Bright. Billie's story is in the second book. She had been kidnapped by the Indian's as a young girl and not found until she was quite a bit older.
If you enjoy adventures, check out Susan's other books. She has a great series that takes you on a journey down the Oregon Trail. I find her writing to be descriptive enough that I feel I have been in the wagon train or on the cattle drive.
**Received through NetGalley for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Authentic Western Romance

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An authentic Western for the Rancher in all of us.
Maggie Porter return home from her travels after the death fo her mother, to find the ranch in peril, and the ranch hands on strike.
Who can Maggie trust? What is the truth?
Alex as the foreman, of the Rocking P Ranch is completely torn. Should he side with the workers who are being treated unfairly or with his unusually inconsiderate boss. If he sides with the men will he lose his shot for love with the boss's daughter, Maggie?
Cowgirls, Cowboys, Horses, Cattle, and wide open prairie. What more does a person need? As a girl who loves to spend her summers on a ranch, riding horses and herding cattle, I found Cowgirl Trail surprisingly authentic and relatable. Horses and Cattle are so easily spooked, and accidently leaving a few head behind is pretty much inevitable on a long drive, no matter how well you ride and plan it.
Wrapped inside this wonderfully western blanket, was a sweet romance between Maggie and Alex. And their choices were in my mind believable, and totally reasonable. I even found that I could relate alot of this story to what's going on in the ranching world today. The cost of running a ranch is going up all the time, add to that the emergency medical bills, and you've got a ranch at risk.
Overall, a well written tale, and actually the best of Ms. Davis' books that I've read so far :) A determined heroine, and a honorable hero, combined in a western atmosphere...And you've got a winner on your hands! Great for anyone who wants to have a good old fashioned western adventure.
Final Rating: 4.25 out of 5
I received this book from the publisher in return for an honest review. It was not required that my review be positive, but only that I state my honest opinion. Thanks :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cowgirl Trail, Texas Trails Series #5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cowgirl Trail

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Moody Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
In 1884 Maggie Porter returns home after accompanying her mother to a sanatorium for a prolonged illness. The ranch is almost as it was before her mother's death. The young Alex Bright is in charge of the men at Rocking P Ranch and the spring roundup and cattle drive are about to begin. But something is wrong: the cowboys are grumbling. Tired of working long hours at the lowest wage in the area, the cowboys threaten to strike. They walk off the job, leaving no one to bring the cattle to market. Maggie is desperate. She discovers that the ranch is in debt due to her mother's illness and now her father's health is failing. Even if they get top dollar it would not be enough to pay the bills. She is determined to save the ranch.
My Review
This book is the fifth book in the Texas Trail Series by Susan Page Davis. This is the first book I have ever read by Susan Page Davis. I’ll tell you one thing it will not be the last. I loved this book so much, I couldn’t put it down.
The book starts out when Maggie is 13 years old and meets one of their cowhands on their ranch, Alex Morgan. Then, her mother is ill and she accompanies her mother to a sanatorium where her mother eventually passes on.
Her father is so consumed with grief that he sends Maggie to live with her aunt in San Francisco, California. So, she stays there 6 or 7 years and learns the life in San Francisco. But, her heart is in Texas, so she returns a woman now and Alex can’t believe the way he feels. As the story goes on, there is an uprising in the cowhands area and they decide to strike and they do that but don’t complete the job. So, Maggie gets her friends (who are girls) together and they gather up the cattle and take the cattle to market. A Very Interesting story and a GREAT one at that.
I stop and asked myself, “Could I do that and the answer is I don’t think so”. But, if I had lived in that time period, I’m sure I could do it.
I won’t say anything else, I don’t want to spoil the book for you. I would definitely suggest this book to my friends and family. Again, I love this book and thank you to Moody Publishers for giving me an opportunity to review this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.