Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North Jungle Fire

River North Jungle Fire

The deadliest animal in the jungle is the two legged kind.

Nina Truman is a missionary nurse, serving in a tiny Guatemalan town not far from the Mexican border. It's a fulfilling life tending to the village poor, a way to serve in the country from which she was adopted. The day she leaves on furlough, is the day her life falls apart. Her bus is ambushed and she must flee from forces who inexplicably wish her dead. Trapped between a ruthless drug lord and his assassins, a corrupt police chief, and colleagues with ulterior motives, her friends may prove just as deadly as her enemies as she uncovers a plot tangled deep in the roots of her own past.

Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jungle Fire
Review 1 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Too many run-on sentences!

Date:January 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mossy
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jungle Fire is the first book I have read by Dana Mentink. It has an exciting beginning! I was surprised by the climax. The main characters are likable, and the plot is creative and exciting. My problem with this book is the editing. I found many run-on sentences that the editor should have found and corrected. I gave this book three stars because of the poor editing. This was still a good book, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action! Adventure! Romance! Murder

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nina and her father are missionaries in a Guatemalan hospital. Nina stays behind to instruct the new missionaries that are coming in while her dad has to rush home for a medical emergency. On a bus to ancient ruins they come under fire. Nina is rescued by Shaw Wilder who blames Nina for his sister's death. Nina soon discovers that the rebel attack was to get her. Axel is Shaw's bomb sniffing dog. Have fun trying to see who really the enemy and who is really a friend. This is a fast paced book, Dana's faith shows through in Nina. There are some twists and turns that you will enjoy. I can't give you more info without ruining a terrific book.
I received this book through a contest I won at BookFun.org. No one asked me to leave this review but the book was too good not to share a new author - to me. She will definitely be added to my favorite author list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Intense suspense

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Intense is an apt descriptive word for this book. On-the-edge-of-your-seat action explodes off the first few pages and the pace doesn't let up. The unusual locale really adds to the grittiness and suspense of the plot and made for a refreshing read in this genre.
Nina is a relatable character right from the start, but Shaw is one wounded mass of hurt that makes him gruff and surly and downright obnoxious at times. But that inner core of goodness he has buried deep within his heart comes to the surface occasionally and gives the reader hope. He's definitely an action figure you want to keep your eyes on!
However, with unrepentant enthusiasm I admit to another character stealing my heart -- a four-legged furry kind. The bomb-sniffing dog, Axel! Mentink gives him so much personality he stole each scene he was in. And the relationship between Shaw and his dog goes far towards creating a sympathetic character just aching to be softened.
Jungle Fire's taut plot has plenty of twists and turns to keep a reader guessing right to the very end. Definitely a worthy edition to any romantic suspense lover's bookcase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
tess
Location:Puryear, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book, kept you guessing to the end. Would buy something else by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Real Page Turner!

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nina Truman is a missionary nurse leaving the Guatemalan clinic behind for a much-needed furlough. Traveling in an old bus along treacherous, muddy, primitive roads, suddenly a lone soldier opens fire, shattering the windows of the bus. injuring the driver and several passengers. The bus careens off the road down a steep ravine landing precariously on an outcropping of rocks. Nina risks her life to rescue injured passengers, as the bus becomes engulfed in smoke. Shaw Wilder discovers the wreckage, and at the insistence of his bomb-sniffing dog, realizes that someone may be trapped in the bus. As he discovers movement inside he breaks out the doors, dragging Nina to safety as the flaming inferno catapults off the rocks, plunging to the jungle floor. One of the survivors passes a note to Nina which she pockets as she decides to head back to the clinic to await help.
Dana Mentink has written a fast-paced, suspense-filled novel that will make your heart pound and increase your breathing! This is a page-turner from beginning to end, without a clue as to what will transpire next! This author is a master at suspense from every angle, constantly keeping the reader immersed in uncertainty and angst. She presents a pictorial portrait of the jungle atmosphere and the dangers that lurk within its boundaries, and the characters are varied and portrayed intimately. Nina's strong faith is the hope that runs throughout this book, despite Shaw's anger at God and his refusal to even acknowledge that God cares about him. Through every challenge Nina's faith remains strong, and she is willing to face death with the assurance of heaven. I highly recommend this well-written book!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Missionary Nurse finds danger and helps others

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jane Squires
Location:Wasola, Mo
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nina Truman, missionary nurse, encounters so much more than she expects. Then she learns a truth that almost cost her life.
Shaw Wilder is bent on revenge for his sister's death. Instead he finds God's love and a mission field.
Shaw trusts Otto who turns out to be a wolf in sheep clothing. And the man he didn't trust shows him how much he loved his sister, Beth.
Twists and turns keep you reading on and on. Lives changed by the power of God during dangerous paths.
And then there is Axtel, the dog. He never gives up.
Sometimes you wonder who you can trust.
You will finish this book with a fire inside to do the will of God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a page turner

Date:August 28, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With danger around every corner, Jungle Fire by Dana Mentink, kept me glued to the edge of my seat page after page. I was hooked even further with the tension-filled romance.
***I received this book from the publisher/author for review. The above is my honest opinion.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing!!!!!

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Swifty2012
Location:Topeka, KS
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first book by this author and I must say that I am thoroughly impressed. She made her characters believable and this helped me delve into the plot. I loved Nina's character and I admired how she stayed strong in her faith throughout hardships. I also loved Shaw's character. His struggles throughout the story made it all the more believable and enjoyable. I found myself holding my breath in anticipation during a lot of parts. I definitely did not expect some of the twists in the story and I truly enjoyed the ending. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fast-paced, suspenseful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense filled all the way

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cher
Location:NW Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first novel I have read by Dana Mentink, and it won’t be my last. The minute I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. Talk about suspense, from the first word to the last, and a mystery running right through the middle of it.
Nina was working in missions in Guatemala with her father, who had just left the day before. She would be leaving soon, but starts a bus trip with a fellow missionary. Intense action starts that very day and doesn’t slow down for one page, going on and on.
Shaw Wilder and his dog Axel have only one goal in mind. To find out who killed his sister and kill them, but life gets in the way sometimes. He gets drawn into trying to keep Nina safe, even though he blames her as one who is responsible for his sister’s death.
Nina wholeheartedly believed that God wanted her there in Guatemala doing what she was doing. She felt that God was directing her path. Shaw had no faith in God at all; he had what happened to his sister and his Mother to go on. Can anything bring them together?
The discussion questions at the end of the story are very thought provoking, making you wonder sometimes do you need to read it again. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a suspense filled book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jungle Fire
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nina just wants to get away and get some answers from her father. Nina has given her life to the missionary life, following in her father’s footsteps and putting aside her own thoughts. She’s sure that this is where God wants her to be. Shaw just wants to blend into the foliage in Guatemala and run from his sister’s death and his mother’s illness. Where is their God that his sister, Beth and his mother believed in for so long? He feels that he’s better off alone then ever giving into that religion. After Nina’s bus is shot at and ran off the road, though, Shaw and Nina start down a path that neither one could have ever seen coming. Is it the police after them, the ruthless drug leader or is some other sinister plot out to bring them down? This story takes you into the deep reaches of the jungle, where not only is there a daily fear of the animals hiding in the branches, but of the dangerous men there as well. What secrets are Nina’s father hiding? Can Shaw ever look past his current situation and find the loving God? Will they make it out of the jungle alive? Find out for yourself when you BUY THE BOOK!
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I received this book. I hadn’t read anything by her, but the title and description definitely looked like a book that I would enjoy. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t put it down. I loved the character of Shaw, I always enjoy seeing characters that are sure that there way is always the best way. This gives me a chance to recommend it to men that I know that remind me of the character so that they can see, in the end, how much giving themselves over to Him makes their life so much more fulfilling.
Is this a "guy's book"? You bet! There are guns, chases, more guns, corrupt officials, drug lords, more guns and airplanes. Let’s just saw there’s more than enough suspense and manliness in the book to keep any man’s attention.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.