Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North If the Shoe Fits

River North If the Shoe Fits

Julianne has been looking for Prince Charming all her life---and that doesn't change when she and her best friend, Will, agree to be law partners. When this Cinderella-in-training discovers a work boot, she's determined to track down its handsome owner---and meets handyman Paul. Will the shoe fit, or will he tumble off his princely pedestal?
Average Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for If the Shoe Fits
Review 1 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Awesome Book

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
homeschoolmom24
Location:Alabama
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About the Book:
Julianne used to believe in fairy tales; she's been watching for Prince Charming to come charging in on his white steed ever since the day her mother read her Cinderella for the first time. But she's never come close to finding the perfect man-instead she's always tripping over her childhood best friend, Will. And who finds their Prince Charming on a 10-speed bicycle on the other side of the cul de sac? Well... Julianne does. Only she doesn't have a clue.
She and Will are attorneys now, and they've joined up in private practice in a beautiful Cincinnati office building that overlooks the Ohio River. And then one day Julianne is on her way to court, and runs right smack dab into Prince Charming. But when she looks again, all she finds is a metaphoric sign she is certain came straight from Heaven: The Prince's toolbox has fallen off the back of his truck, and a work boot along with it. What better way for God to grab the attention of a Cinderella-in-training than to show her a glass slipper...errrr, work boot?...waiting to be reunited with its owner?
So she sets out to track down the mysterious Prince Charming. He's the most gorgeous guy she's ever seen...and a caring animal rescuer, too. Surely he must be the soul mate God has prepared her for.
But, Julianne's prince is starting to look less and less charming all the time. No matter how she tries to romanticize him, he just keeps tumbling down off that dumb pedestal. And with the Bar Association dinner coming up that will honor her for her outstanding charity work over the year, Julianne wants so much for her friends and colleagues to see her with someone besides her best friend Will. To make matters worse, Prince Charming has no designs on wearing a penguin suit and attending a stuffy old dinner. With her pride pressing in on her like sticks from a cactus, Julianne sinks to the bottom of the proverbial barrel and actually offers to pay Paul to be her date.
Julianne is on a collision course with God's perfect plan for her life...if only she could open her eyes and see it before it's too late.
About the Author:
For more than a decade, Sandra D. Bricker lived in Los Angeles. While honing her chosen craft of screenwriting in every spare moment, she worked as a personal assistant and publicist to some of daytime television's hottest stars. When her mother became ill in Florida, she walked away from that segment of her life and moved across the country to take on a new role: Caregiver.
The author says that it was her 8th novel that opened the door to finding her way as a writer. "I'm a Christian woman, first and foremost," she says. "So it was a bit of a dream-come-true when Summerside Press chose me as one of two authors to launch the Love Finds You line."
Sandie's real-life role as cancer survivor has parlayed into her steadfast commitment to raising awareness and funds for ovarian cancer research. Spearheading a series of devotionals for Summerside Press (such as the popular His Grace is Sufficient...Decaf is Not), the author has stipulated that a portion of each contributor's proceeds will go to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund.
"Being allowed to combine my faith and my humor with raising funds for my pet projects ... and still pursue my writing dream," says Bricker, "well, that's the best of all worlds, as far as I'm concerned!"
And one of the author's pet projects is animal rescue, evidenced by the special bond she has created with one particular formerly-abandoned puppy -- a red-haired collie with "killer brown eyes and the heart of the class clown."
My Review:
Poor Julianne still looking for love in all the wrong places. Will has been at her side this whole time, just head over heels for this girl and she is still looking everywhere but up for her guidance. She is in the middle of a busy intersection on her way to the office before she heads to court and that is when she spots Prince Charming. She tries to catch up to him but all he leaves behind is his proverbial glass slipper aka "work boot".
I feel so bad for Will, being the perfect best friend and standing by watching all of this take place as Julianne runs down this mystery man, all the while being crazy in love with this girl. Julianne needs to ask God what He has planned in the middle of all of this instead of going off on a tangent. Soon things change for Will and he is able to share with Julianne how he has felt all these years, but will Julianne reciprocate?
Sandra Bricker is a great writer that can take simple fairy tales and turn them around, my boys laughed when I told them what the book was about they thought that it was funny how the "glass slipper" is a work boot. I love how she has placed very well developed characters against each other and she makes them very believable.
**Disclosure** This book was sent to me free of charge for my honest review from MP Newsroom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for If the Shoe Fits
This review is fromIf the Shoe Fits - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julianne used to believe in fairy tales; she's been watching for Prince Charming to come charging in on his white steed ever since the day her mother read her Cinderella for the first time. But she's never come close to finding the perfect man-instead she's always tripping over her childhood best friend, Will. And who finds their Prince Charming on a 10-speed bicycle on the other side of the cul de sac? Well... Julianne does. Only she doesn't have a clue.
She and Will are attorneys now, and they've joined up in private practice in a beautiful Cincinnati office building that overlooks the Ohio River. And then one day Julianne is on her way to court, and runs right smack dab into Prince Charming. But when she looks again, all she finds is a metaphoric sign she is certain came straight from Heaven: The Prince's toolbox has fallen off the back of his truck, and a work boot along with it. What better way for God to grab the attention of a Cinderella-in-training than to show her a glass slipper...errrr, work boot?...waiting to be reunited with its owner?
So she sets out to track down the mysterious Prince Charming. He's the most gorgeous guy she's ever seen...and a caring animal rescuer, too. Surely he must be the soul mate God has prepared her for.
But, Julianne's prince is starting to look less and less charming all the time. No matter how she tries to romanticize him, he just keeps tumbling down off that dumb pedestal. And with the Bar Association dinner coming up that will honor her for her outstanding charity work over the year, Julianne wants so much for her friends and colleagues to see her with someone besides her best friend Will. To make matters worse, Prince Charming has no designs on wearing a penguin suit and attending a stuffy old dinner. With her pride pressing in on her like sticks from a cactus, Julianne sinks to the bottom of the proverbial barrel and actually offers to pay Paul to be her date.
Julianne is on a collision course with God's perfect plan for her life...if only she could open her eyes and see it before it's too late.
My Review:
I am going to start by saying that Julianne drove me crazy!!! For an attorney, she has got to be the most educated yet dumbest character I have ever met in the literary world!! If that was Bricker's intention to portray her "princess" in such a way, she did a really good job. I was hoping for more from her character; more depth, emotion, and satisfaction at reading her story. But Julianne was downright half-witted and simpleminded, and left me wondering how she defended clients on the stand. I'd be scared if she was my lawyer.
I found Prince Charming was anything but. Will was also quite the exasperating character, unwilling to admit he was in love with Julianne, and falling for every girl that looked like her. After 20 years, the poor man is still dragging his feet and unable to think outside the box that is the building of their shared law firm. Maybe he'll come around, and then again, maybe not. If you are up for the kind of fairy tale that leaves you screaming at the absolute dumbness of the characters, this book is for you. I enjoyed it, and it was a light read with some pretty funny scenes.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julianne used to believe in fairy tales; she's been watching for Prince Charming to come charging in on his white steed ever since the day her mother read her Cinderella for the first time. But she's never come close to finding the perfect man-instead she's always tripping over her childhood best friend, Will. And who finds their Prince Charming on a 10-speed bicycle on the other side of the cul de sac? Well... Julianne does. Only she doesn't have a clue.
She and Will are attorneys now, and they've joined up in private practice in a beautiful Cincinnati office building that overlooks the Ohio River. And then one day Julianne is on her way to court, and runs right smack dab into Prince Charming. But when she looks again, all she finds is a metaphoric sign she is certain came straight from Heaven: The Prince's toolbox has fallen off the back of his truck, and a work boot along with it. What better way for God to grab the attention of a Cinderella-in-training than to show her a glass slipper...errrr, work boot?...waiting to be reunited with its owner?
So she sets out to track down the mysterious Prince Charming. He's the most gorgeous guy she's ever seen...and a caring animal rescuer, too. Surely he must be the soul mate God has prepared her for.
But, Julianne's prince is starting to look less and less charming all the time. No matter how she tries to romanticize him, he just keeps tumbling down off that dumb pedestal. And with the Bar Association dinner coming up that will honor her for her outstanding charity work over the year, Julianne wants so much for her friends and colleagues to see her with someone besides her best friend Will. To make matters worse, Prince Charming has no designs on wearing a penguin suit and attending a stuffy old dinner. With her pride pressing in on her like sticks from a cactus, Julianne sinks to the bottom of the proverbial barrel and actually offers to pay Paul to be her date.
Julianne is on a collision course with God's perfect plan for her life...if only she could open her eyes and see it before it's too late.
My Review:
I am going to start by saying that Julianne drove me crazy!!! For an attorney, she has got to be the most educated yet dumbest character I have ever met in the literary world!! If that was Bricker's intention to portray her "princess" in such a way, she did a really good job. I was hoping for more from her character; more depth, emotion, and satisfaction at reading her story. But Julianne was downright half-witted and simpleminded, and left me wondering how she defended clients on the stand. I'd be scared if she was my lawyer.
I found Prince Charming was anything but. Will was also quite the exasperating character, unwilling to admit he was in love with Julianne, and falling for every girl that looked like her. After 20 years, the poor man is still dragging his feet and unable to think outside the box that is the building of their shared law firm. Maybe he'll come around, and then again, maybe not. If you are up for the kind of fairy tale that leaves you screaming at the absolute dumbness of the characters, this book is for you. I enjoyed it, and it was a light read with some pretty funny scenes.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for If the Shoe Fits
This review is fromIf the Shoe Fits - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a lighthearted and fun easy read

Date:October 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christian Fiction Section
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If the Shoe Fits is a lighthearted, easy read by Sandra D. Bricker. Julianne is a bright young attorney who has just opened her own law firm with her partner and life-long best friend, Will. The two of them are happily single with no love interest in each other…well, at least Julianne doesn’t have any interest…or doesn’t think she does…well, you never know. Will, on the other hand…
The story begins with Julianne rescuing the tool box (and boot) of a handsome and heroic dog rescuer from the threat of the merciless oncoming traffic. The guy ran into that traffic to rescue the poor animal, so he must have a kind, animal-loving heart. Actually, he’s practically Prince Charming. At this point, Julianne is convinced he’s the man for her. Never mind that he never did see or speak to her. She’ll take care of that. We don’t really have much time to think about it right now, though, because we’re too busy following Julianne into court with a live goldfish. We’ll get back to that in another chapter.
I found myself thoroughly amused by all of Julianne’s humorous (and endearing) quirks and antics as she and Will figured out what everyone else already knew about them…they belonged together. Of course, they had to go through quite a lot before they figured it out, but along the way their firm makes it into a tabloid, Julianne is nominated for a prestigious award and acquires a new member of the family (named Charming, of course), and Will discovers something about himself through a couple other gals he’s known. Overall, the book is slightly unrealistic and completely entertaining. I had no problem reading through it in one day and never did want to put it down! I thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a way to read the afternoon away with a smile.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute story with lessons to be learned

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sandra D. Bricker's latest novel is a cute story - a "contemporary fairytale" - about whether two friends can fall in love. Just starting up their own law firm, attorneys Julianne Bartlett and Will Hanes have been best friends forever and now finally even get to work together. As their business gets going, they face a number of difficulties, from murderous clients to fraudulent employees to their own messed up love lives. Will knows that he is in love with Julianne and pretty much always has been, despite dating a number of other women. Julianne hasn't really considered Will again since their disastrous date back in high school, though she tends to be unhappy about his relationships, and anyway, she just encountered an "angel" - a hunk of a man who stopped traffic to rescue a dog and lost his tool box and boot in the process. It must be a sign from God, right?
When I first saw the cover, my automatic thought was, "the guy in the work boot wins the girl - the rich man never does." To my surprise, the book wasn't really about rich or poor or works-with-his-hands versus pushes-paper, and it wasn't at all what I was expecting in terms of "should I marry him, or do I really love my best friend instead?" What it amounts to is that Julianne knows she is pursuing the wrong man - God makes it abundantly clear - but she doesn't feel like there is anyone else who would have her, either - not Will, not anyone, so the cover is a little deceptive. Bricker doesn't elaborate on it, but she makes the important point that a Christian should only consider another Christian as a spouse, though Julianne doesn't heed that advice in her desperation to have any man besides Will-the-consolation-prize on her arm.
While it is described as a contemporary fairytale, it is more a story of a girl who desperately wants the fairytale - so much so that she chances missing out on true love right in front of her. Cinderella gets her ball and wows the price, loses her slipper running away, and even has a fairy godmother. However, it isn't as easy as fairytales imply; there is a lot more vulnerability and soul-baring than she expects.
It was a cute story, with lots of humor to sweeten the message on pride. While there were not a lot of deep conversations, the characters were obviously Christians, though they were just as obviously as prone to do dumb things as the rest of us. Thank goodness for God's grace! Pride gets them nowhere, but humbling themselves before each other and God goes a long way. A fun read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hopeful, modern-day Cinerella with a pretty shoe

Date:August 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you thought you'd left Snow White, Cinderella, and prince charming behind in elementary school, think again! Sandra Bricker writes contemporary romantic comedy stories that will keep you almost bouncing in your chair from your giggles and tee-hee-hees. Get ready for a rollicking, unbelievable (well, it is based on a fairytale) story of girl, boy, boy, girl, mess, fuss, crying, laughing. Well, you get a bit of the picture.
Julianne and Will grew up as next door neighbors and best friends. Now they are both attorneys and have just launched their own partnership in a law practice. The signage is new. The receptionist is new. The furniture is new. The clients are new and in short supply.
Julianne feels that everyone (that is with an all "bold" capital "E") thinks she can't get and keep a boyfriend. That she is an old maid. That she will die a spinster. Then she sees a real handsome feller strolling down the street and she thinks he's the one. She begins her pursuit. (Kick in big-time laughs here!)
Well, Will is another story altogether. And that is where the real kicker kicks in (pun intended).
This is Christian fiction in that the characters live Christian lives, go to church, and are morally upright. There are no deep insights into Christianity.
Are the characters believable? Well, you know a fairytale is rife with unbelievable stuff and so is this cute story. It is a fun read and good for a couple of evenings entertainment. Enjoy, and get your Biblical studies from the source - the Bible.
DISCLOSURE: I was provide a complimentary copy by River North Fiction from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A 21st Century Fairy Tale Romance

Date:July 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sandra D. Bricker in her new book, "If The Shoe Fits" published by River North introduces us to Julianne.
From the back cover: Right in the middle of an ordinary life, God throws in a fairy tale.
Julianne used to believe in fairy tales; she's been watching for Prince Charming to come charging in on his white steed ever since the day her mother read her Cinderella for the first time. But she's never come close to finding the perfect man-instead she's always tripping over her childhood best friend, Will. And who finds their Prince Charming on a 10-speed bicycle on the other side of the cul de sac? Well... Julianne does. Only she doesn't have a clue.
So she sets out to track down the mysterious Prince Charming who lost his shoe in the middle of a busy intersection. He's the most gorgeous guy she's ever seen...and a caring animal rescuer, too. Surely he must be the soul mate God has prepared her for. But why is he so oblivious?
Julianne is on a collision course with God's perfect plan for her life...if only she could open her eyes and see it before it's too late.
A 21st Century Cinderella. Well, not quite. All the ingredients seem to be there but they do not seem to come together the way a real fairy tale does. But then again... Sandra D. Bricker does a wonderful job of getting all the events of the fairy tale together, the left behind shoe, a Prince Charming and even a contemporary version of a ball but that is where this fairy tale stops. Julianne may be a lawyer but her head is full of off the wall romantic ideals. And because of this she is missing that Will, her best friend and law partner, is right there and in love with her. So she finds someone who fits her romantic fantasy and she can't seem to figure out why she is being rejected. Now what does she do? This is a wonderful, charming romance and it is going to make you laugh. Ms. Bricker does an outstanding job of bringing her characters to life and you really want their romance to succeed. Maybe this does work as a fairy tale after all, you be the judge.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Wynn-Wynn Media for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Julie Graves
Location:Oklahoma
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Julianne and Will have been best friends since they were children. They went through school together, then through law school and now they have opened a law office together. But what happens when the feelings of one changes to love instead of friendship?
Will has loved Julianne for twenty years, but Julianne is clueless to his love. To Julianne Will is her best friend and nothing more. But what is that pricking of her heart every time another woman becomes involved with Will?
Julianne believes she has met her Prince Charming in the form of a hunky carpenter but when things don’t work out for them Julianne becomes desperate. Nominated for a prestigious award Julianne desires to prove to everyone that she can show up with a man other than Will. She offers to pay her hunky carpenter to attend the gala with her. With disastrous results Cinderella ends up running from the ball in disgrace. Can Julianne ever see Will’s true feelings for her or must he give up his love in order to save his own heart?
My Thoughts:
Cute! Cute! Cute! I loved this story. Just as with the Emma Rae creates series(Always the Baker Never the Bride etc.) If The Shoe Fits is filled with humorous dialogue and loveable characters. I’m a sucker for best friends falling in love and Julianne and Will’s story does not disappoint in the romance department.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

In my Hall of Fame!!!

Date:July 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ragdogs
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I received this book from Moody Publishers for the purpose of this review, all comments and opinions are my own."
I have to say that this book was very enjoyable! Lots and lots of funny scenes that had me laughing out loud! I loved Julianne's personality, she always looked for the good in every situation, even when some of the worst circumstances hit her and Will's law firm. Julianne loves the animals and people of her town, as well as out of, and always participates in fundraisers of every kind.
Will and Julianne have been best friends since they were 10 or so, and Will has been in love with Julianne since he laid eyes on her, but never had the courage to risk their friendship by jumping into a serious relationship. Until 20 years later and this Prince Charming threatens to steal her away permanently.
Julianne and Will have their ups and downs like all best friends do and we all know what will happen at the end, but it is always fun to read about how they get to the end!
So this book is another one to join Rayleigh's Hall of Fame! Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Well Done Bricker!

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Casey
Location:Oregon
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven’t giggled over a book this much since Janice Thompson’s Weddings by Bella series. “If the Shoe Fits” is light, warm-hearted, funny and a blissful read to warm the soul…while tickling the funny bone.
I honestly thought the tried and tired plot of falling in love with your BFF was going to seriously hamper my enjoyment of the story, BUT the cliché works so well under the skillful crafting of this story. The humor makes it fresh and 100% enjoyable and the character quirks keep things fresh and inviting.
I read the entire book in a little over a weekend. It’s the perfect getaway and sometimes the right escape is into a book where the humor is abounding, the characters likeable (and relatable!) and just enough of the fantastic and unbelievable to make the read a smooth and entertaining ride.
Much as a movie can come alive on the screen, this novel came alive in my mind’s eye. It’s cute, (have I said funny yet? ;-) well-written, charming and a great beach (or couch) read I’d recommend to anyone who loves to laugh at light-hearted romance.
This review is my honest opinion. The novel is my personal copy I’m reviewing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Delightful Humor!

Date:July 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Julianne has been waiting for her Prince Charming since her mother read Cinderella to her as a child. On a rainy day a vision of her prince became reality right before her eyes. Julianne took it as a sign from God! The perfect man stopped his truck to rescue an injured dog, and as he sped off his toolbox and a work shoe fell from the back of his pickup. The perfect excuse to locate her prince, Julianne rescued the toolbox and shoe, and placed an ad on Craig's List in the hope that he would call. When Prince Charming doesn't measure up to her list of qualifications Julianne's dreams begin to fade. Julianne and Will, her childhood best friend, had recently opened a law office together. Unbeknownst to Julianne, Will has been in love with her for years, but has never worked up the courage to tell her. He patiently stands by as Julianne chases her dreams, and fears that his chance to reveal his feelings to her will never ensue.
Based on the beloved fairy tale, Cinderella, this romantic fiction contains a lot of wit and humor. The characters are well developed and very likable, at least the majority of them. There are a couple of characters you love to hate. Events throughout the story contain some serious notes and a subtle Christian undertone, and a great dose of delightful humor. Detailed descriptions lead the reader into the story, creating a pictorial view of the settings in this amusing and refreshing tale. Additional relationships and scenarios take place throughout this book that add extra depth to the fairy tale gone wrong.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from Wynn-Wynn Media in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are mine, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If The Shoe Fits

Date:June 8, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a big fan of Sandra Bricker so when I was approached about receiving an advanced copy of the book in exchange for my honest review I replied with a resounding YES!
If The Shoe Fits begins a new series of contemporary fairy tales. Don’t let the idea of a fluffy fairy tale lead you astray. Like most of her books you are going to smile and probably laugh out loud while reading, but you are also going to be confronted with a deeper lesson. In this novel there are actually two storylines going on. One is the story of Julianne and Will and the other is more of a classical fairy tale. The two are beautifully intertwined and bring about a very satisfying culmination of the story.
My favorite part of the story comes right before Chapter 16. It is a snippet of the classic fairy tale. Here’s the passage:
Even as the maiden dangled over the cliff’s edge, she felt certain that her prince would arrive at any moment to fight off the dragon and deliver her to safe ground.
“Here!” someone called out to her, and she looked up and saw that it wasn’t her prince at all. “Take hold of this lifeline!”
“No!” she growled back at him. “Get out of here. Can’t you see I’m waiting for my prince to save me?”
Isn’t this the epitome of how we are . . . rejecting the provision put right in front of us because it doesn’t match up with what we perceive as being the right answer? That’s exactly how Julianne is. She wants the whole fairy tale including Prince Charming. She wants to be swept off of her feet. But in her pursuit of it she exchanges what will never fade away for what will surely fade.
I suggest you snatch this book up and then find a comfy place to enjoy it. Laugh at the funny parts for sure, but don’t forget to bask in the meaningful passages. Let this wonderful contemporary fairy tale speak to you about the beautifully Divine realities of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Delightful Contemporary Fairy Tale

Date:May 31, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a huge fan of Sandra Bricker's books! She has a unique talent for telling stories filled with lovable characters, tons of romance, and laugh-out-loud moments. If the Shoe Fits is no exception, and the story is one that will keep you grinning the entire time you read it.
Sandra adds just enough elements from the traditional Cinderella fairy tale to tie the two together without being cheesy. I instantly liked Julianne and Will and admired that their friendship had stood the test of time from childhood. I also enjoyed getting to know their parents through the story ... something that I don't often see in romance novels.
If the Shoe Fits is a delightful story that I thoroughly enjoyed reading. This is the perfect addition for your reading list this summer! I look forward to reading more contemporary fairy tales from Sandra in the (hopefully near!) future! [4.5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Fairy Tale Story!

Date:May 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The whole premise of the book is based on Cinderella. A woman who is waiting for Prince Charming to appear on his white horse, except she doesn't like horses so a motorcycle would work too:) Julianne has just opened a law firm with her best friend, William. He has been in love with her for years but never broached the subject because she thinks of him as a brother or best pal. When she falls for this hunky handsome construction worker who is rescuing a dog from the road, Will doesn't know what to do. Julie, or Jules as Will calls her, feels like her life is perfect when Paul Weaver asks her out to eat. But sometimes the things we think we want, aren't always what we need.
This book is totally laugh-out-loud with some precious sweet moments intermingled. You see Julie working so hard to find what she wants and yet the best thing for her is right there in front of her. I fell in love with Will from the moment I met him and on through the rest of the story. His gentle manner in taking care of Jules, the way he moved to be back with his dad in a time of need, and even the way he responds to the snooty Lacey. He is really one who sees the good in people and I know someone like this in real life. Really reminded me of this person a lot! And his dad and her mom are a trip as well. With funny southern sayings, Amanda will wing her way right into your heart, and into Davis's heart as well:) There will be plenty of laughs and even some tears maybe as you see how Julianne takes care of Pheobe, her assistant who is anything but. Some jail lockups, piglet shootings an much more will give you entertainment while teaching lessons.
Wonderful book from Sandra Bricker and I can't wait for a next book! Maybe even one about Lacey? Or Alec and Allison? This is a book you can give as a gift or pass around a book club. Thoroughly enjoyed it! What a hoot! I am giving this 5 stars because I loved it!
I was given a copy of this book for review purposes. All thoughts are 100% mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modern Day Fairytale

Date:May 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I loved the way this story starts out! Julianne thinks that she has seen her Prince as he helps rescue a dog,..and then, when he leaves his toolbox and boot behind, she tracks him down to meet him.
Julianne and her best friend Will, have recently opened up a law practice together,... they have been friends for a long time and Will really cares for her and wants the best for her..but will she see whats best for her, ..so that she can have a happily ever after?
I really enjoyed this modern day Fairy tale! 5 stars!
I received a galley of this book, but this review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read! Funny Witty Read!

Date:May 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
TJH411
Location:Stone Mtn GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was lucky to get an advanced copy and I loved this book! The characters have depth and are relatable. It's not just the fairy tale updated. It has its own storyline influenced by the fairy tale. We all know that romances have happy endings, but how the characters get there is what I love about this book.
The love sorry aside, I appreciate that the main characters are lawyers but are shown with integrity even when representing an unsavory character. Also, it shows them having real lives with real problems. Thanks for giving me a read that shows lawyers can be good at what they do and be good people too.
Back to the love story, it was fantastic! I will for sure be a re-read for me. Love the writing style: easy to read without being juvenile. It's witty, funny, and engaging. Read it and you will love it too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Modern Cinderella tale . . . with a twist!

Date:May 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carol Gehringer
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the Shoe Fits: A Contemporary Fairy Tale / Sandra D. Bricker
River North (June 1, 2013), ISBN 978-0802406286
Adult Rating 4
**Pre-Publication copy reviewed
Sandra Bricker kicks off a new romantic comedy contemporary series based on classic fairy tales. If the Show Fits, based on Cinderella, tells the humorous story of a modern-day Cinderella waiting for her prince.
In If the Show Fits, on the very day Julianne opens a law firm with her childhood friend, Will, she sees a handsome stranger rescue a dog from the middle of a busy intersection. As he carries the dog off, with his long coat flowing out behind him, she is captivated by his physical beauty and love for animals. When she looks again, he is gone. Then she notices that his tool box and his work boot fall out of his truck. Julianne takes it as a sign that she has seen her Prince Charming. She tracks him down to return the items, but is he as charming as she dreams? She thinks she has found her prince, but more she gets to know him, the less charming he seems to be.
Julianne wants God’s plan for her life but will she recognize it before it is too late? For this Cinderella, the shoe (boot) is on the other foot – she is looking for her prince, not the other way around. How hard should she work to make things fit? Cinderella (Julianne) has her ball and eventually her prince, but not before facing challenges in finding her “happy ending.”
Bricker writes her trademark humor in this laugh-out loud story where Cinderella doesn’t recognize God’s plan for her. With witty narrative and likeable primary and secondary characters, Bricker strikes just the right balance to bring a twist to this contemporary fairy tale. The Christian elements are light, not preachy. Its humor and romance are clean, not unlike the old black-and-white romantic comedies featuring one’s favorite actors.
Disclaimer: Book reviews are my opinion of books I either purchased or received free of cost from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. Thanks to NetGalley for an advance reading copy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
WVBookLover
Location:West Virginis
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A modern day version of Cinderella? Absolutely!! This story speaks to your heart and your funny bone and makes you stop and think, "Maybe my prayer has been answered, but I've just been looking for MY answer and not HIS!"
If you haven't read Sandra Bricker before I encourage you to grab a box of tissues, bring your sense of humor and be prepared to not be able to put this one down until you've finished it! Then be sure to read her other books too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Location:Charleston, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I fell I love with Sandra Bricker and her Emma Rae collections so I was very excited to have the chance to receive an advanced copy of If The Shoe Fits to review. It was another great book by Sandra Bricker!!! If The Shoe fits is a modern day Christian romance that will have you laughing out loud!! So refreshing to be able to read quality books that you are not ashamed if someone finds out you are reading them. I would find myself connecting with the characters in the book. So often we get caught up in looking for our Prince Charming only to find out God has had him in our life the whole time. Definitely a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for If the Shoe Fits
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Modern Cinderella

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
AndiinNampa
Location:Nampa, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Julianne is like every girl, looking for their Prince Charming riding in on his white horse to take her away. When she is on her way to court and sees a construction worker stop for a dog whose been hit she thinks she's found her man. He's not only a hunk, he's an animal lover, at least that is what she believes. His boot is left behind and so she goes on a hunt to find him. She does and believes she has found her Prince Charming.
What Julianne doesn't realize is what she has been looking for all along is been right beside her the whole time.
In true Sandie Bricker style she has written a book that is full of laughter, fun, and Christian precepts.
I was given an advanced copy by Sandie to read and review. If you enjoy laughter and fun, I would highly recommend you pre-order this book before it releases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>