Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishing The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart

Moody Publishing The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart

When God calls a man to be a church planter, his wife faces special challenges and rewards of her own. Hoover understands! Sharing her own experiences as well as interviews with other similar spouses, she equips you for your important ministry. Discover how to battle stress, be a wise helpmate, please God, deal with discouragement, and more.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Review 1 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly recommended for all women serving the Lord

Date:February 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debby
Location:NH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband answered a call to a church plant 32 years ago.
We are still serving together in the same church experiencing many of the same highs and lows described in Christine's book. I would highly recommend this book for every woman. There is heart-searching challenge as well as encouragement for those who minister. There is insight into the heart of the women in leadership of our local churches. God used this book to give me new inspiration as I continue to serve Him alongside my husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

From the Wife of a Future Planter

Date:February 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
LPowell3rd
Location:Erial, New Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christine's book was like a riveting slap in the face for me. My husband (and I) are called into church planting and while I rejected the calling on my husbands' life for awhile now, Christine's realism has helped me grasp that rejecting the calling on my husband's life was the same as rejecting God or saying I didn't trust Him to lead and guide us every step of the way. This book is a much needed resource in the ministry world and I thank God for allowing me to stumble across Christine's blog and her book.
I HIGHLY recommend this book to ministry wives, Christian women and especially church planting wives. It is overflowing with wisdom and insight!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

for all women in ministry

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Book lover
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the things I love about this book is Christine’s openness about how it really is…ministry. Even though she wrote this with the Church Planting Wife in mind, it really fits anyone who is in ministry. The struggles, hurts, issues and situations are across the board. She lays out practical ways to get through and grow deeper in your relationship with the eternal Father
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful gospel centered read

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
MMM0
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gospel centered read encouraged me to rely on God's promises and Word to guide me through the difficult decisions we are face about our future. This book really simplified my prayers and thinking towards our future. I am so thankful. I would recommend this read to anybody that feels that they are being lead in a direction that seems really difficult or out of their comfort zone. I am really thankful for this read and will look back at it, especially to the "Cultivating You Heart" section.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read for Any Woman

Date:January 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of my personal favorites. Christine is an excellent author and I love her style of writing. Right off the bat you connect with her and can relate to the stories even if you aren't a church planting wife. I am a minister's wife so I have encountered every challenge she has but I have a small business and felt that it connected to that. I really believe that any woman at any stage of life and in any situation of life will find this book encouraging, challenging and convicting.
I loved the questions at the end of each chapter and the scripture to look at. The interviews with church planting wives throughout the book were honest and encouraging. I love that Christine gets to heart and it isn't a list of things to do in ministry. It gets at our hearts and really meets any woman where she is at.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Valuable Resource for Any Wife

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While firmly focused on the specific needs and challenges of a church planting wife, Christine also manages to create a valuable resource for ANY wife who seeks to follow Christ in varying circumstances and callings. She makes use of solid biblical principles, intimate personal experiences, and wise counsel from other planting wives in an accessible book that doesn't back down from asking each of us the crucial questions regarding the state of our hearts. Through Christine's willingness to share her deepest attitudes and struggles, we hear her say clearly that a heart and mind set on Jesus will see victory and joy no matter what we face.
I'm so glad to have read this book (even though I am not a church planting wife), and I immediately thought of a long list of women who would benefit as well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The BEST book I've read for ministry encouragement

Date:January 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tina
Location:Bothell, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biblically solid. Riveting. Poignant. Honest. Convicting. Warm. Insightful. Incredibly encouraging... Christine selflessly and effectively exposes her own heart for the sake of the hearts of her readers. What a gift! She doesn't just theorize about how to best live a called-out life, she has learned it first hand and breaks it down very practically.
As a church planting wife of almost 5 years I found myself on almost every page, as if I were reading my own journals. So refreshing! Yet, the wisdom in it's pages speaks to any woman seeking to live a godly life. If you are not a church planting wife, please do not dismiss this book.
A couple of noteworthy aspects:
1. Interviews with various other church planting wives give even more perspective to certain topics.
2. The "Cultivating Your Heart" section at the end of each chapter encourages reflection and further Bible reading around the particular chapter's theme.
Are you excited about your call to ministry? Read this book. Are you weary or discouraged in ministry? Read this book. Have you felt lonely, fearful, stressed? Have you been wounded by people in the church? Are you uncertain about your roles or struggle with priorities? Do you wonder how to better encourage your spouse? Do you long to live a more free and authentic life in the Lord? Do you want to better understand a friend who is in the ministry? Read. This. Book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for all women!

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dana
Location:Tyler, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christine Hoover has written a book that is an absolute necessity for every woman who is a church planter's wife or a pastor's wife, but it is also an incredible handbook for any woman seeking to live her life according to God's will. Christine has written with an honesty, openness, and vulnerability so that others may benefit from her journey in learning to live in faith and complete dependence on God. The areas she discusses in the book are ones all women struggle with: fear, stress, pride, discouragement, hurts, obedience to God's will, support to our husbands, and friendships. Christine shares personal stories supported with biblical insights and scriptures that truly encourage the reader and provide "help and hope for her heart." What a shame I didn't have this book years ago!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book!

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even though I am not a church-planting wife (or a wife at all, for that matter...yet!), I have gained encouragement and truth from the things that Christine shares in this book. She is very open and honest about life, and it has encouraged me in my own journey.
Christine's book also gives me insight into what my pastor's and other ministry wives go through. It gives me new compassion for them, as well as makes me aware of ways to specifically minister to them. And I also think this book is a good resource for many women in ministry, even for those who are not pastors' wives.
Whether you are a church-planting pastor's wife or not, Christine pinpoints the need for complete dependence on God within this journey we call life. And this is something I think we can all learn from. No matter what, people will fail us. Friends. Family. Even husbands sometimes. And we as women must go to God for our value and worth. Yes, God places people in our lives to encourage us and speak life to our hearts. These are gifts, wonderful gifts. But the ultimate source of our strength will always have to be God.
Christine's honesty in the struggles and lessons learned from being a wife in ministry is both refreshing and challenging. It lets those in ministry know that they are not alone, and it offers HOPE.
As someone who has a heart to bless the lives of those in ministry, let me say this: Your support of your pastor's wife is so needed! Read this book, and give a copy to your pastor's wife, too! It will encourage her heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tangible tools for living & leading from grace

Date:January 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melissa Deming
Location:Pittsburgh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Church Planting Wife, by Christine Hoover, shares the story of how God shaped the author's heart through the unique struggles common to church planting.
Although written to and about wives of church planters, the book resonates with any ministry-minded woman. The book centers on the importance of a woman guarding her heart - and the role a correctly-oriented heart plays in life and ministry. The book is organized as follows: a dependent heart, a helping heart, a connected heart, a sacrificial heart, a faithful heart, a peaceful heart, an undivided heart, and a healed heart. Each chapter contains biblical emphasis as well as real-life examples of life on the ministry field.
The book is peppered with hilarious and convicting personal experiences with which most women can identify. Along those lines, Christine offers helpful insight on how to make friends, how to correctly view the role of a church planting wife, how best to help your husband, how to set boundaries around the home and family, how to balance ministry stress, and how to deal with those pesky sin problems of pride, fear, and resentment. 
Who should buy this book? Any missions-minded woman, particularly those involved in any sort of church planting ministry. This book challenges all women to live and lead out of their relationship with God. Additionally, all church planting wives! Regardless of where you are in the church planting process, this book will encourage you, incite your faith at God's provision, and give you tangible tools for facing the church planting challenge.
And please, church planters, buy this book for your wife! Your wife has unique obstacles she will face alongside you in church planting (think discouragement, exhaustion, depression, loneliness, etc.) and this book will help her benefit your marriage, your home, and your ministry.
Loved this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect book for church planting wives

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is perfect for women who are obeying their call into church planting. The Church Planting Wife book came into my life at the perfect time. My husband and I are in the beginning stages of our church plant. It can be a challenge to learn a new community and plant a church. As I read Christine’s words, I soon learned I am not alone. Her words of wisdom encouraged me. God has a plan for each one of His children and knowing that I am not alone in this is a great comfort. Not only will you learn of the author’s journey as a church planting wife, she interviews other women who truly know what it is like to be a wife of a minister. If you wonder what church planting is like for other women, question your ability to minister or just need some encouragement, this is the book for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is such a great help for the heart of a

Date:January 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Holly
Location:Austin, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are 4 years in to planting our first church. This book would have been amazing had I read it in the pre-planting stages and it is still amazing for my heart as I read it 4 years in. Christine 'get's it'. She 'gets it' from the perspective that only a church planting / ministry wife can 'get it'. Her stories, the realness of her own heart and the authenticity in which she writes draws you in makes you realize you are NOT alone in the process. It's a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must Read!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Melinda
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How important was reading "What to Expect When You're Expecting" to you when you were pregnant? That is how important this book is if you are a church planting wife, ministry wife, missionary wife, or a woman follower of Jesus. --Mel (pastor's wife)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Krysta
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb book! Christine Hoover certainly knows the ins and outs, the ups and downs of being a church planting wife.
I would highly recommend this book!
As a seminary wife about to become a church planting wife I feel encouraged, strengthened, and prepared for the church planting adventure ahead. Hoover's tells you the good and the bad, very real and authentic. She answered the deep questions I had about being a Church Planter's Wife.
This book is just what I was looking for. You will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read for every church-planter!

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy R
Location:Ozark, MO
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christine Hoover hit the nail on the head with this fantastic book. My husband and I planted a church in September of 2012, and it has not been an easy road to walk. Reading this book was like sitting down and talking with a new best friend who's been where I am now. Christine doesn't sugar-coat how hard the church-planting life is, but with gentle encouragement, she challenged me to embrace God's calling on my life, and reminded me that the Christian life is one of sacrifice and taking up your cross to follow Jesus. The book is chock-full of great advice on every subject from marriage to friendships to fear and stress, and from a solidly biblical perspective. I wish this book had come out before my husband and I started our church-planting journey. If you are a church-planter, are considering church-planting, or even if you're simply a woman who longs to be recklessly abandoned to God's calling on your life, you should this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Church Planting Wife: Help and Hope for Her Heart
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and Refreshing

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nicki
Location:Evans, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read for every Pastor's wife. It puts words to the pressures and struggles that sometimes we feel and just can't describe. Christine offers encouragement in the fact that you are not alone while giving you Biblical advise that helped see her through. I loved the interviews at the beginning of each chapter where Christine spoke with other Pastor's wives who offered insight to the way they deal with certain issues.
Christine offers the reader a transparent look into the struggles she faced as a church planting wife while offering practical and Biblical advice in seeking God for your Hope and Approval. She can speak (write) with integrity because she has been there. She is honest and down to earth making the reader feel like she's one of your best friends.
I highly recommend this book whether you are planting a church, thinking about planting a church, or several years in!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.