Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Miss Invisible

Thomas Nelson Miss Invisible

Freddie Heinz is a single, 29-year-old plus-size baker/decorator who feels invisible most of the time due to her size and still-single status. With the help of her friend Deborah, a flamboyant caterer, Freddie learns how to become comfortable in her own skin. Includes a Reading Group guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Miss Invisible
Review 1 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
This book was as yummy and satisfying as Freddie's cakes! I am not a "big" girl, but I am smack in the middle, which means I am not one of the "beautiful" people, and I was overweight until recent years. Plus, I still eat dessert every day, whether everybody else likes it or not. Therefore, I could sympathize and empathize with Freddie, who--hallelujah--cared more about her brain than her body size. I adored Deborah and her family, and cheered for Deborah when she helped Freddie find her inner confidence. (Read the scene between Deborah and Freddie's dad--it's a kicker!) Hal and Simon are both great guys, but I like the fact that Laura subtly pointed out that the presence of a man in her life is not what made Freddie/Kate happy or fulfilled (kudos to Freddie on the name change). Read this--one size fits all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2008
Freddie is an overweight baker who is used to being invisible, overlooked, passed over. Hal, the new veterinarian, doesn't mind her size. Neither does Simon, the English chef. So, Freddie's not so invisible anymore. Although she wishes she were invisible where her father is concerned. This is a tale of one woman's self-discovery and healing. Laura Jensen Walker effortlessly conveys the importance of good friends and the ability to be flexible, love yourself and forgive others - not necessarily in that order. "Miss Invisible" will make you think, laugh, sigh and cry regardless of your size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debra
I found this to be a thought provoking book swirled with just the right amount of humor. "Freddie" short for Fredrika is a talented cake decorator. She deals daily with a demanding, demeaning boss. Freddie meets an inspiring Christian woman named Deborah whose friendship helps her discover what a special young woman she really is. Freddie finds release from a lifetime of stereotyped rejection because of her weight, and a true love before the novel ends. This was a delightful story that was hard to put down until completed. Laura Jensen Walker has woven a wonderful tale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cathy Elliott (www.cathyelliottbooks.com)
I have so enjoyed each Walker book, but I consider Miss Invisible a cut above the rest. The writing is seamless and fun. A great example of big-girl chic-lit or would that be chunk-lit? The almost thirty Fredricka 'Freddie' is plagued by other important issues including: a history of abuse from her father and stepmother who always found fault in Freddie, harassment from her boss, being ignored everywhere she goes, and a rocky love-life 'at best'. In fact, call it a non-existent love-life. But Freddies wit and resilience shine through in spite of her lack of self-worth. When God puts Deborah into her path, Freddies world begins to change for the better! The writing was so good, the story so compelling, the setting so enticing, the characters so unique and real, and the situations so gripping. I could not put it down. I carried it with me everywhere, hoping Id need to wait for roadwork or at the Dr.s office. It was that good. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Tonya A
What a great writer!!! I loved this book. It is humorous, thought provoking, and is hard to put down. The message on body image is one that ALL woman need to see and hear. I have passed this one on to my teenage niece.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Paula Oliver
This latest by Laura Jensen Walker is her best yet! She shows the struggles someone who is on the "plus side" of life encounters, as well as the struggle everyone shares to find out who they truly are in Christ. Her characters are FUN- flawed, real human beings, living in a world that is not always kind. I laughed and cried with the people in this book- because I could relate to what they were dealing with, and because of the way Laura portrayed them. I loved Freddie- eating carrot sticks in public, but going home to eat a pint of ice cream. I enjoyed Deborah; her love of life and her acceptance of who she is gave me something to strive for. I really did not like Freddie's father! He was mean-spirited, and I laughed when Deborah put him in his place! I rejoiced with Freddie when she found a man who loved her for who she was, not what she looked like. I wish there was a sequel to look forward to!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Fredericka Brunhilde Heinz has a dress size as substantial as her name and insecurities galore stemming from the disdain from her disciplinarian father and a lifetime of being invisible to the "beautiful" people in her world. Freddie is not one to rock the boat but when she meets Deborah, a woman larger than life in every possible way, who exudes confidence and challenges Freddie to break free from her self-imposed isolation, Freddie slowly begins to embrace life and take some risks.However, when a good-looking vet and a charming British chef start to show interest in Freddie, her expectations of rejection multiply - will she be able to let go of her past hurts or let fear spoil any chance she has for a future of hope?Miss Invisible is a glorious book, challenging all women (and men) to embrace their individuality and love life! Laura Jensen Walker accurately portrays the anxiety most women feel, regardless of size, about their appearance and the lie we all swallow that love, friendship and acceptance can only be achieved by the "perfect" outward appearance. Each character is portrayed with such sensitivity and reality that you feel Freddie's pain, Deborah's joie de vis and Hal and Simon's hesitation and attraction. The ending was not formulaic in any way and is both refreshing and satisfying. Miss Invisible is a must read for women of all sizes :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2007
Oh I loved loved LOVED this book! The story is excellent, the characters are great, there's so much food in the book! I could really relate to Freddie. I'm not a big girl, but neither am I a size 6 either. I felt the same way she does about how smaller girls always get the attention from society and everyone else gets ignored. And I was really glad that Freddie showed realistic reactions to those girls that wear low cut jeans and belly baring shirts. I loved that there is a character named Deborah in this book. Usually when I read a book where there is a character that shares my name she usually gets it shorten down to Debbie (ugh). Not so here, and what an awesome character Deborah was. I wish I had a friend like her in my life. I really felt for Freddie when her father kept insulting her throughout her life. It really hurt during the party when he did it to her face right in front of everyone. I'm glad that the author did not feel that this book needed to have a tidied ending where Freddie and her father magically get along. I would not have believed it if it was written that way, it would have been completely unrealistic. I just loved how real this book is. Christians do tend to be prejudiced in regards to appearance no matter what they say. My only complaint with the story (and it's small one) is that as soon as Freddie posts up one blog entry, she gets thousands of hits. I didn't find that realistic because as a blogger myself it's hard to get a bunch of readers with only one entry. I can see after awhile her getting a bunch of fans, but how did thousands of people just randomly stumble across her blog in one night?Other than that teeny tiny thing, I really loved this book. And I totally did not feel guilty about eating ice cream while reading it either! This is one of the best chick lit books I have ever read, Christian or secular. This is a perfect book to pass along to non Christian readers as well, it's not preachy at all, just a fun good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2007
Freddie is big, brainy, and being ignored by the rest of the "world." When Deborah takes her under her wing and teaches her there are colors other than black and that God loves us just the way we are, I wanted to cheer! I've been a Freddie most of my life - always thinking that smaller is better and more beautiful. Funny thing is, it's been so long since I was smaller that my friends only know me this way and love me anyway. Laura Jensen Walker has written a wonderfully witty character and story that you won't want stop reading 'til it's over. Go Laura!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sala
This is a truly entertaining book. I laughed many times. I'm not sure if I pictured the book ending the way it did, but it's not my story to tell. Overall - I'm glad I got the chance to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Miss Invisible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
CeeCee
Come along with Freddie as she lets go of her old self and grows into her must-needed, not-a-day-to-late new self. You will also laugh along with Freddie as she encounters and befriends the lovable Deborah. Tip: Have munchies in hand or your stomach will grumble! The food descriptions will have you raiding your fridge.Enjoyable quick read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.