Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hot Flashes & Cold Cream

Thomas Nelson Hot Flashes & Cold Cream

Midlife isn't a crisis for Maggie Hayden until a former classmate fails to recognize her. With an empty nest, a sagging body, and a sputtering marital spark, she knows she has to do something. But what? Will Maggie trust God to renew her inwardly---day by day---even while she's "wasting away" on the outside? 320 pages, softcover from WestBow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Review 1 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margery Anderson
"Hot Flashes and Cold Cream" By Diann Hunt.This book is hilarious. It has all the things that every woman thinks when going through menapause about herself and husband. This is a good book for discussion in a "Book Club". I know you will get a kick out of it and learn so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Mary
After reading the reviews I ordered this book for the church library. I was disappointed, and did not find the laughter I'd hoped/expected to find. I agree with Pamela who wrote a review Feb. 07. It has redeeming qualities - Jade, for example - but I cannot give it top rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Marchione
I love Diann Hunt! She is absolutely wonderful. Although this book comes before "Hot Tropics and Cold Feet", you really don't have to read them in order. The characters in this book are so relatable, and fun. I enjoyed this book so much and I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Shontell Bell
Very good book about how we women tend to perceive ourselves as we grow older and also how we over sometimes make "mountains out of molehills" in our lives.Starts a little slow, but definitely ends up a good read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Janet
I highly recommend reading this book. I laughed out loud which drove my husband nuts as he didn't have a clue. I'm currently reading HOT TROPICS AND COLD FEET. The adventures of Lily, Louise, Jill and Maggie fill my reading time with joy.I so hope Diann Hunt continues to write this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 8, 2007
So I'm not a baby boomer. In fact I'm pretty much the same age as the kids of the main characters in this book. You'd think I wouldn't enjoy it because of the generation gap. WRONG. I totally enjoyed this fun and humorous book that women of all ages will enjoy. What I found most interesting about the book was how insecure most women, even Christian women, really are. It seems that everyone is afraid about losing their husband to someone who is younger or who they think looks better than them. Women are always comparing themselves and therefore creating low self esteem. Of course men don't help out with this, as Gordon doesn't really reassure Maggie that he doesn't go for the blond type. The writing is top notch, I felt like I was a part of the story. I also really enjoyed seeing Maggie's relationship grow with Lily. And it was cool to read a mom drinking frappachinos and ending up working behind the counter in a coffee shop. I also love the Chihuahua who pees when nervous! I think it'd be cool to have her as a mom. There are some times where I would get frustrated with her actions, like her getting ticked at her daughter for being friends with her mother in law or when she stalks her best friend while she's dating. But then I realize that Maggie is having empty nest syndrome and is therefore frustrated with her life. It makes me want to learn to make sure to take time to enjoy my own life, and not just focus it on others so that way I know that I am meaningful. Excellent mom/lady lit book that everyone will enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rayne
This book does capture the insecurities of menopause very well. However, I found that at times the humor spilled over into something close to self-loathing, becoming definitely un-funny if not agonizing. Some of the book is very good, though: particularly the story of Jade, the description of Maggie's sweet, sad little dog, and the saga of Maggie's new job at the coffee shop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2006
Diann Hunt uses humor and zany situations to make us laugh at aging. Maggie Hayden gets herself into one scrape after another with her misguided caring. Hunt drew me into this story so well, Maggie became real. I cared about her. So much that there were times I wanted to slap her. She drove me nuts with her inability to get a grip, yet I laughed all the way. Besides having a wonderfully intriguing title, Hot Flashes and Cold Cream is a page-turner of a book. You can't wait to see what Maggie gets herself into next. Thanks you, Diann, for this hilarious romp through aging.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2006
Customer Avatar
RobinCaroll
This book had me laughing aloud, reading parts aloud to my husband, and left me with an uplifting feeling! It's awesome. Even though I'm a good decade younger than the character, Maggie, I related to her--laughed and cried with her ups and down. The characterization is BEYOND excellent and I so enjoyed visiting Charming, the world in which Diann created for the reader to immerse themselves in. I'm mailing my copy to my best friend--the friendship between Maggie and Lily literally had me missing my best friend something fierce. GET THE BOOK! I give it my highest rating! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Flashes & Cold Cream
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2005
Customer Avatar
Peggy Everroad
At last there's something for us boomers! Hot Flashes and Cold Cream has a heroine I could relate to. Think of the antics of a middle aged Lucy and Ethel. I totally related to everything Maggie was going through when she looked in the mirror and didn't recognize the girl she saw looking back. While the book is hilarios, it held a lot of subtle truth about image and self worth. Don't miss this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.