Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation

Moody Publishers Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation

Why study the mysterious writings in Revelation? Does the end of the story really matter? No book in Scripture has been more misunderstood or misinterpreted than John's prophecy. Pastor John MacArthur removes doubt and the cloud of obscurity to reveal the only New Testament text that includes a promised spiritual blessing for those who heed its message. This book is compiled from the two best-selling volumes from the MacArthur New Testament Commentary Series.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Review 1 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Ignores Reformation (historicist) interpretations

Date:December 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mizephyr
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately too many in this day and age have accepted futurism and preterism when it come s the interpretation of Daniel and Revelation. The Reformers followed true historicism principles which properly lead to correct conclusions. THe scriptures are not primarily about the Jews, but Jesus Christ Who is the Answer to all questions concerning humanity and sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:January 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Vicki Lewis
Location:Hobart, Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book as a Bible Study along with John MacArthur's book, "Revelation" which lines up well with the book "Because the Time is Near". The book is an excelent read even if you aren't doing a Bible Study class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kali
Location:Kalulushi
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good introductory commentary to the book of Revelations. It is Premil & Pretrib, written in a very easy to read format. It is a popular commentary that anyone can pick up and profit from immensely.
Great stuff
Kali
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In depth annalys of revelation

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
bill
Location:Arlington Heights, Ill
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best books on the subject I've ever used. Has been extremely helpful in leading a verse by verse study on the Book of Revelation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Easy to read

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Suzie
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to read. Very helpful in understanding the book of Revelations. Can look forward in excitement - no dread except for those lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Shaw
Location:Tecumseh, OK
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revelation is the most neglected book in all of Scripture. Yet it is the only book in the Bible that has a blessing associated with reading, hearing and doing what is found in it. Obviously we are blessed for doing those things with entire Bible but Revelation specifically gives one. Revelation begins (1:3) and ends (22:7) with that blessing. So we need to give as much attention to Revelation as we do any other book of the Bible, yet so many of us don’t.
John MacArthur has written "Because the Time is Near" to help fellow Christians understand Revelation. As he always does he writes in a manner is understandable to the average reader. He takes the deep things found in a text and explains them in clear and concise way. Another given with MacArthur is his use of Scripture to explain Scripture. You get more cross references in this commentary than with most.
For the sections of Revelation that are do not have consensus on its meaning, MacArthur give a variety of views of the passage, then tells you his. Whether you agree with his final conclusion you will appreciate his handling of the text.
MacArthur breaks each topic found in Revelation into sub-topics to take the reader deeper into the text, a writing style that is invaluable. It makes studying this book easier and to come back to later.
This is not part of his commentary set that includes two volumes of commentary on Revelation (those go even deeper into the text). With that said I highly recommend this book. You will gain so much insight into the last book of the Bible you will want to read the other editions found in the aforementioned commentary set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not so good.

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
John MacArthur is one of the greatest authors in the world today. This book does not meet his usually high standards. True, I don't share his dispensationalism but I can still give respect to dispensational commentaries on Revelation (such as Donald Grey Barnhouse's). This one just wasn't very good.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Hebert
An excellent and understandable study that walks though the Book of Revelation. My family enjoyed it immensely and I've given it as gifts to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Commentary on the Book of Revelation!

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Orozco
Location:Norwalk, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John MacArthur once again masterfully dissects a Book that is filled with such mystery.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
M Miller
An easy-to-follow verse-by-verse explanation of the text. This is a great tool to go along side a Bible Study.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Chance
This is a very detailed and in depth book concerning Revelations. Very well written and researched
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brenda Bell
I use this for our womens bible study. I use it as a companion to John MacArthur's Book of Revelations study guide. Very informative.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Penny Ward
I have been reading many of John MacArthur's books and this one is excellent. It explains Revelations like I have never understood it before. Thank you John MacArthur. I would recommend this book for everyone to read!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Clark Whitmire
Pastor MacArthur once again delivers a truly understandable source of material on the Book of Revelation. A must read for serious Bible students.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 8, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rae Baer
I'm using this book as a companion guide as I prepare to teach Revelation. I appreciate the details John MacArthur gives historically and culturally. I also appreciate the extensive cross-referencing to Old Testament prophecies. It will save me hours of preparation time!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathy P
Revelation is a book that frightens and confounds so many Christians. John MacArthur is able to lay it out so that it is easy to understand and rather than frightening, one is able to find comfort in those scriptures. Granted, he may offer his opinion in places, but until we all stand before the L*RD himself, not one of us truly knows it all. I consider this book to be a blessing to myself and my family as it has taken the cloak of mystery off of the Book of Revelation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Anderson
John MacArthur is one of my favorite ministers. He makes the Book of Revelation easy to understand and brings so much enlightenment to the study. If you want a in depth study of Revelation, this is the book to buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Roger D. Christian
The study in Revelation is complete and to the point. I dislike comments refering to modern day theologists.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Dennis Napier
I will recommend this book because John does a very good job at relaying the equality of justice administered by God starting with the church and continuing to the world. He remains consistent in his application of scriptures to confirm the association of the book of revelation with the old and new testament. I will warn that John also tends to make statements that are obvious opinions, but he does not state that it is his opinion. However, if the reader has a minimum understanding of the scriptures, it will easily seen that they are statements that are unique to his culture. It is easy to read this book and I recommend it as a starter book to enter into group study or individual enhancement. Enjoy! I certainly have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Because the Time is Near: John MacArthur Explains the Book of Revelation
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2007
Customer Avatar
E. Spackma
Revelation is a tough book to understand, but this book had some great insight and it really helped to show the broad context of revelation within the rest of the Bible. MacArthur also has a good way of dealing with passages that are interpreted different ways (or controversial), he explains that one may interpret the passage as such and such but there is more evidence for a certain interpretation and he explains the evidence. Finally, his exegetical insight is great; such as the order of the letters to the churches is in the order a messenger would travel to those cities on the postal route of the day. This book is highly recommended for anyone studying the Bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.