Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Moody Publishers Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman

Moody Publishers Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman

Politics doesn't matter to 5-year-old Anita Dittman---she only knows her Aryan father is abandoning her, her Jewish mother, and her sister, Hella. Amid Hitler's persecution, they're forced to leave everything they cherish---including each other. Based on a true story of shattered dreams, the nightmare of Nazi Germany, and God's faithfulness. Ages 8 to 12. 150 pages, softcover from Moody.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Review 1 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I ordered!!!

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Terry
Location:Simi Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am most pleased with not only the quality of the product/books I bought, but also with the ease of ordering it and simplicity of finding it in the first place when I went to the website. I was also impressed with how quickly my order was processed and my receipt of the books. I was in a real time crunch considering my children needed them for school the very next week and Christianbook.com lived totally up to their claims of great service. Once again Thank you very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2010
I almost skipped this book because I already love Corrie ten Boom's book about the same period. If someone else is considering skipping this book, I would like to encourage you that they give different perspectives.Where Corrie's story tells how the Holocaust crept into the lives of Christians, Anita's story tells how the Holocaust crept into the lives of Jews (in particular, a Christian Jewish mother). Reading both books created a fuller understanding of "how this could happen" from both sides. It was worthwhile considering who we would be if it were to slowly happen today, from those who felt it all would go away soon, to those who risked their lives taking a stand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Bumgardner
I was amazed at the strength such a young girl could possess and the new found faith she had in Christ. That faith carried her through very horrific circumstances with a love for her Jesus that was amazing. It was very humbling. I have now ordered Anita's complete biography and can not wait to review this as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Leah
This is an amazing book, and after I finished reading it, my mom did! It is a book I read in basically 1 day, and it is a sad story of how the Jews were persecuted, but at the same time, it's full of hope and life! Our Heavenly Father took care of Anita and her mom, even her friends and other family. It is so wonderful to hear all the miracles and see what God can really do for those who love Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Diane H. Pitts
Anita Dittman thought she was merely a young girl who loved teddy bears and ballerina shoes, but she knew differently when her father walked out and Hitler's Holocaust strode in. I have been captivated by Wendy Lawton's Daughter of the Faith Series, but this time I couldn't put Shadow of HIs Hand down until I finished. I ached for this fragile girl who lived under the shadow of Hitler but survived under the greater hand of God.I highly recommend this for young and older readers alike who are seeking examples of moral courage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Eileen Zygarlicke
Author Wendy Lawton does a superb job bringing to life the true account of Anita Dittman, holocaust survivor.The quick pace, realistic dialogue, and character development makes this a book most young people will read without wanting to stop. All of Lawtons books are well written, but this may be her finest in the series. As in the case with her previous works, Lawton includes a glossary to help children learn unfamiliar words
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2004
Customer Avatar
Teresa Slack---Author of; Streams of Mercy
Shadow of His Hand is the story of Anita Dittman, a young girl who survives Hitler's Nazi Germany and the Holocaust. Trials begin early in young Anita's life when her own father rejects her, favoring her older sister over her. Soon Anita, her sister, and mother are cast out of their home by their Aryan father who says he will support them financially, but ultimately does not.One Easter Sunday, Anita attends church with friends and learns of a Heavenly Father who will never leave her or forsake her. For the first time in her life, Anita feels protected and understood. Her life rapidly deteriorates into a lack of food, no home of her own, poor education possibilities, and little hope. Through everything, Anita clings to her newfound faith and belief in her Heavenly Father that he is with her always.Wendy Lawton's Daughters of the Faith series is a must read for any young person. Her stories offer hope and encouragment and an understanding of what young women have gone through to exercise their faith. I highly recommend this series. Shadow of His Hand proves the series just keeps getting stronger with each book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
Nanette Thorsen-Snipes
Shadow of His Hand moves the reader in a way that rarely happens in the 8 to 12 age group. Reminiscent of Corrie ten Booms The Hiding Place, Shadow of His Hand is based on the actual events of Anita Dittman before and during the Holocaust. The story permeates the reader with fear of what will happen to Anita and a hope because the shadow of Gods hand covers her. As Anita grows closer to the Lord, her faith is tested. Almost from the beginning, she faces trials, which include near starvation to fighting hundreds of bedbugs and other vermin at a cramped apartment to her encampment at various places, including an old farm, where she works at hard labor. The only things that sustain her are God, and her hope of being reunited with her mother, Mutti.In my estimation, Shadow of His Hand is one of the finest books in the series. Lawtons well-crafted scenes are seamlessly written. In many scenes, Anitas emotional and physical pains are felt by the reader. When Anitas blistered foot becomes infected, and eventually turns into massive blood poisoning, the reader feels every step she takes until she gets to a hospital. When a nurse turns a blind eye, almost letting her die, the reader suffers with her.This book is sure to be a classic. It is a memorable story of an eventful time. I feel certain it will be locked into the memories of those who read it, and for this generation, become a story that will live in their hearts foreverjust like Corrie ten Booms books live in an older generations heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2004
Customer Avatar
Marti Suddarth
As the Nazis power grows in pre-World War II Germany, Anita Dittmans childhood falls apart, one piece at a time. Abandoned by her father because her mother is Jewish, Anita and her mother are moved and watched by the Nazis. At school, Anita faces ridicule, and, because she is half-Jewish, is forced to give up ballet. She and her mother must face scarcity of food and forced labor, but still, their faith in God grows. Author Wendy Lawton doesnt shirk from the horrors of Hitlers final solution but tells her story with sensitivity and respect both for her readers and for the people whose lives she recounts. Middle readers will be captivated. This book, perhaps the best of the "Daughters of Faith" series, would also make an excellent supplement to study units on World War II.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shadow of His Hand: A Story Based on the Life of Holocaust Survivor Anita Dittman
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jan
This book is so realistic we almost feel like we were there, but it's also very inspiring and encourages us to see God's hand at work in our own lives no matter how bad things may seem. The writing is excellent, as you'd expect from Wendy Lawton..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.