Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3

WaterBrook Press Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3

Posing as a beggar, Thomas escapes Magnus after fifteen men, who are calling themselves the Priests of the Holy Grail, arrive and take control of the castle through wondrous acts and apparent miracles.

With the help of his longtime friend Gervaise, Thomas sets out on a journey that leads him to the ancient Holy Land. Unaware that Katherine and Hawkwood are watching over him, Thomas is tested in his beliefs and comes face to face with the ancient power that the Merlins and Druids have long been searching for.
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Review 1 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Mystery of Magnus

Date:March 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
BONDing over BOOKS
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever felt that you were destined for greatness, for a purpose not yet revealed? Have you ever been or wanted to be a part of something, maybe a movement or a cause that could change the course of history? Well if that's not an option, the next best thing is to read about it.
The Martyr's Fire - Book Three of the Merlin's Immortals series by Sigmund Brouwer is one of those books. This mystery is set in Medieval England with the main character, Thomas; a strong supporting cast that include Immortals and Druids and the influence of the church. As with any suspenseful novel there is trouble in the land, a coup of sorts, unrequited love and the backdrop of a once Camelotian-like "island castle called Magnus and by extension the Kingdom around it." There is one major revelation...but you have got to pay attention, or you might miss it. (Spoiler alert...it has to do with Merlin, the same Merlin associated with King Arthur).
Book Three opens with Magnus coming under siege by the dreaded Druids (false sorcerers who use darkness and secrecy as the way to power). Thomas vows to reclaim and reconquer Magnus, but doesn't know he is being watched, assisted and protected by the Immortals (those "raised from birth to fight the evil spawned by generations of a secret society of Druids"). The storyline follows Thomas through many adventures that eventually lead him to the truth about his birth and who he is ultimately destined to become. Although it's Book Three, Martyr's Fire can easily be a stand-alone book.
Thomas is driven to achieve one thing and he has vowed to die trying. As the truth unravels he is reunited with an old friend, his mentor. Will he/they succeed?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Looking forward to the final installment

Date:February 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When Priests of the Holy Grail show up in Magnus, Thomas flees the castle and sets out on a journey to the Holy Land in search of answers. He runs into Katherine along the way and is convinced that she is a Druid. Katherine, however, is convinced that Thomas is the Druid. And so they reluctantly partner up, even though they cannot trust the other.
This in book three in the series, and while I enjoyed the continuing story, this book was filled with traveling and waiting for the next big thing to happen. So that felt a bit anti-climactic in the end. But I still enjoyed the characters and the unfolding mystery. These books are very well written and so short that I can read them in a day. Perhaps they’ll publish them all in one volume at some point. Looking forward to the final installment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I must say that I had the hardest time getting into this book. The chapters aren't very long, but I was not drawn in at all like I thought I would be. Here's the description from the back of the book:
Will this dangerous quest lead the outcast Orphan King toward an ancient secret - or to certain destruction?
Posing as a beggar, Thomas escapes Magnus afer fifteen men, who are calling themselves the Priests of the Holy Grail, arrive and take control of the castle through wondrous acts and apparent miracles. With the help of his longtime friend Gervaise, Thomas sets out on a journey that leads him to the ancient Holy Land. Unaware that Katherine and Hawkwood are watching over him, Thomas is tested in his beliefs and comes face to face with the ancient power that the Merlins and Druids have long been searching for.
About 50 pages into the book it started to get really good. I finally couldn't put the book down. Unfortunately it wasn't easy to get into, so I personally wouldn't recommend this book or it's other ones. I was frustrated that this wasn't the last book - there are more. You don't necessarily need to read the previous books in this series to know what is going on.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a fine read

Date:December 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
wordsmith
Location:Grants Pass, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sig Brouwer writes a fine book. This book should be read in sequence in order to get the most from it. Having read Magnus years ago, I found this equally entertaining. It is wholesome, full of adventure, and fun to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having read the first two books in the "Merlin's Immortals" series, I had high hopes for "Martyr's Fire". Overall, those hopes were met. More story development, a bit of surprise, some action. It might just have been me, but it took me a little longer to get into the story. Once I did get hooked though it was hard to put down! I made guesses about events and characters and a few of those guesses were seemingly demolished. Can't wait to read the next book in the series and see if my guesses are right! Definitely read this book if you've been journeying with Thomas. It will answer a few questions you may have been left with, but it will likely give you more!
Side note: I like how easy it is, at least for me, to relate to Thomas. He's just a guy looking for answers but doesn't know exactly who to trust or where to turn.
Disclaimer: I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it! Want more!

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mommalisa87
Location:Lexington, Kentucky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Time for another book review. I was really excited about this one because I’m a big fan of Sigmund Brouwer’s kid detective series The Accidental Detectives. (Yes, I do realize that I just admitted to still reading and enjoying children’s literature. This book is the first ”grown-up” book I’ve read of Sigmund Brouwer’s.) Anyways, I’ve had my eye on this one for awhile just waiting for it to be released for review. When it was finally available I admit I almost didn’t order it. (I have a very long reading assignment list I’m working on right now.) Then, I decided that since most of those books were nonfiction it might be nice to have a little fiction break.
I’m so glad I did.
This book is the third in a series so in the beginning I felt a little lost. I quickly got up to speed and was caught up in the story. There was a great sense of mystery underlying the whole book without being overbearing. The character were easy to like, or dislike, and the whole story was well written in my opinion. It was an easy read, but didn’t lack substance. This book had all the characteristics I liked about the Accidental Detectives series–mystery, suspense, surprise, great characters–with the added bonus of being written for adults. I really liked that it was clean, as it is getting harder and harder to find adult books that are free from inappropriate scenes and language. Very excited to see what the next book in the series will contain as the ending to this book was a little bit of a cliffhanger. In the meantime I will definably be going back to read the previous two books!
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinion expressed are my own.”=
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
This review is fromMartyr's Fire - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will this dangerous quest lead the outcast Orphan King toward an ancient secret—or to certain destruction?
Posing as a beggar, Thomas escapes Magnus after fifteen men, who are calling themselves the Priests of the Holy Grail, arrive and take control of the castle through wondrous acts and apparent miracles. With the help of his longtime friend Gervaise, Thomas sets out on a journey that leads him to the ancient Holy Land. Unaware that Katherine and Hawkwood are watching over him, Thomas is tested in his beliefs and comes face to face with the ancient power that the Merlins and Druids have long been searching for.
Enter the world of Merlin’s Immortals, where ancient secrets and evil conspiracies take you on a breathless adventure of discovery, intrigue, and hidden knowledge.
My Review:
The adventure begins with Thomas posing as a beggar, as he tries to escape the castle. Men have arrived in the castle claiming to do great wonders and miracles. While the town is enamored by the priests of the Holy Grail, Thomas is seeking to save his people from the evil that seeks to destroy them all. Thomas is unknowingly being followed, and though his intentions are honorable, they all live in times that are uncertain and unpredictable; everyone must be careful and trust no one but themselves.
Brouwer definitely left us hanging with his previous two novels. I know that doesn't seem like a favorable thing to say, but I really looked forward to how the story was going to end. The cast of characters is certainly one of my favorites in a very long time; Thomas, with a destiny that is forever spinning out of control; Katherine, who watches over him yet never reveals much about herself; and Hawkwood, a keeper of secrets, stealthy of foot and one who possesses the ability to become someone else.
With great secondary characters, what could have been misinterpreted as a weak filler novel actually turned out to be one of my favorites in this series. Because I already knew some of the background story, all that awaited was the remainder of the other puzzle pieces. And simply because of that, I highly anticipated this novel, and was not disappointed. Brouwer's writing style is unique; he draws you in and makes you a fan for life.
This book was provided by the publisher through CSFF for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction for Teens and Adults

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
New Christian Fiction
My synopsis:
We find our young hero, Thomas, on the throne of Magnus Castle nearly a year after he defeated the previous ruler in a bloodless overthrow. Thomas knew that being the Lord of Magnus was his birthright, but now that he is in that position, he is not quite sure what to do with it. He knows that Magnus holds many secrets and he knows the people around him who know those secrets, but no one is willing to share. There are two secret societies vying for control of Magnus, but both are afraid that Thomas is loyal to the other side. Therefore, neither will share their secrets with him. Thomas is alone, which he prefers.
In the midst of all of this intrigue, Thomas is also struggling with his belief and faith in God. He grew up in a monastery where the monks were anything but Godly. Therefore, he has given up on God and is determined to lead his life with his own strength and considerable knowledge. While different factions are trying to sway Thomas' allegiance, one elderly caretaker at the church is only concerned with his soul. Thomas asks for his advice about many things, but only receives advice about his faith. In one of these exchanges Thomas receives this advice. "It is a leap into the darkness, Thomas. God awaits you on the other side. First your heart finds Him; then your mind will understand Him more clearly so that all evidence points toward the unshakable conclusion you could not find before, and after that leap, your faith will grow stronger with time. But faith, any faith, is trust and that small leap into darkness."
My Review:
First of all I need to say that I received a free copy of this book from Waterbrook Press in exchange for an honest review.
I found and read the first two books in the series so that I knew what was going on. I'm glad I did. Even though the author does some review in this book there are certainly some important details in the earlier books that are helpful. I initially had my doubts about this series since it is recommended for ages 12 and up. I was pleasantly surprised about the complexity of the story and depth of some of the main characters. This series is definitely suitable for adults who enjoy historical fiction, especially as it regards to the Arthurian Legend. Even though we are removed many centuries from Arthur and Merlin, the two secret societies vying for power both trace their histories back to Merlin.
One of the best things I liked about this book (and the series) is the use of magic. This is not the magic of Harry Potter which relies on summoning dark and demonic powers. Instead, it is the use of science and mechanics to create illusions that bewilder the uneducated and superstitious commoners of the day. This "magic" is only available to members from these two secret societies.
I did enjoy this book and series and certainly would recommend it to both teens and adults.
Suitability:
There is no language or sex to worry about in this series. There is a minimal amount of violence, particularly in battle scenes. Thomas personally abhors violence and fights battles without bloodshed whenever possible. The gory details are left out except in one instance of an intentional poisoning.
There is one aspect of this series that did bother me a little; thinking in terms of a 12-year-old reading it. During the course of this series and particularly in this book, two young women are in love with Thomas. He is physically attracted to both of them, but avoids them because he is not sure who he can trust. There is certainly nothing unseemly, especially in terms of what is prevalent in today's culture. However, I wonder if it would not give the wrong impression about love and lust to a younger tween. It may be more appropriate for slightly older teens. I don't have kids of my own so I may be overreacting a bit. When in doubt parents should read these books first. They are quick and enjoyable reads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An Engaging, Quick Read

Date:October 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
clariail
Location:Mobile, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though I liked the first two books in this series, I enjoyed this one much more. The pacing seemed to be quicker and it moved more smoothly without a lot of what I call 'page filler' that slows down the reading and doesn't seem to do much. About the time that I was starting to get irritated that Thomas couldn't get any answers from Katherine or Hawkwood about what was going on, the answers started to flow a bit more and then a bit more. You don't get the complete answer but you do get enough of one that makes you understand better what the background history is and what is at stake.
Thomas still struggles with the issue of faith but in this book with what takes place, you can see that he is almost there. I like the honesty with which the author has written about his struggle in trusting that there is a God
What I thought was a bit of fun was having Robin Hood make an appearance. I also enjoyed Thomas's puppy Beast which I had totally forgotten from the second book. You are left guessing at the fates of some friends but old friends are found which will all hopefully be explained in further detail in the next book in the series which I will be looking forward to.
A nice, quick read which I would definitely recommend.
I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT book! Loved it!

Date:October 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 3 in the Merlin’s Immortals series continues the story of Thomas as begun in The Orphan King and Fortress of Mist.
Fifteen men who call themselves the Priests of the Holy Grail arrive in Magnus, bringing with them supposed “miracles” and taking control of the castle.
Barely escaping, Thomas begins a journey that will take him to the Holy Land, where he hopes to find answers to his questions. But on the way, Thomas runs into unexpected circumstances. Will the Holy Land hold the answers that Thomas seeks?
This book was just as good, if not better than the previous two. I was glued to the pages! These books are incredibly well-written, excellent reading. I would heartily recommend this book as well as the rest of the series. I can’t wait to read the next one.
I received a free copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It’s almost a little funny how I’ve managed to read all three books in this series. When I first picked up The Orphan King, it was on a whim, and I wasn’t really planning to read the rest of the series. But each of these books managed to be available at just the right time for me to have access to them, and by now I suppose I should finish out the series!
The whole idea that Thomas doesn’t know who is on his team and who isn’t- and so not being willing to trust anyone- kind of drives me up the wall. As the reader, I know that a certain character is a good guy, so I keep wanting to pull out my hair screeching, “Stop fighting this person! They’re okay!” Of course, I know that this isn’t Thomas’s fault. After all, he doesn’t get to see inside other people’s minds the way the reader does. Oh, and did I mention Robin Hood made a cameo appearance in this novel? Bonus points there ;)
However, one thing that I’ve noticed about all three of the Merlin’s Immortals Series books is that it takes me a really long time to become interested in the story. I finally start to really get into it, and then two or three chapters later, the book’s over and I have to wait another year for the next one…and by that time I’ve forgotten what made me so interested in the first place. That’s rather a vicious trap for a novel, I’m afraid. So, really, I’d probably recommend waiting until all the books in the series are out before reading them (they’re very short novels, too- only a little over 200 pages).
I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will this dangerous quest lead the outcast Orphan King toward an ancient secret—or to certain destruction?
Posing as a beggar, Thomas escapes Magnus after fifteen men, who are calling themselves the Priests of the Holy Grail, arrive and take control of the castle through wondrous acts and apparent miracles. With the help of his longtime friend Gervaise, Thomas sets out on a journey that leads him to the ancient Holy Land. Unaware that Katherine and Hawkwood are watching over him, Thomas is tested in his beliefs and comes face to face with the ancient power that the Merlins and Druids have long been searching for.
Enter the world of Merlin’s Immortals, where ancient secrets and evil conspiracies take you on a breathless adventure of discovery, intrigue, and hidden knowledge.
My Review:
The adventure begins with Thomas posing as a beggar, as he tries to escape the castle. Men have arrived in the castle claiming to do great wonders and miracles. While the town is enamored by the priests of the Holy Grail, Thomas is seeking to save his people from the evil that seeks to destroy them all. Thomas is unknowingly being followed, and though his intentions are honorable, they all live in times that are uncertain and unpredictable; everyone must be careful and trust no one but themselves.
Brouwer definitely left us hanging with his previous two novels. I know that doesn't seem like a favorable thing to say, but I really looked forward to how the story was going to end. The cast of characters is certainly one of my favorites in a very long time; Thomas, with a destiny that is forever spinning out of control; Katherine, who watches over him yet never reveals much about herself; and Hawkwood, a keeper of secrets, stealthy of foot and one who possesses the ability to become someone else.
With great secondary characters, what could have been misinterpreted as a weak filler novel actually turned out to be one of my favorites in this series. Because I already knew some of the background story, all that awaited was the remainder of the other puzzle pieces. And simply because of that, I highly anticipated this novel, and was not disappointed. Brouwer's writing style is unique;he draws you in and makes you a fan for life.
This book was provided by the publisher through CSFF for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Martyr's Fire, Merlin's Immortals Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

alternative history

Date:October 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jael
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thomas is now the ruler of Magnus, but not for long when the Priests of the Holy Grail arrive and take control while displaying wondrous acts and miracles, but something deeper and darker is underfoot, and it is up to Thomas to figure it out.
Martyr's Fire takes you back in time when history and fable blur the lines of fact, but that's the beauty of speculative fiction. I enjoyed the world Brouwer recreated. There was a sense of familiarity amid the fantastical. I loved the little details that rooted us in a different time and place like Thomas wearing a piece of fat in tiny cage around his neck to keep the fleas away.
While we have the adventures of Thomas, we see another story unfolding. The clash of the druids and the Immortals, hailing all the way from the time of King Arthur. I loved the concept of the Immortals and how they were connected to Merlin.
I was worried about jumping into book three before I read the others, but I was never confused about what was going on, and the story itself was engaging as I tried to figure out the good guys, bad guys, and where this story was heading. But I'm sure I missed out in the character building of the previous books. The relationships were key. I knew Thomas had a history with the other characters, and it will be interesting to see how their relationships progress in the next book.
One thing that disappointed me was missing the dual between Robin Hood and Thomas. We end one chapter in anticipation of the dual and begin the next chapter with a time lapse and a vague reference to it. 
It was a fun, short read. Maybe a bit too short. Ha! It ended in the middle of things, and with a surprise reunion I'm sure readers of book one and two would definitely appreciate it.
I would recommend to anyone who loves to read young adult, medieval, Arthurian-flavored legends.
In conjunction with the CSSF blog tour, I received a free copy of the book from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.