Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2

David C. Cook Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2

In 1880's Oregon, a boardinghouse teems with the secrets of the women who take refuge there. Beth Roberts believes there are some things a lady never shares. But her fellow townspeople are curious - especially one man with a few mysteries of his own. Can she hide her past to protect her future?
Average Customer Rating:
4.914 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 out of 35100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Review 1 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Historical Fiction

Date:April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
loriweller
Location:Lancaster,Pa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Buttercups is the second book in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series. It follows Blowing on Dandelions but can be read alone and understood. Miralee Ferrell has done it again with this book. It is possibly even better than the first one in the series, and I didn't think that was a possibility. The characters continue in the second one with the focus being on Beth and Jeffrey this time. You still find family relationships, trust issues, faith issues, love, and dealing with a past that is not remembered. There are new characters introduced to the series that have a direct impact on the two main characters. This book is also one that can't be put down once started. I can't wait to read the novella, Forget Me Not, and the next book in the series, Dreaming on Daisies.
I recieved the book from the Book Club Network in exchange for a honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible Christian Historical Romance

Date:March 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Travel back to the 1880’s to visit Baker City, Oregon. In book 1 of this series Katherine Galloway (now Jacobs) has opened a boarding house. In this book we return to that house and get a very detailed look at Beth Roberts, her Aunt Wilma, and Jeffrey Tucker. All three of these people have been staying at the boarding house for an extended period. Other than the fact that this book in set in the same boarding house and a number of the characters from book 1 make an appearance this story stands alone and can be read and enjoyed without having read the first book in the series. Though I do believe that the enjoyment can be enhanced by having read the first book and knowing a little more about these additional characters and how they interact with each other.
Beth has been keeping secrets both from her past and from the present hidden from everyone except for her aunt. She believes that no one would ever understand because no one ever has in the past. As shadowy memories surface, Beth sketches the scenes she sees and is shocked by what-and who-her illustrations reveal.
Jeffrey has kept his own secrets. He doesn’t have the right to pry into Beth’s affairs but he finds himself strangely drawn to her and intrigued by the whiff of mystery surrounding her.
I loved the characters of both Beth and Jeffrey very much. They were wonderfully developed and presented. I had a very heavy heart while I waited to see Beth move past the wounds she had suffered at the hands of others as a child. I really enjoyed the fact that Beth held on to God and even encouraged Jeffrey to draw closer to God himself.
Miralee does an excellent job of exploring the truth that many people who have been horribly wounded in the past hold on to those wounds and can even be consumed by them. It seems to be a part of human nature to exaggerate the wounds that we’ve suffered and let them control our present and future.
I received a free copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Lovely Picture of Love in Oregon

Date:March 24, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Buttercups was a nice trip into the past. This is the second book in the series but can be read as a standalone. However, we are reacquainted with previous characters. Our heroine Beth is a very talented young artist who has been selling her paintings to a women’s magazine under a pen name. She lives with her adoptive aunt at a boarding house in Oregon. Beth has some hurts from the past that are both physical and emotional. She was burned as a child but she only has snippets of memory. Her aunt is not a blood relation. She was given to her when she was a very young girl. For a while Beth was even taken care of by a Native American tribe. She does not remember her family or if and why they may have abandoned her.
Jeffery is a gentleman who is trying to find his place in this world as an author out from the influences of his very successful family. His father, who is a lawyer, wants him to come back to Ohio to take over the family business, something which Jeffery has no desire to do. He happens to be writing for the same magazine who also has accepted Beth’s paintings. He is romantically interested in Beth. However, Beth is not really open to having a relationship for she fears no one will want her due to her burns and also she recently was brokenhearted in a previous relationship.
As Jeffrey and Beth become friends and as she begins to open up to him, the past has decided to step back into the picture in more ways than one. Jeffrey, Beth, and even her aunt have secrets they are each trying to keep hidden. Again, this was a nice stroll in the past and what life living in a boarding house may be like. I am still amazed at how strong the pioneers were to pick up, leave everything, and move out west, knowing there would be hardships. There are some heartbreaking moments in this story, but I really did enjoy reading my first Miralee Ferrell book. I received this book from The Book Club Network and the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An enjoyable historical

Date:March 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A nice historical with a little mystery, a couple of very different romances, and some realistic family dynamics that are well developed and fascinating.
I have to admit that I didn't particularly like, Beth, the heroine. She came across as self absorbed, she deliberately misinterprets people's actions and words, she is naïve to the point of gullible, and waffles in her actions at times. I also found her to be tender-hearted, gentle, sensitive to other people's pain, forgiving, loyal, and strong in her moral character.
I loved Jeffery! He is a good man, he is determined to be independent, kind and gentle, quite understanding, and he also has a sense of humor. He isn't perfect, though, sometimes jumping to conclusions and a bit jealous at times when it comes to a certain girl.
The characters that live in the boarding house are diverse, flawed, quirky, fun, interesting, and enjoyable. There are also some near-villains that are delightfully despicable and the reader is glad when they get their comeuppances.
While I found a couple of the situations in Wishing On Buttercups to be a little implausible, the imagery is very rich and the reader feels transported directly into the story. My little movie-screen-in-my-brain found much to work with in this book and even after I had to put the book down to do other things I found myself replaying scenes and wondering what would happen next. The book does get a little slow in spots but it's worth the time spent, I actually finished it in less than a day.
I will note is that I have not read book one in this series, Blowing On Dandelions, but I really didn't feel out of the loop at all. It can be read as a standalone but I am definitely going to go back and read book one when I get the chance.
Overall Wishing On Buttercups book is a very enjoyable story and any reader that likes historical fiction will likely enjoy this book.
(I received a copy of this book from the Publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome relationship novel!

Date:March 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jeanie
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miralee Ferrell has another new fan! This is the second book of hers that I have read –the first one being Blowing on Dandelions. Wishing on Buttercups is the second book in the ‘Love Blossoms in Oregon’ series, and even though I read Blowing on Dandelions immediately before this, it can definitely be read as a stand-alone book. It is fun, though, to ‘revisit’ the earlier characters and see how they are!
One could call this a historical romance and be correct, but this novel is so much more! Miralee Ferrell delivers the kind of Christian fiction that one can think about and grow from as well as read for enjoyment. The characters’ vertical relationship with the Lord as well as horizontal relationships with each other are demonstrated, showing admirably that only when the vertical is loving and close will the horizontal ones fall into proper order.
Beth Roberts and her Aunt Wilma moved to Baker City, Oregon when most of Wilma Roberts’ money disappeared with Beth’s suitor from where they lived in Topeka, Kansas. While not an ideal solution, Wilma hopes that Beth meet, fall in love with, and marry a well-to-do man as her savings are rapidly dwindling. It is one of several secrets that Wilma has kept from Beth.
Beth has several closely-guarded secrets from everyone except Aunt Wilma. At least one secret is locked away even from her conscious memory.
Jeffery Tucker, another roomer at the boardinghouse, secrets of his own. One secret he revealed is that he is in Oregon to write a book about the West. He has decided to plan a fictional boardinghouse and its residents as the backdrop to that book. He is also looking for an artist who can collaborate with him and provide drawings of western life.
Jeffery has an interest in Beth, in spite of his secrets. Beth, likewise, feels a pull to Jeffery, but has greater “keep out” signs around her secrets. Many challenges arise when the secrets begin to come out, little by little.
Beth believes that God loves her, but has a hard time believing anyone else, particularly a man, would love her. The Lord has been speaking to her heart, and the first time she recognizes Him is when His quiet voice tells her to trust Him – that He will not fail her.
As she grows ever closer to the Lord, she learns that Jeffery has a different attitude about the Lord. He asked Jesus into his heart when young, but feels that the Lord would not bother Himself with the daily affairs of His children. Their ensuing conversation has elements of struggles that I had in the past, and appreciate how Miralee leads their discussions of the Lord going forward.
Will Jeffery and Beth act on their growing feelings, or will their secrets – and faith differences – keep them apart? Beth, who keeps her artistic talent private, has found herself drawing events that seem to be real, yet she cannot recall them. Do they hold a clue for who her parents were; had they abandoned her as she feared? Jeffery’s father arrives in hopes of taking him back east. Dr. Caleb Marshall, an old friend of Aunt Wilma and her late husband, visit Beth and Wilma in Oregon. And to heighten the suspense, Beth’s former fiancé, Brent Wentworth, shows up in town.
The novel races to an outstanding conclusion, with wonderful surprises that put closure on secrets and replace past hurt and shame with a covering of love.
While I love the entire novel, I also appreciate the After Words – specifically, the author’s summary of why she wrote this story. It is unique and personal to the novel, and may open up questions to think about for things not previously noted.
I highly recommend this book for anyone who appreciates historical romance which is rich in family and friend relationships. This would be a book that I would feel completely comfortable to share with young adults and teens. It is the kind of novel that, while looking forward to the next book, leaves the reader with solid Christian responses to living challenges and a sense of satisfaction of time well spent.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Romance, Faith, and Forgiveness

Date:February 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the series. Dreaming on Daisies will be out later as another book in this series. I've read other books by Miralee Ferrell and this is my favorite so far.
Beth Roberts was traveling with her parents on the Oregon Trail with a wagon train. Beth is left behind, she has a serious accident that will scar her for life both physically and mentally. She has a talent that she uses but under a different name. At the boarding house you will meet some of the characters (friends) from Blowing on Dandelions. Nice to visit with them again. This is a stand alone book and when the others are brought in there is just enough background information to keep you up-to-date without giving away the storyline in the previous book. Beth overhears another guest at the boarding house discussing a book he is writing. Beth was becoming attracted to Jeffery Tucker but backed off when she heard about his book. She assumes that he is writing about the people that live in the boarding house and their private lives. There are misunderstandings, miscommunication and more than one romance waiting to bloom. As plot thickens and other characters are introduce I recommend that you have a box of Kleenex handy. You might need them. Beth has to learn to forgive and accept herself before she can truly move on with her life.
I received this through www.bookclub.org to read, review and give my honest opinion. I truly loved this book. The characters have their faith, have their flaws and their friends. I hated to put it down to sleep at night. I highly recommend this book and would love to give it more than 5 stars. Yep, it was that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accept yourself as God sees you!

Date:February 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Wishing on Buttercups" is the second book in the "Love Blossoms in Oregon" series. This book is a work of historical fiction that covers many topics, such as accepting yourself as you are, understanding how God sees us instead of how man sees us, and learning what secrets should one keep to themselves and when is the right time to share them. So many thoughts to ponder!
Miralee Ferrell has done a great job of creating a unique story covering the lives of a group of folks that live in a boarding house together. We see their daily lives and the struggles that they go through, and we understand a bit more about the time period. It's a beautiful story of love and compassion, and learning to trust and communicate. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. I have not read the first book in this series, and was able to follow the storyline without any problem.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:February 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great book by Miralee Ferrell. This is the second book in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series,but can be read as a stand alone book. I read the first book Blowing on Dandelions and it was was great. Love them both and look forward to reading the third book. I love all the characters and how they love, support each other and want to help Beth.
While traveling on the Oregon Trail as a young child with her parents, Beth Roberts is suddenly left alone and suffers a tragic accident that leaves her scarred for life both physically and emotionally. Beth is haunted by her past but wonders if she really wants to know the truth of why her parents left her alone. Afraid the truth might hurt to much. She is insecure and feels a man would not find her attractive and would be repulsed by her scars.
Jeffery Tucker lives at the same boardinghouse where Beth and her Aunt Wilma live. He is also insecure and trying to find his place and prove to his parents that he can make it on his own. How will Jeffery effect her life? How will their relationship effect each other? They both are hiding secrets. After a bad relationship can Beth ever learn to trust any man? A must read to find out how Beth discovers her past, how she and Jeffery overcome their fears and insecurities. What the future holds for them.
The book is about fears, shame, pain, romance, love and much more. A must read.
I recommend this book.
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wishing On Buttercups by Miralee Ferrell

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MrsTina
Location:Frederick, MD
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing On Buttercups: Love Blossoms in Oregon Series by Miralee Ferrell***** PDF
Wishing On Buttercups picks up the story from Blowing On Dandelions, set in Baker City, Oregon in 1880. Beth Roberts is staying at Mrs. Jacob's Boarding House with her Aunt Wilma Roberts. Beth has secrets that only her Aunt knows about and some she has not shared with her Aunt Wilma. Beth has sent drawings in to be published in The Women's Eastern Magazine under the pen-name of Elizabeth Corwin, or E.C. What would her Aunt say if she learned she had submitted her drawings to the magazine and was being paid for them? Her Aunt thinks her drawings are a passing thing and will stop once Beth is married. But Beth knows no man will want her with her past and her scars, she only has her drawings.
Jeffery Tucker is also a border at Mrs. Jacob's Boarding House with secrets of his own. He left home where his parents had his future all mapped out for him, including a bride. But Jeffery has plans of his own that do not include his wealthy parents plans. He wants to make it on his own without the influence of his father's wealth. He wants to be a writer and is currently writing his first book, hoping he will finally get it published.
There is an attraction between Beth and Jeffery, but both have their own secrets and are not prepared to share them at this point. Besides, Beth doesn't think she can trust another man since her ex-finance broke their engagement and left without telling her why or saying goodbye. Jeffery can't figure Beth out, she seems to like him but keeps her distance. Has he done something to offend her or is she just shy? Can he get passed her mistrust?
As the months go by three men show up in Baker City. Someone from the past, a family member and a stranger. But these men bring secrets of their past, stress, more deceit, answers of the past and hope for reconciliation—a hope that has been prayed for for many years. Who can be trusted? Why show up now when Beth and Jeffery are finally finding their way and developing a trust and a budding romance? As Beth and Jeffery continue to place their trust in God, will they find more heartache or love? What happens when they share these secrets and their hearts?
I love that the story picks up from the first book, Blowing On Dandelions. The characters are real-to-life and have many struggles we have. Problems with trusting others-or themselves, past hurts, insecurity, as well as growth, learning to trust, growing faith and trust in God, forgiveness, reconciliation, surprises and love. You will need tissues, so have them handy. I loved this book and hope there will be another one in this series.
~~I received a PDF copy of the book from the author for my review~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Christian, historical fiction at it's best

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series. Many of the characters in this novel were in the first one too. This story focuses mostly on Beth Roberts and Jeffery Tucker.
As much as I loved Blowing on Dandelions, I think I enjoyed Wishing on Buttercups even more. The author creates some very believable characters and brings them to life through writing that really draws you into the story. I found myself being able to picture the various scenes as if I were actually present.
Marilee has a knack for writing Christian fiction without coming across as preachy. I came away with a better understanding of our need to trust in the Lord for all things and to "wait" for His timing and answers.
I highly recommend Wishing on Buttercups to anyone who enjoys Christian fiction, romance, and historical fiction, especially the time period when the west was growing. (late 1800s)
I received a copy of Wishing on Buttercups from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet love story, smooth storyline.

Date:February 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Location:Bangor, ME
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Buttercups by MiraLee Ferrell is about a young lady named Beth Roberts. She has secrets of her own that she doesn't share with anyone. She also has so many things about her childhood that are secrets to her.
Jeffrey Tucker is an aspiring writer living at the same boarding house. He and Beth are drawn to each other, but she is withdrawn and difficult to get to know. However, his heart doesn't let him give up trying.
Beth's secrets...secrets to her and those she holds are eventually revealed. What does she do with her feelings for Jeffrey? How does she handle learning about the unknown in her past? What will happen when some of the past follows her?
This book is well worth reading to find out! The storyline flows smoothly and quickly. I never felt that this book dragged at all. The characters are so real. One really sympathizes with Beth and her circumstances. I found myself totally enraptured in this sweet story that has several twists and turns. This was a page turner...and I found myself reading into the early morning hours. Such a sweet and tender read that held me till the last page. Highly recommend.
I was given this book through The Book Club Network for my honest review which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Romance

Date:February 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book 2 in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series, but it can be read as a stand-alone.
Secrets, scars, and an unknown past might derail a chance for love between Beth and Jeffrey. They meet while living
in the same boardinghouse.
Beth has no idea who is her real parents. She has been raised by an aunt who knows Beth frets over physical scars even though they are faint. Beth has a talent to draw illustrations.
Jeffrey, a young aspiring writer, is attracted to Beth but he has some secrets too.
Will secrets cause trust to vanish and why will they not trust each other?
Ordinarily I read mysteries, but this book is excellent. The characters are well developed and the author is a terrific writer.
I recommend this book. It kept me up until the early morning hours to finish. It gets exciting so keep reading.
This book was given to me by the BookFun.org to review for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet Love Story with a Twist on the Oregon Trail

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:SW MI
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sometimes physical scars are easier to hide than emotional ones. Beth Roberts and her aunt Wilma live in a boarding house in Oregon. Beth has only vague memories of a hurtful past, which keep her from feeling like she could ever be liked by people in general or loved by a man in particular. She is certain her family of origin rejected her somewhere on the Oregon Trail, and now she is attempting to recover from a rejection by a suitor, Brent Wentworth. Beth secretly draws illustrations for a well-known Eastern magazine under a pen name, and finds comfort in that work. Her aunt tells her, "Physical marks and family connections mean nothing, my dear. God looks at the heart, not the outward appearance. Never forget that." Beth has trouble trusting that God can love her or bring satisfaction to her life."My peace doesn't come from God. It comes from my work." Will she ever be able to see things differently?
Meanwhile, in the same boarding house, lives a young man who is running from the demanding desires of his rich family. Jeffery Tucker wants to make his own way in life as a writer, and is secretly writing a story about people in a western boarding house.Unfortunately, no publisher wants his work until... (You'll have to read to find out.)
Great spiritual lessons learned by many characters. Miralee draws great, primary characters, insecure and uncertain of themselves, their future and their value. But I also love the cast of supporting characters, not all of them perfect, or even nice. The Jacobses own the boarding house; Mrs. Cooper, the mother of Mrs. Jacobs is a cantankerous friend/old coot; Mr. Mark Tucker is determined to bring Jeffery back to Cincinnati and the family business. Then there are others who flesh out and make the story the compelling read that it is.
This is the second book in a set of three in the series, Love Blossoms in Oregon, but I felt it stood well on its own. I had not read book number 1, although now my appetite is whetted for it.
I received this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blowing on Dandelions is the first novel in this series, which absolutely reached out and grabbed my attention from the first page till the last page! When I heard the second novel, Wishing on Buttercups, was available I wanted to continue reading the saga that began in the first novel about a woman named Beth. The third novel, when released, will be titled, Dreaming on Daisies, and I expectantly look forward to enjoying the characters introduced in book 1 along with the unfolding story continued in book 2.
Beth relocated with her Aunt Wilma from Kansas due to a financial situation and a young man vying for Beth’s attention based on perceived wealth. Since coming to Oregon, Beth and her aunt have lived in a boarding house surrounded at first by strangers who, through time, become like an extended family. Beth is an illustrator who enjoys art and literature, planning a career in that field. She believes no one can love her because of scars acquired during a childhood accident. As time goes on, Beth’s memory of her past starts to come back during her sleep, but so much of her past is just beyond her reach.
Jeffery has now moved into the boarding house having moved from the East to begin a career in writing that is not approved or appreciated by his parents. Jeffery just “happens” to move into the same town and house where Beth resides with her aunt and others. From this point on, the story gets more exciting, adventurous, and romantic.
I loved how the characters in the novel are challenged to understand that Christianity is more than just going to church. Beth’s character has been estranged from God and realizes if she is willing to open her heart, she might just hear His voice. The book is a wonderful example of masterful writing using words to paint pictures easily in the reader’s mind. The characters are so varied that readers will find more than one which might grab their attention. Don’t pass up reading both of these terrific novels by Miralee Ferrell for they are light reading that touches the heart with hope!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Enjoyable Read!

Date:February 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tjlg
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wishing on Buttercups is a book worth reading! From the very beginning of this story I found my self intrigued by the characters. I was captivated by the events that took place in the character's lives, and as I would finish one chapter, I was eager to read the next. Another aspect that I liked about the book was how I could relate to the character Beth. Beth is a young women who has insecurities about herself and her past, but throughout the story she learns how to trust God and gain confidence in herself, and love others.
I have read Miralee Ferrell's first book in this series (Blowing on Dandelions), and this book is just as excellent as the first. I am looking forward to the third installment of the Love Blossoms in Oregon Series
I was given a copy for review for my unbiased opinion. I am not being payed for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five-star historical fiction

Date:January 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beth Roberts lives with her aunt in a boarding house in Baker City, Oregon, in 1880. Her aunt wants her to marry well, but she’s happiest when drawing the local scenery—and even more happy when she sells her drawings to a prominent women’s magazine. She has secrets in her past that mean she believes no one would want to marry her. If she could ever trust a man anyway, after what happened before …
Jeffrey Tucker lives in the same boarding house. He’s been a mystery to the other guests, but it now comes out that he’s writing a novel set in a boarding house in the American West … a fact which causes consternation among the residents. Jeffrey is interested in Beth, but finds it difficult to get to know her—something that’s made even more difficult when a handsome stranger arrives in town. And then another one …
Wishing on Buttercups is the second book in the Love Blooms in Oregon series, following Blowing on Dandelions. I read the two books back-to-back, but I think they could easily be read as standalone novels—Blowing on Dandelions introduced Jeffrey, Beth and Aunt Wilma, but the main character was Katherine Galloway, the owner of the boarding house where they live.
I thought Wishing on Buttercups was excellent. I liked the characters, especially the way we got to know some familiar characters in a deeper way. I liked the way the Christian elements of the plot were dealt with (although this was less pronounced than in Blowing on Dandelions). I liked the element of suspense provided by the flashes to Steven and Isabella in Kansas, and I especially liked the end. Almost perfect.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great second book!

Date:January 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Martha
Location:Kalispell, MT
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth is a talented artist that struggles to accept that she is valuable while Jeffery is a writer that believes he is not any good. I found it interesting that they both did not know that they were drawn to each other, in spite of their insecurities or maybe even because of them. Beth also has hidden scars that she believes will make anyone hate her. In her past, there were mean adults and children that tormented her because of them.
I found that I related to the insecurities that Beth faced. We all have scars that are hidden, but to us, they feel very visible. Today, I was standing in church facing some of my own “scars”. Mine are not visible to the naked eye, but just as painful at times as a real scar.
The message that Ms. Ferrell talks to us throughout this story is it is how we deal with our past, our scars and our insecurities. We may handle it like Mr. Lansing handles in the book (badly) or we may learn that we are valuable and special with our scars. They will always be a part of our lives, but they do not have to define us.
Another lesson this book can teach us is how often we are much harder on ourselves than we should be. Aunt Wilma, Beth, Jeffery, Beth’s mother, all of them were much harder on themselves than they needed to be. The lesson of grace and extending charity to others is a very important part of life.
(This book was giving me to review by NetGalley. The opinions contained therein are my own)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wishing On Buttercups

Date:January 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:Southwest Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first discovered Miralle Ferreell when I read "Blowing On Dandelions", the first book in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series. This is the second book. I love the characters in this series and enjoyed reading about Beth and Jeffrey and how their pasts correlated to their present. Miralee is an excellent author and I love how she brings her books to life. I highly recommend her.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wishing on Buttercups by Miralee Ferrell

Date:January 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I review a book I often find it hard to put my feelings into words. Sometimes, though, a book touches a part of you that you keep hidden and the words simply pour out on the page. Wishing on a Buttercups was just that book for me. The first book in this series, Blowing on Dandelions, brought back some long forgotten memories from my childhood and spoke to me in its own special way. Wishing on Buttercups touched an inner struggle that I have dealt with since I was a child. I could relate to Beth's scars and her inner turmoil over how the world perceived her because of them. Being born with physical limitations myself, I never saw the world through rose-colored glasses. Instead, I saw flashes of cruelty that is just as often heaped upon us by adults as it is by other children. Miralee tackled this issue with perfection. I love what Aunt Wilma said to Beth when she was worrying about her scars. She said, "But dear heart, your peace can't come solely from your drawings, nor can you find your entire worth there. That must come from God."
She opens the readers eyes to the fact that how God perceives you and how you perceive yourself are the most important things. When you finally realize how much God loves you and see your own self-worth, the way others see you will no longer matter. I would like to share something from the author's note at the end of the story. Miralee wrote: "I don't ever want to write a simple romance without something that drives it. In this case, it was a young woman who's been damaged--not only physically, but emotionally, due to the scars from her childhood. As I thought about that, I realized many of us carry hurts and scars from words spoken or actions taken that we had little or no control over." Miralee not only sees the story, she sees the truth behind the story. Something about this series touches an emotional cord in me and it was compounded a hundred fold in this book. But that's not all I loved about it. The characters displayed a strong sense of family and loyalty and had high moral values. The plot had depth but was also lightened up with a little humor. I laughed out loud when Micah lost his grip on the paint can! The romance between Beth and Jeffrey was a sweet romance that built by degrees as the story progressed. There were so many things that threatened their already tedious relationship and it was very heartwarming to watch it unfold. Miralee has written another story that will leave you wanting more and with new characters introduced into the story it left things wide open for book three. I can't wait to read it! The story was so well written and I don't hesitate to recommend it. If you love historical romance, or simply a story that digs deep to tug at your emotions, you'll love Wishing on Buttercups.
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review. The opinions stated are mine alone and are honest and forthright. If I recommend a book you can believe its a book I enjoyed. I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wishing on Buttercups, Blossoms in Oregon Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Wanda
"Wishing on Buttercups" is the second novel in the "Love Blossoms in Oregon" series by Miralee Ferrell. This is the story of Beth Roberts and Jeffery Tucker who we met in "Blowing on Dandelions". This is a lovely story of showing that it is not outward beauty that determines your life, it is the inward beauty and God's love that shines through. Beth and Jeffery both have secrets that they try to hide, and they are drawn to each other. Beth has already been taken in by an unscrupulous suitor, so she is very leary of Jeffery. Jeffery has his own secrets that he has to work through. Miralee has done a fabulous job of showing us these characters lives and the struggles that they go through. It's a beautiful story of love and compassion, and learning to trust. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction. While it is would be enjoyable to read the first book in the series first, this is also a "stand alone" book that can be enjoyed on it's own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>