Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1

David C. Cook Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1

With his family's safety on the line, journalist Jack Crittendon fights to reveal a stalker's terrifying schemes, investigates a pastor's mysterious disappearance, and struggles to keep his faith amid unthinkable fear. With danger lurking at every turn, can he muster enough courage to trust a God who allows such inconceivable trials?
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Review 1 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A fantastic Christian Suspense novel!

Date:May 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Debbie Wilder
Location:Salinas, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Creston has created very believable characters in this book. It is very easy to relate to the emotions that both Jack and his wife, Pam, are dealing with as they go through this very scary time in their lives. They are struggling to hold on to their belief in God which is true to human nature when problems that are beyond our control come our way.
In the midst of the problems the Crittenden family is facing Jack is also trying to keep on track with doing his job and working with another family in the midst of a crisis situation. The two stories are wonderfully interwoven. This book kept my interest as I was following along and trying to figure out if and how the two stories may connect.
I received a free copy of this book through a giveaway on The Suspense Sisters Blog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well written...

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Irene
Location:United States
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well written Christian suspense novel. You don’t see that very often do you! It really was a good book that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading it. I gave this book 5/5 stars. I would recommend the book to any Christian who likes suspense and still has the Christian message prominent in the story line. The characters were enjoyable, which came as a surprise to me. A lot of Christian suspense novels have one character that is just so annoying because they act with no common sense. I did not find that in this story at all. This is a book I would recommend and would gladly read again!
I would like to thank the publisher for the copy of this book I enjoyed reading. I gave an honest review based on my opinion of what I read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
This review is fromFear Has a Name - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Far Would He Go To Keep Them Safe?
It was more than a break-in. More than a stalking. It was personal. When a stalker targets his family, journalist Jack Crittendon must uncover who the person is and what his motives are--if he is to protect the ones he loves. It will lead Crittendon into a world of behind-closed-door secrets and faith gone awry, as does his investigation of a missing pastor, whose apparent suicide is more than it appears.
Each move Crittendon makes weaves him tighter and tighter into a web of lies, greed, hypocrisy, sin, and danger. He believed he'd never give in to fear. But that was before. And holding on to his faith won't be easy. Nor will keeping his family safe, and ending the terror. Because that might require him to step over lines he never dared to cross.
My Review:
This is the kind of novel that keeps you up until the wee hours of the night frantically turning pages. I will begin by stating that the Christians in this novel were not portrayed in the best of light. And of course, this is fine with me, because if we started with perfect Christians, what kind of story would we have? Jake was a very multifaceted character. I liked the investigative reporter side of him, as he was capable, resourceful, and creative to solve his cases. But as a Christian and husband, he sucked. He was two different people, and his dark side came out with the ones he loved instead of on the job.
And saints preserve us, Pam was the dumbest woman I have ever met in literature. Mapes did a good job of making sure we saw her for all her faults and shortcomings, and I couldn't help but wish I could sit her down and have a talk. She confused me a little with the way she's smart and dumb at the same time, but I enjoyed that she wasn't written in as a perfect compliment to Jake's unsteady character.
I found it very interesting that Mapes actually has me sympathizing with the criminal. I feel that his terrible parents contributed to his unstable frame of mind, yet is a victim of his own making. No matter our past, we make our own choices, and the "bad guy" in this story was no different. A wonderful, suspenseful first novel to The Crittendon Files.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How Far Would He Go To Keep Them Safe?
It was more than a break-in. More than a stalking. It was personal. When a stalker targets his family, journalist Jack Crittendon must uncover who the person is and what his motives are--if he is to protect the ones he loves. It will lead Crittendon into a world of behind-closed-door secrets and faith gone awry, as does his investigation of a missing pastor, whose apparent suicide is more than it appears.
Each move Crittendon makes weaves him tighter and tighter into a web of lies, greed, hypocrisy, sin, and danger. He believed he'd never give in to fear. But that was before. And holding on to his faith won't be easy. Nor will keeping his family safe, and ending the terror. Because that might require him to step over lines he never dared to cross.
My Review:
This is the kind of novel that keeps you up until the wee hours of the night frantically turning pages. I will begin by stating that the Christians in this novel were not portrayed in the best of light. And of course, this is fine with me, because if we started with perfect Christians, what kind of story would we have? Jake was a very multifaceted character. I liked the investigative reporter side of him, as he was capable, resourceful, and creative to solve his cases. But as a Christian and husband, he sucked. He was two different people, and his dark side came out with the ones he loved instead of on the job.
And saints preserve us, Pam was the dumbest woman I have ever met in literature. Mapes did a good job of making sure we saw her for all her faults and shortcomings, and I couldn't help but wish I could sit her down and have a talk. She confused me a little with the way she's smart and dumb at the same time, but I enjoyed that she wasn't written in as a perfect compliment to Jake's unsteady character.
I found it very interesting that Mapes actually has me sympathizing with the criminal. I feel that his terrible parents contributed to his unstable frame of mind, yet is a victim of his own making. No matter our past, we make our own choices, and the "bad guy" in this story was no different. A wonderful, suspenseful first novel to The Crittendon Files.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Engaging and Well-Balanced Christian Thriller

Date:September 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kelly B
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a fan of thrillers and suspense novels, I was really looking forward to reading "Fear Has a Name." I am constantly looking for a thriller that I can enjoy that includes a Christian message. This is not an easy combination to achieve, and the attempts often result in any faith message being lost in the story or the story being lost in the message. "Fear Has a Name" did not disappoint. The story begins with a big enough bang to to capture my interest and engage my curiosity. As I read, the action ebbed and flowed in a perfect mix of needed detail and moments of nail-biting tension. I felt engaged throughout the story, and truly if I didn't have such a rigid bedtime, I would have read into the night. "Fear Has a Name" keeps you thinking about not just what will happen next in the story but in actual life by bringing to light real issues like bullying, abuse, scandal and the importance of caring about others as we do ourselves. You are also reminded that not everything is as it appears.
The characters are well thought out and caused me to want to know more about them and what will happen next. The characters made me feel emotions of fear, sadness, disgust, and also hope. Occasionally I simply wanted to shake a few.
If I were to give one word to describe "Fear Has a Name" I would use the word "gripping." It was that and so much more. I am thrilled that "Fear Has a Name" is just the first in a series. I eagerly look forward to the next book "Poison Town."
I would like to disclose that I received this book for free to facilitate my review. The opinion is completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well-written, but PG-13

Date:August 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Floyd Johnson
Location:Upstate NY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A well-written story that centers on the life and family of Jack Crittendon, a reporter for the Trenton City Dispatch. The man who has chosen to stalk his wife, Pamela, and the missing pastor of a near by church provide the focus of the story. The lives of three men, Jack, the stalker, and the pastor, are drawn together - forcing each of them to see God in new and unexpected ways. Even when life seems to be falling apart, God is at work.
Though I enjoyed the story, I was a bit dismayed by the level of violence and evil of the various characters described throughout the book. I suspect that if this were a movie, the film would require at least a PG-13 rating, or perhaps an R rating.
With the exception of this single cautionary note, the book is a keen look at God at work in the lives of people from very different places in their lives. I give it a strong recommendation.
____________
This review is based on a free electronic copy of this book provided by the publisher for the purpose of creating this review. The opinions expressed are mine alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Difficult start but worth the effort

Date:July 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack Crittendon’s family has been targeted. An unknown man breaks into their house but steals only some jewellery and a Bible. His wife is almost run off the road by an unknown assailant, and he is accused of possessing child pornography. At the same time, he is investigating the disappearance and possible suicide of a local pastor, Evan McDaniel, whose wife is convinced he is still alive, even though his colleagues appear equally convinced he isn’t. Jack slowly uncovers information that suggests things were not as they first appeared. What follows is a fast-paced action novel as Jack tries to protect his family and solve the mystery of the pastor’s disappearance.
I found Fear Has No Name difficult to get in to. There was a lot happening, and I didn’t find Pam Crittendon to be a compelling character. That might be a little unfair, as she’d just been the victim of a home invasion, so we were seeing her at her worst, but I found her difficult to like or even to empathise with. Jack wasn’t much better, because he seemed to be back and forth between the McDaniel investigation and his own family problems. It seemed that he was the only person investigating the pastor’s disappearance, and while the plotting was solid, it didn’t strike me as realistic that people would give all this information to a reporter rather than the police, and I felt there were times when the McDaniel subplot detracted from the main plot.
However, things improved dramatically around a quarter of the way when we began to get the point of view of the stalker. I’ve read advice to novelists that the antagonist should have a motive, something in his personal history that makes him act the way he does. I read too many novels where the author has taken this advice but it feels to me, as a reader, as though that history has just been tacked on the end and feels more like an excuse than a motivation.
Fear Has A Name was different. By giving us the point of view of the stalker, Mapes has managed to integrate his personal history and give me a real sense of compassion for him, to see him as a real person (albeit one with a difficult background and an inappropriate way of acting on his feelings). This is a real strength in his writing, as is his seamless integration of Christianity. This is Christian fiction, complete with sermons, prayers and a gospel message, but it manages to achieve all this without coming across as preachy.
Fear Has A Name is full of flawed characters who have something in their personal history that causes them to act the way they do, from the stalker to Evan McDaniel to Margaret, Pam’s neurotic mother. Once we see and understand the circumstances that made the people who they are, we are better able to relate and empathise with them, whether they are the ‘goodies’ or not. Recommended. Just not if you’re alone in the house.
Thanks to David C Cook and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling!!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I began Fear Has a Name late one Saturday night, thinking I'd just read the first chapter to get my feet wet and then pick it back up the next night. Well, little did I know it was going to suck me in and almost make me late for church the next morning because I stayed up too late reading. The story starts with a home invasion that leaves you a little unnerved and hoping you locked your doors before you went to bed. There's more to this story than just the break-in though. There's a web of interconnected characters that each have questions in life that need answering. I found myself sympathizing with characters I normally wouldn't have—like the bully. There is a struggling minister in this story and, having been in the church and in a pastor's family for most of my life, I truly related to the angst this family felt. Toward the end of the book, the tension and thrilling fast-paced scenes just about made me chew my nails off. I recommend reading this book today!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fear Has a Name

Date:July 2, 2013
I always read something before bed. On this particular night it was already late but I picked up Fear Has A Name and began to read. By the end of chapter one I was completely creeped out but I just couldn’t put the book down. I should have known better than to start a Creston Mapes’ book that late at night!
I was utterly intrigued by the emotions this work of fiction aroused. At the beginning I hated the stalker/intruder. How dare he invade someone’s home and threaten harm to a helpless mom and her two daughters! What type of man does that?
We soon find out who this sick person is and then the struggle begins. The story delves into the idea of showing mercy to one who by all humanly speaking accounts doesn’t deserve it. It is easy to hate someone you don’t know but what about that person that you do? What if you’ve grown up with this person and you know what they’ve been subject to?
Mr. Mapes weaves for us an electrifying, heart-pumping tale that draws you into the mind of each of the characters. But what sets this novel apart from other thrillers is that it also makes us consider the mind of God. Through gut wrenching circumstances the individuals are faced with decisions that force them to acknowledge that not only is God in control but He also has a plan that is way bigger than the persons that are directly involved.
This was an amazing kick off to a new series. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series which will be titled Poison Town. In total suspense style, Creston and David C. Cook Publishers have included the first couple of chapters of Poison Town in the back of Fear Has A Name. Why oh why did I read it . . . it cuts off at a very critical point and now I’ll have to wait until February 2014 to read the rest! Can you say ANTICIPATION?!!
I received a copy of this book to fascilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touches What You Fear the Most

Date:June 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
gjo50
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creston Mapes builds an intricate plot weaving themes of a wondering pastor fighting depression, home invasion, and parental abuse due to twisted Christianity. A parent’s biggest fear is the safety and security of his/her children, and this book strikes that tender area. The tension is tight throughout the book, and the questions make the reader think about their choices, plans, and assumptions. This is an excellent choice for anyone who appreciates a wild ride that keeps you guessing until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

character study of three men under stress

Date:June 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This first novel in a new series by Mapes is a character study of three men, interwoven with action and suspense. Jack is an investigative reporter for a newspaper in a relatively small town in Ohio. He is assigned the story of Evan, a pastor who has disappeared, having left what appears to be a suicide note. But Jack's life is interrupted by a break-in at his home. His wife, Pam, and two young daughters manage to escape to neighbors. But the break-in is not a one time event. The man stalks Pam and the suspense heightens. It comes to light that the stalker is someone Pam knew in high school, a maladjusted student named Granger.
As the novel progresses, we follow the lives of Jack, Evan, and Granger. Of particular importance is the spiritual lives of these men. Jack is a good Christian but struggles with his belief in God when Pam is kidnapped. Evan is a pastor who struggles with depression. He is overwhelmed with the problems at his church and is devastated that he has experienced romantic feelings for a widow he was counseling. Granger had a horrible childhood, being mistreated by his overly strict and narrow minded Christian parents. He remembers Pam as the only person who was nice to him so now, years later, he seeks her out. The lives of these three men and their actions intersect several times as the novel nears its end.
Mapes has created realistic and seriously flawed characters. Jack practically goes crazy when Pam is kidnapped. His faith in God is severely tested and he finds no comfort or peace from that faith. Evan has recently taken himself off his depression medication and is making irrational decisions.
Granger is probably the most troubling character to me. He was raised in a Christian home but by parents who must have hated him. His father was a deacon in the church but a mean man. Granger was terribly scarred by his “Christian” parents. I was troubled that church going, Bible believing Christians would be portrayed as so mean and horrible.
The character that I liked the least was Pam, Jack's wife. I find that an author writing a character of the opposite sex sometimes gets it wrong and I think Mapes did that with Pam. She is generally a smart and competent woman but there were times when she made the most stupid decisions. As a woman myself, I would never drive by the childhood home of the person stalking me, especially knowing that he was on the run and might, in fact, go back to that home.
And that brings up another issue that bothered me. There is a great deal of suspense in this novel. The suspense at the end was great. However, much of that suspense, especially with Pam, was because of stupid choices. I love it when the “innocent” character is in dire straits through no fault of her own and the suspense builds as rescue seems impossible. But when the person has made a stupid decision, putting herself into the dire straits, well, somehow the suspense looses its impact.
While the ending seemed contrived, there was the undercurrent of God orchestrating the whole thing so it was acceptable.
People who like suspense will like this novel. Be prepared, however, for pages of the characters thinking at length about their situation. Also, be prepared to see many Christians not at their best.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fear Has a Name is my introduction into the writing world of author Creston Mapes. The storyline presented has many reflections on the choices believers have, especially when confronted with evil. The antagonist is a man named Granger who was raised in a home without the love of Christ, love of family and emotional abuse at home as well as school. Therefore, Granger learns how to survive in life without anyone close to him, except for one woman he wants to be his, Pamela Wagner.
Fighting the war within him, Granger acts more out of fear than anything rational. He believes the lies that are told to him. He was bullied to the max by others when he was young. The only one to show true friendship was Pam; she showed honest friendship though never really knowing what horrors awaited him when he would go home to his parents. Her impact on him many years ago drives him to make unwise choices, culminating in breaking and entering. Granger also displays his knowledge of her life over the years, causing Pam to choose to believe or not believe God would protect her.
Pamela’s husband Jack is a first rate journalist who loves the Lord, Pam and their two daughters. Pam’s family life is anything but normal though not in same way as Granger’s. Jack is someone who shows her what real faith looks like. Now, with his family being threatened and scared all the time, Jack has to decide what the right decisions are in leading his family through the various trials they are facing.
Evan is a pastor at a Methodist church and married to a wonderful woman, raising three wonderful boys. Evan battles depression and tries to lead his flock with unwavering devotion, though the associate pastor has other more sinister plans. Evan decides to leave it all behind, including his family because he believes lies whispered in his ear. On one particular night, he is visited by an elderly lady who used to steer Evan to the path God has for him.
Throughout the novel, the characters are wrestling with their fears, faith and lives which aren’t what they thought they would be. Somehow the different characters and situations keep presenting the choice of believing God is in control or not. The fears, if allowed to control a person, would seem to cripple their lives; peace in their souls is nonexistent. I read straight through this novel, seeing what would happen in the story and how the threats to the characters pushing them to the precipice of believing God or not. Though I was aware I was reading a work of fiction, I couldn’t help but see how all of us have choices to make decisions based on His Word, with the true love of others upholding us in some of our darkest hours. The suspense, action, times of romance and emotionally packed scenes just wouldn’t let me put it down! Creston Mapes has a new follower for his novels that are in some ways beyond description.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nail-biting tension

Date:June 17, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow.
Do I really have to write more? Okay I will. This book has to be the best suspense novel I have read this year, maybe ever. If you like Terri Blackstock or Brandilyn Collins, you will LOVE this book.
If you don't care for suspense and high drama, crime, raw brokenness than you might not like this book. But if that is up your alley you need to grab a copy and get reading.
It reached a point in the twisted plot that I said out loud, "Oh my goodness" and my husband looked at me to ask "what?" I had to launch into the plot and what just happened.
Every chapter takes you on a new twist and turn. Just when you think things might slow down, oh no, you are in for more nail-biting tension. You know it will end, but how, who will live, who will die, who will cross the line?
I have never read a fiction book that actually stirred my spirit with Biblical truth. This book drips with truth but never preaches at you.
The characters are real, flawed. They question if God is so good why is this stuff happening? If God is so good why is there abuse? If God is so good how can He allow horrible things happen to those who love Him? Real questions we have all asked.
Honestly, at the end I cried. I never thought I would cry after reading a suspense novel, but the love of Jesus does that. Creston ended the book beautifully, truly fantastic.
And there is a HUGE Genesis 5020 coming from the subplot character, Evan McDaniel. Love it!
Yes, I know I am gushing but this book really is amazing. You won't be sorry you read it.
A copy of this book was given to me by the publisher through the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling Read!

Date:June 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
What a terrific read! Creston Mapes knows how to create suspense; yet, at the same time, he knows just when to cut the tension. Two intricate story lines are interwoven: the stalking of a newspaper reporter's family and a megachurch's missing pastor.
When trouble comes his way, Jack Crittendon sometimes wonders if God is really in control. How can God allow bad things to happen to one of His people? And, for what reason might trouble come our way? Jack tends to feel as if he alone is responsible for the protection and safety of his wife, Pam, and their children. Jack's faith is sorely tested in this novel, and questions most people wonder are answered. The complex tale has a satisfying conclusion.
The novel tests the reader. I found myself wondering what I'd do if confronted by the same situations. How important is abiding faith? How deep is mine? Could God use someone who is at the end of his/her rope? Does forgiveness and love really make a difference?
Characters are fleshed out; I could relate to all but one. The character of Valerie Belinds McShane intriques me. She would make for an interesting discussion in a book club setting.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and David C. Cook for my copy.
If you would like to read the first chapter, click here.
If you would like to buy a copy, click here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had to read with the lights on!!!

Date:June 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it when I can find out truly suspenseful novel that completely grabs me from the moment I dive into the book. I made the mistake of reading this one kinda late at night when I was home alone and with every noise in the house, set me literally on edge. That in my own personal opinion is already a winner. In the latest novel by author Creston Mapes, Fear Has A Name is the first in the Crittendon Files series. This is also a first for me reviewing a book by this author but after this one, it won't be my last by a long shot. In fact, I intend to search for the ones he has previously written and begin my journey in suspense even further by adding them to my personal collection.
In Fear Has A Name the author really challenges the Christian reader to see just how far on the righteous scale you would tend to stay despite having your family threatened by an unknown intruder. Despite how Jesus has instructed his followers to forgo taking their own vengeance and instead leaving it up to God. This is a definite conversation starter for most believers. While almost everyone I spoke with said pretty much the same thing, very few could sit back faithfully and be reassured that God would protect their families by leaving things entirely up to Him. With that being said, let me introduce you to the premise of this novel.
Pamela Crittendon is home alone with her young daughters, Faye and Rebecca when a man appears at her front door. For whatever reason, she gets a feeling that she shouldn't open the door. When he keeps on knocking her daughters want to know who's at the door. She instructs them to head back upstairs and that she will deal with it. When she yells for the man at the door to leave, he immediately begins the process of breaking down the door. When that fails, he breaks the glass on either side and attempts to unlock the door. Pamela takes her girls and runs out the back door to the safety of a neighbors home and calls the police.
When the police arrive the man is gone of course. As Pamela calls her husband, Jack, and tells him to come home, he reassures her that this is probably just a one time deal. The only items missing from her home are her Bible, her jewelry and her daughter's locket. All other items in the home of any value are still there. The police feel confident that they will find the person responsible, but that does make Pamela feel any safer. Even more troubling is the job her husband does working as a reporter for the local paper. He's been assigned a possible missing person who is the local pastor at a church who has left a suicide note. But it seems like things are about to get interesting when Pamela finds their wedding picture has been cut to remove Jack from it. To her, this doesn't seem like a random event and she's just about to learn that Fear Has A Name!
I received Fear Has A Name by Creston Mapes compliments of David C Cook Publishers and Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review. I received no monetary compensation for a favorable review. This was such a great conversation starter for my husband over breakfast one morning. It's such a difficult thing to know what anyone would do in this situation and my husband could definitely relate to how Jack handles things. I on the other hand, don't think I could deal with things as calmly as Pamela did during portions of the novel but that is what makes for a truly exciting page turner. This one does not disappoint. The only thing I had to make sure of was finishing it before my husband left on his business trip. For that reason I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars. Congratulations Creston Mapes, you definitely had me on the edge of my seat and reading this one with all the lights on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down.

Date:June 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creston books get better and better with each one. This is several plots that go hand in hand and shows God's hand in both. He is always in charge and Creston does a terrific job in proving it. I don't want to get into story lines but the story line on depression is a real problem and misunderstood. The author did a good job in writing about an illness that is suffered by many. A job well done by Creston Mapes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compelling Suspense!

Date:May 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this multilayered suspense novel two families share common bonds that are interwoven by circumstances that overlap throughout the narrative. The entire essence of the Crittendon family is transformed into an intense atmosphere of anxiety and chaos by a stranger who forces his way into their home and lives, shaking them to the core. Jack Crittendon, a news reporter, was assigned to investigate the sudden disappearance of Evan McDaniel, senior pastor at a local church. A church publication reported his disappearance as being linked to missing medications and a suicide note. Pastor McDaniel's history of depression becomes the focus of attention regarding his disappearance. The McDaniel family is thrust into confusion and distress regarding the circumstances surrounding the mysterious absence of Pastor Evan, his wife insisting that he was not suicidal. What actual events led to the pastor's sudden disappearance, and who is stalking Jack Crittendon's wife?
The first in The Crittendon Files series, this suspense-filled drama is made remarkable by unforeseen events keeping the reader absorbed and captivated! The situations and predicaments that flare are totally absorbing, replete with an abundance of energy. Faith is a recurrent theme throughout and ultimately leads to peace when all else fails. Creston Mapes has produced a dramatic unfolding of events that capture the reader's attention and lead to numerous bizarre yet inspirational situations. This book is suspense filled, dramatic, compelling, inspirational and impressive.
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through Wynn-Wynn Media for the express purpose of my honest review. All stated opinions are mine and I received no monetary compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping story

Date:May 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A home invasion in broad daylight has Pamela and her husband Jack feeling violated and scared. But when they realize that the intruder may be a stalker their worries turn to fear. Jack, a reporter, is following a lead about a missing pastor while trying to maintain some semblance of safety for his wife and two daughters. Can they trust God to handle their situation or will fear have them acting irrationally?
I loved this book. It caught my attention from the very first page and didn't let go. The character development was great, the suspense was thrilling, and the messages of salvation, redemption, and hope were beautifully woven through out the story. I was very excited to learn that this was book 1 in a series.
I received this book free of charge from David Cook Publishing and The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:May 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:Florence, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a thriller revolving around two storylines: a mysteriously missing pastor and the dangerous harassment of a reporter and his family. His family is dead aim in a stalker's sights. And the man is closing in. For journalist Jack Crittendon, it's personal, and protecting them will take every ounce of his tattered faith.
Embezzlement. False accusation. Blackmail. Abduction. A wolf hidden in sheep's clothing. Creston Mapes takes readers on a psychological roller coaster that feeds on our deepest fears.
It draws you in with the suspense of a great story line. The characters are very interesting in their own right. It pulls you in and doesn't let go until the very end! I loved the writing style too which I found very smooth. It certainly had me hooked. I actually had to set it aside until I could devote a good chunk of time to its consumption. The story moves along at a smart clip, giving readers just enough time to absorb their surroundings before moving onto the next locale. Nearly every scene was important for plot development, which means that readers who are easily bored will find themselves paying rapt attention.
This book is an unusual read, but I still found myself enjoying it. The characters are very different and I actually liked them. I will say I had it figured out very early and the ending just proved I was right. I would recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fear Has a Name, Crittendon Files Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review from a Man's Perspective

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was more than a break-in. More than a stalking. It was personal. When a stalker targets his family, journalist Jack Crittendon must uncover who the person is and what his motives are--if he is to protect the ones he loves. It will lead Crittendon into a world of behind-closed-door secrets and faith gone awry, as does his investigation of a missing pastor, whose apparent suicide is more than it appears.
Each move Crittendon makes weaves him tighter and tighter into a web of lies, greed, hypocrisy, sin, and danger. He believed he'd never give in to fear. But that was before. And holding on to his faith won't be easy. Nor will keeping his family safe, and ending the terror. Because that might require him to step over lines he never dared to cross.
Following his highly successful, “Nobody”, Creston Mapes brings us the first in a new series. Thanks to his earlier books, Mr. Mapes has been a finalist in both American Christian Fiction Writers Book of the Year awards and the Inspirational Readers Choice awards.
Ace reporter Jack Crittendon has been handed a self-interest story about a local Senior Pastor, Evan, who has seemingly disappeared. All signs point to a mental breakdown or worse, that he’s run off with one of his congregants that he has been counseling after the death of her husband. As part of the story, Jack interviews the pastor’s wife who is sure that none of those are true, especially the last reason. While Jack is trying to track down the missing pastor, a stranger has been targeting his family. After several break-ins and searches by the police, they discover pornography hidden on Jack’s home computer. After some investigation, though, it turns out that whoever is stalking the family planted that on the computer in an attempt to discredit Jack. Cleared of those charges, Jack is now not only on the hunt for the stalker, but still trying to find the missing pastor. As the police continue their investigation into the stalker, they discover that he is a childhood friend of Pam, Jack’s wife. As the hunt continues, Pam takes her girls away to visit her folks to keep them out of the danger. While there, though, she runs smack into her stalker, Granger Meade. Granger kidnaps Pam and starts on a cross-country journey to “make the life he never had” with Pam by his side. Meanwhile, Jack has discovered evidence of the church elders skimming money from the tithes and offerings, something that Evan had found out too. Evan, we find out, has given up on himself and God and is on his way to end his failures to his wife and to his church. Jack is notified that his wife has been kidnapped, so he heads out to stop Granger from destroying all he loves. Where does Granger take Pam? Does he convince her to leave Jack and the kids behind and be with him? Will Jack find Pam and stop Granger before it’s too late? Where is Evan and what does he do with his life? Great questions and even better answers when you BUY THE BOOK!
This book grabs you from the start and it never lets go. From Granger breaking into the house, the investigation into the missing pastor, the discovery of missing funds at the church, the cross-country chase to the explosive ending. You never have a chance to breathe with all of the excitement and you definitely will never want to put this book down. All along the way, too, we get to see how the characters rely on Him to help them in all of their times of trials and tribulations. We get to see faith in action of Pam and Jack. We get to see the feeling of hopelessness addressed by the “lost” pastor and we get to see the acceptance of God’s love in Granger.
Is this a "guy's book"? This has the earmarks of a great guys book. The pace is quick and refreshing, the twists and turns keep you on the edge of your seat wondering what more could happen. Any guy should pick up this book and be thoroughly entertained by the time the action is all over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.