Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Harvest House Publishers The NIV Narrated Bible 1984

Harvest House Publishers The NIV Narrated Bible 1984

The Narrated Bible presents Scripture (NIV) in chronological order to provide a fascinating tapestry of God's creation, judgments, love, provision, and mercy. An insightful descriptive narrative ties events together and draws you irresistibly into the center of action and a new understanding of the glory and power of God's sovereignty.

  • Single-column format
  • 10 Text & Notes 11 point text
  • Translation and textual notes
  • Deeper insights for your own spiritual journey as the prophets and their teachings come to life in their historical, geographical, and cultural contexts.
  • Greater understanding of God's wisdom and encouragement through the unique arrangements of the book of Proverbs (by topic) and the book of Psalms (by sentiment).
  • A deeper awareness of the life of Christ and His teachings through the harmonized Gospels.
  • Chronology of Significant Events
  • Daily Bible Reading Schedule
  • Topical Contents for the Book of Proverbs
  • Cross Reference Index
  • 6 3/4" x 9 1/2" x 1 3/4"
  • Hardcover
Average Customer Rating:
4.632 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Review 1 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A valuable Bible for study and contextualization.

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kirk
Location:Central Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had the first edition of this Bible since it was published in 1984, and have read it through several times, and referred to it often. I bought the latest issue because I have worn out the original. For its stated purpose it is good. But, from limited perusal, this new issue contains the same flaws, indeed a bit more. For instance, it lacks the maps included before (which were of limited detail any way). It's Daily Bible Reading Schedule has been put on a calendar basis, rather than on a more convenient self-schedule. Since the page numbers throughout the book remain the same, and a modest look-see didn't show any notable changes to physical organization or pagination, I assume nothing has changed editorially. Thus some errors and flaws espied in the earlier release surely remain. And, in places, especially in the Gospels, Chronicles and Kings, et al, where there is great similarity amongst two or more, the actual text surely remains incomplete in many places. Some paragraphing and indentation is wrong. But, having said all this, I still value Smith's efforts -- now nearly 30 years old. I have written many notes in the early version, and will transfer them to the new (but identical) version. And will continue to value it for its intended purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
trisha
Location:Palmyra,Va
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the NIV Narrated BIble is so easy to read,I have difficulty putting it down.I get so much understanding of the Word, the commentary is a great start to each new section.I am reading the bible through again this year and decided to try this format and it has proven to be the best,I am following the reading schedule in the back of the book,but because i can't just stop reading I am several weeks further along.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this product is easy reading

Date:August 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
esther41
Location:Galveston, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bible easy reading, with pre-summaries before scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the narration

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
9008
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible contains narration between sections, that clearly tells what is happening, where it is happening and why. It is set up so that you can read through it in a year, each daily reading is marked by a small symbol in the corner. I love that each section is not dated, you can begin at any time of the year.
The down side of this Bible is that it does not have any maps or study notes like the other NIV Bibles we have.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark S. Fieger
The Chronological Bible is so very helpful in "getting the big picture" of God's sacred story. For instance, Ezra and Nehemiah are placed in the front of the Bible; yet, chronologically, they occur near the end of the Old Testament period. The Psalms are placed immediately after events in King Davids life. (David's Adultery/Murder is followed by Psalm 51). And who hasn't struggled with all of the Kings (of Israel & Judah) and their connection with the prophets? This makes the 66 + books of the Bible far more understandable.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeanni Beauchamp
easy read, using this Bible to read the whole Bible in a year, so far so good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margie
Reading the Bible this way helped me make sense of events and put them in order. The one column format and the chronological arrangement gave reading it the feel of a novel. I found no strong theological biases in the narrative. The narrative was very helpful in explaining unfamiliar customs that would have been understood by contemporaries of the writer, highlighting world events that shaped the Biblical text and giving a smooth flow to the scriptures. Of particular benefit was the prophets placed in their historical settings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cynthia
My family has used this Bible for evening Bible reading. It is easy for the children to understand and interesting for the adults as well. We have enjoyed it very much. While it is not a study Bible, it has helped me to have a better understanding of books such as Zechariah due to understanding the historical context of the book. The only con is this Bible doesnt hold up very well to daily use. The binding on ours came apart and pages are falling out. I haven't had that problem with our other Bibles.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Baugher
I haven't had time to go all through the book, but what I have read so far is very understandable and quite interesting, I would recommend this to someone who is doing any Bible studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Berger
I've just started studying the book of Samuel and the life of David-I love that they put the Psalms in chronologically-I understand them so much better in relevance to what was going on in Davids life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie S. Thomas
I have used this Bible for several years now. I just finished taking a group of women through the Bible with Smith's chronological and everyone loved it. His narrative overviews of sections prior to reading them are excellent. The only thing I miss in the newer versions is the map section. I highly recommend this Bible for anyone wanting to have a better understanding of the entire Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stephanie S. Thomas
I have used this Bible for several years now. I just finished taking a group of women through the Bible with Smith's chronological and everyone loved it. His narrative overviews of sections prior to reading them are excellent. The only thing I miss in the newer versions is the map section. I highly recommend this Bible for anyone wanting to have a better understanding of the entire Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dave
I just finished reading the Bible through in a year for the fourth consecutive year. I read this Bible in years two and four. I would echo virtually all of the other reviewer's comments: POSITIVE: No dates. making it easier (and less discouraging) to make up "missed" days, and allowing you to start your read-through on ANY date, not necessarily Jan. 1; EXCELLENT narration; in general, "Chronos" are arguably, a better, more interesting way to read the Bible through in a year. NEGATIVES: this is NOT a study Bible. If you want to do a more in-depth study (a difficult task if you're attempting a one-year read-through), you'll need some sort of a Commentary at your side. In all, this is the best organized and most helpful NIV Chrono that I've seen, and I've looked at most of them. Recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diane Dekker
Reading the Bible in chronological order makes so much sense. It's the way we read everything else and Smith's narration adds so much to the context. The thing I like best is that there are no dates, so you can pick it up at any time and begin reading--the middle of July if you want. If you miss a day you just start where you left off. If it takes you two years instead of one, then at least you got through it in two years. Bibles that have the dates in them cause people to get frustrated when they get behind and they give up trying. I've read through this Bible many times. Sometimes I start in September to match the school year. I would recommend this Bible to beginners because of the helpful commentary, but also to lifetime readers for a change of pace. It reads like a novel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Scott
I've been using this Bible off and on since it was first published. It's great for reading through the time of the prophets in their historical context. My only wish is that it was in the New Living Translation 2nd edition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Trissel
Great Bible! The print is easy to read, and the narration gives a great source of context and insightful comments. I have just started to read it, but it is a good Bible if you are just reading through without heavy study. I think, however, that it can give a more wholistic perspective on the chronology of the Bible. A good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2000
Customer Avatar
Robert
This Bible is a great tool for daily reading. It is also a marvelous tool for new Christians, as well as old, to understand the chronology of the Bible.I have recommended this version to many friends who need a little help with reading "through" the Bible.AND I especially like the NIV for it's ease of reading. This is NOT a study Bible in the usual sense, but a great tool none the less for any one who needs a little "prod" to keep a daily Bible reading schedule.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2000
Customer Avatar
Beth Lester
I use this Bible as I homeschool my children to teach them the Word. It's not a regular study Bible, but wonderful for understanding when things happened in relationship to other things. The proverbs are arranged chronologically, which is great for character studies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NIV Narrated Bible 1984
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2000
Customer Avatar
Rev. Gina Casey
I like the way LaGard has organized this Bible with the "narration" (very insightful), and the rising sun icon for daily reading. I've recommended and purchased this Bible for my staff and a few members. My only suggestion is that it should retain the feature of LaGard's Daily (Chronological) Bible and add the month/day headers on the appropriate pages. It helps for those who may need assistance & motivation to begin or revive their daily devotionals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.