Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12

Thomas Nelson My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12

Playwright Leah Townsend's career is careening downhill when her boyfriend, after a minor argument, has the nerve to enroll her in a "conflict resolution" class. Enter annoying radio host "Cinco" Dublin and sparks begin to fly. How can a habitual people-pleaser find happiness with a man who thrives on controversy? 320 pages, softcover from WestBow.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Review 1 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

read this book

Date:February 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
covington
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you fear confrontation, worry about pleasing people, and don't
know how to say no without guilt, then get this book. You will
be so glad you did. The author uses fiction with humor to
deliver important truth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lisa
Although it took me a bit to get into the story, I really did enjoy this book! As a people pleaser myself, I learned some valuable lessons from Leah in her journey to find the true person that she was..whether people accepted that or not. This is my first read from Rene Gutteridge...I will check out more of her work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2008
I'm reading this book for like the third time, and it is like taking a course in creative writing. It is one big lesson in and of itself. Rene Gutteridge keeps the plot moving and interesting, and keeps you invested and involved in the life of the main character, Leah, who is likable and easy to identify with. I also liked the added element of the play Leah is writing. The parallels are ironic and unique. I am anxious to read the rest of Rene Gutteridge's books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
This was my first Rene Gutteridge book, which I bought because as a writer, I thought I would be able to identify with Leah because she's a playwright. Yet, I was able to identify with her on many other levels, too, particularly the "doormat" level (yes, I am a member of the Doormats Anonymous club). But I loved what Rene did with that, because the way she wrote the book, you don't actually realize how much of a doormat Leah is until you've been with her for awhile. I think that's what makes some of the plot elements, such as Leah's eventual relationship with Cinco, so warm and rewarding. Some of the characters' actions were a little hard to swallow, and I don't think most conflict management classes would agree with Marilyn's methods, but this is forgivable in light of the enjoyable plot and a protagonist you can really care about. Good work, Rene!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 22, 2008
I agree with the reviewer who said she couldn't stand how Leah wouldn't stand up for herself, because that's just not me. But, it's true to real life, because everyone is different, and many people are like that. This was a unique, out-of-the-ordinary, funny read, which I finished in a few days flat and wished there were 10 more! I found Edward maddening, Cinco charming...all the characters just popped - so the author absolutely succeeded. I'm definitely going to check out more of Rene Gutteridge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2007
This book was really difficult to read at first. I really didn't like the way that Leah was being treated by everyone. I couldn't stand that she wouldn't stand up to anybody in her family and friends and how she would just let them walk all over her. I really hated her boyfriend Edward. That guy was such a jerk especially after enrolling her in the anger management class. I mean what type of person does that just because someone tries out something new or disagrees with you? But then as I kept reading, I liked how Leah was changing. She learned to finally deal and resolve conflict instead of just always giving in. I liked how she knew that this could radically change her life and the relationships she was in. She changed her life completely and finally became happy instead of just settling for mediocrity. The anger management classes were fun to read, some of the characters I would have had problems keeping my temper with! I applauded to her decision with Edward. It was funny though to see how he tried to change for her or at least his thinking of what "change" really was. I enjoyed her relationship with Cinco, it was just what she needed. The title of this book really catches your eye as does the cover. It's a great chick lit book and it's one I think a lot of people should read. Don't be afraid to change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
nicole
a wonderfully crafted book that shows the character flaws and turns them into rather distinct and funny situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Ginger
A wonderful read! Funny characters and a good plot.Had me laughing and reading it out loud to my husband at times. Leah is someone we can all identify with to some extent and the ending showed the freedom that comes from knowing who we are in Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2006
Very good book. I think that it started out a little slow but picked up and ended up being a very good book. It seems to be very different than other books that the author has written but so far, I've liked them all. :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for My Life As a Doormat, Women of Faith Series #12
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karri Compton
Leah Townsend avoids conflict like the plague. She always lets her boyfriend order for her when out to dinner. Never would she tell her former senator father that she is a republican. Her mother is overbearing and her best friend needs advice, but no reply from Leah will rock the relationship boat. Even the main character of her play bullies her into submission. Leah has dated straight-laced Edward for two years, and although she longs for some spontaneity, she dare not tell him so. When she wears a color other than her regular black to a party they attend, he seems embarrassed, but she refuses to confront him about it. Edward decides she needs help, so he sends her to an all-expense-paid conflict resolution class. This, of course, is the worst thing imaginable to Leah, but she agrees so as not to make waves.She grows more and more uncomfortable among the annoying attendees, who either bicker and fight or cower in fear. All the while, Leahs trademark red splotches creep up her neck, threatening to take over her entire head. What kind of friendships will she strike up in such an unlikely place? Will Leah learn to speak up for herself and state her opinion without being rude or breaking into a cold sweat?And what of her manuscript? Her play is going nowhere, and her agent lets her know in concise terms that this will be the end of her career unless she turns out a successful play.I rarely cackle while immersed in a book, but this story had me doing it with startling frequency. My response alternated between laughing at or feeling deep concern for dear Leah throughout the book.On the serious side, it takes extreme circumstances in our lives to highlight our character flaws. There is a point where we must decide to change because we cant stay the same anymore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.