Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Grand Central Publishing Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series

Grand Central Publishing Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series

Still aching over his wife's death, Cody Gunner can't bear the thought of also letting go of his Down Syndrome brother, Carl Joseph. Cody wants his brother home, where he will be safe and cared for, not out on his own in a world that Cody knows all too well can be heartless and insecure. So when Carl Joseph's teacher, Elle, begins championing his independence, she finds herself at odds with Cody. But even as these two battle it out, they can not deny the instinctive connection they share, and Cody faces a crisis of the heart.
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Review 1 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Story!

Date:February 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mimi
Location:Northeast, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Opened my eyes to the amazing abilities of people with special needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very moving

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Martina Reeves
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the way this book had so much information on independent living for people with downs. The world has come a long way and it still has a long way to go. A very inspirational story line. Thanks again Karen Kingsbury you haven't let me down yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Welker
I really enjoy Karen Kingsbury's writing. I cannot put it down. I learned so much about Down's Syndrome & how teachable they are if given the chance. I highly recommend this book. Also, it's unpredictable & suspenseful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2009
Outstanding!!! I loved this story of pain and healing. I fell in love with Cody and Elle. A great story to learn from. You can learn from Carl Joseph and his unfailing faith. He doesn't question he accepts things for what they are. He is very happy and after you read about him it puts you in a good mood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melissa Colvin
I am not quite done with it but, it's very good.The why the author portrayed the Downs Syndromecharacters is fantastic. I have worked with themthey are beautiful people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Eldon King
Loved it! If you haven't already read "A Thousand Tomorrows" it would be helpful, but not necessary. Wonderfully inspiring as only Karen Kingsbury can be!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carol
I love Kingsbury's books. I have a long list of people with whom I want to share this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margaret
I loved the wonderful and loveable Carl Joseph and Daisy and their siblings. I couldn't put it down. Thanks to Karen for a wonderful read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Fitzpatrick
Great follow up to the original story! It is well written and the emotions expressed are true. I had never read anything by Karen Kingsbury before, but now I would read and recommend anything written by her! I didn't want to put this book down. Maybe there will be a third book about this wonderful family??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
This is a wonderful story of a brother afraid to love and a brother giving all of his love to others. It's a great story that will touch your soul.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2008
Good story, good character development, good Christian testamony - it's a keeper. This was my 89 year-old mother's favorite from Karen Kingsbury.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
This is a quick, engaging read, and there are many things to like about it. I rooted for Elle all the way and, as a mildly disabled adult, was all for Carl Joseph and Daisy's independence, which was why I got a kick out of seeing her stand up to Cody and others. I also think Karen did a marvelous, believable job of writing some parts of this book from the point of view of a Down Syndrome adult, something I would venture to guess even veteran authors would not usually try. The explanations of Cody and Elle's former romances are also touching and, at times, wrenching. That said, though, there are a few flaws. A lot of Karen's scenes seemed to be piled on top of each other, as in, "first this happened, then that happened..." and so on. The characterizations often seem thready, and many pivotal events, such as Daisy, or any other student, finally reaching Goal Day, were not fleshed out well. However, this is a good one if you need something quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 22, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vivien Mcmaster
This is a follow up book to a thousand tomorrows. I bought it not knowing this so it was a pleasant surprise to pick up the story of Cody. As always Karen Kingsbury never disappoints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carrie
A great book, I was unable to lay it down. These special children are so precious. I really liked the phrase "Sunshine...beyond the clouds." So true, no matter how dreary the day may be. I hope there will be another to follow this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Anne George
This is one of the finest books that I have read featuring the real probability that Down's Syndrome children can lead useful, productive lives. This should be a real encouragement for any parent faced with this milestone in their life. Karen Kingsbury is one of the most outstanding writers of our time, and is so in sync with problems facing our world today. Five star all the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beverly Brent
A great story of overcoming grief and letting go of anger. It also shows the contribution someone with downs can make to the rest of the world. Very good at getting the reader involved in the characters experiences.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Stephen Dagrosa
A quick and inspiring read. The interplay between Cody and CJ, and CJ and Dasisy, is well researched and will act as a learning experience for most. Down Syndrone is handled so beautifully it is heartwarming. CJ is the "bomb". Ms. Kingsbury needs to continue as this story is not over. Many more aspects of love and life of Down Syndrone life to explore and close. Being a guy the touchy feely stuff was a bit much - hey Cody take Elle in your arms and tell her you love her and get it over with already!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rosa Gay
As usual, her stories are sweet and have a great message but they seem to drag on and on about the emotions and thoughts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Laurie Munneke
Great book! It is truly a joy to read Christian fiction that is so well written. Wouldn't it be wonderful if we could all have the child-like faith portrayed in this book. Karen Kingsbury helps us to put it all together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Just Beyond the Clouds, Cody Gunner Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dolores Clark
Excellent read. Great story which also gives a much better understanding to the challenges of Down Syndrome both physically and emotionally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.