Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for David C. Cook Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2

David C. Cook Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2

Seattle native Holly is smitten by the beauty of Lancaster County and the simple faith of her long-lost relatives who live there. When she falls for Zach---a handsome Mennonite veterinarian---her mother and Amish grandmother worry that if they marry, she'll be overwhelmed by the lifestyle change. Are they fretting over nothing---or could they be right?
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 out of 3294%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Review 1 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hidden secrets

Date:June 29, 2014
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the twist in this final book in the Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy. The mystery is kept a secret for much of the book about Sally's family. We know that she has a sick father, but we don't know anything about her mother or her Father's family. However, we also get to know Lizzie and her family. I will admit that the whole meeting between Sally and Lizzie is a bit odd. I knew something was up, but I couldn't figure it out at first. As the story grew, I started to have some suspicions as to what was up, but I liked how the story was withheld for so long.
I personally liked Armin. He is a hard-working man who is easy to like. I enjoyed all of the wild thoughts that Sally had about him and Rhoda. Isn't it so easy to just jump to conclusions about people?!
Even though this is part of a series, you don't have to have read the first two to enjoy this one. It easily can stand alone as a novel or as part of the series.
__________
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and David C Cook Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Twists and troubles in Amish story

Date:December 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate Lloyd’s second Amish novel continues the story of Esther and Holly, whom we met in Leaving Lancaster. In Pennsylvania Patchwork Esther is planning to join the Amish church of her youth and marry Nathaniel, an Amish widower, which pleases her elderly mother. Holly, her daughter, is engaged to Zach, a liberal Mennonite veterinarian. Both men must deal with disturbing incidents connected to their pasts and threatening their future.
Holly is also courted by an appealing Amishman, Nathaniel’s roving younger brother, plus her former boyfriend reappears—which of the three should she choose to spend her life with? Could she give up modern conveniences and become Amish like her mom and grandparents? Being raised without a dad has profoundly affected her, and she longs for a man she can depend on.
Forgiveness and healing of the past emerges as a theme in this touching tale. The problems these true-to-life characters face can make readers examine their own lives and issues and hopefully decide on a healing path.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
This review is fromPennsylvania Patchwork - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointing

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the most part, I am one who absolutely adores Amish fiction. I have only been reading it for a few years, but there is something often quite charming and endearing about these books, and very rarely do I read one with which I cannot connect. In addition to this, it seems that Amish fiction is all the rage amongst authors. I think that it behooves a prospective Amish author to truly consider whether she can write a believable story that will draw readers into the simple, quaint Amish way of life.
As much as I wanted to like this story, I have to admit that almost from the beginning, I was rather turned off. It is true that I did not read the first book in the series, and possibly that was my issue. If you choose to read this series, make sure you start with the first book. I spent the first fifty pages or so trying to figure out who everyone was, and it was quite difficult. It was as easy as swimming against the current at times.
Now, don't get me wrong. There are some pretty interesting moments in the book. It was clear that Kate Loyd had done her homework. She painted a splendid picture of Amish life and examined many issues surrounding the decision to convert to this way of life or not. And the trio of men who were pursuing Holly made me want to read to the end. I was also grateful to the allusions to Seattle and the beauty of Washington state. That is what first drew me to this book, as a matter of fact. I also appreciated the bit of mystery and intrigue the author inserted into the story.
I found the book rather vapid at times, and I did not like the ending at all. I am sure that true romantics out there would absolutely love the ending, but it just did not sit well with me. The author's writing style was fine, but I just did not connect with the characters nor the story. I honestly felt that the Christian principles in the book lacked depth. In fact, I was horrified when one of the characters chose to conceal something she never should have. I realize that the author may be setting the stage for the next book, but I can only hope that she would have catastrophe in store for that character. I would have appreciated it much more if Kate Loyd had concentrated more on the faith of the characters. I wish this book could be more complimentary, but this book was more of a struggle than a delight. But realize that this is only my opinion, and I am possibly in the minority with what I think.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great romance

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
joeym11
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennsylvania Patchwork
By: Kate Lloyd
I don’t believe I have read a book of Kate’s that I didn’t like. Great stories well written. If you like Amish books you will love this one. Pennsylvania Patchwork is the sequel to Leaving Lancaster.
Story of Holly Fisher finding family and love. Like a patchwork quilt the pieces have to be sewn together. Meeting a family she never knew falling in love with Zach a Mennonite Vet. Thinking Zach is everything she wants in a husband then from her pass enters a Amish man. We all have choices we make in life and all may not be good. With the Amish they to have choices and not always is the right choice made. This book as a lot going on with different relationships, Making choices. Faith , Love , Trust and her Faith how will the story come out will it be the wife of a Mennonite man or will it be with the Amish man. I would read book one first so you can follow where the story goes. Looking forward to book 3.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
This review is fromPennsylvania Patchwork - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ONE HEART. TWO LOVES. ONE CHOICE.
Seattle native Holly Fisher is smitten by Lancaster County, its simplicity and her long lost relatives. In the sequel to bestselling Leaving Lancaster, Holly embraces the Amish culture, learning to slow down to see what - and who – really matters.
Meeting the family that her mother had kept hidden from her, Holly comes face to face with her real life and blood legacy. She also falls for the charming Zach, a handsome Mennonite veterinarian who is everything she’s ever wanted in a husband: confident, kind, successful, and authentic. And Zach proposes marriage. Is this too soon? Is this the right choice? Mother and Amish grandmother think she’s rushing into too much of a lifestyle change. Holly is in love with Zach and that precludes everything. Until she meets an attractive Amish man. And an old suitor shows up.
Pennsylvania Patchwork is the moving, richly told story of one woman’s heart, her faith and trust, and the choices she makes. Never easy, but one choice can change your destiny.
My Review:
My initial impression of Holly as a character in Leaving Lancaster was not a very good one. For a woman her age, she is self-centered and selfish, and has no backbone whatsoever. In this novel, she makes a complete turn-around that is rather confusing. I understand she wants to connect with her family and be a part of that family, but she goes from an Englisher mentality, to complete openness about the Amish life and ways.
While that sounds like criticism for Lloyd's work and this novel, the elements of Holly's emotions and actions as a character is the reason why I loved this book. So many Amish novels out there portray their characters as people with a problem/situation, and of course it gets solved within the course of the book. In this book, Holly's personality is akin to someone in their teens, but I found her to be a more realistic character to real life than the storybook characters that run rampant in our Christian Amish Fiction genre.
Overall, the book was an excellent sequel, and has all the ups and downs expected when someone from a completely different world and upbringing attempts to change their life. Very good reading, and I promise it is well worth the read.
This book was provided by the publisher for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What would you do?

Date:October 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cathy Thelen
Location:Melbourne, fl
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first time reading a book by Kate Lloyd. This is the second book in the trilogy. I haven't read the first one. So I don't have any point of reference. But I would love to read the whole series.
This book kept my eyes reading on and on until the end.
Holly's life is being turned upside down and around. Can she fit into the Amish community that her and her mother have come to? Who should she marry? Should it be her choice? Her mother and grandmother want to give their advice. There are many twist and turns in this book.
I was given this book for free for my honest review by bookfun.org.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Esther has returned home after leaving her Amish family behind in Pennsylvania to live a life with Samuel on the West Coast. Esther and Samuel lived life on the streets for awhile before Samuel ended up being drafted to serve. Esther settled into a life in Seattle until her husband Samuel came home from the war. During this time, Esther established herself in business as half-owner of a quilt shop and becoming a mother.
Holly is busy trying to find her way in life as either an Englisher or an Amish woman, one who has three men who seem smitten and determined to court her. Zach is a veterinarian who first proposed to Holly, but for the longest time didn’t seem to pay her much attention. Esther’s fiancé, Nathaniel, ran both farms with his brother’s help, though his brother would come and go as the wind blows. Yet, Armin was attracted to Holly, but he didn’t make time to nurture the relationship either. Then, one night, Larry shows up with a ring proposing to Holly, whom he met when they were at college.
Woven in the threads of the sequel to Leaving Lancaster are the many choices the characters have made along with repercussions. Also, some of the main characters are facing choices each day that could impact the future for many people. One aspect of the novel I most appreciated was how the characters sought the Lord in His Word and through prayer for guidance. Another quality I appreciated was how a couple of the characters faced their failings straight on, praying never to repeat their mistakes. Along with those threads was one of extending forgiveness by asking for God’s help to truly do so from the heart. I loved how the grandmother and granddaughter would challenge each other playfully without Holly becoming disrespectful. Some choices are hard especially when they differ from what is expected or anticipated by significant others in the characters’ lives.
Personally, I think we all have choices to make each day that we may or may not see the affect of right away, as Esther did in this story. Like Esther’s personality though sometimes waiting for God’s will to be fulfilled can being trying and emotionally difficult. I loved the fact that Holly was not pressured to make a life decision based on what her mother was going to do. In fact, Holly was free to seek the Lord and make her choice. When she made it, everyone gladly rejoiced for her and knew she was happy. There is a third book in this series to be published and I can’t wait to see how the author concludes this particular series set in Lancaster, PA!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ONE HEART. TWO LOVES. ONE CHOICE.
Seattle native Holly Fisher is smitten by Lancaster County, its simplicity and her long lost relatives. In the sequel to bestselling Leaving Lancaster, Holly embraces the Amish culture, learning to slow down to see what - and who – really matters.
Meeting the family that her mother had kept hidden from her, Holly comes face to face with her real life and blood legacy. She also falls for the charming Zach, a handsome Mennonite veterinarian who is everything she’s ever wanted in a husband: confident, kind, successful, and authentic. And Zach proposes marriage. Is this too soon? Is this the right choice? Mother and Amish grandmother think she’s rushing into too much of a lifestyle change. Holly is in love with Zach and that precludes everything. Until she meets an attractive Amish man. And an old suitor shows up.
Pennsylvania Patchwork is the moving, richly told story of one woman’s heart, her faith and trust, and the choices she makes. Never easy, but one choice can change your destiny.
My Review:
My initial impression of Holly as a character in Leaving Lancaster was not a very good one. For a woman her age, she is self-centered and selfish, and has no backbone whatsoever. In this novel, she makes a complete turn-around that is rather confusing. I understand she wants to connect with her family and be a part of that family, but she goes from an Englisher mentality, to complete openness about the Amish life and ways.
While that sounds like criticism for Lloyd's work and this novel, the elements of Holly's emotions and actions as a character is the reason why I loved this book. So many Amish novels out there portray their characters as people with a problem/situation, and of course it gets solved within the course of the book. In this book, Holly's personality is akin to someone in their teens, but I found her to be a more realistic character to real life than the storybook characters that run rampant in our Christian Amish Fiction genre.
Overall, the book was an excellent sequel, and has all the ups and downs expected when someone from a completely different world and upbringing attempts to change their life. Very good reading, and I promise it is well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:September 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Irishgirl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennsylvania Patchwork is the first book that I have read in this series. It did not disappoint and I was happy to find that I was able to enjoy and understand the story line without having read the first book. I enjoyed this book very much. The characters are very interesting and well written.
This story is filled with regrets from the past,love, forgiveness, relationships between multiple generations and conflicts aplenty. I enjoyed the different character perspectives throughout the book, it was nice to see things through the eyes of Holly and Esther. I was also loved how the characters chose to seek God's will in their lives.
This story kept me longing for more and I would highly recommend this book! I enjoyed Kate Lloyd's writing style immensely.
I was given this book by Bookfun.org in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A sweet Amish story with some far-reaching secrets

Date:September 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
TellNJasmine
Location:Montana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennsylvania Patchwork isn't quite your typical Amish romance. Instead of focusing on a young Amish, usually girl, who has to decide if she will leave her community or stick with the Amish faith this book features 3 generations of women in different places in their lives.
(Mommy) Anna has never left her Amish faith and wants nothing more than to see her daughter and granddaughter join the church as well. She is also starting to have some health problems that concern her loved ones.
Esther was raised Amish but left as a young woman to marry the former Amish boy she loved. After many years in the Englisch world - and some secrets, she has returned to the church and will soon be marrying Amish man Nathaniel.
Holly is in her 30's and still lives with her family. Until recently she had no idea about her Amish heritage and she now has to decide whether she wants to join the Amish church or continue as an Englischer. AND she has to choose between three, very different, but good men.
I hadn't had a chance to read the first book in this trilogy yet and after reading Pennsylvania Patchwork I would love to do so. In many ways this book can be read as a standalone but I think some references would make more sense with the background of Leaving Lancaster.
Since I was new to Kate Lloyd's work I didn't really know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised to find a story that did have many of the elements familiar to readers of Amish fiction but also some different twists in the plot-line that made this book an interesting and fun read. This book through some expected and also unexpected curves to the story that kept me reading through a couple of spots that lagged a little. In some ways the ending seemed a little rushed but for the most part it really wasn't, the resolutions for Esther's and Holly's romances were quick but very good.
Pennsylvania Patchwork is enjoyable read for lovers of Amish fiction and those that enjoy a good story about a simpler life - one that has the odd habit of becoming complicated at times.
(I received this book from the Publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest opinion.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Young Woman Meets Amish Family

Date:September 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Holly finally meets her Amish relatives. She finds that she doesn't miss all the modern conveniences and the peace, community spirit, love and faith touch her. Think of a young woman who called herself a "wallflower" and suddenly there are three young men wanting to court her. How does a girl decide what to do?? She prays and talks to her Amish grandmother. This is a story that you will thoroughly enjoy, characters that you will love and my only compliant - how long do we have to wait for another good book from Kate Lloyd? I read my first book by Kate last year and loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A bit confusing if read before book 1

Date:September 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
tmurrell
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Holly finally gets to meet the Amish family her mother grew up with and kept a secret for so many years. She has a fiance, but circumstances lead her to wonder if she'll ever get married or if she should be looking in a different direction. Should she join the Amish faith like her mother, or wait to see what will happen with her fiance.
I, unfortunately, did not read book 1 before I received book 2 for review. This, I'm sure, colored my view of the book. The characters were fun and seemed to have depth. The story was well written and portrayed the emotions well. My complaint about the story was the fact that it didn't seem to stand alone as its own book. I felt lost from the very beginning and stayed this way through most of the book. So much was missing that I'm sure was in book 1. My recommendation would be to find book 1 and read it first. The author is good and the book was fun to read. But these books don't stand alone.
I received this book free of charge from Book Fun in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:August 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda
Location:Long Beach, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Loved Pennsylvania Patchwork by Kate Lloyd. Kate Lloyd, writes a story about three women Esther, Holly, and Anna. The uncertainity of their lives of future and a hope. Kate's story keeps you in suspense of what is going to happen next....a story that makes you want to continue to read on to not miss a single beat. I received this book by The Book Club Network, Inc. to do a review. I would recommend this book to everyone to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pennsylvania Patchwork

Date:August 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
muffin
Location:Honea Path, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow! This was an excellent book! My favorite genre of books are suspense/thrillers so I was thinking this book would be okay. Boy, was I wrong! This book had my attention from the first page. This is the 2nd book in a series but I haven't read the 1st book in the series so you don't necessarily have to read them in order. I read this book in a couple of days.
This book follows Esther and Holly Fisher in Amish contry. Holly is very confused about love as she has quite a few suitors calling for her attention. There are a couple of secrets that some of the characters are hiding and the resolutions don't happen until the end of the book.
I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!
I received this book from bookfun for my honest opinion. Thank you Bookfun and David C. Cook for letting me review this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pennsylvania Patchwork by Kate Lloyd

Date:August 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Favorite Scene:
"Nee. Don't ya see? Zach's putting these ideas in your head so you'll steer clear of me. He's afraid you'll decide you prefer the Amish life to his."
Holly would never become Amish," Zach said.
"That's not what I hear." Armin tossed the grass away. "Nathaniel told me she wore his daughter's dress and apron, and even figured out how to secure the pins. And he said she relies on her computer less and less."
"We don't have internet up at my grandma's," I said. But Armin was speaking the truth. And I'd neglected to put on makeup today. Not to mention, I'd all but given up driving.
"She loves riding in the buggy," Armin said. "I can tell that. 'Tis plain as the pout on your face, but you're too dickkeppich—thick-headed—to see."
"How do you know so much about my future wife?"
"You ain't married yet, Zach..."
Synopsis:
After finding out about her Amish heritage that had long been hidden, Holly Fisher abd her mother, Esther, move from Seattle to Pennsylvania so she can get to know her "new" family and the Amish lifestyle. Once there, things aren't quite as simple as they seem. Holly finds she loves the Amish life and takes pleasure in the simple things, eventually forgetting the lack of modern conveniences. The local Veteranarian, Zach Flemming soon sweeps her off her feet. Holly thinks she knows what her heart wants until she meets a local Amish man. Armin King makes Holly's determination to marry Zach waver and she constantly finds herself second guessing what her heart wants. When an old friend from Seattle shows up at her door asking for her hand in marriage, Holly is shocked. Amidst her indecisions about her love life, Holly is struggling with her grandmother's failing health and a surprise package from her deceased father. Who will Holly choose and what lifestyle will she be happy with?
I always love Amish Fiction. There is just something about the close relationship the Amish share with God and their readiness to forgive that draws me. Pennsylvania Patchwork made me experience this feeling all over again. The scenes were so descriptive I felt like I was there enjoying the Amish countryside. I must say I was rooting for one of Holly's suitors in particular. While they all had things about them I loved and admired, one stood out among the rest for me. I won't give out any spoilers but I am looking forward to Book three so I can follow the rest of the story. Kate Lloyd wrote a thoroughly enjoyable story that kept me turning the page to find out more. While you don't have to read book one to follow along with what's happening, you will want to after reading this book. If you like Amish Fiction, you'll love Pennsylvania Patchwork.
**I received this book free from the publisher through The Book Club Network for my honest opinion**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More of the Esther and Holly Fisher story

Date:August 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Holly and her mother Esther Fisher are living in Esther's family home with her mother Anna. The rest of Esther's family has moved to Montana so she and Holly are taking care of Mommy Anna, as Holly calls her grandmother. Both women, Holly and Esther have a lot of decisions to make about their future and the closer they get to thinking they know what they want, the more complicated things become.
This is a pretty busy story and keeps you guessing which direction they are moving toward. Esther's husband to be, Nathaniel, has to leave town to search for his first wife, Holly becomes engaged to a mennonite but finds herself falling for Armin, Nathaniel's brother, and to top that off an old friend comes from Seattle to visit and wants her to marry him.
As all of this is happening her grandmother is very sick and Esther gets a box from an old friend of her husband with the most bizarre contents. The contents are from Samuel, Esther's supposedly deceased husband, but what is in the box isn't something he would send to Esther and Holly and kind of throws Mommy Anna off the deep end which causes her to get even more forgetful.
Kate did a good job of keeping me guessing as to what was going to happen and I must say that I was surprised in Holly's decision. Another good read for all of you Amish book lovers out there. Don't forget to read "Leaving Lancaster" first to get the background for this story!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet romance with some valuable life lessons

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cindi
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Holly Fisher was raised in the suburbs of Seattle by her mother, Esther. What Holly finds out is that Esther had been keeping her Amish family a secret. When they move back to Amish country to take care of Holly's grandmother, Holly seems to adjust rather well and finds herself getting engaged to a Mennonite veterinarian.
While I enjoyed this story, I found it to be a little difficult to follow especially in the beginning. (Maybe this was partially because I did not read the first book in the series.) It switched from first person (being told by Holly) to third person, which I found to be quite confusing.
This is a sweet story about family, heartache, loss, Christian values and love. Forgiveness and honesty were also valuable lessons brought out by this story.
I received a copy of Pennsylvania Patchwork from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very interesting story about family & forgiveness.

Date:August 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Britt98
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very enjoyable book which is part of a great series. Pennsylvania Patchwork is the second book of the Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy by Kate Lloyd. I have read the first book in the series and really enjoyed it. In Pennsylvania Patchwork, we meet up again with Holly Fisher and her mother, Esther. They are now living with Holly's grandmother, an old order Amish woman named Anna.
This story is full of secrets and guilt from the past. There is much confusion about the future, especially for Holly in regard to her upcoming marriage to Zach. Will the wedding be happening or will a past relationship come between Holly and Zach? Add to that the fact that there appear to be two other men interested in Holly. Who is the man God really intends for her to be with? Esther has her own share of troubles again in this book. She must juggle her ailing mother's strange behavior, uncertainty regarding her relationship with Nathaniel and some strange information regarding her deceased husband.
Pennsylvania Patchwork was a great read. I really enjoyed the way the author switched perspectives between each chapter. This technique worked to increase my anticipation as I read each chapter. I felt very invested in discovering what happens with these characters and look forward to reading the third book in this trilogy some day. I received a free copy of this book from the publisher through The Book Club Network in exchange for an honest review, which I have given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Family Ties

Date:August 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carolyn
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennsylvania Patchwork, is the second novel in The Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy by Kate Lloyd.
This is a story about two women who travel from Seattle to live in the Amish community in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Esther Fisher had run away from the community when she was young. When Holly, her 30 year-old daughter loses her job, the women decide to enter the Amish community to help out with Esther’s aging mother. Holly finds that when she reaches Lancaster, she has to make many adjustments to live with her Amish grandma who has a simple way of life that is definitely different from the mainstream culture. The author places three generations of women living together in a single home. This situation makes Pennsylvania Patchwork an interesting read.
Holly soon finds that she has three suitors: Zach Fleming, a Mennonite Vet, Arming King, an Amish man and Larry Haarberg, a banker she met while in Seattle. Her mother, Esther also has a possible marriage in the works. The story has many twists and turns, several mysteries, love, and many wonderful descriptions of the Amish community in Lancaster. The author’s description of life in this community presents an old-fashion charm with picturesque farmlands and landscapes that invites the reader to want to live there. She tells of rolling hills, lush grasses, horse and buggies, crops, etc.
Can Esther and Holly adapt to the Amish Ordnung (rule book)? What is in the mysterious bread box? Will Esther bury the past and marry? Will Holly marry, if so, who?
I really enjoyed reading Pennsylvania Patchwork and learned much about the Amish culture.
Thank you David C. Cook for offering free in exchange for my honest opinion and BookFun.org that made it all happen!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Pennsylvania Patchwork, Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy, #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Amish Fiction

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
inspiremichelle
Location:Loureauville, LA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pennsylvania Patchwork, book 2 of Legacy of Lancaster Trilogy by Kate Lloyd
Holly Fisher grew up having an Amish family that was kept secret from her. After losing her job in Seattle she and her mother move in with Anna the grandmother she has never known. Together they help to care for the ill Anna who is feisty, driven and seems to be a little senile. Holly seems to fit right in to the new simpler way of life. She falls in love with local boy, Zach, a Mennonite veterinarian. He seems to be the man of her dreams. She agrees to marry him then questions arise from his past. Can they be overcome? Holly meets handsome Armin. He was raised Amish but left and has recently came home trying to decide if he wants to be baptized. He claims to want a life with Holly too. Now Larry her English friend and ex co-worker shows up proclaiming his love for her. Three suitors have left Holly full of doubt, confusion and tested her faith. The three suitors can be hilarious with the problems they bring too this story. Whom will she choose? Her grandmother wants her to choose an Amish husband and would have her be baptized Amish. Her mother Esther wants grandchildren before it’s too late. What does Holly want? The author Kate Lloyd does a great joy of working questions of faith into the story. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys Christian or Amish fiction. I want to thank The Book Club Network Inc. for this book. And thanks to the author Kate Lloyd and publisher David C Cook for writing and bring good clean Christian books to readers like me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>