Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook

Zondervan Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook

Wholesome literature is important for building good character---and this newly updated guide will help you choose the best of the classics for preschoolers through teens. Drawing from a range of genres, including fantasy, biography, and poetry, Hunt offers a select list of books that will start your youngsters on the road to a lifetime of reading pleasure. 240 pages, softcover from Zondervan. Annotated list of books for ages 0-14.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Review 1 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource!

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs C
Location:Corinna, ME
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had borrowed a previous edition from a friend and I knew I just had to buy it! I love this book. It's full of great titles for books for every grade level and topic of study. A must have for every parent or homeschooler!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Indispensable Parental Resource

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Southeast Wisconsin
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I progressed through elementary school one thing was constant, the presence of Gladys Hunt’s “Honey for a Child’s Heart” on every teacher’s desk. The book was the “gold standard” for selecting classroom read aloud. As a new parent I remember checking out the original 1969 edition from our public library to peruse. After perusing the library copy, I purchased my own, which I am still using 12 years later.
“Honey for a Child’s Heart” is a guide book for selecting quality children’s literature for children ages, 0-14 years of age. The author guides the parent through a two-step process in helping to select quality children’s literature.
The first step is titled “Using Books to Help Children Grow.” The author gives a scope and sequence of what good books do, how to choose good books, how to raise a reader, what makes a good book, the benefits of fantasy, realism, and poetry, the importance of family read aloud time, good books as good teachers, building a family library and using the public library.
The second step is titled, “Best-Loved Books for Children.” This section of the book is a book list divided into the following topics: How to Use The Book List, A Child’s First Books, Picture Book Classics, More Favorite Picture Books, First Books for Beginning Readers, Classic Children’s Novels and More Great Books for Intermediate Readers, Stories for Animal Lovers, Historical Novels, Fantasy Novels, Young Adult Novels, Poetry for Pleasure, Nourishing Your Child’s Spiritual Life, and A Book List for Special Occasions.
As a parent I have found this book to be indispensable resource.
I look forward to using the authors other titles, “Honey for a Teen’s Heart” and “Honey for a Woman’s Heart.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:August 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laurie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a homeschooling mom the number of books out there can be overwhelming. This wonderful book is a great guide to help parents and grandparents find books for children of different age groups. It also has some interesting material for parents on the importance of reading to your children and selecting great literature for them It also offers helps on how to help children learn what makes a great book. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:February 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
cren
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What wonderful wealth of information. I appreciate the way the book is done. I like the category breakdowns - picture books, classics, board books, spiritual, poetry, etc. I have already added some of the recommended classics to our family library as well as added a few to our wishlist.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jacqueline Juarez
I think Honey for a Childs Heart is an excellent book for parents. I took it to the library with me to check out some books on the list and lost the book (of course I re-ordered it). My son and my daughter are really enjoying the books from the list and it makes me glad that my children can find books to be entertainment! It is also great bonding time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robin
If you only use this book as a reference to find literature for your children, you'll be missing the other half of an excellent book. Gladys Hunt is wonderful writer in her own right, and she makes a winsome but strong case for the value and importance of reading good books (not just anything for the sake of reading) and reading together as a family. No one will agree completely with anyone, but her booklist is an outstanding aid in finding great books.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle Caskey
This book is a MUST HAVE for all homeschooling parents and those who wish to guide their children in reading wonderful books. Gladys Hunt has been guiding parents for years - and her suggestions are invaluable.Michelle Caskeywww.homeschool-your-boys.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristi Trimble
Very readable. This book does not cover what you can do with the books, but it does give a comprehensive list that will keep your children reading good literature. I think this will be a huge resource in our reading this coming school year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honey for a Child's Heart: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life / New edition - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2007
Customer Avatar
Pamela
The book lists are somewhat helpful, but heavy on popular books. Gladys Hunt spends several pages defending the Harry Potter series. Christianbook.com has other book lists I would recommend over this - search for Bluedorn &/or F.A.C.E.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.