Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Notgrass Company Exploring Government Curriculum Package

Notgrass Company Exploring Government Curriculum Package

This three part curriculum, consisting of a 75 lesson text, a volume of historic documents, and an optional quiz/exam book, is packed with information on our government's beginnings and development. You'll gain an adequate understanding of the purpose and functions of democracy by paying attention to the Constitution and biblical basis for government. You'll learn what the government does, why it is the way it is and why it does what it does. This is a one semester course if one unit is studied per week. Units contain an overview, lesson list, suggested activities, applicable document reading and more. 526 pages, indexed. Softcover. Quizzes and tests available separately (stock #410434).
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Review 1 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
southernmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Great product. Has a true biblical worldview. Excellent job!
One thing to note is that it is very challenging. I would recommend it for upper high school.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great source of knowledge!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
michelle
Location:Red Oak, Tx.
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very important to me to get a curriculm that would have enough information, and really focus on the constitution, and what our founders were trying to accomplish. I found it. I like the way the lessons intoduce the topics and then have the student go to the "We hold these truths" book. It is a lot of information and I do agree with the previous poster that it would be good to use this as a full year course. I think if it is rushed the student may not get the full benifit of the information. You can go deeper into it by doing the extra activities or you can omit some or all of them. My oldest son has not complained so far and he seems to really be soaking it up.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing content! My daughter absolutely loves it!

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
jenniferwoods7
Location:Brazoria, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recomend this curriculum. Has a Biblical world view~ very refreshing :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All inclusive

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor T
Location:Windsor Locks, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Exloring Government package from Notgrass is amazing. My children and I are appreciating the whole Biblical basis; as well as the fact that all the needed documents are included in the companion text. No time needed to find documents that may otherwise be difficult to locate. I highly recommend this if you are setting out on studies of American Government.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, Interesting, Easy reading

Date:November 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
vanell
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 15 year old boy loved this book and the writing style of Mr. Notgrass. The living books were a PLUS for pulling it all together. He learned a lot about our government and found it correlated with Economics. I would recommend American History, Economics, and Government all from Mr. Notgrass.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent content but...

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this curriculum to teach Government to my daughter, a high school senior who is more interested in Science and getting on with her life than learning about her country's government. With that said, you may understand my frustration.
First and most importantly, Mr. Notgrass has loaded this curriculum with lots of important information and the encouragement to use the info to make your own decisions about the issues. He explains the ideas and goals that the founding fathers had in mind when constructing our government...even the views of those who disagreed with the outcome! He then goes on to describe how our government works by explaining the constitution, piece by piece. Along the way he also explains the struggles to follow the constitution and the checks and balances that were meant to keep everyone in their boundaries. He goes on to cover the workings of state and local government as well as government budgets and taxes. The last section deals with the issues that voters are debating and deciding about today; issues concerning healthcare, the economy, and terrorism. All of this is presented from a Biblical worldview with the intention to get the student thinking and making informed decisions.
The student who will most benefit is the future lawyer or politician. Plenty of opportunities for debate are presented throughout the book. Since my daughter is going to study animals, not politics, she is feeling rather overwhelmed with all the details. This is not a "just learn how to vote" course or an easy grade. The student should not only be prepared to memorize facts (and lots of them) but to analyze and express their opinion about those facts. One of the activities is to write a letter to a newpaper describing "which functions of the bureaucracy seem appropiate, and which seem redundant, unnecessary, or unconstitutional." My daughters response was, "How would I know?" In her 17 years she hasn't been concerned about big government. If your student hasn't wrestled with the issues before taking this course, then consider stretching it out to a full year.
Hence, my frustration. I had planned on only spending half a year as Mr. Notgrass suggested. Well, we won't be done until spring! My daughter is learning to apply herself to a course that she feels is unnecessarily too detailed. This is a very complete government course. It produces wonderful citizens who know how to participate in their government with wisdom. But to use it most effectively, consider taking a full year to complete it!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
indirt
This text is worth the investment. I like the way the author begins with the foundation of government by God and then a history of governments with their virtues and vices. I also like that he explains how government was set up to work, but also includes how it actually functions. We Hold These Truths is a wonderful collection of essays and government documents. They are given as extra reading assignments after each lesson. The text is easy enough to read, but the concepts are high school level, as are the concepts and readings of the government documents. It says the publication date is 2006, but my copy I ordered from CBD has a picture in it dated 2008.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exploring Government Curriculum Package
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
kim stari
Excellent Christian based government program. Well planned, detailed, and definitely high school level. Your student will get a good knowledge base for US government.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.