Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Crossway Books & Bibles Big Truths For Little Kids

Crossway Books & Bibles Big Truths For Little Kids

Your children are a blessing from God. A gift that brings an abundance of joy and the privilege of teaching them God's ways. When they're young their potential to learn is amazing. And because actions and beliefs go hand in hand, the lessons they learn from you now will shape their lives forever.

How we live is based upon what we believe. Susan Hunt wants to help parents systematically teach their kids the basic truths of faith so that they live for the Lord. This wonderful book, with its easy-to-use story format, can help you teach the basic truths of the Christian faith to your children. Each lesson in this devotional for children begins with simple questions and answers about a biblical principle and is followed by a story of two youngsters, Caleb and Cassie, that portrays how that truth can be applied. You're children will learn right along with Caleb and Cassie that God's ways are best--and that even as kids, they can live for His glory every day. Recommended for ages 5 to 9.

Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Big Truths For Little Kids
Review 1 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, neat way to learn Christian catechism

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The main goal for our family is to hand down our Christian faith and heritage to our children. Of course, they won't automatically "be" Christians just because they are our children. They have to come to a point in their lives where they realize they need Christ as their personal Savior, and desire to love Him and serve Him.
Using books like Big Truths for Little Kids will help enable this to happen in your own family!
Designed for ages 4-10, your family will find the poignant stories and catechism-type questions that will help children easily begin to understand more about God and biblical truths. If you are concerned about your children having a biblical worldview, this book is an excellent tool to begin that kind of training in your home.
I wish I'd had this book when my girls were quite a bit younger. Now that they are ages 12 and 14, this book is a little bit too simplistic for them, although the catechism questions are still very appropriate.
How does this book work?
Well, it's designed to be a long-term project with your family! You will not spend hours memorizing the catechism questions and answers, but this will happen over time, as a byproduct of using this book.
Each time you sit down with your children to read from this book, you will read through one story and read through the questions and discuss the answers with your children.
Each day, as you move to a different story, begin by reviewing the questions for story #1 or another previous section of the book. Then, ask each question in the new story, say the answer, and ask the child to recite the answer with you. Don't try to force your children to memorize the answers.
Read the new story with your children, and read through the questions and answers for the new story.
Each time you read from the book, memorize additional answers. The truths and applications will be reinforced, and your child's understanding will expand. Make this a special time with your children - and have fun!
When you reach the "Let's Pray" section, read the verse, or let the child read it with you. Use the very words of Scripture in your prayer, and this will help show children that it's beneficial to pray using the language of Scripture as he or she prays.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great devotional book for kids

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently received the book, Big Truths for Little Kids from the Crossway Homeschool Book Review Program, but it actually is not a new book to me at all. I read through this devotional book with my daughter several years ago and liked it so much that I bought two more by these authors: Discovering Jesus Through Genesis and Discovering Jesus Through Exodus.
The purpose of this book is to teach children that they are created for God’s glory, to help them apply this truth, and to teach children their need for God’s grace. This is done through the continuing story of two children, Cassie and Caleb, and their daily life and interactions with others. Each of the 36 chapters begins with simplified questions and answers from the “First Catechism.” Although it is recommended that the children memorize the answers, we just reviewed them without requiring memorization. A story follows, that reinforces the questions of the day. Finally, discussion questions and a prayer help the children to apply the truths to their lives.
My daughter says, “This book makes it so much fun to study God’s word!! I think that a lot of little kids would love this book and would be influenced by it!
I would suggest this book for ages 4-10. The story is simple enough to be enjoyed by young children, but the theology is deep enough to engage and benefit much older children. The lessons taught are consistent with reformed theology.
I received this book free from the Crossway Homeschool Book Review Program in order to write this review. All opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

God's word practically applied to the lives of you

Date:July 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wayne S. Walker
Location:Salem, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
What is the most important thing that a child can learn from his parents? Eight-year-old Caleb and his younger sister Cassie live with their dad and mom. The whole family is striving to be godly. They all regularly attend church services, and every night the parents teach the children about Jesus using the catechism. Caleb’s best friend Angus and his family attend the same church, but their other friend Daniel and his family, who recently moved into the community, don’t go to church. So Caleb and Angus ask Daniel to go to church with them. Will he be allowed to go? How will his parents react? And what will be the result?
The reader needs to be aware that the authors come from a highly Reformed (Calvinistic) religious tradition. Susan Hunt is the women’s ministry consultant for Christian Education and Publications of the Presbyterian Church in America. Her son Richie Hunt is the children’s and youth minister at Grace Covenant Presbyterian Church in Dallas, GA. Bible believers from other religious backgrounds may not necessarily agree with some concepts and practices set forth in the book, such as salvation by praying to ask Jesus into your heart, total hereditary depravity, tithing, keeping the “Christian’s Sabbath,” following the Ten Commandments, and baptizing infants. In fact, many of us would prefer to instruct our children simply from the Scriptures rather than using a man-made catechism.
However, putting the issue of the catechism aside, the thing I really like about this book is that the 36 stories illustrate how the truth of God’s word can be practically applied even in the lives of young children and also how important it is for parents to teach their children what the Bible says. Youngsters have a much greater capacity to learn than a lot of people think, so we shouldn’t wait until they’re older but start from the very beginning to inculcate within them both Biblical morality and Biblical doctrine. Each chapter concludes with a “Let’s Talk” section with questions about the lesson and a “Let’s Pray” section which, rather than having a written prayer to repeat, gives a passage of Scripture and just encourages the reader to pray based upon what that passage says.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
dcmsbc
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this to my kids at night and they are so excited for our devotion time. I am the Director of Children's Ministries at our church and I will be giving this book as a gift to each of our parents for Christmas. It is a wonderful book to begin to encourage parents to have that devotional time at home each day. The beginning of theology and deep Biblical truths is so important. These are not basic, dumbed down stories. I love it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Murray Coulter
Good introduction to the basics of the Christian faith. Why do we believe what we believe? Very good foundation, and presentation of questions and answers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ingrid Lazaro
My kids love this time at night when we get together to read. My husband and I love all that this book brings to our family in teaching our children the basics of all that we believe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Miriam Hall
This is an excellent resource for teaching young children some very deep truths about the faith. The questions that accompany each story follow a simplified version of the shorter catechism, and the truths from the questions are woven into the stories in a way that young children are able to understand. I have been reading a chapter every night as I put my 5 year old to bed, and she has enjoyed it thoroughly. We go over the previous chapters' questions before moving on to a new story, and she is learning while having fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Connie Unruh
We loved this book! All three of my children enjoyed it and we go back to it quite often. Cassie & Caleb are part of the family now!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Judy Pilewski
Outstanding book! My grandson and I use this every day following our Bible story at the beginning of our home school time. We loved it so much the first time through, we went through it again. We feel like we know Cassie and Caleb, their parents and friends. This book provides such valuable insights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Here is a great book for the little ones. We desire for our youngest to know the truths of Scripture. This tool has helped us wonderfully.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lanie James
Great Book! Awesome foundational teaching and an excellent tool for parents to have to encourage Biblical teaching and discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Quinne
This is an EXCELLENT devotional book for children! Our daughter has taken the characters into her heart - and most importantly - along with them more and more about the Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2004
Customer Avatar
JoAnn Pattara
This book is a great resource for teaching kids the basic catechism along with reinforcing stories about two adorable kids. Thank you for this terrific book. For home educators it was great that the book was organized into 36 chapters, so we did one chapter a week and it lasted the whole school year. Excellent!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dawn Housel
Excellent! I (and especially my kids) would love to see Susan and Richie write another book which continues the teachings and the stories of the characters presented in the book as they face more of life's challenges in a Godly way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Big Truths For Little Kids
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2001
Customer Avatar
Paul Kleinhans
Excellent stories make this book a winner. Children can easily identify with the characters. It has given my 4 year old daughter an amazing knowledge of Christian doctrine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.