Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Revell A Small Town Girl -eBook

Revell A Small Town Girl -eBook

In the autumn of 1941, rumors of war whisper through Rosey Corner. The town practically vibrates in anticipation, as if it is holding its breath. But for Kate Merritt, it seems life is letting out a prolonged sigh. As Kate watches her sister marry the man Kate has loved since she was fifteen, her heart is silently breaking. And even the attentions of Jay Tanner, the handsome best man, can't draw her interest.

Then suddenly, Pearl Harbor changes everything. Kate's friends are rushing to get married before the boys go off to war. The newspapers talk of women making airplanes and bombs. Everyone in town begins rolling bandages, planting victory gardens, collecting scrap metal. Kate finds herself drawn to Jay in surprising ways, and when he enlists she can hardly breathe worrying about him getting killed. Could she truly be in love with him? And if she is, will she ever see him again?

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A Small Town Girl -eBook
Review 1 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loved it!

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a perfect joy it was to open Small Town Girl and find myself back in Rosey Corner, with Kate and her sisters of Angel Sister, and all the other delightful characters. Kate is all grown up now, a young lady of nineteen years old! And her sister who is not a sister is as involved in this story as she was in the first novel. When Lorena gets a puppy, it just adds to the humor and excitement. A wedding is always a great event, unless the guy you love is marrying your sister. That's when emotions start to get tangled up. This novel is about relationships...sisters, couples, and men and women. Told in a way that gets the reader immersed in the story. Although this is novel follows the Merritt family, Evangeline, Kate, Victoria, and Lorena as well as those in Rosey Corner that were introduced to us in Angel Sister, this is a stand alone novel. I think, though, that once you are finished reading this one, you will want to read Anne's other books. I am hoping that there will be more books about Rosey Corner and the Merritt family as it was such fun to visit.
"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 
Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group". 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Feels Like I'm Back Home

Date:August 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie L
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s been five long years since we’ve been in Rosey Corner. Kate is now 20 years old and just as free spirited and spunky as ever. Lorena Birdsong is just as sweet as ever and still saying her whole name every night! Kate’s older sister, Evie, is getting married to preacher Mike...the one Kate has had a crush on since he first preached in Rosey Corner Church. And her younger sister has a beau too. Kate has been friends with Carl forever, but does he think the relationship is more than Kate thinks it is? Things begin to get heated around town when Mike’s best childhood friend, Jay Tanner comes to be Mike’s best man at the wedding. He’s a free spirit just like Kate and rather spunky himself. They begin a friendship that is full of fun and hardships, learning to trust themselves and each other.
Jay has never had a real family and he had no intention on staying in Rosey Corner’s any longer than it took to stand up for Mike at his wedding and then taking off his suit and getting back on the road. But something about that place and the people began tugging on his heart. Or was it God using those folks to help reach Jay? Graham and Poe are still around, along with Graham’s sister Fern. The whole crew is there, with the exception of Grandfather Merritt and what little we learn about him makes me want to know much more.
It’s 1941, coming up on December 7th and the bottom falls out for everyone. Pearl Harbor has been attacked and that means lives lost and loved ones will be leaving. Will they leave with their heart full of love or will they leave heartbroken? God’s still working in the lives of those who live in Rosey Corner and when God works on a person, they may as well just go ahead and give in. Being in a relationship with God is the best relationship to be in and some people find that out the easy way and some the hard way. But either way, you end up full of peace and find your true family.
If you haven’t read the first book, Angel Sister, you’ll have to read it first. Then hurry and get this book and sit back in your best reading chair, a cup of tea, a few cookies and enjoy the ride!
This book was like coming back home, seeing old friends, meeting new friends, and finding out surprising information about some you didn’t particularly like! When I read, Angel Sister, I had no idea that there would be a sequel, so I was sad to see it end. Reading Small Town Girl was like an unexpected Christmas gift!
I received a free digital copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rel Mollet
Location:Australia
I was captivated by Ann Gabhart’s storytelling in her latest novel set in a tiny community with America was on the brink of World War II. Ann’s combines beautiful prose and strong yet subtle characterisation with a gentle and flowing style that is entrancing. Realistic to the era, this is a tender love story between a young woman adored by her community, and the charming and seemingly carefree outsider, who has no intention of putting down roots. Kate and Jay are fabulous characters, each with their own strengths and insecurities, whose journey from attraction to affection and then to love is moving, intriguing, and simply lovely! Readers of Ann’s previous story, Angel Sister, will be delighted to visit again with Kate, Lorena, and the Merritt family and friends. I highly recommend the delightful Small Town Girl.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
sunny island breezes
Location:a sunny island
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s good to be back in Rosey Corner with the Merritts and their extended family.
Kate thinks she’s in love with her sister’s fiancé. That is, until his best man shows up.
It takes Uncle Graham and Jay awhile to break down the barriers to Kate’s hear.
But life is not all rosy in Rosey Corner. It seems to be a constant struggle as Jay tries to win Kate’s heart.
Both war and Kate’s lack of trust brings pain and isolation to the two. It looks as if their dreams are shattered.
And yes, you’ll need those tissues before you finish this book.
This is the second book set in Rosey Corner, but it is a good stand alone read. It’s been good to revisit this community and it’s inhabitants. I certainly hope Ms Gabhart takes us back there again.
***A special thank you to Donna Hausler for providing a review copy.***
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

World War II, Rosey Corner and Romance

Date:July 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann H. Gabhart in her new book, "Small Town Girl" Book Two in the Kate Merritt series published by Revell returns us to the life of Kate Merrit in 1941.
From the Back Cover: How long can two people stand on the brink of love without plunging in headfirst?
In the autumn of 1941, rumors of war whisper through Rosey Corner. The town practically vibrates with apprehension, as if it is holding its breath. But for Kate Merritt, it seems life is letting out a prolonged sigh. As Kate watches her sister marry the man Kate has loved since she was fifteen, her heart is silently breaking. And even the attentions of Jay Tanner, the handsome best man, can't draw her interest.
Then suddenly, Pearl Harbor changes everything and Kate finds herself drawn to Jay in surprising ways. Could she truly be in love with him? And if he enlists, will she ever see him again?
In her gentle and textured style, Ann H. Gabhart tells a timeless story of love, sacrifice, and longing that will grip your heart and stir your spirit. Fans of Gabhart's "Angel Sister" will love seeing Kate Merritt all grown up as well as other characters they have come to love.
History in the form of World War II serves as the backdrop to "Small Town Girl". If you remember Andy Griffith and Opie in the little town of Mayberry then you will feel right at home in Rosey Corner. Life goes on in Rosey Corner, Kate's sister is getting married to the man Kate has always been in love with and now Kate doesn't believe she will ever love again. While all this is happening Pearl Harbor is attacked and the President declares war. Now the residents of Rosey Corner find themselves immersed in war activities as the men go off to war and Kate worries about the new man in her life, Jay. There is a lot going on in "Small Town Girl". This is a story about people in a small town who live lives that don't always have happy endings but have to deal with what they have. Ms. Gabhart has written a wonderful story full of interesting characters that we come to know and love as we read through the book. Ms. Gabhart does a great job of making us feel that we are there in Rosey Corner and living the events rather than just reading about them. I hope Ms. Gabhart takes us back to this town and Kate Merritt once again.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
Available July 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

View Of A Quiet Time

Date:July 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate Merritt is a small town girl, we met her in Angle Sister. Now if you haven't read that book, don't worry, there is enough information in this one to make it a stand alone. We reunite with some of the characters from the first book, and meet some new ones.
We meet Jay Tanner at Kate's sister's Evie's wedding to Mike. Kate has always thought herself in love with Mike, and Mike only has eyes for Evie. Jay's upbringing has been tough, but he always had a friend in Mike, and he is here to be best man. Jay likes what he sees in Kate, and loves little Lorena, who he calls Birdie, and she calls him Tanner.
When Mike warns him to stay away from his new sister Kate, he realizes that he must. Fate does have away to putting the two of them together, and they each realize "love", but can't bring themselves to it admit it to himself.
There is much talk of the War in Europe, and the fathers all remember the War to end Wars...but we know it wasn't. Ann Gabhart brings us into the living room on that Sunday in December, the 7th. Playing games and just just being family. There is no TV, of course, and they don't have the radio on. They have no idea at the time, that their lives have just changed forever at the hands of the Japanese.
The Merritt family have a great faith in the Lord, but Jay is struggling. Will Kate and Jay ever be able to make a match? Or will the curse of drink throw them apart.
Don't miss this warm book about the life just before the Second World War, and walk for a few minutes in the peace of the Small Town.
I received this book through Revell Publishing Book Blogger Program, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An adorable story!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rosie
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an adorable story!
If anything is true, it's this: you can't judge an author by one book. In my case, I did not like Gabhart's Words Spoken True but I loved Small Town Girl. The WW2 setting, the sweet characters, and endearing love story all come together for a fantastic read. I loved how some of the character's accents popped off the page; it rounds the characters in a great way for me.
Kate is a great heroine. I haven't read Angel Sister, but it is very apparent what a great big sister she is, not to mention the deep affection she has for her little sister, Lorena. I was really proud of how Kate handled herself in some of the awkward situations she found herself. That being said, she does have flaws, but she has her faith.
One thing is for sure, Gabhart keeps you hanging on until the literal last page. Her writing style is smooth and her characters are so lovable! I wonder if she'll be writing a book for Lorena? Either way, I am very pleased I opted to review Small Town Girl. It's a great historical read with which to spend the afternoon.
Available July 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
I received this book from Revell in return for an honest review of my opinions, thanks!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A REALLY great book!!!

Date:July 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
ASC Photos and Designs
Location:NM
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had always wanted to read angel sister so when I saw that this was about the same characters and sorta a sequel I was hooked! After reading Small Town Girl I want to read Angel Sister all the more! Ann has come up with a great group of characters, personalities, and back stories. I saw tiny feelings of Taming of the Shrew and Sense and Sensibility as well as slivers of To Kill a Mockingbird (Lorena and Scout are almost one and the same ;) ) in this stand alone novel. For me it started out interesting and then lulled a little, but I have found that Ann's writing, for me, starts out slow, grows in interest, and then she completely blows me AWAY!!! Small Town Girl is no exception. There are similarities in the characters and back stories from her book The Scent of Lilac, but they are good similarities! :) As I read on the pace picked up a bit and I was REALLY hooked! From little Lorena to quirky but wise Fern I LOVE THESE people! LOL! Ann weaves history with fiction and a wonderful message beautifully! Excellent read! :)
Songs for Small Town Girl: "Shall We Dance" sung by Julie Andrews, "Bringing in the Sheaves" sung by Patti Page, and "Rock of Ages" sung by The Mills Brothers
Psalm 139:8
~ASC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A rich tale indeed

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely loved the book "Angel Sister", so I was excited to see that the characters first introduced in that book have returned in "Small Town Girl", a rich tale of faith and love and second chances. Gabhart has done a wonderful job at fleshing out the characters, particularly Kate Merritt with her determination, humour, and her real faith in God. Jay is also a character I enjoyed getting to know, a young man whose utter charm covers up a painful past, his fear of long-term relationships, and his doubts about God's existence. The relationship that develops between Kate and Jay is very natural and made for many fun moments indeed! Although I felt that the book was written at a slower pace in some parts, by the end of the book I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see how everything would resolve. I very much enjoyed the emotional drama that plays out within its pages, and thought that the setting of the book in the pre-World War II era was a great backdrop for the story. Readers who enjoy historical fiction will no doubt appreciate the vivid details from the past that are brought to life in "Small Town Girl".
Ann H. Gabhart continues to excel at writing stories that are richly textured, filled with deep emotions that are likely to leave readers wonderfully moved. I'm not sure whether there is a third book planned that will see a return of the Merritt family, but I for one certainly hope there is! I highly recommend this book and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gentle Love Story during WWII

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ann Gabhart's "Small Town Girl" is a gentle and quiet love story set in the quaint town of Rosey Corner, Kentucky. While love is blooming, World War II is raging across the ocean and threatening the tranquil haven of the Merritt family. Gabhart captures the fears and sentiments of Americans when the U.S. entered the war following the bombing of Pearl Harbor without actually taking readers into the war zone. The military aspect is light, compared to some other novels that I have read set during the same era. The portrayal of emotions from the perspectives of a future soldier to the loved ones left behind, seem completely authentic and are probably similar to the feelings that veterans in our own families experienced. Gabhart delves into the emotion of the war and integrates it into her love story between the lead characters Kate and Jay.
There were a few times that I sensed a back story involving the Merritt family, and I just discovered that "Small Town Girl" is a follow-up to "Angel Sister." Despite this, I connected with the primary and secondary characters early-on in the novel. It is easy to support a union between Kate and Jay, especially when the irresistible Lorena offers her full support. Kate puts up barriers to their relationship initially which adds love-story style suspense. Once those barriers are mostly removed midway the novel, the plot seems to slow. There is a quaintness in the quiet Rosey Corner life, but it does not always create plot interest. The onslaught of World War II helps the novel to pick-up speed as well as conflict between Kate and Jay. "Small Town Girl" ends on a happy note, but the conflict and resolution could occur sooner to avoid the midway lags.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell, a Division of Baker Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ann Gabhart has a wonderful recipe for a story in Small Town Girl by adding history with romance, sprinkling in some mystery too. The town of Rosey Corner is where the Merritt family lives in a population of about 100 people. On a September day, the oldest Merritt daughter Evie is getting married to Mike, with the best man being Jay Turner a lifelong friend of Mike’s. Kate begins to open up her heart to the possibility of love, though she is warned by friends and family not to trust Jay. Graham a long time resident asks Jay to stick around and help him with the odd jobs he does in town.
Jay normally doesn’t stay anywhere long enough to get to know people or put down roots. In fact, because of his past, the very idea of “family” scares him so much that when war breaks out he enlists. Love is happening to many in the Merritt family and many are learning the truth inside their hearts some of which is hard to face. Kate, being the middle child, tends to normally be a fixer when life goes off kilter. Yet, some things people can’t fix. Here is where the element of prayer and faith is invited to become a reality.
I loved the story as characters each had their stories to share. It made the history more personal and real. Included in the novel is what our President at that time said after the bombing of Pearl Harbor. Here is a picture of what life might have looked like at that time when one morning the United States was at peace, the next thrust into war. As you read the novel, a couple of townspeople who served during WWI share their memories in order to help the next generation face all the changes.
Kate Merritt’s father shares how the war affected him. Her parents show how though their marriage was at times rocky the Lord saw them through it all. The truth about prayer is shared throughout the pages from various points of view. I loved how Scripture would come at certain points in the story too. My mind was remembering the many war movies I have watched, but how few show how soldiers were comforted and how chaplains were with them in the trenches or foxholes.
If you love romance and mystery, this is a book you have got to read. I have hardly shared the number of stories within the story that occurs. It was exciting, heart gripping as well as filled with hope. Don’t pass up this excellent story! You won’t be sorry you took time to read it. It was awesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for A Small Town Girl -eBook
This review is fromSmall Town Girl.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm running away to Rosey Corners!

Date:July 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swept away to the 1940's!
I am now of the belief that no one tells a 1940's story
about young girls growing up like Ann Gabhart does.
It didn't me long in Small Town Girl to decide that I wanted to run away to Rosey Corner Kentucky and live with the four Merrit sisters, Evie, Kate, Tori and Lorena.
Of course, I would only be living with three sisters because Evie just got married.
In fact, thats how the story starts, with Kate trying to keep Evie calm until it is time to drive over to the Church and walk down the aisle.
The only bittersweet thing is that Evie is going to be walking down the aisle to Mike,
a young preacher whom Kate has been in love with for years.
But that is history, has always been history.
Mike is a good man, Evie a lovely bride.
And Kate is happy for them on the happiest day of their life.
Of course, the wedding brings out all the well-meaning folk of Rosey Corner
asking Kate if she will be next.
And what do you say to that question when you don't plan
to get attached to anyone anytime soon?
Especially not to Jay, Mike's best man.
What sort of fellow suggests you elope when he hasn't known you for half-a-day?
Alright, so he was teasing, and it made her laugh,
but he wasn't teasing later on when they were sitting outside talking. He was serious.
Who is this man, who came into town for his friend's wedding
and looks like he's going to drive right out again?
And how did this Jay Tanner immediately befriended all of Kate's family- coming up with a nickname for Lorena, talking poetry with her mom, eating the famous Merrit brown sugar pie!
And why does it seem to matter so much to him, this being part of their family?
Surely a man that blows in and out of towns like the wind couldn't
care that much about the simple joys of belonging to a family...
Oh yes. Small Town Girl is such a good book!
Kate Merrit is a spunky heroine with a loving family and deep roots of faith,
Jay Tanner is a loner who wants someone to care about him and make him stay,
and Rosey Corner is a small town where everyone knows everyone and tells them
all your business.
In other words, delight, delight, delightful reading.
**Available July 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.