Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for River North The Turning

River North The Turning

Trent Cooper of the powerful mega corporation Mundrose Entertainment has one message for the American people---hope is dead! But when God brings five very different strangers together, they risk their health, wealth, and future to follow his will. Can they find the strength to endure the media frenzy and help heal the nation's scars?
Average Customer Rating:
4.704 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
26 out of 2796%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Turning
Review 1 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Makes you really think!

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
sherrijinga
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How many times have you doubted that your life had a purpose? Or that God could speak to you individually? The Turning by Davis Bunn will open your heart and mind to all sorts of possibilities. This book starts with five strangers in different places throughout the United States who all hear a word from God. He instructs them to do the impossible. Impossible without His help, that is. Once they've gathered the courage to complete the task, which involves taking the unlikely turn in the road and either forgiving or asking forgiveness, then the next leg of their journey is put before them. The strangers come together by a divine act from God and have to figure out their purpose as it unfolds. They mission is to bring hope to a world that thinks all hope is dead. How can these people do such an unlikely thing? By continuing to take "The Turning" as God directs them. Davis Bunn is a wonderful writer who knows how to string together a story that's complex yet understandable. He makes you ask yourself what your purpose is and whether or not there's something in your life that's causing you to miss out of your full calling. Don't miss out on this story and how the five main characters accomplish their calling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an extremely interesting novel that reflects the society in which we live in today at least in some fashion! I found myself absolutely engrossed in the idea put forth throughout the book about really listening for God’s voice and then obeying it no matter the cost. Each of the five main characters who had sensed God leading them to do something felt the fear of failing or appearing as a fool who says they heard God speak to the heart.
The seven people eventually meet together sensing God’s leading them though not revealing to them every minute detail of His plan. Their various backgrounds, stories and ethnicities are as vast as the ocean and only God could bring together such people for His work. The man who leads the team is John Jacobs, a man who is a manager for a company making sure all the product is received on time and the truckers problems are handled forthwith. These people, who at first have no idea what task, will be call for them to do, listen for God’s voice and obey and when they hear it.
That is just the tip of the iceberg of who God has called and why, but through each step the team has private prayer time and community prayer time. As the group learns to listen for His voice through their Bible and Prayer times, they become more united in taking the turning. On the other side of the proverbial coin is a man who will go to any lengths to accomplish his dream of success, doing whatever it takes to enter the inner sanctum where few are allowed to enter. The man’s name is Trent an underling in the Mundrose Empire whose vast holdings and money can make even the impossible a reality, simply with a word.
Trent Cooper has an idea that instead of following a trend the corporation now begins to set a trend, and Trent has all the pieces in place to sell his idea. When the CEO Barry Mundrose approves of the idea, literally time has no meaning and everybody must work together to pull the biggest trendsetting idea ever: Hope is Dead.
A challenge is what I came away with along with encouragement, as well as taking time to listen to what God is saying to me. Society as a whole has no problem finding a way to entertain or take their mind off of a day’s trials. We can flick a switch and listen to a movie, news, sports and even books others read as we listen while perhaps not paying much attention. The author wrote a story that reminds us that we need to listen for God and the only way we can do that is to turn off everything else. Where and how can you make time to listen quietly for God’s voice?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive!

Date:June 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nancee
Location:Grand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is it plausible to discern the voice of God in the cacophony of the 21st century? In Davis Bunn's most recent novel five people of diverse ethnicities and various walks of life are seized by the presence of God. His message? "Take the turning and walk the unlikely road." Their calling leads them to New York City Times Square where a shocking message screams, "Hope is Dead!"
Power hungry and greedy for wealth and control, the Mundrose Group yields its power through all forms of media bombardment to influence and control the minds of young adults. Their diabolical message that hope is dead conveys the shock value to produce millions of curious minds to respond. Success at all cost, with no conscience for the damage it could inflict on young minds, is paramount to the influential company and its powerful schemes.
The ever present conflict between good and evil once again rears its ugly head as the chosen five respond to the challenge delivered. This presentation is not only authentic, but representative of the corruption that exists in our society. The author has created realistic personalities that fit the molds of the divergent belief systems present in current generations.
Davis Bunn has developed a compelling and tenacious story that will challenge your beliefs and convictions. Inspiring and compelling, The Turning is a captivating and thought provoking novel. Written with an intensity that is absorbing, it is difficult to set the book aside. I highly recommend this inspirational novel and the devotional that accompanies it. The link for the devotional is listed above.
Disclaimer: I received copies of this book from River North after their request for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2014
One of the central themes of the Gospels is that of hope. Hope that there is more to this life than what is before us. Hope that what we have done in this life can be redeemed for good. Hope that there is life after death.
But what if you were a non-believer and everything around you screamed that hope was dead? How would you feel? What would it take for you to begin to believe that hope is alive and well?
In his new book The Turning, Davis Bunn explores that very topic. Through the fast-paced style that we have all come to expect we are introduced to Trent Cooper, a virtual nobody who desires to become a somebody. Trent gets his opportunity to dazzle his boss and dazzle he does. His plan is costly but it has the potential to bring the company millions. But what will the true cost be to the company, to society, and to Trent himself?
About the same time Trent is getting his big break, five unrelated people begin to feel the urging of the Holy Spirit. They are each being asked to take an unexpected and in some cases uncomfortable turn in their lives. Each person has a separate story but eventually those separate threads begin to weave together and form a united tapestry.
Of all the Davis Bunn books that I have read, this is the one that most reminds me of an intense TV drama. The scenes change rapidly and make it where you can't help but turn the page to see what is coming next. Davis has taken the historic theme of good vs. evil and brought it into the modern digital age. His use of all forms of social media and current trends brings to the story a form of reality that is scary. You can't help but see how our world is racing towards this lack of hope. But as with all of his novels, he also provides the answer to the despair that the story encompasses. The answer is hope. Hope in the One that can set you free.
A new aspect with this novel is the follow-up 40 day online devotional and audio files that will help you prepare to hear from God. After reading this thought provoking novel, you can now immerse yourself in learning to discern the voice of God. You will be encouraged to develop a closer relationship and to take the next step of obedience.
I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Recommended for Book Club

Date:April 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
NWiro
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Turning was my first Davis Bunn read. I’m not normally drawn to Christian fiction. But, Bunn’s characters are contemporary “real” people. Real, self-focused people who aren’t sure of their life’s purpose and who struggle both to hear God’s voice and then to respond to a call for action.
Is hope dead? That theme is what Trent Cooper, an advertising hot shot, wants society to subscribe to. His entire life’s dream and his livelihood are on the line for you to agree with his campaign against hope! But other major characters are thrown together to disprove that philosophy. Convinced otherwise, at first timidly, then full throttle, they are propelled to dissuade you from buying into Trent’s advertising ploy in support of his dead hope philosophy.
Bunn developed very distinct characters with their individual flaws and set of challenges, and each had his or her own specific incident that required a decision of “turning.” Then he threw the characters together for interaction within a joint mission. Once the characters were developed and I could keep them straight, I was drawn in to see how they would relate to each other and how the conflict of views with Trent’s campaign against hope would be resolved. Would there be a convincing argument for hope?
My first Bunn book, but I’ve already recommended it for a summer book club discussion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a great book from Davis Bunn.

Date:April 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
YoYoJunkie
Location:southern Colorado
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book has taken me on a journey from what the heck is happening to holy toledo it's awesome how all these people can come together and work together and pull of the the impossible without God.
This is a different style of book than I'm use to from Mr. Bunn but honestly it's not a bad thing and I look forward to books that aren't like hos others. It shows Mr. Bunn using ever creative bone he owns!
Whether this is you first book by Davis Bunn or your 10th you won't be disappointed.
Thanks fir reading my review!
-Russ
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Incredibly Engaging.

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
From the very beginning I found myself wanting to know more about each character introduced. Trent Cooper opens the book with his deep-seated desire to succeed in the world, and from there we meet John Jacobs, Alisha Seames, and many others. Each is well-developed and deep. I was immersed in their lives and struggles. Five of these characters meet unexpectedly by God's hand in New York and learn that God has a plan for them as a team. The meeting seemed a bit forced, but their interactions were great. Each character had a turning point in their lives where God wanted them to do something specific, and I kept asking myself, "What is the turning point in my life? What does God want me to do?" I later felt chills when Cooper's hired mob held signs reading, "Hope is dead." This key plot involving the message of hope, that hope is alive, reminds me that God's hope is very real for us today regardless of what our world looks like. It is certainly worth reading and is incredibly engaging, as Davis Bunn always is.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If You Heard God Speak, Would You Take The Turning

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
GrandaddyA
Location:Martinsville, VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The message was unexpected but instantly recognizable. A voice resonated from a distance and somehow from within. Against all earthly logic, it carried a divine command. And five very different people knew they were summoned to obey. Their actions were demanding, but not particularly grand. Only later would they see a pattern emerge - one that links their tasks together and comes to challenge the cultural direction of the nation. They realize that one small personal response unveiled a new realm of moral responsibility. And this affirmation of everyday hope captures the attention of millions.
Even as they are being brought together, they have no idea evil forces are being set into motion that will seek to undermine their every effort to proclaim God’s message, forces that declare “hope is dead”. Worldly power and greed are at stake. Malicious elements align themselves to cast doubt on whether we can really believe that God speaks to people today. They work feverishly to dismiss all such superstitions and delusions. They attempt to cast them as misguided individuals who should not be allowed to cast our society back into the Dark Ages.
The public debate and media frenzy place an unprecedented spotlight on knowing and doing God's will. The five encounter threats, but try to remain steadfast in their faith. Had God indeed imparted wisdom on selected individuals? Is this sweep of events part of his divine purpose? The movement may herald a profound renewal - one that some are calling The Turning...
Who were the five people to whom God spoke? They were people just like us: people who had made choices in the past that affected their daily lives. They were imperfect, flawed Christians living with the pain, struggles, and fears that were the consequences of their failures. Not a one of them felt worthy to be used of God in any special way. However, they were obedient to take the first step, The Turning. Others were willing to stand with them and see them through the difficulties that lay ahead as they sought to fulfill the mission set before them.
Davis Bunn weaves an amazing story of God using a small group of individuals to face off against the “Goliath” of worldly power and money to bring about His purposes. In a very believable plot, one that I could see unfolding in my mind’s eye, they face one difficult situation after another depending completely on God’s guidance. A real key message is that none of them has all the answers. One man is chosen as the spokesperson but God does not speak only to him. He works through them all in different ways using their unique abilities and talents. Were they tempted to give up? You bet. They quickly learned they could accomplish far more as they pulled together than they could do individually.
I highly recommend this book because it delivers a powerful message of God using His people to change lives for His glory. Davis Bunn helps the reader grapple with the question: What would I do if God spoke to me like this?
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-provoking, extremely relevant, great read!

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
debhgrty
Location:Plymouth MA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What would you do if one Sunday while sitting in church you were filled with an intense pressure - an intense rightness - and a conviction that you must do what you consider the hardest thing you've ever been asked to do? That is exactly the situation the characters in The Turning find themselves facing. One by one they heed the conviction and turn - being faithful with no idea where it will lead.
Conversely. what if you finally gained the chance at an opportunity you'd striven for your entire life - would you go for it - whatever it took? Several of the characters in The Turning face this choice as well.
Evil vs. Good
Trent vs. John
Culture vs. Church
Hope is Dead vs. God is Not Dead
Where do you stand? What would you do? What would the world be like if we were quiet, listened for that still small voice, and acted on what it said?
I'll be pondering the many messages in The Turning for a long time
This is a five-star, thought-provoking read. I was so impressed with the book, I gave it to my husband to read. He came to me later and said, "This book you gave me? I don't like it." I looked at him quizzically. He smiled, "I LOVE it!" You, too, will love the book and you'll read and re-read it. Davis Bunn has done it again!
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviews From A Man's Perspective

Date:April 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Middleburg, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you read Brandilyn Collins, you expect suspense. When you read Wanda Brunstetter, you expect sweet Amish stories. The great thing about picking up a novel by Davis Bunn, is that you never know what you are going to get.
Are you ever still enough to “hear” God speak to you? The five people in this story sure didn’t have any problem making a distinction between any still small voice in their head and the thundering voice of the Almighty. But would they follow it? By doing so, they have opened up a difference in their lives, they’ve taken a path that is leading them to something more than they could ever imagine. By following this voice, they are allowing themselves to travel down a road that will require them to take a higher road between the moral right and the moral wrong. Can their small band really go up against the powerhouse media conglomeration? Are they putting all their lives in danger? Is there a way to stand for what you believe in in the face of the society that we have become today? Turn off your TV and go BUY THIS BOOK!
The best part of this book, in my opinion, is the fact that it kept giving me a reason to read it. I love to get close to the end of a chapter and get that nudge that “one more chapter will be enough for tonight”. By the time you get to that “one more chapter”, you’re seeing the beginning of a new day and you’re finishing the book. This book is that way. Mr. Bunn takes you down this journey and continues to entice you to read more. You can never get enough, and even at the end of it, you are hoping that there is more to be shared about the book. It was fascinating to me how Mr. Bunn brought the characters together, almost in a way that said, “I need you to listen and help me, but before you do that, there’s some baggage in your life that we need to reconcile”. The characters were everyday people from every day walks of life with every day sin in their lives and He was still able to use them to further His kingdom.
Is this a "guy's book"? Hang onto your hat. This is a simple read, but it is a read that keeps you going, always wanting to read just a little further and never giving you a rest until you’ve turned the final page.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The battle rages on!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Shari Bradley
Location:Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is a battle waging through the ages and today’s weapons and strategies are dizzying in their speed and scope, but God is able to do the impossible as the darkness closes in. It can be tough to apologize, painful to face our shameful past, but there is freedom in Christ if we will seek Him. There is One who loves us just as we are, who can do the impossible in our lives if we will let Him, if we will listen. The rewards are eternal and can have great impact in our lives and in the lives of others.
Davis Bunn’s new novel The Turning will have your heart racing and your spirit soaring. Walk with John, Alisha, Jenny and others through potentially dangerous and frightening encounters as they follow the leading of the Lord. We live in troubling times, the battle rages on, but God will make a way if we will turn to Him.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope is Alive!

Date:April 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
TMHunt
Location:Ashland, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not what I expected...but exactly what I needed.
And yet, as fresh and captivating as this book was...it is
exactly what I should have expected from Davis Bunn.
The invitation on the back cover is "take the turning and walk the unlikely road." From cover to cover that is what this book is. It is a non-stop invitation to turn from the familiar, to turn from the comfortable, to turn toward the One who calling his people to himself and to his work.
The big irony in the story for me was how God infused and used those who should be without hope to rekindle hope in others while the one who tried to convince others hope was dead was hanging onto hope the tightest...or so he thought.
Hope is not a dream. It's God's reality for his people and this book hands you that truth, page after page turning page.
My favorite part of the whole book was Aaron's sermon from Isaiah. It's worth the price of the book all by itself.
My favorite quote comes from Ruth as John is facing a task that he doesn't feel qualified for. She tells him, "No one is saying you don't have reasons to refuse. But God is asking each of us to stretch beyond what we think we can do. That's what it means to be called."
The message is simple, the challenge is life-changing. I give all the stars possible because it calls to reach for those stars...and for God. Turn the pages for yourself and delight yourself in the journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-Provoking Novel from Davis Bunn!

Date:April 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
kingsdaughter1611
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I normally love Davis Bunn's writing style. His books are interesting, thought-provoking and well written. This one didn't really differ much but it was a style that was new to me. It took me longer to get through it as there is a lot to think about with this one. Most of his historical ones are interesting but I found this one to be quite interesting in its own right.
Throughout the country people are hearing a voice. These are different people from different races and cultures but all are hearing a message. And while each one hears the same voice, the directions are different for each of them. The characters are all well written but my favorite aspect of this was how it all came together. These people with no previous knowledge of each other all hear the same voice with directions and even though they don't seem to be linked at all it turns out in a way I didn't expect. In fact, I wasn't quite sure where the author was going through probably the first third of the book. Not until later did everything work out and I saw what was going on.
This is a book that you will enjoy if you like modern, present day stories. Maybe even some suspense and action too:) This makes you sit up and pay attention to how you are living your life. Very interesting Mr Bunn!! Definitely a book I would give 5 out of 5 stars!
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are 100% mine. No monetary compensation was given.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

“The Turning” will challenge and convict you

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Russ in Arlington
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beware, he’s done it again. Davis Bunn’s newest novel “The Turning” will challenge and convict you. One reviewer wrote “The Turning is the most refreshing and inspired page turner in recent years. It captures your heart, mind, and spirit”. I couldn’t agree more, I find myself listening for God’s call and wanting and waiting to answer. Once you start reading, you’d better have time set aside, because this will be very hard to put down.
I particularly enjoyed the way this story drew me in with characters that were flawed in a way that was relatable. The characters were hardly fictional, and were people I’d like to know. In fact, they were like people, I do know. Davis Bunn told the story from both sides and even the antagonist, Trent Cooper, was a sympathetic character in the beginning. In many ways he was the embodiment of the American Dream, going from humble beginnings to the top of the corporate ladder. As the story went on, we saw how each decision and commitment he made further exposed his role in a diabolical plan. The story’s heroes are five people from very different backgrounds and locations who have nothing in common, except their faith and the fact that each is plagued by a difficult damaged relationships that must be dealt with. God has spoken to each one convicting each one to take the initiative, to begin the healing and restoration of those relationships in preparation for the task God has called them for. When they’ve responded to God’s call, then He brings them together for the real reason He called them.
Our enemy, Satan, would like nothing better than for believers to be complacent in the face of efforts to gradually water down the influence of Godly morality in our society and to effect growing compromise with evil. In “The Turning”, Bunn does a masterful job dealing with the age-old topic of good versus evil. He weaves a fresh, new, and compelling story that will challenge every believer to be more aware of the continuing spiritual battle going on around us.
“The Turning” is fictional but it is also very much a devotional. It is a must read.
I was sent a review complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review and I recommend that you read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Which way will society turn?

Date:April 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Davis Bunn has unleashed another powerful spiritual drama where the forces of evil again try to best those on the side of right and truth. His flair for fleshing out full-spirited characters doing battle on the page catapults this novel to life. Bunn’s convincing portrayal of people’s hearts and lives made me care even for the villain. Although not your typical thriller or contemporary fiction, The Turning definitely keeps the reader turning the pages to discover the final outcome.
The story: Five diverse individuals hear a call from God. Unexpectedly brought together, they realize they are being asked to take a stand against an all-out campaign to rob the world of hope. Not only will the group battle spiritual forces, they must take on a media giant whose goal is to set trends and control society’s spending—in order to gain power and wealth.
Which way will the world turn? Is it too late to save the culture and restore hope to humanity? Read The Turning The Turning for a front-row seat on tomorrow’s headlines (at least it seems it could be). Warning: You may be profoundly changed by the experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Exciting battle between money, power and church

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Turning, a Novel
Davis Bunn ©2014
Moody Publishers, Chicago
ISBN 978-0-8024-1168-6 (ppbks)
202 pp.
Three ordinary people suddenly receive a clear message from God to do something they dread. After obeying, with surprising results, they join three other people and learn of a battle by a huge corporation for the minds of American millennials
To accomplish his personal ungodly ambition for power, one man in that company is determined to convince young people that no hope exists in life. He hates anything to do with God and is sure that with the unlimited money he can access, he can defeat Godly people and saturate the world with his message of hopelessness.
The escalating thirteen day battle between this small group of praying believers and the wealthy corporation will keep readers wondering who will win and how. The leader of the believers, John Jacobs, has no qualifications for winning except his commitment to listen to and obey God. In fact, his early life seems to play into the enemy’s plans.
Unusual events occur following frequent prayers by believers. I believe this is one of Davis Bunn’s best written books, because of the main characters’ dependence on God for clear direction on how to fight evil.
An exciting and well-written story
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another Thought-Provoking Story from Davis Bunn

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
GreatBooksUnbound
Location:West Virginia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Take the turning, and walk the unlikely road.” These eight words transform seven ordinary people into conduits of hope for an entire nation. Imagine a group of strangers being drawn together by an unshakeable conviction that they must change—not the world—but themselves. Each has a weakness to face or an obstacle to overcome, and none of them is comfortable with the task. Yet, they persevere and find that this new path leads them straight into the heart of the storm.
Entertainment and advertising conglomerate Global Communications has decided to challenge the status quo of advertising. Instead of capitalizing on an established trend, an ambitious young executive convinces them they should create their own and focus every division on selling one message: Hope is dead.
Meanwhile, those seven strangers, all in New York at the same time, find each other. As they spend time talking and praying together, they realize they were brought together for a reason. None of them came looking for controversy, nor did they anticipate how their lives would change once they met. They only knew they had to make a stand.
Carrying them beyond their expectations and individual abilities, this turning forges the disparate group into a mouthpiece for the message of the ages: Hope is alive. The Turning is ultimately a book about possibilities—a portrait of the unlimited reach of ordinary people who willingly put aside their own agenda to pursue God’s purpose.
This story has a different rhythm than most of Bunn’s other works. Having the plot revolve around seven strangers requires the reader to sift through separate back stories before reaching the main event. While the absence of a central hero and the inclusion of fewer action sequences give the story a more sedate pace than what I’m used to seeing in a Davis Bunn novel, this, too, only emphasizes the overall theme of the book.
With this novel, Davis Bunn focuses on giving color and texture to the words of Prison Fellowship founder Chuck Colson: “The hope that each of us has is not in who governs us, or what laws are passed, or what great things we do as a nation. Our hope is in the power of God working through the hearts of people.”
Reading The Turning, not only creates a yearning to see that kind of change in society, but it also offers hope that that kind of change is actually possible.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope is NOT dead!

Date:April 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Turning” is Davis Bunn’s newest novel, and what a novel it is! The twists and turns will keep you reading long after you should have stopped. It is about a power struggle, good versus evil, about the wealthy business industry versus the little guy!
“The Turning” is a quick moving story about a group of strangers that heed the voice of God. What happens when we hear God and obey Him? This group of people, from different walks of life, different nationalities, different religious backgrounds join together, and are about to see what a few people gathered in His name can accomplish! Standing up for what is right has a cost, but these folks do it anyway, even when it means the loss of friends, jobs and privacy.
Davis Bunn’s book has many themes, especially about the importance of being still and listening to God, waiting on Him, the importance of prayer, and supporting others. Sometimes we need to stand up against wrong and have the courage to speak out and be different, even when that means the “world” will not accept us.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A powerful premise!

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sufficient in Jesus
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love Davis Bunn's books at my house. Whether it's his Marc Royce series (Dad's favorite) or his Acts of Faith series with Janette Oke (which introduced him to us) or his movie-based novel Unlimited (which we all enjoyed) we get to explore a new world and get caught up in the story.
I was excited to get The Turning into my hands.
Now, depending on what you're looking for, this may instantly be your favorite story of the year, or you may have to work at understanding this book.
I fell into the latter category. It took about 134 pages before the story started shaping up for me, so don't worry if you don't "get it" right away.
This is the story of five individuals, each with a Turning that they must take. God speaks to each of them, whispering the encouragement they need to make those hard choices and move in a good direction. There seems to be no similarity between these men and women. There is a daughter who clashes constantly with her traditional Chinese ultra-conservative Tea Party parents; a man who wants to help his nephew begin 'life after prison' and doesn't know how; a woman who's been estranged from her baby-sister-all-grown-up for several years.... just for starters.
We watch as these people come together, without any planning on their own part, and begin to be knit into the fabric of each other's lives.
They need all the community they are building: They're about to enter a battle.
The battle is against a man, who wants to make something unforgettable of himself. He's been considered Nothing all his life, now he wants to be Something. He wants to be a trendsetter, not a trend follower. His trend? It must be something that will take over the minds of millions.
It must appeal to the inner emptiness of life in a broken world, the lovelessness of life in a cruel world, and the darkness of life where the Light is constantly assaulted. And it must exploit all those feelings.
That's a powerful set-up, isn't it?
From there, we begin to ask questions, because this is a book that gets mental juices flowing, and conversations going.
For example, it really made me consider whether the uptick in Dystopian publication really does stem from a hopelessness in the youth.
I didn't originally think so. After all, when I read the Hunger Games, I wasn't convinced the world was destined to be dark and grow darker.
I thought that dystopians showed that humans can be depraved and have a huge capacity for violence, and also a great loyalty and longing for Goodness.
I figured that a thoughtful dystopian reminds us that evil like slavery and the Holocaust occurred in history, that the same evil lurking in human hearts could bring terrible destruction about again, so we needed to seek God and never forget that we too can lose our way.
The Turning did make me wonder if too much dark/paranormal/dystopian books and movies and video games are being circulated, In which case we certainly need the message: Hope Is Not Dead.
However,
I think that the story about Hope Not Being Dead would have been equally as powerful if we had simply followed the five through their daily lives, showing reunion, restoration, and reconciliation between people and God.
Thank you for my review copy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Turning
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Bunn Warmer

Date:April 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Enid Albat
Location:Arkasas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Turning” is not a book you are going to want to sit on. Davis Bunn presents a compelling story of 5 people who hear God tell them to make a turning. Each has to turn over something negative they have held on to and learn to listen to God. Then act on it. In a modern, intriguing story the author points out in the eternal battle between God and evil and that each of us has to choose. There is a lot of conflict in this story that heats up fast. In a new twist, at the end of the book is the information to join in with daily devotions, audio teachings and more.
I received a complimentary copy of The Turning from River North Fiction in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>