Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yearling Where the Red Fern Grows

Yearling Where the Red Fern Grows

A loving threesome, they ranged the dark hills and river bottoms of Cherokee country. Old Dan had the brawn, Little Ann had the brains -- and Billy had the will to train them to be the finest hunting team in the valley. Glory and victory were coming to them, but sadness waited too. And close by was the strange and wonderful power that's only found. Recommended for ages 10+.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Where the Red Fern Grows
Review 1 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Catherine Strickler
It arrived on time and in great shape. I would highly recommend cbd to other families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ishmael
This is a very good book to read to all students. My favorite part of the book was when Billy won the hunting contest. This is a very good book to read to students. Also, I think you should rate this the book of the year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jacque
This book has a lot of foreshadowing in it, that is what can make a book very interesting. I would also suggest that you have plenty of tissues in hand as you read towards the end of the book. It is a heartwarming story that tells about a boy named Billy, who who has an affectionate side to him about dogs. Billy doesn't like just any kind of dog, he wanted two bloodhounds, because he could use the bloodhounds for hunting. He named his bloodhounds Old Dan and Little Ann, the bloodhounds were a perfect match for each other, because they were like buddies and would always stick by Billy's side. Billy was practically a father to the skilled dogs, because Billy had an unending love for his dogs that they were inseparable to him, just like God has an unending love to whoever follows him. I highly recommend this book, because it is an inspiration to everyone that loves dogs and wants them to be like a sibling to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sarah
Are you looking for a great book that will keep your interest? "Where the Red Fern Grows" is perfect. A cute story about two little hounds who work together to sniff out coon hounds. Little Ann and Old Dan would do anything for each other even if it's a life or death situation. I HIGHLY recommend this book. But beware crying will be included!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
alicia
This book is wonderful heartwarming adventure book. When and if you read this book you will feel like you are part of the story. This story will take through the ups and downs. The book will touch your heart if your a girl or a sensitive boy. You will find yourselves at the end of the book realizing that the author kind of made a bond between tou Billy and the dogs. The sadness will hit your heart like a ton of bricks if you catch the bond between you and the characters. I will recomend this book to anyone. It is way better than the movie in my opinion! Check out this book it will capture your heart most definetly! Buy it you will thank yourself for it!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ishmael
Where The red fern Grows is a story about a boy with love for dogs. He wants to get hunting hounds but he does not have the money. So, he decided to raise the money himself and to keep it a secret. So, he did he got the hounds. When he came home he passed the river when he was deciding what to name them when he saw two names carved in a tree that said Old Dan and Little Anne. They became the best and well known hunting hounds where they lived. That was because he won the huning competition he was so proud of his dogs. Then, one night he was out hunting with them and then a mountain lion came and Old Dan does not put up anything without a fight especially for Billy. Shamefully, the mountain lion got at Old Dan and that was not good. Billy and his mother tried to help Old Dan but there was nothing he could do so, he had passed away. Old Dan and Little Anne were always together as one so Little Anne did not want to live anymore without Old Dan. She refused to eat and passed away also. This is a very sad story so be prepared to cry. Billy saw that the sacred red fern was planted in beetween them. This book was one of the best book I read but it is so sad at the end so be prepared. This shows how much Billy showed love for his dogs. It is a very good book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chase
This book is an excellent piece of work. The author is wonderful. I recommend this book to all kids who enjoy a good book. I also recommend this for teachers to use in their reading classes. It makes you feel like you are actually their in the story. If you are a dog lover, than this book is for you. I would also suggest that you look into other book written by Wilson Rawls.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ishmael
The book is about a boy named Billy Colman who goes on a journey with two dogs named Little Ann and Old Dan. Billy lives in the Ozarks mountains. Old Dan is the strong one while Little Ann is the samrt one. Although Dan is big and Ann is small they make a perfect team together with Billy of all the lands. These two dogs and Billy go through many changes such as courage. I would give this book a half though. The book should be given to all christians and nonchristans. I hope you like it any way. To me it is not really that interesting, but an okay book. The book has many good times and bad times. It should be given to anybody who wants to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ishmael
I love this book<3 It shows the love between a boy and his two dogs. Make sure when you read this book to have lots of tissue. When you start to read it you well never want to stop, and when the book is finished you well want to know more! I recommened this book to anyone who has a love for dogs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
collette
I really liked this book. It had a great story line and moral. It's really good for kids 10+. The book is better than the movie though.The movie doasn't give you enuogh information of what's going on. If i didn't read the book i proboly would be confused.Read the book before you watch the movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Where the Red Fern Grows
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
alyssa
This is one of the best books I have ever read. I recommend it to all who love dogs. In this book you will find the tale of two hounds and a boy. While reading this book you will become so attached to the characters you will feel as though you have known them their whole lives. You will love this book and should share it with everyone you know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.